Image of Sol Milanos Pinguinos Hotel

Sol Milanos Pinguinos Hotel

1 of 7 hotels in Son Bou

4 out of 5 from 23 reviews
3 stars
Apartaments de la Platja 07730 Alaior, Spain

23 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    12
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Four Freinds
6 years 10 months ago
Hotel was clean enough, the chamber maids were very friendly and worked really hard. Rooms are not large but then they were only for sleeping in.

Some bar staff were friendly but we did not realise how large the hotel was so it felt a bit like a cattle market at meal times.

You are fitted on arrival at reception with bright red wrist bands to show staff you are All Inclusive, you could not take them off so felt as if you were on display when you left to go out sightseeing, may be a coloured card to show at meal times would be better and to ensure they were returned at the end of the stay a deposit charged which would be reimbursed.

The food was cold and I don’t just mean the salads!! Whatever any of us had from the so called 'Hot Plates' was not even warm and we found the puddings (Pastries) sickly sweet and the same choice every other day. The layout of the buffet did not help as you had hot plates beside the salad bars and a lady who has gone there a few years even commented on how the food was really bad this time.

This hotel is ideal if you have young kiddies but I would not recommend it for adults.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
June Harrison & Keith McGibbon
7 years 9 months ago
We stayed in the Milanos side of the hotel, and were there for 3weeks, during September. The hotel was spotless and the rooms were cleaned every day. There was enough space for clothes with plenty of hangers. The TV is in spanish as expected, you could get ITV & BBC during the day (this may have been a fluke)but come 5pm it goes off.
The food in the 1st week was very varied and plentiful, the 2nd week a few choices had disappeared and by the 3rd week quite a few had disappeared. It was the end of Sept by this time and the season was coming to an end, but we still found something to eat each day. The only other thing about the food was that it was warm sometimes cold, unless a new batch came out, they didn't seem to rush bringing new trays out and the underneath heating didn't seem work properly.
The location of the hotel is brilliant, right on the beach, is why we chose it having been to Menorca in 2005 (although another reort then). The beach is fabulous, lovely sand, hardly any seaweed, shallow water for the kids and quite calm. About half way along is the nudist section if you fancy an all over tan. There is a bus stop outside to Mahon, which runs quite frequently.
The hotel staff are very friendly especially with the kids, though you don't feel out of place if you don't have any children, as we didn't.
The entertainment is a bit hit and miss, the entertainment team do more shows (mainly for the children)than outside performers, but when they do get performers in they are quite good. Once 10pm came the entertainment finished and you just got music.
If we were to go back to Menorca we would visit the hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Alpha Rooms/Monarch

Recommended
Mr And Mrs M
8 years 1 month ago
We travelled in early May when the hotel was just gearing up for the main influce of holiday makers.

The hotel itself is in an excellent location and just across from the main shopping area.
However, not much more can be done other than eat, drink and sun bathe in the resort. So hiring a car would be a good idea. We hired ours from 'Owners Cars' who turned out the cheapest and most helpfull.

We went half board and the choice of food was good however what we didn't relise was that at tea time the hotel charge you for drinks with your evening meal - the cheapest at the time was 2 euros for a bottle of water. Over the course of the hoilday this can mount up.
On arrival at the hotel the safety deposit box was hired out to us for two weeks at a cost of 30 euros.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and tidy.

The day time entertainment on the week we were leaving appeared to be better centred alot around kids, and some adults games as well.
The night time entertainment was ok but to be honest the price at the bar, everyone commented on being 'steep' for example a bottle of Smirnoff Ice and a pint of larger cost me 11 euros !

With us having a little boy we of course had a few nights in the hotel room, the only English TV channel was Eurosport all the rest was in either French, German and Spanish.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Clive
8 years 9 months ago
This hotel is excellent. It was a little wierd at first as half of was closed off and with the children having gone back to school it was also odd still having the Flintstones characters still walking around!

I think that during the main summer weeks the hotel would be full and there would be a struggle to find sunbeds etc, but in September there was no problem. The dining room similarly was more than half empty. The food was fantastic with lots of choice and variety, with very friendly staff.

We went with Cosmos, who have decided to no longer provide representatives visiting the hotel, so we spent a morning at least finding out for ourselves about buses, shops, banks etc, so shame on you Cosmos for penny-pinching!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Paul Nichols
9 years 1 month ago
The Los Milanos Pinguino was a lovely hotel, I myself was a lone traveller, It wasn't far at all from the beach,the entertainment was great for the kids and with the hotel having a Flintstones theme, the kids were loving it,I myself was half board and the Morning breakfast and Evening Meal was Fantastic, Such a variety of different foods, I must confess to eating 3 plates of food everytime lol, The staff were Curtious and friendly and the Hotel along with the Whole resort was impeccably clean,compared to previous holidays in different countries,I'd visit the hotel again and definately the resort again, such friendly people and a great atmosphere :) Paul Nichols
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jackie Murray
9 years 11 months ago
The hotel was spotless, the cleaners work very very hard and are happy to work around your "getting up" times within reason. On many occasions the cleaner went up and down our corridor cleaning rooms as people went to breakfast etc. She was very nice and went out of her way to be helpfull even though she spoke very little english.

The food was good with plenty of choice - both english and mediteranean. Enough choice for children also. The fact that you can have your main meal at any time during the day is a massive plus as it meant that being half board we sometimes chose to have lunch in the hotel and eat out at one of the restaurants in the resort in the evening.

Excellent location right on beach - what more could you ask for!

As always with Sol hotels, the staff were outstanding. Every member of staff were very pleasant and went out of their way to help. The children loved them as they always made a fuss of them. In particular, the entertainments team were brilliant with the children - they never walked passed the kids without having a joke with them or chatting to them etc.

The entertainment at this hotel was good and the team worked very hard on the shows and to involve the kids. However, for some reason there was not the variety of evening entertainment that we have seen previously in Sol Hotels. Other guests who had returned to this hotel for many years commented that the entertainment was not as good (not really quality but variety).

Overall, we have stayed in many apartments and hotels in many holiday resorts and this one is excellent value for money. The 3 star is probably due to the fact that the decoration could do with re-vamping, especially in the rooms which are quite small. The staff and level of service, together with the swimming pool and other facilities are definately 4 star.

One of the things that made this hotel really good for us was the mix of Spanish, Italian, British and German families, who all got on really well together.

One more thing - there are loads of sun beds and you can get one by the pool at any time of the day as nobody bothers reserving them!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Skytours (Thomson)

Recommended
Angela
10 years 11 months ago
The hotel was very clean with staff working all the time on polishing and sweeping. This was good. However the general decor of the hotel in particular our room was very low grade and disappointing. The toilet took ages for the cistern to fill, the wardrobe kept coming off its runners, the fridge was useless. The laundry was done regularly and sheets changed every few days but the quality of the linen was awful with holes and residual stains. There was plaster and paint peeling off the walls.

The hotel staff were pleasant but the level of attention was not really adequate. We were offered an alternative room but half way through our holiday and when we arrived the room wasn't even ready and we were tired after travelling.

The location of the hotel is great, on the beach and there is lots of beach. I didn't engage in the entertainment side of things. It is quite a compact resort and very noisy. Our room faced the shopping/nightlife area and there was only 2 hours per night when everything was quiet.

The food in the hotel was bog standard mass catering and wasn't bad. Nothing outstanding.

I love Menorca but I wouldn't stay in this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Sarah
11 years 10 months ago
The cleaners at sol milanos pinguinos did a good job of cleaning and making the beds, although some of our belongings were put under our beds and it took us a long time to find them!

The food was excellent and there were so many choices.
The hotels are located right on the beach of son bou and we could go straight from our pool to the beach without having to change out of our swim wear.

The staff were great fun and very talented in languages and drama so the entertainment was good. I would definitely go there again.

Sarah
Aged 11
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Hannah
11 years 10 months ago
I really enjoyed my stay at Sol Milanos Pinguinos. The cleaners were wonderful and were extremely polite. They also made sure that, if we were in the room,they would visit it later. The food was brilliant and there were so many choices that they managed to cater for everyone.

The location wasn't too busy and wasn't too quiet. It was very pretty and there were good restaurants opposite the hotel that were very useful to eat lunch in. The staff were excellant, as was the entertainment.

They worked very hard to entertain everyone and the shows were fantastic. I really enjoyed watching the shows, so much so that we stayed in to watch them every evening. I would definitly go there again and am hoping to next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Susan
11 years 10 months ago
We have been to this hotel now for 4 years but this year the hotel entertainment was very poor and being in a small village you are very limited.

This along with sky high drink prices also charging for the kids pool games. Im afraid the greed will loose them a lot of customers the food was very good but Im afraid I dont want to watch the Lord of the dance and that ageing magician one more year.

Wake up Spain or you will loose all your good customers!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.