Image of BlueBay Palace Hotel

BlueBay Palace Hotel

6 of 46 hotels in Corralejo

4 out of 5 from 45 reviews
4 stars
Avenida Grandes Playas, 12, 35660 Corralejo, Spain

45 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    16
  • Very Good
    24
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
8 years ago
my husband and i stayed at the bluebay palace the first week in october. we were taken to hotel by taxi courtesy of thomas cook. on arrival the hotel looks lovely with beautiful lobbies. checked in straight away and our cases taken to room for us. really large lovely room with huge double bed. nicely furnished and absolutely spotless. double doors with added mosquito doors on outside. lovely bathroom with double sinks.plenty wardrobe space.the food is very nice with plenty on offer and always piping hot. different chefs cooking omelettes for breafast and stir fries of your choice,steaks,fish, chicken etc for dinner.loads of choice for sweets gateaux puddings ice cream and much more.it is nicely situated away from biz but near enough to walk to shops. a supermarket is just along the road called NETTO it has everything you would need. the staff are all very friendly always smiling.and the maids do a wonderful job. dont know a lot about entertainment as it was our first visit to this resort and we were out every night. we would definately go back to this beautiful hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
M Smith
8 years 5 months ago
The Bluebay Palace is a good hotel overall and goes well towards achieving its 4-star rating. In my experience holiday hotels tend to be over-rated, but the Bluebay Palace achieves a good 3.5 stars in my view. The accommodation is very well maintained, is clean and tidy and the hotel has good facilities. The location of the hotel is also excellent being just off the main road through Corralejo where all the shops and restaurants are based. In front of the hotel is perhaps the best beach in Corralejo separated from the hotel by a section of brightly painted holiday apartments. One slight annoyance was that we could hear loud music from a bar/club until 12.30am and this might disturb families with younger children. We were on the west side of the hotel and I suspect we would have had peace and quiet on the east side.

The real disappointment with the hotel however was the food. We stayed on a half-board basis and this is something that I regret with hindsight. The food is served in a buffet style and the quality was equivalent to something you would expect in a 2-star all-inclusive resort (reminiscent of school dinners!) Whilst there was a broad range of options at every meal, many of these were over-cooked and/or poorly conceived. I am a vegetarian and my options were very limited. After 3 nights I requested that the chef (although I doubt they had one) made some main dishes suitable for vegetarians. Sadly the duty manager spent 5 minutes trying to suggest that since I had not complained on the first night the food must be alright. Eventually they accepted my point and agreed to make some vegetarian dishes. The following night the served spanish omelette or pasta with a vegetarian sauce. I had the omelette, which was nice. The night after that they served the same pasta with sauce from the night before, but no omelette. I had this and the sauce turned out to be cream of tomato soup or something similar. Very disappointing! My son is a meat eater and so was able to try everything on offer. He loves his food and has dined far and wide and he shared my view that the food was poor.

On the basis of the above I would recommend the Bluebay Palace for a holiday if you want the facilities of a hotel whilst away, but on a bed and breakfast basis only. There is an ample selection of restaurants, cafes and "pubs" to choose from in Corralejo and I can't imagine many of them could do much worse than the Bluebay Palace at food preparation.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
9 years 4 months ago
Recently stayed at the Bluebay Palace for our honeymoon which proved to be a very nice hotel.
The rooms are extremely luxurious, huge comfy bed, dressing table, chair and table, 2 double wardrobes with drawers, tv, lamps, mini bar, good size balcony, huge bathroom with his and her sinks, bidet, hairdryer etc etc) As we were on our honeymoon, the hotel had champagne in our room on arrival, we also got a complimentary massage each and breakfast in bed on the day of our choice. It was also my birthday while we were out there and once again the hotel put another bottle of champagne in the room along with a basket of fruit and a birthday card - was a really nice touch.
The whole hotel is extremely clean, all of the staff work very hard from morning to night. The restaurant food was of a reasonable standard, there was always something to eat even for fussy eaters although we did find that in our 7 day stay there were a few meals repeated.
The pool area opens at 9am and yes you do have people queing so that they can get their favourite spot around the pool and as this hotel has quite a few repeat guests they can be a bit territorial if you go to take "their" space. You will probably find that most of the sunbeds are taken by 10:30 at the latest which can be a bit annoying when people have reserved the beds but arent using them. There is 3 pools, the medium sized one also has a jucuzzi in it and all of them are very cold but extremely refreshing. On arrival you will get a pool towel token which you exchange for pool towels and you can change your towels as often as you like.
There is a pool side restaurant and the food is absolutley gorgeous here and you always get service with a smile. There is also a small gym that has some weights and spin bikes in and there is spa/beauty area.
Not much happens during the day at the Bluebay, I think they have an entertainment team but it is so low key that it isn't really obvious that it exists. They do have night-time entertainment in the entertainment bar but we never actually went to it so can't really comment on the quality.
On the whole we had a relaxing week which is what we thought we would want but on reflection we probably should have chosen a hotel with a bit more life in it as it did seem to lack a bit of atmosphere but if you want a low-key quiet hotel then this would be an ideal choice for you, Almost forget, if you dont want to take loads of euros with you and you are planning to spend most of your time at the hotel then you can charge all of your food and drink to your room and just pay the bill at the end.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours/Thomas Cook

Philip Harrison
9 years 5 months ago
This was our 3rd time at this hotel and it is still as good as we remembered. We went B&B last time which we preferred, but the food is adaquate if not a little reptative.

The hotel is very clean and you always see cleaners around.

The pool is very good and slightly sheltered from the high winds you sometimes get. No need to reserve beds, although there were people reserving beds and not turning up until after lunch. Towels provided.

Staff are very friendly and the maids do a great job in the rooms.

Location is great - its about a 5 minute walk from all the bars, restuarnts and shops on the main street.

Cant cooment on teh evening entertainment we never went in.

It is looking a little dated now but I would throughly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice hotel for a reasonable price.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: n/a

Recommended
9 years 5 months ago
The check in was quick, the luggage was taken to our room. The room was lovely, large corner family room with a pool view. The only negitive thing i could say was that the beds were very very hard, made my elbows sore!
Food was good not outstanding but well presented and hot. The whole of the hotel was really clean and well maintained. Pool towels were provided, and the pool bar served a cracking lunch! Would def, reccommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mr & Mrs Kennedy
9 years 10 months ago
What a lovely hotel. The rooms are large with lovely views of either the sea or pool area. The rooms are cleaned meticulously every day with clean fresh towels in the bathroom
There is a huge choice of food on offer both at breakfast and evening meal. The table service by the helpful restaurant staff is first class.
The small entertainment bar reflects the standard of show to be presented. The average show lasted approximately 1 hour and was generally finished by 10:30. Again, the bar staff were superb always smiling and offering excellent service.
The hotel, both inside and out around the pool, is a green oasis. There are plenty of sun beds with mattresses to go round, so no need to be up early to book a space. Poolside towels are available so dont dirty your own.
The hotel is well located for both the beach and the town. The name change is unfortunate as Atlantis Palace sounds more appealing
We will return to Corralejo and will definitely stay at ths marvellous hotel. Make sure you do.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Paula
10 years 2 months ago
I booked this hotel after reading all the reviews about it and was not disappointed. The rooms were very big and spacious and very very clean. The food was fantastic, so much variety,and the staff were friendly and helpful.Location was great just a short stroll and you were at the main street.
Pool area was very nice, plenty of sunbeds with mattresses and you also were given pool towels every day..
I just wish this hotel was in a resort with alot more going on, and i would go back again and again....
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Chris And Allan
10 years 8 months ago
After reading the reports on this site I was looking forward to arriving at the Atlantis Palace, and I was not disappointed. It is a lovely hotel. Very clean.

A varied choice of food so that there was always something we liked.

Great location - couple of minutes from the beach and short walk to bars etc.

The staff were always polite and pleasant. We had a couple of problems with our room - shower broke, sink leaked. We reported them and they were dealt with extremely quickly.

Our room overlooked the tennis courts and we were troubled early evening with a dog constantly barking from a neighbouring house. We did request a pool view on booking but were told on arrival that none were available as hotel was very busy.

Evening entertainment was shocking except on one night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Lynne, Paul And Simon
10 years 8 months ago
This is the second time we have visited this lovely hotel and it was just as good as the first time. The room was really comfortable and nicely decorated with plenty of storage space (although the beds were a little hard) and the bathroom was huge. The rooms were spotless with clean towels every day and little extras such as heart shaped chocolates on Valentines Day.

The food was really good, especially the breakfasts. There was so much variety that we were spoilt for choice.

The location was great, 2 minutes from the beach and only a few minutes stroll to the main street where there were plenty of shops and bars.

The staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful especially the restaurant waiter who was very quick to bring us our drinks.

The pool area is lovely, fairly quiet with plenty of sunbeds. We never had a problem getting a sunbed even in the afternoon and there was no problem with people putting towels on to reserve beds. There were also free mattresses and towels for the sunbeds.

The only negative point about this hotel is the lack of decent entertainment. The bar has nightly entertainment but what we saw was not really very good and when the acts were finished (about 10'ish) everybody seemed to leave the bar so it was dead after that.

However we've been to this hotel twice now and would definitely go again. We would recommend it to anyone who likes a bit of luxury and a chilled out holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Farragher
10 years 9 months ago
We arrived 9pm and were met with a welcome smile after being shown to our room which was spotless. We tucked into the cold supper and bottle of wine the hotel had left for us.

Next morning we went to breakfast and found lots of choice which was what we had for 2wks you could not fault any of the food.

The location of the hotel is excellent 2min walk to the lovely beach which was clean and 5min walk to local bars and restaurants.

The hotel staff were lovely always ready with a smile. We only saw a few shows at the hotel but what we saw was very good.

It was my birthday while we were there and when we returned to our room in the afternoon there was a bottle of champagne on ice from the hotel which was a lovely suprise.

We would certainly return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.