Image of Barcelo Margaritas Hotel

Barcelo Margaritas Hotel

31 of 60 hotels in Playa Del Ingles

4 out of 5 from 57 reviews
4 stars
v de Gran Canaria, 40, 35100 San Bartolome de Tirajana (Gran Canaria), Spain
Good quality accommodation with everything laid on for you is what you will find at the Hotel las Margaritas.

57 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    19
  • Good
    20
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Steve
Fair
5 years 5 months ago
Not sure how this hotel achieves 4 Star status. We previously stayed in the excellent Barcelo Corralejo, Fuerteventura in late 2010 and assumed this would be a similar standard.

Barcelo Las Margaritas is neither particular good, nor particularly bad, with a few exceptions.

The rooms could do with a makeover, they are a bit jaded.
The heated outdoor swimming pool certainly is a bonus; however just about everything else is average, except the evening entertainment which was amateurish at best.
Norman Watson
7 years 5 months ago
My son took me on holiday for my 50th birthday and we went to the Barcello Margeritas just by chance.As we went all inclusive,it was going to be a lads holiday.The rooms were very clean and the hotel was clean throughout. No complaints about the food,plenty of choice to suit every taste and was very pleased with it. Maybe the location isnt the best but we were there to lie around not explore. Hotel staff very friendly bar maybe the thin bar manager on an evening at the poolside bar who always seemed to want to clear up and close the bar 15 minutes early yet the other lad who worked when he didnt,kept it open untill 11pm like it is advertised.The poolside bar with the self service is an excellent idea and of course my son and i made the most of it ha ha. The entertainment? Absolutely awful,the hotel seriously needs to change this,it drove people away,during the day the bingo,pool games etc were to be honest,pathetic. If you can ignore the entertainment,then this hotel is spot on,but many people who pay for all inclusive want good entertainment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Norman Watson
7 years 5 months ago
My son took me on holiday for my 50th birthday and we went to the Barcello Margeritas just by chance.As we went all inclusive,it was going to be a lads holiday.The rooms were very clean and the hotel was clean throughout. No complaints about the food,plenty of choice to suit every taste and was very pleased with it. Maybe the location isnt the best but we were there to lie around not explore. Hotel staff very friendly bar maybe the thin bar manager on an evening at the poolside bar who always seemed to want to clear up and close the bar 15 minutes early yet the other lad who worked when he didnt,kept it open untill 11pm like it is advertised.The poolside bar with the self service is an excellent idea and of course my son and i made the most of it ha ha. The entertainment? Absolutely awful,the hotel seriously needs to change this,it drove people away,during the day the bingo,pool games etc were to be honest,pathetic. If you can ignore the entertainment,then this hotel is spot on,but many people who pay for all inclusive want good entertainment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Gilbert McGill
7 years 7 months ago
Went with fairly high expectations having used the Barcelo chain before. Overall disappointed.

On first arrival we discovered the patio door to the balcony would not lock and a subsequent complaint resulted in a new handle and lock being fitted however the door still did not lock. Others had a simlar complaint re door security.

The entertainment was not for us and it seemed that maximum volume was used at the poolside each night. Rooms to this side of the hotel had no option but to endure this each time.

Food was OK but typical of some buffets could be cold.

Staff were friendly an courteous.

A bonus was a free bus to the beech in resort and adjoining Maspalomas.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

8 years ago
Just back from another great holiday in Gran Canaria but what is happening at the Barcelo Las Margaritas ?? This is our 4th year at the Barcelo and although we had a great time standards are definitely slipping. We always stay Self Catering in the Las Margaritas Suites (apartments), so my comments will relate to these not the hotel.

Plus points first:
Very speedy check in at 9:45pm - we were the only ones checking in as we got a private taxi from the airport.

Got the apartment that we had requested via email
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
8 years 2 months ago
Only came here due to turkey holiday tour op going bust so had to choose this as we had 24 hrs before travelling. We didnt read any reviews prior to going.
Arrive early hrs in the morning room was nice but handle broken write off patio door gor fixed eventually.Lovely big place very clean fairly quiet food was okay a bit repetitive but made the most of it.Then theres the STAFF..not very friendly actually quite rude! was not happy we asked for smirnoff to be put back at the self serv.One of the waiters pulled my 10yr old boys shorts down just about revealing his privates he was quite scared when we approached waiter he was very very apologetic to the point of petrified i think he thought i was going to report him maybe i should have after the way this holiday turned out. As for the locals who were staying here are the rudist bunch i have ever came across no manners whatsoever.
We did enjoy ourselves but the hotel staff did let us down BIG TIME especially on our departure we were told by TC we would have our room till until we left for the airport as it was a night flight , the hotel told us to leave roon at 12noon & cut the AI wristband from my wrist & said no more !! we did complain to management & reps but did nothing.W
Overall the food was okay , hotel nice , staff not nice very clean..I wouldnt recommend this hotel & i wouldnt go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Teresa
8 years 8 months ago
We travelled with Thomas Cook and arrived at the Barcelo Margaritas hotel on 29 December for our 7 night all-inclusive package at 4:00pm to find our allocated room had not been made up; nor had the second but third time lucky and we were given a room on the 5th floor overlooking the hotel pool and the Margaritas apartment complex opposite. The room was clean, nicely furnished with plenty of wardrobe space, shelving and drawers and a reasonably sized bathroom with huge white fluffy bath towels!! Although the colour and design of the bed coverings and bathroom tiling wasn't to my taste, I couldn't really fault the room which was very comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay. The maids did a very thorough job each day, not that we left our room in a mess.

On previous all-inclusive packages we have been used to having an assigned table in the restaurant for dinner and were a bit alarmed to find this was not the case at the Margaritas. Dinner was between 5:30pm and 9:00pm and involved finding a table which had been made up following earlier use by previous diners. After the first couple of nights roaming the restaurant looking for a made up table for 4 (we travelled with friends), we were a bit worried at the prospect of a possible 'free for all' at the Gala dinner. We needn't have worried!

The New Year's Eve Gala dinner was a great success. I think the restaurant must have had extra staff on that evening as we were actually shown to a table ready for 4 and were handed a glass of champagne and a red rose for each lady on arrival. The food at the Margaritas is excellent with a huge choice of meats, fish dishes and vegetarian options for the evening meals, but they really pushed the boat out for the Gala dinner and we could chose from half lobsters, huge prawns, duck, fish, beef......... the list is endless. For breakfast there are fruit juices, all sorts of cereals, cold meats and cheese, bacon, sausages, eggs (boiled, fried, scrambled, omelettes), a variety of rolls and bread, preserves and just about anything you could wish for. Lunch is usually similar to the evening meals but with a smaller selection on offer but still plenty to cater for most tastes. The serveries were always very clean, with plenty of kitchen staff on hand to top up the food and replace any that was not up to temperature.

Evening entertainment takes place outside, which I have mixed feelings about, but it's becoming more common wherever you go now. There were three professional shows whilst we were there (Chinese acrobats who were breathtaking, a Vanessa Mae tribute act including dancers, and a very good Abba tribute act for New Years Eve). Unfortunately the entertainment provided by the resident animations team was absolutely awful! Thank goodness as 4 adults we were happy to just chat in the Manhattan bar where they had a pianist playing for a hour most evenings. The daytime activities were practically nonexistent too, despite the Thomas Cook brochure and hotel's web site stating various day time activities such as volley ball, football, archery etc would be available. We spoke to one of the team who said as the season progressed more activities would take place once more team members arrived into the season! Not a great problem for us who really just wanted to spend a week relaxing in the sun, but if we had stayed longer this could have been a disappointment.

The hotel grounds are very well looked after and the pathways kept clean daily, with plenty of rubbish bins throughout the site. The pool and bar areas are also spotlessly clean and no glasses area allowed immediately round the pool areas. The pool outside the hotel building is rather small and shaded by palm trees so the water temperature was quite cold. I imagine this is not a problem in the height of summer but in December the pool really needed heating. The pool to the apartment side was much larger and in the sun most of the day so consequently was used more. Both pools looked very clean at all times.

Although there is a free shuttle bus to the beach several times a day, we chose to walk on both occasions and it took us no longer than 20 minutes. Approximately 10 minutes into the walk you will come across the Yumbo Centre - a must for shopping during the day and a good night out during the evenings! You'll see what I mean if you go there one evening.

The Barcelo Margaritas was better than I had hoped for after reading the reviews which were posted after we booked our holiday. It was clean, well kept and maintained and offered reasonably high standards. My biggest gripe is that the long trousers policy in the dining room for gentlemen at dinner is not strongly enforced. Not only were several men wearing knee length trousers, but one evening I was horrified to see one 'gentleman' leave the restaurant wearing a vest!! It's not really the hotel's fault if some people do not know correct dining etiquette but it needs to be stopped before it becomes more common place.

I would certainly recommend the Margaritas Hotel to friends but I think one week was long enough due to the lack of quality entertainment and daytime activities.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
K.TAYLOR
8 years 9 months ago
We went to the Barcello Margaritis Hotel for a family holiday,there were 8 of us covering 3 generations so the choice was always going to be difficult.
Generally the hotel was very good,nice and clean,but it is not in the best location if you are a beach person as it is necessary to catch the shuttle bus to either Maspalomas or Playa Del Ingles.
The food was very good,although my elderly mother didn't like the choice available.It was more european than English,although the rest of us enjoyed it and there was always plenty of choice(Fish,Pasta,Salads,Hot meat dishes)every night,so you would be hard pushed not to find something to suit.
We did find that for some meals,especially Breakfast,there were not enough staff on ,so it was a bit slow clearing away dirty dishes and replenishing empty milk dispensers etc,but otherwise it was o.k.

I was very disappointed with the entertainment.Being A/I and having cause to stop in the hotel more than normal,i was hoping for some good quality acts to be on.
The entertainment is held outside around the pool,so it was a bit chilly at night anyway,but the shows were very poor the week we were there(although it may have been change over week so may normally be better)

The A/I package is very good.There were drinks avavilable fron 10.00 to 23.00,and as there is a self service area at the side of each bar there was never a queue,even at night.
Also snacks around the pool were available all day,and lunch in the restaurant was excellent,with a very good choice of fresh meals.
The hotel is located at the top of the hill between Playa and Maspalomas,so it is a walk to the centres,although there are some bars nearby and the Yumbo centre is only a 10 minute walk away.
There are plenty of English people in the hotel,although it is predominantly German and Eastern European.
There was never a problem getting sunbeds as there are two pools,the bigger one does tend to be shady,but the smaller one adjacent to the apart/hotel is more open for the sun worshippers.

All in all,this is an excellent hotel,and i would recommend it .We paid just over
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Paul Simpson
8 years 9 months ago
this hotel was first class great food n drinks the free bar which is self service is a great adea and saves all the waiting the staff are polite but not overly friendly the only thing we found fault with was the air con which was non exsiting i complained 3 times but nothing seemed to happen as it was nov it was ok with the balcony door open however if it had been mid summer i would have started to shout a bit on the whole a lovely clean hotel and would love to go back i think 2weeks of all in would have killed me tho as there was so much food and such a lot of choice.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: easy jet

Recommended
9 years 2 months ago
Have just returned from the most fabulous week here. Was a bit apprehensive after reading some very negative reports. I must say, I can't wait to return here next year. The hotel is spotless with towels and bedding changed daily (towels only changed if you drape them over the bath, but there's a note in the bathroom to let you know) Room cleaned throughly daily. Oh and if you go here DO NOT bring towels for the pool!!! For a deposit of
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.