Image of Lopespan Costa Meloneras Resort Spa Hotel

Lopespan Costa Meloneras Resort Spa Hotel

3 of 34 hotels in Maspalomas

5 out of 5 from 8 reviews
4 stars
Lopesan Baobab Resort, C/ Mar MediterrĂ¡neo, 1, 35100 San Bartolome de Tirajana (Gran Canaria), Spain

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
lhb
8 years 3 months ago
My wife & I have been home a week now, and we have been trying to think of anything wrong with this hotel.

There isn't anything we can find fault with.

It can get a bit busy & noisy in the restaurants. But there are a lot of people in there. The buffet style food is excellent, so many choices, and well prepared, the first bite is usually a pleasure, (rather than the nasty surprise that you get in some places). Theres normally at least 2 fish & about 3 meat choices, as well as salads etc. The restaurant staff work like a well oiled machine.

I won't go into the features of this hotel, its already been said. Look on google earth to confirm its perfect location.

Entertainment was fine, not big shows. But a band would be playing on the plaza all evening, as well as a pianist & singer in the main reception area.
Between 9.30 & 10.30 another act would take over in the plaza area, this might be Acrobats, dancers, or a tribute band. To me the fantastic 'Il Divo Forever' (obviously a Il Divo tribute group) were one of the highlights of the holiday, I only regret not buying their CD. There is also a downstairs bar, which has entertainment from 2300, normally a tribute singer.

Overall a fantastic hotel, perhaps the buffet style restaurants stop it being 5 star, but there is no other way to feed so many people with such efficency.

Although often forgotten, the staff were great. everyone would say hello, be it the cleaner, gardener or the man painting the lights. Also an information desk was manned most of the day, just ask.

As a price guide, the cheapest wine at dinner is 12 euros, or 7 for 1/2 bottle. beer, I think 3euros for a 330ml bottle, water 1.70 euros, soft drink I think about 2.70. Don't hold me to these prices. 2 coffees whilst watching an evening show 3.40 euro.

My final comment, during our stay there were very few other english speaking guests, this we don't mind, we don't go abroad to be in little england, but it might put some people off.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: self

Recommended
Morris
9 years 2 months ago
Just come back from this amazing hotel! It was like winning the lottery Nothing was too much trouble for the staff
The hotel itself is just amazing, massive grounds with many pools and gardens
Everywhere is spotless they are always cleaning.
The Infinity pool just blew us away, very classy hotel
Suitable for couples, honeymooners and also familes with well behaved children lol
The food was great too. we can't find a thing to complain about and would go there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
A And J. P.
10 years ago
A fantastic hotel, very clean and quite "upmarket". This hotel is huge, we were given a map to help us find the way around, and we still kept getting lost. The room was a good size, with a comfortable bed, but the air conditioning could have been better. We were on the fifth floor and had the most amazing view of the garden and pools, with the sea in the back ground.
The garden is beautiful, with several pools, one which is like a river, with a kind of island in the middle which were reached by a bridge. The garden and pools blew us away. There are quite a lot of palm trees around the pools, so there is plenty of shade.
We were hunting for sunbeds placed in a sunny spot!!
Breakfast and dinner are buffet service, both good, all food was well cooked and presented. There are two main restaurants to eat in, and considering the amount of people staying there, there was very little queing going on.

The entertainment was not good, the stage was tiny and seem to face the wrong way, with very few seats in front of it. There was some circus acts and some dance shows going on, all very disappointing.

The area is lovely, lots of expensive shops, nice restaurants and bars and a nice promenade. The beach is fantastic, very wide and with golden sand. It was spotlesly clean, too.

It's a very impressive and well run hotel.

We would definitely go back to this area of Gran Canaria.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mytravel

Recommended
Mia
10 years 5 months ago
Wonderful relaxing 5 star hotel!

We had a junior suite on the 2d floor looking in to a little backyard beside the mini golf course. Our view wasn't the best but we had asked for a quite room and we really got that so that was really good. The junior suite was a bedroom and a additional room with a sofa, both rooms had a TV with many TV-channels, I think it was three English channels so that was good. The bathroom was very beautiful, separate shower and bath AND both the rooms and bathroom was very clean and nice. And the housekeeping staff was great, every day they cleaned the room very good!

The pool area was amazing... In the biggest pool you could swim out by a edge looking right out on the Atlantic! Then you had many smaller pools and I think three Jacuzzis. Because it was kind of windy when we stayed here we stayed almost everytime at a small pool near the hotel. The temp in the pools was from 22c and I think the temp was 28c in the Jacuzzis. The whole pool area was very green with lots of different palm trees and flowers, very relaxing atmosphere.

The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was also very good, lots to choose, and it was served from 8am to 11am. The peak time was from 9.30am, we came down a couple of times after 9.30am and it was a really madhouse at that time....

We rented a safety box, 16 euros for one week. And if you bring your lap-top they have wireless Internet but it was expensive, 12 euros for 24hrs.

We had a really relaxing and lovely time there, all the staff that we met was very nice! The only negative was when we checked out. When we got the factura we saw that they had put up a boat cruise for 96 euros that we haven't done! They even showed a book with our room number in it but we keep repeating that we haven't been on that boat, we were at Palmitos Park that day, we said that we could show them some pics on our digital cameras but they believed in us so we got our 96 euros back.

This was a little surprice because they were so accurate at the breakfast, every morning they slipped the roomcard and everytime you was going in by the gate from the beach promenade you had to show your roomcard. Oh well....

We really want to go back there again, that's for sure, even it was a little expensive it was worth every money!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: On our own, just a flight seat with a charter flight

Recommended
L. Breen
10 years 6 months ago
First class hotel. Worthy of 5 stars.

We had a 3rd floor room with pool view which we paid a supplement for. The room was big, spotless even had a fridge. The bathroom was also big and well equipped with a separate power shower cubicle power. Large bath with shower over bath. Hairdryer. Towelling dressing gown robes were also supplied. Hotel also insist that only the towels supplied by them are to be used in the pool area.

We were only on B.&.B. basis. Plenty of choice for breakfast and also two restaurants both with outside eating areas.

Swimming pools were clean and heated. There was always chairs available but even though hotel state they do not tolerate towels being left on chairs all day, this was not the case and all the best seating usually had towels on but no bodies.

The grounds were very well kept.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Christine & Derek, Phil & Denise
11 years 1 month ago
After enjoying a relaxing weeks holiday here in June 2005, we decided to go again this year for two weeks.

The hotel is superb. Its a 4*+ verging on a 5* if there were more staff. The cleanliness of this hotel is superb, the cleaners, gardeners and hotel staff work 24/7 to keep this hotel immaculate.

There were more kids here this year but I think that is mainly to do with the 'word of mouth' spreading about the hotel. There are many pools catering for all ages. My fav was the jacuzzi area facing the sea which is mainly where adults can go for peace.

There is even a nudist area which is sectioned off from the other sunbathers.

The food here is excellent and caters for all tastes.

The entertainment on the terrace is superb, but the slight downfall is that you must have a good seat by 9pm else you will have to watch the backs of the artists.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Crockett
11 years 4 months ago
We arrived at this stunning hotel about midday. Check in time was 2.00pm and we were not surprised our room was not ready, but the friendly receptionist was very apologetic and gave us a voucher for drinks at the bar whilst we waited. We took the opportunity to explore the vast resort and initial impressions were excellent.

We
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
Gary Bloyce
11 years 7 months ago
This a very big modern hotel that largely attracts German visitors.

It was very clean and well maintained. Rooms are good size with well appointed bathrooms and nice balconies. Few rooms have much of a sea view due to the extensive tropical gardens leading down to the beach. The 'garden/pool' view rooms have a very pleasant outlook whereas those with a 'mountain' view could be overlooking the car park. Obviously these are much cheaper.

The location is excellent, directly on the seafront and a few minutes walk from Masplaomas lighthouse and the expanse of dunes. There are also some good shops and high quality restaurants in the vicinity. Try Grand Italia for ice creams and evening meals.

Staff aren't the friendliest I've met but managed everything quite efficiently.

Quality of entertainment in the evening was much better than we had expected and most people seemed to enjoy it.

We had half board as we booked direct (the cheapest option) and it came as standard, though we had most meals out. The hotel food was good without being spectacular. Half board evening meals are self service buffet style in two restaurants that lost any atmosphere due to the enormous scale and number of people. If you have half board, you also can book a table at the small Vistamar restaurant (we had to book two days ahead). Don't miss this, it was a great experience. You can also eat in two other upmarket restaurants at 15% discount, both excellent.
We also ate at La Toja in Playa Del Ingles (17 Avenida Tirajana). This really is excellent and a cut above anything else we found.

Overall, this is fantastic hotel with fabulous gardens and outdoor pools and would appeal to anyone who wants a leisurely holiday in very comfortable surroundings.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.