9 independent reviews of the Royal Son Bou family Club Hotel
Address: Apartaments de la Platja, 07730 Alaior, Spain
Royal Son Bou family Club Hotel
Royal Son Bou family Club Hotel Location
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Son Bou


4/5
Royal Son Bou family Club Hotel Royal Son Bou family Club Hotel is rated 3.89 out of 5 from 9 Reviews
89% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (9 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Royal Son Bou family Club Hotel Reviews

5/5
5

Royal Son Bou Family Club stayed at Royal Son Bou family Club Hotel, Son Bou, Spain in May 2009
A great place for a family holiday. The rooms and lobby areas are kept immaculately by the friendly and courteous staff. We couldn\'t find anything that could be criticised or that needed improvement.

The self-service meals are ideal for children with a good varied choice of \'grown up\' food.

The hotel run kids club (Kikoland) is free and very well run. Although British holiday makers are in a minority (less than 10% of guests during our visit) this didn\'t detract from the holiday at all. In fact the children exchanged email addresses with German friends made during our stay.

We would recommend this hotel and resort highly if you are looking for the ideal family break!

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Kerri had a holiday at Royal Son Bou family Club Hotel in August 2007
We booked a week half board at this hotel at the beginning of August 07. I promised that I would write a review after reading some that were not too good before we went. I have to say i was worried by these reviews but I needn\'t have been. The hotel reception staff greeted us warmly and spoke very good english as well as german, french and italian. We were allocated our 1 bedroomed apartment which was quite spacious, clean and bright. We had a seaview and so sitting on the balcony in the evening was a treat. The maids came in everyday if you wanted them to and provided fresh towels and bed linen on alternate days. I think I should mention that our apartment was on the top floor. I mention this ...
because as much as the rooms were lovely I wouldnt have wanted to be in a ground floor room because they looked quite dark and had the path to the pool around them. The staff at the hotel were good although our kids didnt really go to the kids clubs (Kikoland) so its hard to tell how friendly they were but the kids that did go seemed happy and well entertained. Kikoland has a lovely bright play area with football pitches, tennis courts etc. However, the entertainment (both adults & children) was in spanish so hard for us to get to grips with. To be honest when we first sat around the Paul I was overwhelmed by the amount of spanish and germans and was worried that our kids would be bored but as soon as they made friends with some other english kids they were fine. I understand that First Choice have only been sending english here for a few years so we were in a minority. Food in the hotel was ok. We had 2 restuarants to choose from. Breakfast was fantastic - kids loved all the pastries etc. and there was plenty of choice - cold meats, fry ups, fruit, cereal etc. Dinner was ok - quite alot of choice but pizza was always on the menu so kids were happy. The seafood was lovely. I think that we would rate this hotel as a 4 star as it is extremely clean and well run.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Ian Smith stayed at Royal Son Bou family Club Hotel, Son Bou, Spain in August 2007
We booked this resort as a bit of a \'hobsons choice\' in that there are very few 2 bedroom apartment type facilities available in most brochures.

There were six of us travelling, my parents (in their seventies), my wife and I, and our children 15 and 12, staying in two apartments - one two bed and one one bed.

First impressions were excellent - you feel like you are walking into a good quality hotel. The reception area, lounge and bar (including games area - table tennis and pool), pool, etc are all very high standard and clean. The restaurant on the first floor again is very clean and more like a restaurant than a self service cafe. In the basement floor is the smallish quiet gym and childrens disco room.

The apartments were of a decent size, fairly well equiped (lots of ...
glasses, plates, bottle opener, knives, etc), very clean. The bathrooms even included hand soap dispensers. A slight disappointment was that the second bedroom is really just an alcove which curtains off, but that is probably fairly standard. We were fortunate in that we both got top floor (of the three floors) apartments looking over the pool and out to sea - a great view. Some of the other apartments no doubt are less attractive in overlooking the tennis court or childrens club, or by the small road by the resort.

We had never booked half board before and were very reticent - even to the extent of expecting to forego the included meals to get \'proper\' food outside the resort. However, the food was excellent, plenty of choice, all freshly prepared with always 2 freshly grilling meat/fish dishes on offer (varying each night) along with pizza, several other pre-pepared meat courses, 2 paeallas, salads, pastas, childrens meals, 2 soups, fresh fruit, ice creams, 5-10 deserts, bread and cheese etc, etc. Some of the freshly grilled fish was simply fantastic - tuna steaks, spiky dog fish (I\'d never have ordered that in a restaurant). And you can just stay as long as you like and try as many dishes as you like in whatever portions you like. Both myself and my son have very narrow tastes, but we both started branching out trying and enjoying all sorts of new food. The breakfasts were of similar variety and quality.

The hotel/apartments are in a great location about 50m from the Son Bou beach which is lovely and clean and very long. The only downside is that just a metres into the sea, the sand turns to rough rock which can cause nasty cuts and scrapes if you were to fall or be knocked over by the surf. Many local snack bars, bars, restaurents and shops are only a street away (the supermarket is just opposite the main entrance).

The staff were generally excellent, very helpful and friendly. We had a slight altercation with one intransient reception staff member as we had paid for late check out (flying at 8pm), but he was adamant we had to check out by 12 even though a replacement apartment wouldn\'t be available until 1. This was however resolved quickly by the extremely helpful duty manager (we kept the one room until the replacement was ready).

The entertainment was generally very good - activities were run enthusiastically by all the staff, and some of the evening entertainment was of a good standard and well attended (the Chinese Acrobats were awesome).

It was slightly disappointing to have to pay for use of the tennis court (at 10 euros), but that did at least ensure it was available for those serious enough to want to use it properly, rather than it getting booked up just to \'keep the kids busy\'.

Suprisingly there were few English at the resort (probably about 10%). The majority of the resort seem to be occupied by Germans and Spanish - not a great problem but something to be aware of.

Overall, an excellent resort with lots going on, very clean, decent accomodation, very good food. Lots of smaller children (as you might expect by the name) - so don\'t book if you want too much peace and quiet by the pool or in the evenings (until about 11), as there are lots of toddlers and younger children around. Highly recommended for anyone with a youngish family.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

LOGAN stayed at Royal Son Bou family Club Hotel, Son Bou in September 2006
If you are a family with young children then I can\'t recommend this hotel highly enough.

The hotel room was very very clean, as was the whole hotel, even the concrete on the kids basketball court was washed each morning.

The food was a bit repetetive, although it was well prepared and plenty of it. Nice kids buffet and the requisitE ice-cream.

The hotel is well located and there is a five minute walk direct from the hotel onto the beach, which is lovely and sandy and shallow enough for the kids to paddle about. The resort itself is not huge, but there is plently to do within the hotel and there is a small funfair at the bottom of the road.

Hotel staff very courteous and all spoke english and were happy to help.

Entertainment was very good, my two children are ...
2 and 3 and there is the son bou kids club (at no extra charge). There they can do arts & crafts, basketball, ceramics or just play on the equipment.

You can either take the kids and wait with them or leave them in the hands of the staff. The only downside was that there were not a lot of british families and the entertainment in the evening for children is not in english, however with the funfair down the road it didn\'t really matter and when you are 2 and 3 a song is a song.

As I said before if you have young children this is the place to go. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Read More

Tour Operator: FIRST CHOICE

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Sally Kidd had a holiday at Royal Son Bou family Club Hotel, Son Bou, Spain in July 2006
We recently returned from an excellent holiday at the Royal Son Bou the kids club staff were always cheerful and helful and made a connection with all the kids in their care.

The hotel staff were helpful and polite. The hotel was full but there was enough space and didn\'t feel to overcrowded especially the kids pool which only ever had half a dozen families around it.

The only complaint I might have would be the tiles around the kids pool which were very slippery when wet. Apart from this I could not fault this hotel at all, it was the first family club holiday we have every booked and I would definately recommend this hotel to others.

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

The Barrow's visited the Royal Son Bou family Club Hotel, Son Bou, Spain in July 2006
We had an ok time in the Royal Son Bou. Hotel very clean and staff very friendly and helpful.

Our only complaint was not many British family\'s (if any), so our 10 year old was too keen in trying the kids club!

Also get to the pool early to get a sun lounger!

Breakfast was excellent dinner not to our liking!

Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Montgomery visited the Royal Son Bou family Club Hotel, Son Bou in May 2006
Hotel was very clean and tidy.

Food was excellent, buffet meals, but also had chefs to cook fresh fish or meats, which were varied each night.

Hotel is in centre of son bou, which is a fairly small quiet resort. Plenty of supermarkets which was great for buying lunches for our young children. Limited bars and restaurants outside the hotel. Hotel has private path to the beach.

All the staff were very friendly, especially in the kids club. There is also a creche outside the dining room, so you can feed the kids, then leave them in the creche and eat your dinner in peace!!

Kiko land is the hotel run kids club which has excellent facilities. The only problem is getting your kids to leave!!!

The entertainment in the evenings was a bit dull. The kids have approx 1 hours entertainment, which they ...
enjoy but after that most people went to bed (8 o\'clock)A few acts were brought in, but they weren\'t great. Mainly geared towards German guests but I think this is because British have only attended this hotel for last couple of years. (TV channels were all German, apart from bbcworld news)

Would definately recommend this hotel if you have young children. Plenty of high chairs in the restaurant and one in the appartment. I went early in the season, so pool was very cold but hotel wasnt too busy and had no problems finding a sunbed or table in restaurant.Didnt seam over run with children although it may be different in high season.




Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Sanders visited the Royal Son Bou family Club Hotel, Son Bou, Spain in May 2005
The hotel was spotless, and all areas were maintained to a very high standard.The food was amazing, the kids loved the buffet especially for them, and it even had vegetables, not just chicken nuggets and chips!

The choice was unbeliveable, and the waiters all spoke english and were helpful.

All staff we came across spoke english, and the kids club entertainment, although a little repetitive for the adults was loved by the children on an evening. Adult entertainment fine.

All in all a fantastic holiday - hotel really caters for families. Only drawback was that the pool was cold early in season.

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

CASHMAN had a holiday at Royal Son Bou family Club Hotel, Son Bou, Spain in September 2004
Be careful which rooms are allocated to you, some have very restricted views, i.e of blank walls, steps or soil slopes. Manangement will swap your room if there are any others available, so always ask.

Meals were generally great, with amazing choice. Pool side, bars, dining rooms clean and tidy and staff very helpfull.

Three comments which I wish First Choice had warned us about.

1) The hotel is geared almost exclusively to couples or families with young children, there is therefore a lot of crying and high pitched sqwealing or screaming. A bit too much when you are trying to have a quiet meal.

2) Because the hotel is only recently being marketed in England most of the staff can not use English. Spanish or German are needed to order drinks or to give your room number etc. Fortunately I can speak rudimentary ...
German and could get by, but did have to translate from German to English for some of the English speakers. This extended to the evening entertainment, day time activities (fussball, wassergym) etc, although some is in Spanish most is in German. The very few English speakers at the hotel tended to go over to one of the nearby hotels for the evenings.
3)Sound proofing, there is none. Everything can be heard going on in the room above you as though you were actually in the room, and I mean everything. Coupled with the babies waking and crying several times during the night it is worth stocking up with cotton wool from the local supermarket for your ears to get a decent nights sleep.


Read More

Tour Operator: FIRST CHOICE

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars
Share