Image of Barbados Apartments

Barbados Apartments

23 of 60 hotels in Playa Del Ingles

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
2 stars
Avenida de Tirajana, 17, 35130 Playa del Ingl├ęs, Spain

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mark
9 years 11 months ago
Well what can I say about our holiday in GC and the Barbados Apartments! Absolutely blinding week (in fact I booked a flight to come home 2 days later) and we both can't wait to return in April 2008.

The accommodation is basic, but then we didn't expect it to be anything more and was more than adequate for what we wanted. I found all staff to be friendly and helpful and the cleaning staff were great at their jobs and provided fresh towels when we needed them.

I must admit we didn't see a great deal of the resort and literally spent every night in the Yumbo Centre after a few bevvies in Detox Retox down the road!

We always found that we could get sunbeds what ever time of the day, even 1pm after crawling down from the apartment very hungover. We chose to sun bathe at the more "lively" pool because its nice to have some back ground choons and what better way to get over a hangover than to carrying on drinking and having a dash of H's "happiness in a glass" in your beer.

We met some fantastic people at the Barbados, in fact we are still in very good contact with 2 guys from Dublin and had some wicked weekends both in Dublin and London since.

Overall the holiday must be the best one i've had so far and I can't wait to get booked up for April (my birthday).
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
10 years 1 month ago
We were a little dubious about having booked these apartments on reading the previous reviews as we have 2 children aged 6 and 8, and on arrival the first thing I noticed was that our toilet was filthy which didn't fill me with much confidence.

As the week went on, we got used to the place and had no other problems with the room. It was very basic (if you want 5 star luxury avoid this place at all costs!) but had what we needed for the week so we just made the best of it. The complex was OK, there were 2 pool area's and we quickly realised the quieter pool away from the pool bar was better for us. The behaviour of some of the other English guests around the pool bar quite frankly made me ashamed to be British.

That said, the quiet pool was wonderful and relaxing, it was cleaned thoroughly every morning, and there was never a fight for sunbeds. It got a little busier at the weekend when the locals arrived for their weekend siesta, but the children loved it, they gained some Spanish playmates who were very friendly and welcoming to them, much nicer than the English holidaymakers!

The location of the apartments really was the saving grace, but that still wouldn't be reason enough for us to return. The dirty loo on the first night just put me off.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: xl.com

Ross Family
10 years 4 months ago
We arrived back from these apartments on Monday and really would not recommend these for a family. I think they are better suited for a young couple just requiring to get their heads down for the night.

The apartments are in great need of upgrading and look very old and tired.

We were situated right above the British Bull Dog and the noise was unbelievable.Ever heard the saying you only get what your paid for? They are however ideally situated to the Yumbo and very central with a 2 minute walk.

The pool was absolutely freezing also.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Other

Recommended
Paul Strange
10 years 6 months ago
Having just returned from a one week holiday with the family, my experience was nothing but positive. The room was large and clean with a modern well fitted kitchen and two good sized bedrooms. The two pools are large, but unheated, so a bit cold in Feb. At this time of year, it was fairly quiet with no problems getting sunbeds etc.

All the staff were very helpful and friendly. However, it's the location that wins in my book. It's a short walk to the Yumbo centre where everything happens !!. More bars & restaurants than we could cope with. We ended up going there every night !!. I'd read stories about the gay scene and with two daughters in tow, was a bit concerned, but it's all very low key.

All in all, highly recommended.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Freedom Direct

Recommended
Lynne
11 years 1 month ago
Me and my boyfriend got back from here yesterday (10th) and we had the most fantastic time on this holiday.

The room was very spacious with two bedrooms, a decent sized bathroom with walk-in shower, a very well equipped kitchen - this contained a 4 ring hob, toaster, microwave, fridge/freezer and plenty of cupboard space, and a basic but comfortable living room and balcony.

The apartments have it's own restaurant downstairs, aswell as 2 swimming pools, a cash machine and internet access in the reception area and a gym.

The location of the hotel was spot on.
It was just above a number of small bars, shops that sell everything you will need. It is a 2 minute walk from the spar. There is banks, pubs, clubs, shopping centres and lots of restaurants all within a 5 minute walking distance.

The staff were helpful and friendly and the maids did a great job.

Will definately come back here and would recommend it to anybody in an instant.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Paul
11 years 2 months ago
We had 2 decent sized bedrooms with plenty of storage
space. The kitchen was equipped with 4 ring hob, toaster,
kettle, microwave and full sized fridge/freezer.

The only criticism was the balcony was a bit on the
small side. The rooms are cleaned 5 times a week and
the maids don't mind coming back if your not an early riser.

Location is great as it is right in the centre
of Playa del Ingles.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: low cost

Recommended
Brian,Glynis Mcwhirter
12 years ago
We had the most beautiful time ever this hotel is just perfect for all family types.

The pool area was great every morning it was cleaned by the staff.

The staff were really great, we are hoping to come back in Feb,2007.

The room was every thing you need for self catering needs, very clean. All rooms over look the pool which was great it meant we could watch our daughter while we had a lovely drink, maid service was great.

We strongly recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Recommended
13 years 1 month ago
We stayed here with our boys 14 12 11 and 8 and is was a fantastic week .

Hotel pool and bar ideal for kids while u get ready .. every appartment overlooks pool .. great location .. below apartments is a great bar .

The Jolly Jesters, if Mathew is still there say hi from us lol..the appartments are a 2 minute walk to the Yumbo center and about 30 -40 min walk Maspalomas.

You wont be sorry
,, deffo return ..
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
14 years ago
Basic but clean, pool good for the kids, great location....
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.