Image of El Castillo Club Barcelo Hotel

El Castillo Club Barcelo Hotel

14 of 30 hotels in Caleta De Fuste

4 out of 5 from 38 reviews
2 stars
EL CASTILLO S/N, CALETA DE FUSTE, FUERTEVENTURA 35610
Sit in attractive sub-tropical gardens, this complex provides a great setting for couples and families seeking a relaxing holiday. This property is situated directly ont he beach, a short stroll from an extensive range of shops, bars and restaurants.

38 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ann
7 years 8 months ago
We stayed in a bungalow in the 3000 complex,facing south and overlooking the sea.Fabulous! We were right next to the pool which enabled us to swim whenever we liked. The accommodation was adequate - plenty of hanging space for clothes but no drawers for "smalls" & and no hooks to hang things (eg beach towels, tea towels etc) which I found quite annoying and only one mirror, which was in the bathroom.
Lovely thick and large towels which were changed 3 times during our stay, bed linen changed once.I do wish they would get some fitted sheets for the beds that fit the mattress - the ones they use are too small and frequently came adrift!
Bins emptied, bathroom cleaned and floors washed by a friendly "maid" every other day which I considered perfectly sufficient.
The position of the bungalow meant that it was blissfully quiet at night and breakfast on the terrace in the morning watching the sun rise was a peaceful experience.
Can't comment on the entertainment as we didn't see any of it.
This was classified a'superior' bungalow but a few niggles eg: sink plug chain broken, wardrobe door very sticky and hard to close, the afore-mentioned sheet problem, some kitchen equipment very tatty, stained upholstery, etc, makes me wonder what a 'normal' bungalow is like, but on the whole we were satisfied with it and would definitely return.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: booked direct

Recommended
Graham
8 years 3 months ago
This is the 2nd time this year that we have been to this hotel, cannot fault the hotel or location, plus we were upgraded to full board upon arrival, we would certainly go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jamie Armstrong
10 years ago
We stayed at this hotel on the 17th October for a pleasant 1 weeek stay. This is our 3rd time at this hotel and were very pleased. We cannot comment on entertainment as we didnt watch it.

The bar staff are a little grumpy, but that didnt atter too much. The reception staff all speak a variety of different languages and are very fluent. As soon as we arrived in our apartment it had a damp smell. Just a quick pray of deoderant and it was all good. Our apartment (2078) was overlooking the carpark. Silly us at first got apartment 1054 (across the road) We thought that this was a bit of a nightmare because it was across the road. HOW WRONG WERE WE!

These apatments had double glazing. And have been renovated. The 2000 block is very tired and needs to be renovated!. The pools are fantastic and are overlooking the sea. just 2 seconds and you are there. A huge variety of bars and restaraunts are about 10 mins away.

The planes go right across the beach. A good view for Plane Spotters like me =). But noise wasnt bad the occasional 737 going past. The airport is 10 mins away! If you are to stay at this hotel I reconmemd the 3000 block or the 1000 block. I reconmend La Boguetta a fantastic pizza restaraunt. On the beach there is a guy who makes fantastic sandcastles and has a sandcastle school daily at 12:00 for 6 euro.

Overall a fantastic holiday and i reconmend the Barcelo Club El Castillo to anybody.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
P, D & H
10 years 3 months ago
This was our sixth visit to Caleta de Fuste. Previous visits have found us at the Castillo Beach Park, the Elba Sara Hotel, but predominantly the Barcelo Fuerteventura Hotel.

We felt the need for a bit more space (and a cheaper price) and so plumped for the Barcelo Club this year. We weren
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
The Turnbulls
10 years 5 months ago
On arrival we were allocated 3 rooms at the back of reception, 2 on ground floor and 1 upstairs. First impression was the layout was lovely but on arrival in our room opinion soon changed, the smell was disgusting, still not sure if it was damp or cats "you know what", they were everywhere. Counted at least 9 cockroaches in the first night and me, my mum and my little one barricaded ourself in the bedroom first night to keep away from the roaches. Mum got us moved next morning which was no problem and it could not have been different, right on beach next to snack bar and pool with huge terraces overlooking the bay. The situation of resort is 1st class and the layoutand gardnes are fabulous, my only concern is the cleanliness and the smell of apts. It was fairly cold when we were there so entertainment was in the main room, and to be fair it was pretty lame and unprofessional, but the kids loved it. I would stay here again but would request an upstairs beachfront apt as they didn't seem to pong as much the others, and uprating to All Inclusive was a good move as it meant there was no continual trips to the bar for drinks etc, you could help yourself.My second stay in a Barcelo and although not as clean as the other one the location would persuade me to come again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jackie
10 years 10 months ago
We arrived after dark and were given a map which was totally inadequate considering that the lighting around the complex was so poor. When we eventually found the apartment it I was disappointed as it was extremely basic and had a very musty smell. Also I had been lead to believe that they had been recently refurbished, which was certainly not the case.

We awoke on Christmas morning to bright sunshine and it put a totally different reflection on everything. The apartments, although basic are perfectly fine especially if, like us, you are half board and therefore not really using the kitchen facilities. The cleanliness left a little to be desired but as long as the sun was shining I died not care. On the 5th day we experienced a problem as a drain outside was leaking raw sewage which was pooling outside our door! I complained and eventually 3 days later we were moved. The Manager was extremely apologetic and offered us a free trip and lunch vouchers which we accepted. The new apartment was fabulous and I just wished that I had moved there before. We were now in the 2000 block and I would definitely recommend these as opposed to the 3000 block which are a bit old, dark and smelly.

The weather was very disappointing and I realise that this can dampen the mood on any holiday. In the sunshine this hotel has everything to offer.

Great location, lovely beach, super apartments (some), fantastic food (El Menu half board) and friendly staff.

I am hoping to return in the summer when the weather should be kinder.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Dave Hazell
11 years ago
We arrived at about 5.30 with four friends and were directed to our apartments which we found to be above the standard we expected. Everything you could wish for very clean and well laid out. Cleaners kept us with clean towels and sheets throughout our two week stay.

The food in the complex restaurant was very good most days we all had breakfast and two nights evening meals lots of choice and cheap.

We stayed in 3000 complex which was only a few minuets from the beach and hotels four swimming pools which where kept very clean.

Hotel Staff what can I say some of the best we have had on any holiday very friendly and helpful nothing to much trouble. Poolside bar staff where great we were sorry to leave we will be going to this resort again very soon
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
Roi Hamp
11 years ago
We arrived at the hotel just after 3.30 pm.

Reception staff were very friendly and made us welcome. we were given a map to our apt (2197) .

The apartment was spotless ,spacious and bright. We were on the first floor overlooking the square were the entertainment happened with a view of the pool and beach also.

We went self catering so always ate out so we never really used the kitchen in the apt which consisted of a 2 ring hob ,fridge,kettle and a broken toaster. the kids 8 and 2 loved the pools(all 4) which were kept very clean.

The kids club started from 4 yrs up,my 8 yr old loved it but the entertainment staff always made a point of having a laugh with the under 2's also! The complex has a couple of restaurants ,shops and a mini supermarket but the walk into town only takes a couple of mins and its a nice walk too( along the beach).

We WILL be definately be visiting Barcelo Castillo again and I highly recommend this complex to young families.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
11 years 1 month ago
Wow is all I can say! I read the reviews before going and the bad ones really worried me but once we got there and found our room (which is hard to find at first and glad we did not have to do it in the dark) we were amazed by the room which was 3068.

Very clean and just the right size. air conditioning units in the living area and the bedroom, although did speak to some people who were in the 1000 block and all they had was a fan on the ceiling which did not really do anything! we had a flat screen TV which we were impressed by! Bathroom was a nice size with a powerful and hot shower.

The complex is so big and although we were told before going it was massive we did not realise just how BIG! it covers all the way round half of the bay. We were self catering so cant really comment on the food although we heard no complaints there was a guy sitting outside reception when we arrived and he shouted "the foods rubbish".

Weather was lovely ok we had a few clouds but we still sat out by the pool and got burnt so do not let this fool you! Pool area by the 3000 block was really nice, was a nice size but can imagine in season it is very busy but there is a smaller pool with a Jacuzzi near by and further down the complex are a further 2 bigger pools, the pool in 3000 block over looked the beach which was lovely to sit and watch.

plenty of places to go and eat although we mainly used the bar by one of the pools which looked onto the beach! my other half had a club sandwich almost everyday he loved it so much! it
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
11 years 2 months ago
I liked the apartments we were in they were basic but clean and well equpped, We did not eat n the resturant where the wrist bands could be used.. We went into town each night for eats.

The walk into town was fine, the location was good.

The Entertainment in the evening was ok but you could never get a seat unless you stayed in all evening so if you went out every night like we did you never got to sit and watch the entertainment you had to just sort of hover at the back of the crowds.

My only complaint really would be that you could NEVER get a sunbed at the main pool, we even got up at 7.30-8.00 but none left......
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Eclipse

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.