Image of Fuerteventura Barcelo Hotel

Fuerteventura Barcelo Hotel

6 of 30 hotels in Caleta De Fuste

4 out of 5 from 60 reviews
4 stars
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort, Urbanizacion Caleta de Fuste, S/N, 35610 Antigua (Fuerteventura), Spain
Overlooking a beautiful horseshoe bay, this hotel offers a good choice of facilities for a family beach-based holiday. A wide stretch of sandy beach is within a short stroll as is the resort centre of Caleta de Fuste.

60 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    13
  • Very Good
    37
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 8 months ago
The Barcelo is a lovely hotel in a first class position,only 2 minutes to the beach/shops/bars etc.
We were half board and found plenty of choice on both breakfast and evening meals. fresh meats and fish were being cooked on hot plates and all tasted great.
Lots of choice for grown up's and children and loads of sweets for afters.
On arrive book your safety box for 2 euro's per day it's the biggest box ive ever seen,and very secure.
All the room are set out nice, but seem to be refurbishing the ground floor corriders so try to keep away from these roooms if possible.There are 100's of sun beds so don't bother rushing out with your towels as you can get one any time of day.
Never waited in the dining room always plenty of tables for you,the people on all inclusive all said they were well looked after and had plenty of food and drink plus endless lollies drinks and ice's for the kids.
All inclusive finishes at 11pm sharp they are very strict on this point.
Entertainment daytime very good, but evening just 2 shows worth seeing Beatles and Beijing actrobats after that was just reps mimimg very badly.
Would we go back!yes yes yes great hotel and nice people
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Kim R
9 years 10 months ago
We had a great time at this hotel and can't wait to go back. I was glad to see that there were guests from most of the major European countries staying at this hotel, not just British people, so it was a bit more cosmopolitan. Most of the staff we had dealings with were very friendly and efficient, from reception to waiting staff to cleaners. The place was immaculate and our room was a good size. Towels and linen could be changed as much as you like and I really liked the idea of 'hiring' beach towels for a 10 Euro deposit as you could just hand them back for an exchange whenever you wanted and it saves you lugging them in your suitcase. The food was fabulous- it's certainly not a burgers/fish finger/ nuggets type of hotel, so if that's what you're used to, choose somewhere else. If you like a variety of food, then you'll be spoiled for choice, and as for the desserts- yummy!
The entertainment was generally quite good. Some shows were better than others, but it's difficult to please all the people all of the time, especially when the guests comprise so many different nationalities. The activities programme was very comprehensive for children and adults alike, and we all enjoyed our regular mini-golf competitions. The animation team were all very enthusiastic and really tried to encourage people to participate, but there was never any pressure to join in if you didn't want to. I'd recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a good standard of accommodation in a great location.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Debbie Mckay
9 years 11 months ago
We travelled to fuerteventura on the 4th of september 07,on arrival at the Barcelo the reception staff was very good, trying to get us checked in very quick. The room was cleaned every day, fresh towels and lovely clean sheets. We had a view of the pool area and sea view, which was amazing at night. The food was good and many choices,the cakes was ummmmm, the staff was freindly, the entertainment team was the best they worked so hard to please everyone no faults at all well done you crazy crew, We would defintly go back to the hotel maybe next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: broadwaytravel,com

Recommended
R Pettitt
10 years ago
Having read the other reports on this site, I wonder if I stayed at the same hotel! We stayed here 3/4 years ago and it was great, this year it was awful. We did All Inclusive this time and it was a waste of time and a rip off. the Food was Bland, often cold, and poorly replenished. The location isn't great but we knew that, going back as the hotel had been so good before. Staff were rude and unhelpful, poor service. Entertainment was poor.

Our room was clean, but the air con in it ans public areas was terrible. There was rubbish everywhere.

The pool was filthy, gritty, dierty plasters and tissues, missing tile in and around the pool. a bare wire was showing in one area of the surrounding terrace.

Thoroughly disappointed and still waiting for First Choice to come back to me.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Janet
10 years 1 month ago
All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and extremely good with the children. The room was a good size and there was ample living space even with the double sofa bed permanently out. The fridge in the room was very useful as was the separate washing area.

The rooms and communal areas were all kept very clean. The poolside area could have been kept slightly cleaner
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mr&mrs Mullen
10 years 1 month ago
we chose this hotel because of the location and the facilities it had to offer,we had 2 teeage boys with us age 15&16 the hotel was lovely and does live up to the discription.the rooms were large we overlooked one of the pools,there was always plenty of sunbeds and it was a bonus we didnt have to get up early to get one,pool towels were available 10 euros refundable, the grounds were immaculate binns emptied regular around the pool. the staff were very friendly and helpful , the staff in the snack bar by the pool could have been more pleasant and the food in that part was poor we thought so we ate in one of the bars just a short 2 min walk from the hotel which we enjoyed better.the entertainment staff were pleasent but could have gathered people together more with a bit more effort we were atthe pool at yhe far end and they never came around once to get people to join in. the food was good what you would expect for a 4 star hotel there was something for everyone so you cant complain. the entertainment was just ok lovelt set up the seating area and stage, but have had better entertainment at other hotels which does let it down a bit. the disco after the entertainment was poor the hotel needs to invest in a good dj and good music we could see that people wernt staying when they heard what was played which is such a shame. the resort was very residential with villas and apartments, plenty of resturants not a lot of bars, the scottish bar was good but didnt liven up till 10 oclock, pieres music bar was about the live bar with singers on etc, we ate out a couple of times as we could switch our meal to a lunch time which was very good. the meals we had were excellent. we would reccomend this resort for familys with small children and couples seeking a low key holiday, it is not a resort for teenages although it has all the watersports you need. we would come to this hotel again as we had a lovely time but on our own as the boys were bored.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
Eryl
10 years 1 month ago
Got back to blighty on 8th August and had a fantastic fortnight. We upgraded to All Inclusive at the hotel at a cost of 18 Euros per adult and 9 for the child. This was really good value as it allowed our daughter to have all the drinks she wanted throughout the day without us worrying about the cost, normally 2 euros each.

Food was good and varied, plenty of choice even for my picky wife and daughter. We really pigged out in the first week and became more selective in the second week. I think all meals should end with a cake course followed by an ice cram course.

Pool area was busy and the best longers were often taken by 9 in the morning. However there were always enough longers to accommodate lazy people like us who made our first appearance after breakfast at 1030.

The children's play area is a nice touch and the secure nature of the hotel meant that we did not feel the need to watch over our nine year old daughter. She made loads of friends and hardly ever came to talk to us.

Rooms were great, spacious and clean with everything we needed. Seemed to be well soundproofed as well because I was not disturbed even though I'm usually a light sleeper.

Pool towels are provided for a 10 euro each deposit and can be changed every day, or more often if you want.

Staff were all friendly and helpful though could be a little slow at taking a drinks order when you first arrive in the restaurent.

Evening entertainment, rubbish when done by the "Animation" team, good when brought in from outside. We liked the Drifters, Beatles, Beijing acrobats and snake show. Elvis had problems with his mike and seemed to swear at the sound desk in between songs.

We would go back again, and have had a brilliant relaxing and fun holiday for all of the family.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Eric
10 years 1 month ago
Beautiful hotel. Very clean and spacious. Food in restaraunt was very varied and we found there was always something for all. Tables were swiftly cleared and made ready for next diners. Most of the waiters/waitresses were pleasant although they appeard confused by our request for a glass of cold milk for our son.

Rooms were very spacious and cleaned daily. Sometimes we felt that the air conditioning could have been better.

We found the entertainment to be 'interesting'. The hotel's own team tried very hard and we would say that they were good to watch. The outside entertainers varied from an excellent Beatles tribute band to a diabolical Elvis impersonator. I thought Harley the sea lion from the harbour sounded better!!!

We would definately recommend this hotel. If we ever go back to Fuerteventura, we would go to the Barcelo.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours Direct

Recommended
Rachel
10 years 2 months ago
Hi there, we have just returned from our sixth visit to the Barcelo in four years.

There is so much space in the hotel, the rooms are beautiful and cleaned every day to a very high standard. The pool area is also wonderful although the pools can be very cold, especially out of the summer months. There are a few playgrounds, which are excellent. The pool area is cleaned daily.

The food I would say is sligtly hit and miss. It is always good but can get a little repetitive. Depending on what time of year you go it seems that the standards tend to dip. Usually you get a choice of roast meat, grilled meat and fish and something like smoked salmon or king prawns. However, we have been twice when the choice has'nt been so good, very dissapointing, no idea why this is. Takes it from amazing to just average.

The entertainment is generally rubbish! Sorry to the entertainment team but there shows are cringingly bad. 'Grease' is the entertainment team miming to Grease, the 'Blues Brothers' is the entertainment team miming to the 'BLues Brothers'. On the alternate nights they might have proffessional touring companies, Beijing acrobats, a German Beatles tribute (!!), the most hilarious British Elvis tribute ever (in a good way). They have a mini disco everynight and the staff are always brilliantly enthusiastic.

The hotel staff are generally really lovely and helpful. I have always found the bar staff in the main entertainment room can be a little bit rude, certainly not the norm though.

The location of the hotel is excellent, we love the shops and the local bars, its not big and brash like some resorts. The beach is lovely, although is is very rocky trying to get into the sea. I would thoroughly reccomend the ten minute walk up to the new man made beaches near to the Sheraton - they are absolutely beautiful.

All in all, we absolutely love this hotel and the resort, will go back time and time again, consistently great.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: booked ourselves

Recommended
Happy
10 years 2 months ago
Beautiful hotel (situated on the beach) with palm trees and greenery everywhere. Corridors are open-air with a lovely breeze flowing through. Champagne given out in Restaurant on 1st night - food varied although children's menu poor. Nightly entertainment in a huge theatre - shows were all good.

Great playground/games room/mini golf for kids not to mention the huge swimming pools and daily boys football thru Mini Club. Bingo in the afternoon was a big hit with the kids.

Room overlooked pool/beach and was cleaned to a high standard - bedding could be changed daily by leaving the request card on beds.

Hotel staff all very accommodating and the entertaingment team were great, especially Julien (Shakey Shakey).

Enjoyed the Hotel so much have booked already for next summer.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.