Image of Vista Dorada Bungalows

Vista Dorada Bungalows

22 of 34 hotels in Maspalomas

3 out of 5 from 26 reviews
2 stars
Calle de Einstein, 7, 35100 San Bartolomé de Tirajana, Spain

26 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Kirsty
8 years 4 months ago
Just got back from a weeks stay, self catering in the Vista Dorada Apartments. Had a lovely week and would certainly concider staying again. For the price we paid the apartmaents were basic but clean, no site of any cockroaches and we had a cleaner pop in every day! The pool was gorgeous and very clean wiv plenty of sun beds available! The staff were friendly and very helpful, esp the lady on reception during the day who spoke very good english and helped us wiv transport around gran canaria! We didnt eat at the on site restaurant as we ate whildst we were out and about on the island! Would reccomend the restaurant Maximillion on the boulavard at faro de maspalomas! A* for service and food!! All in all the holiday was superb and weather even better! would recommend!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Nicki
8 years 7 months ago
Pleasant staff and relatively clean hotel. Had mould in the bathroom, but I asked for it to be cleaned off and it was done so the next day. Only one pool, divided into two sections, not heated as some sites advertise, some flakey paintwork but generally ok. This hotel is on many levels, although there are ramps everywhere, would not recommend for wheelchair users unless you have huge muscles! Has a lovely play area for children, staff speak good english and a shop was being re-done out while we where there, but there was a good supermarket about one minute to the left of the hotel as you go out the door.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Monster

Recommended
George Mc Tier
9 years 9 months ago
Holiday was AOA we arrived at 12 midnight with 12 other guests and had to find our own way to our bungalows it took 20 minutes up and down steps and paths to locate it. Others weren,t so lucky some were still looking at 1 o clock.

Studio was basic but clean. Staff were fine we upgraded to half board but only had 2 meals which were just warm young waitress was nice and friendly nice pool area plenty of sunbeds.

Location is out of main areas so it is taxis everywhere no entertainment at all bar was like a ghost town we went to the hotel up the road or into one of the resorts at night might bemore lively during summer season.

We paid just 139 pounds each so can,t really complain.

Would advise somewhere closer to resorts for more entertainment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: falcon

Paul
9 years 11 months ago
we have just got back from gran canaria and would never go back again. we stayed in the vista dorada in sonnenlands, after booking AOA through cosmos and flying with monarch. to start with, when we got to the accomodation we found we had a very long walk to our alocated bungalow down a very winding path. we stayed in the second from bottom level. lets just say you burn enough calories off walking back up the hill to allow you to have a big english breakfast without having to worry about gaining pounds.
the rooms were in clean condition when you first look but after looking closer you find not everything is as it seems. we had MANY cockroaches and there seemed to be a party going on in the bath every night and all the ants from the area were invited. not nice at all. luckly we had packed insect repellant so were able to combat the cockroaches.
we had booked a hire car prior to leaving the uk. if we hadn't done this we would have been in taxis every day as the hotel is in the middle of nowhere. addmitedly there are a few shops in the area but nothing to write home about. granted, the hotel did provide a free bus to take you to the beach which, otherwise, would have been a good 45 mins walk.i've read somewhere that its 3km.
we paid for self catering but on arrive we took the offer of all inclusive. we paid 260E for the 2 of us for 1 week which don't sound too bad until you try the food. if you like chips then you'll like this food. we strugled to find anything that wasn't full of grease. some was not cooked. before leaving, we had lunch and found the fish we both had was not remotely warm and raw. i'm sure it wasn't supposed to be suchi. for breakfast we resorted to beans on toast.
on a possitive side, the staff tried their best to help you out. their english wasnt the best but niether is our spanish.

all in all, i would aviod this place like the plague. it really spoilt our time away and will make us think twice about visiting gran canaria again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: cosmos

Mrs Welch
10 years 7 months ago
We stayed in a one bedroomed bungalow self catering. The kitchen was well equipped and very clean. Bedroom was basic and during March the nights were cold so we could have done with extra blankets.

The bungalow was recently decorated and we found it pleasant to stay in. Some bungalows were difficult to get to if you weren
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: freedom direct

Recommended
Ian
10 years 8 months ago
The bungalows were basic but very clean. They had all we needed a fridge(keep beer and wine cold), balcony etc
just be aware the balcony's dont have handles on outside so dont shut when on them.

We didn't use the hotel facilities so can't comment on them but the pool area was well used and so was the restaurant.

The hotel staff were fantastic, really helpful, and just there for you all day and night.

If you want 5 star then go else where, if you want clean accommodation that's not to far from most places then this is great(3 euros)to most places.

We had a fantastic time as it was carnival there all week, going back for another week in May.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: apollo travel

Recommended
John Bateman
10 years 10 months ago
Personally, we missed not having afternoon sunshine due to the easterly facing aspect. We really wanted winter cheer.

It was a distance to the beach but there was a complimentary bus transfer to and from the complex.

Onsite supermarket was poorly stocked but there was a Spar shop across the road.

There were a couple of good restaurants a short walk away. We did use the facilities on the complex too and it was fair.

Yes, there were plenty of cats and cockroaches around the bungalows and we had the added bonus of a busy nest of ants in the bathroom. The creatures did not really affect the holiday.

Staff were friendly.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: MyTravel

LAURA PERRY
11 years 1 month ago
The bungalows are very basic but nice. They were clean enough and youu have a brush and mop if you dont think so.

We were there for a week and we had 2 baby cockroaches in the apartment but thats not due to mess its a problem Gran Canaria has.

I didnt eat in the hotel but speaking to people they said it was ok only 8.90 euro for as much as you want bufet.

The hotel was tucked away in a quiet bit of Maspalomas (Sonnenland) but for a taxi to most places is less than 5 euro.

Our room was second last block to the bottom but if you couldnt manage the hill the staff were doing there best to accomodate you to a better suited one.

The entertainment was rubbish but it was only me and my fiance and 4 other people there. The Yumbo centre is a real eye opener it is the gay centre of europe but no one tries to annoy you.

We travelled with Direct holidays the rep "MARKY" was good and helpful. We went on 3 trips, aqualand = ok but only had 14 attractions, millenium flashback = fab,free dinner and drink all night you even see marky in hotpants (not a good sight) sorry marky!!! we also went on a 2 hr dolphin watch that was brill seeing them act they way they should in the wild.

The only thing I didnt like was the flight we flew with Futura airlines. The plane was meant to be only a few yrs old felt more like 30 yr old. The staff were ignorant and when I asked for a blanket I got told no and when I said I was freezing the answer was tough tell the captain!!!

If your wanting a quiet holiday go here but if you want a clubbing holiday go to Puerto Rico.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Linda & Raymond
11 years 1 month ago
On arrival to the bungalow we stayed in, I was very disappointed. It would need a goods clean and a lick of paint.

The fridge was all rusted and I had to started cleaning when I got there. The accommodation was a 1 Key accommodation which was shown on the front of the building. I paid for AOA guaranteed 3 key !

The hotel up the street was a 3 key, Some difference it was like a palace. The pool area was nice you would not need to be in a hurry at the pool bar as it took them for ever.

I will be contacting direct holidays as this was not a 3 key accommodation. It has been the worst accommodation I have ever been in.

The bungalows were all down a winding path. It would definitely be no good for the elderly.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Mrs Wood
11 years 2 months ago
What a superb holiday...........

We visited here back in 2003 where we had such a good holiday we went again.

We have two young children which is why we choose the Vista Dorada. The pools are excellent and very clean. Ok the kids entertainment wasn't up to much but our son made some wonderful friends and they kept themselves entertained all day and all evening.

We went self-catering but on seeing that some of the resturants were no longer there we opted for All-inclusive and we weren't disappointed. The food was hot and there was plenty to choose from.

As for the rooms we again had a garden bungalow which was excellent, very clean with proper beds and a proper travel cot.

The staff there are among some of the most friendly people you could meet. They run around all day non-stop, clearing up, tidying up etc and they are always smiling.

I do agree that its a bit far out but the taxis picks up right outside and they don't cost much to get about.

We went for a relaxing holiday where we knew the kids would be safe and have a great time.

We got what we wanted and have nothing to complain about.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.