Image of Playa Meloneras Palace H10 Hotel

Playa Meloneras Palace H10 Hotel

2 of 2 hotels in Meloneras

4 out of 5 from 33 reviews
5 stars
Calle Mar Caspio, 35100 Playa Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Situated near Meloneras beach in the southern part of Gran Canaria, the hotel is close to Maspalomas golf course.

33 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    17
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Chris
9 years 5 months ago
We spent 1 week at this good 4* hotel in Gran canaria. Our room was very and clean and spacious and kept very clean by the maids. Food was good with plenty of choice.The pools and location are the best things about this hotel. Try and request a room on a higher floor to take advantage of the sun.

The area I would say is upmarket and fairly quiet and is not far from Maspalomas.(10 min walk)
We would definatley recommend this hotel although probably a 4* plus than a 5*. We paid a good price and had a great holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Relaxabroad

Recommended
Sue And Alan
10 years 6 months ago
Alan & Myself needed a restful holiday after a rather stressful year in one way or another. We chose well the hotel was beautiful.

Cleanliness was second to none and the food could not be faulted, with a wide range to suit all veggies and meat eaters.

The Hotel was in a good position with the beach just accross a small quite road.

Staff were eager to please.

Unfortunately the entertainment was to say the least DISAPPOINTING but we had a fabulous time and would go again in a heart beat.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Christine McGrath
10 years 9 months ago
We recently returned from a week's stay at the H10 Playa Meloneras Palace.

Although generally, the hotel facilities are excellent, our room was large, well equipped, with a lovely sea view (as do all rooms in the hotel - just depends what floor you are on)we were very disappointed with the standard of service in the buffet restaurant.

There were queues to be seated at breakfast and dinner, tables were not fully laid with cutlery (in fact there was a shortage of cutlery, teaspoons like gold dust!)and much of the crockery severely chipped and cracked (not the standard expected of 5* establishment).

Selection of food was not great and only just warm (microwave provided to heat up your own meal!). Unhappy restaurant staff due to shortage. Reception and bar staff were much more upbeat. Real shame that poor service lets down such a beautiful hotel.

Several guests I spoke to were repeat business but felt service had deteriorated since last visit - hope hotel takes note and makes improvements.

Would like to return as resort and surrounding area is fab but need to ensure hotel implement major improvements.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Alan Divilly
11 years 4 months ago
Stayed at easter 2006. Myself and wife found the hotel
superb, everything we expected after reading the reviews here.

Three points to note:-

There is a problem with mosquitoes here due to the construction of the golf course next door they are particularly aggressive do not leave patio door open.

If you need to see the doctor in the hotel it costs 165 euros. Check your insurance before seeing him as it usually invalidates the insurance found to my cost.

Do ask at the help desk about the stretched limo for the run back to the airport at 48 euros it's a bargain only seats 4 though (it's not a big limo)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: used internet

Recommended
Rob & Kate Hobbs
11 years 6 months ago
The hotel is ideal for people who want to get away from the hustle of a busier resort such as playa des ingles but still close enough to get to it if you wanted (taxis under 5 euros).

Hotel was imaculate and the design was fabulous, with all rooms facing towards the ocean.

Food was of a varied selection with plenty of choice and the food in the a la carte resteraunt was superb.

The hotel was set above a newly developed shopping / resteraunt area , although at this moment it is only 1/3rd occupied, but dont let that put you off because there are some good eateries there.

Staff are friendly and greeting them with a smile etc you get the same back.

The only letdown we thought was the entertainment , which wasnt up to what we thought a 5 star hotel should be presenting, especially the terrible duo who perform before and after the main acts several nights.
(got to be the worst performance of I just called to say I love you I have ever heard).
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Chris Clarke
11 years 6 months ago
This was our second visit to Meloneras Palace and we were not disappointed - except in the entertainment during the evenings.

We never encountered queues in the restaurant on either visit, food was plentiful and hot (or cold as appropriate).

Both rooms we have had have been excellent - with care paid to detail and maintenance completed even before we had noticed it on one occasion! The maintenance man arrived to tell us that there was a light bulb gone in the bathroom - the maid had reported it. Cleaning was immaculate and everyday there was a little something left for us - a bottle of wine, an apple with a heart stuck in it for Valentine's Day, sweets.......

The hotel staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They enjoyed a joke - and obviously responded well to relaxed, happy guests.

We never had problems with sunbeds - on either of our stays. They were always plentiful - although sometimes needed to be moved a little as would be expected.

The entertainment let the hotel down badly. The resident band in the recent week we spent there was loud and sang the same songs every night. (We were disappointed to have missed the band who were excellent on our previous visit and who were performing the week after we went home.) The animation team evening was really dire - a typical example of humour misplaced and misjudgement of the audience.

Yes, we will go back. There are few hotels of this calibre where we have been made so welcome.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Andy B
11 years 9 months ago
Well weve been back again and H10 seem to be listening to complaints. There are now 5 English TV channels (inc Sky News).

The food has really improved and although still limited choice, it is hot and fresh.

Still the night time entertainment is dire (I am sure most acts are "X factor rejects) But the place is great.

Accross the road the new shopping complex is filling up and there are some VERY VERY good eating places there. The best of all is there are far less Germans!!

Word of warning flying Thomas Cook.... The seats are the narrowest I have ever sat in (18" wide) so beware!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Dawn
11 years 11 months ago
You shouldn't have any hesitation about staying at this hotel. It is in a quiet location, the hotel is clean, well run. The staff are friendly and efficient and accommodating towards children. The pool areas are fantastic and you can find quiet areas to relax well away from the childrens pool if you wish. You don't need pool towels as these are provided. The golf course being constructed nearby did not bother us - we could not hear any noise at all - I don't think there is an issue here as progress has been made since other comments were made.

There is a good choice of food, if you are prepared to wait a few minutes for freshly cooked fish and meat you will certainly enjoy it. Don't forget that you are bound to queue for food as it is self-service but it is still quicker than being waited on, although they do bring you wine/drinks.

The standard of entertainment was what you would expect in a hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Security Travel

Recommended
Julie Hamilton
11 years 11 months ago
Having stayed at this hotel 4 times now we have noticed a steady decline in standards.

The quality and variety of food in particular has become quite poor especially the dinner menu.Having stayed at a number of H10 hotels I would now say that the food is worse than one of H10's 3star hotels.On 2 occasions we exchanged our dinner for a voucher giving us a 3 course lunch at the pool restraunt {wish we could have done this every day!}The service in the main restraunt is slow because they seem to have too few staff.

Practically every plate,cup,saucer etc is chipped or cracked and there are NO teaspoons! Having said all that the hotel itself is quite unique and the main dome is beautifully designed.

Its such a shame to see a once superb hotel decline in standards so quickly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: security travel

Recommended
Andi
11 years 11 months ago
We had a fabulous time at this hotel. Despite other reports, we thought the food was fantastic, and although there was some repetition, there was always such a huge selection, that we always managed to find something to suit us, and we are quite picky eaters!

The hotel was immaculately clean, and the rooms were always cleaned, tidied, and refreshed with new towels and bedding every morning.

The staff were always friendly, despite being in a country which English is not the first language, they were very good at making an effort to communicate with us, probably more effort than we could have made with them!

The location seems a bit out of the way, but the taxi's are so cheap, you can afford to nip anywhere nearby to find something to do.

The pool and facilities are spectacular. Split into two areas, you can chose whether you want the slightly larger pool, or the quieter smaller pool with superb views off into the horizon.

I can honestly say we were delighted with the hotel, and would certainly go there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.