Image of Monica Beach Hotel

Monica Beach Hotel

9 of 12 hotels in Costa Calma

4 out of 5 from 25 reviews
3 stars
Av de Jahn Reisen, 35627 Costa Calma, Spain

25 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Bell
8 years 6 months ago
We stayed all inclusive as we do in all hotels. It was very clean and the rooms were cleaned every day. The rooms are quite dated, some had been renovated but there are a lot that hadn't. There was a television in the rooms but the only chanel in English was Sky news. The bathrooms needed drastically updating but you could put up with it as there was always hot water. The food was quite good some people might say excellent if you liked fish dishes. We didn't see a lot of meat dishes on the buffet except if they were in a casserole etc. The hotel was situated right on the beach, which was lovely. There was not a lot around it commercial wise and it was a very quiet resort. The staff were lovely and friendly. The entertainment was quite poor, it wasn't on very long and it was quite repetitive - dancing most of the time by the animation team. As this was a relaxing break, it fitted what we were looking for, but only for a week, a fortnight here would of been far too long.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Winter Sun Seekers
8 years 8 months ago
We found the hotel excellent in all aspects. I do wonder sometimes what people expect - the Monica Beach is a 3* hotel not 5*! Admittedly the hotel looks quite tired, but it looked as though this was being addressed and due to the size of the complex this will not be completed overnight ... this would be my only negative comment. Despite this, the rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh linen and the gardens were beautifully maintained.

The staff were always friendly and helpful, a variety of foods was available for all tastes, and the entertainment staff were the best I have seen in an all-inclusive hotel. Each night some sort of entertainment was provided and the animation teams "Nightlife" and "We Will Rock You" shows were fantastic.

A tip, the hotel belongs to the same chain as all the other hotels nearby so you are able to use the facilities in those too (although you may have to pay for drinks).

The hotel is located directly onto a sandy beach as well as offering a gym, mini golf and tennis courts (free of charge).
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
9 years 3 months ago
3* all inclusive, better than i anticipated having read some terrible reviews elsewhere.
hotel was very clean & tidy, staff work very hard to maintain the cleanliness.
perhaps the complex could do with a lick of paint here & there & maybe some new furniture in the main entertainment area but other than that i thought it was very nice.
all staff encountered were very polite & helpful.
plenty of food & drink available in various locations at various times.
i thought the food & drink were great. plenty of variety & regularly topped up.
if i had to complain about anything it would be the sunbed situation around the pools; as its a very big complex, there are never going to be enough to go around so you have to play the reservation game, fairly early. but this is just a minor issue.
all in all we all had a great time at the sunrise monica beach & would definately go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: freedom direct

Recommended
9 years 9 months ago
The Monica Beach Hotel is in a perfect location to relax - right on the beach.

Our room looked out over one of the pools and we could see the sea. There were some beautiful sunrises. It had a large bathroom, but the bath had seen better days and could have done with being replaced. There was a fridge, 2 cooking rings and a sink and an area with a sofa, chairs and a small table. The beds were very comfortable, but the pillow was a bit flat and uncomfortable, but if you asked for another one they gave it to you. The balcony was very big and had a washing line and table and chairs. The maid did a good job of keeping it clean.

There were 2 pools, one with slides, and 2 childrens pools. Each pool had a bar, serving all kinds of spirits and lager,soft drinks and tea and coffee and ice-cream, which was self service. From 10-6 there were snack available at one of the pool bars. There were plenty of sunbeds and tables and chairs available and we never had trouble finding one. The sunbeds on the beach have to be paid for..

There was a good choice of food at each meal. At breakfast there was scrambled, fried, boiled eggs and omlettes, bacon, sausages and beans and then all types of continental breakfas. At lunch and dinner there was always a good choice of cooked food and also loads of different salads. There was always about 5 different flavors of ice-cream and various cakes. At dinner time there were 2 sittings 5.30-7.00 and 7.30-9.00.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and most spoke a few languages. When we were there, there were quite a few German and French people, but everyone got on really well. The hotel could do with a bit of redecorating in certain areas, but the staff worked very hard to keep it clean and tidy.

There were varous activities available during the day including rifle shooting, archery, volly ball, mini-golf for the adults and all activities for the children. These were arranged by the entertainment team, who worked very hard all day to keep everyone happy. In the evening there was a mini disco for the children that started at 8 and then at 9.30 there was a show put on by the entertainment team or an outside act came in. We saw Brazilian dancing, a snake show and flamenco dancing, We Will Rock You, and another show put on by the Team which was a bit like Stomp. Then after that there was a disco until 1 am. The all inclusive bar finishes at 11pm.

I would visit this hotel again, as we had a lovely relaxing holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Helen
10 years 7 months ago
The hotel overall was welcoming and very hygienic. The rooms were cleaned every other day to a very high standard.

We were self catering but we considered changing to All inclusive however when we tried a breakfast the food was mainly aimed at Germans and there was no option for the English. The entertainment was average however I did not enjoy the bingo nights.

My favourite night of the entertainment was the Friday before I left when we asked for a disco and we were all up and dancing.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: JMC

Recommended
Jason Price
10 years 11 months ago
After reading other reports about these apartments I felt that I had to do my own.

This was my fifth all inclusive holiday and I was a bit worried with a 2 year old and a 6 month old baby
as I've been on cheap all inclusive hols before

When we arrived I was very surprised at what I found 3 pools 2 kids pools and a jaccuzzi. It was excellent especially if your kids like water slides as there are 2 of them as well.

The all inclusive was the best I have ever been to a chef cooking up something special every night plus all the other food as well. The only thing I would say is to go all inclusive not self catering as there aren't many restaurants out side grounds of hotel

Lager, ice creams, fizzy drinks, are all just serve your self so no need to wait for anyone. Yes the snacks aren't A1 but the restaurant is hardly ever closed

Staff were brill and also rooms cleaned regularly.

Entertainment was good with something 6 nights a week.

Beach was just a stone throw away without crossing any roads oh yeah there's also an all inc bar on beach which belongs to hotel

All in all would I go back again that's a very big yes
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Morgan
11 years 2 months ago
Just returned from two weeks at Monica Beach. Basically we got what we paid for and no more.

Rooms are very basic and need up-dating.

Staff - most are very nice, some clearly don't enjoy their work!! Don't expect a courtesy room, the hotel was overbooked while we were there.

Food, for us, was excellent. If you or your kids are fussy you may struggle. Lots of fish, pasta, salads, fresh bread etc. Bar snacks basic - toasties, hot dogs, ice cream.

Drink, very potent, sometimes served in glasses but mostly in plastic cups. (For lager drinkers - take your own pint pot). Coffee, tea, soft drinks, lager, wine and sangria - all self service.

Pools - ok. Sunbeds - set your alarm!!

There were lots of Germans, Spanish and French at hotel - did not come across anybody rude or arrogant.

If you do not like creepy crawlies this is not the place for you. The world's supply of huge cockroaches seem to live on this hotel complex. Take a tin of Raid and spray in and out of your room at night. (One of our party awoke to find a huge mother of a cockroach crawling across his face - ugh). Did not seem to suffer with mozi bites but took garlic tablets two weeks before and used citronella oil in the evening (weird smell but keeps this little so n so's at bay).

Nothing much for teens to do at night. Animation team tried hard. Entertainment so so, its just so hot in the Bar Torquesa. 'Footsteps' African dancers were good but thats all we watched.

Take a pack of cards and go to Bar Salon.

I could rip the place to shreds and really moan but we ate well, drank and were merry, our rooms were adequate, we came home well rested.

Huge thanks to the family who loaned 8 of us their room for a shower on the last day. Watch out for their review - it should be a good one!

If you are going, go with an open mind. Like I said - you get what you pay for.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Angela
11 years 2 months ago
I have just returned from two weeks holiday at Monica Beach Hotel. The holiday in general was very good as we made the most of it.

The room was very basic, but was spoiled by my daughter (14) having lots of ants in her bed. It was reported to reception and they did disappear for a few days only to return with her waking up to find them crawling on her. She ended up sleeping on the two chairs pushed together.

I personally did not think that the food was too bad, as I enjoy salads, pasta and fresh fruit, however my partner was not particularly keen as none of the food seemed to go together as a meal, on one morning there were peas and carrots for breakfast.

When we arrived we were handed some information about the hotel, there was a part in it which stated that anyone saving sunbeds would have their towels removed by the staff. We started off all good and obeyed by this but as a result would never got a sunbed, and never saw a towel removed, so we did what everyone else did and put our towels down before going to breakfast.

The bar served a good choice of drinks, but we were a bit alarmed that during our stay we saw a lot of youngsters drunk, one as young as 13. Despite having blue wrist bands they were still served alcohol.

The entertainment was appalling, although this was by no means the fault of the animation team who worked really hard. There was a mini disco for small children early on in the evening, which was followed by a show till 11.00 then music was played in an attempt to get people dancing. This was only followed up by the young teens as by this time everyone felt like they were going to pass out with the heat as there was no air conditioning. As a result we would sit outside by the pool bar, where one night we were having a sing song it was only about 11.30 and security came out to tell us to be quiet. If there was air conditioning inside we would not have been out there.

During the day the animation team worked hard to try and get everyone involved in some sort of sport or other, but the other thing we thought was lacking was there was no music by the pool.

Thats really all I can say about the hotel. Overall as I said we made the best of it, met lots of people and made lots of friends. My daughter also made lots of friends. So with good company we had a good time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Carol
11 years 2 months ago
Like some, our group read the reviews before we went so were a little worried but prepared to see for ourselves. All in all it was good value for money and we all enjoyed the holiday.

The food was good and everyone in our group were happy with the choices on offer. The rooms are a little tired and could do with updating, but were clean and we had room service every day.

The staff were really friendly and helpful. The only downside for us was the entertainment - which did not start until 10pm at night. The nightclub which hosted the events each evening had no air conditioning and did have it's fair share of cockroches which did put our group off. We did not have any pests in our room but did at night sometimes have cockroaches on the balcony which could be offputting.

Only top tip we would give is be prepared to be up early if you want to secure a sun bed. Some of the English guests were getting up at 5.30am...yes 5.30am to be sure to beat the other nationalities who have this down to a fine art.

If you have teenage kids this may not be the resort for you as there is not much on offer for this age group in the resort which is very quiet.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

11 years 4 months ago
Just got back from a week at the Monica Beach (17-24th June), and had to pass on my thoughts. Please accept my apologies if my review is a little long-winded, but I hope my views help others with their decision. My boyfriend and I travelled with Thomas Cook and are both in our late 20s.

ARRIVAL
Arrived at Fuerteventura and transferred to the hotel hassle free, then the fun and games began! We checked in at the Monica Beach just before 11pm, and were starving. Unfortunately, there was no food available
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.