Image of Jardin Del Sol Apartments

Jardin Del Sol Apartments

12 of 60 hotels in Playa Del Ingles

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
Avenida de Gran Canaria, Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Service
  • Location
Kevin
9 years 2 months ago
This our second family visit to these appartments, this time taking my parents with us. They loved it. The weather for early June was red hot every day. Stunning !!!

Still the same usual high standard of accomodation, extremely clean, fantastic central location with a 15 min stroll to the beach. The grounds within the complex are immense, so beautiful and well maintained. The staff are so helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. I was actually surprised at just how many people were staying in these appartments at such an early part of the holiday season, testimony to the reviews on sites like this and past experiences of those who have been previously.

Still so many lovely places to eat. Guadarola on the doorstep of the complex was second to none, food extremly well cooked and inexpensive compared to some other restaurants. The Britannia in the grand chapperal was as usual good for breakfast and the occasional evening meal. The one downside to this was the muserable bloke who owns this place, when the football came on [euro 200] he turned the TV off and told his customers to go to the Windmill pub when they had finished their meal to watch it, he is a partner in that pub too so clearly this was done for his own pocket rather than for his customers benefit. Shame really because his staff work like trojans in the Britannia and yet seem to be treated quite badly.To treat the customers this badly too means the next time i go back to Gran Canaria i will not use his establishments!

The only 2 drawbacks to this holiday this time compared to the last time i went in 2006 were [1]. The value of the Euro now makes this holiday very expensive for spending money. I had to put
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Sharon Charles
10 years 1 month ago
My family and I returned from 2 weeks at the jardin del sol (10.08.07)We had a great holiday and all of us wanted to stay longer.
From the outside you would walk past and not notice the apartments but dont let this put you off, once inside they are set in lovely gardens and the pool and pool bar are excellent.
Staff and rep are all really friendly and welcoming.
Location is great its in a quiet spot but within walking distance of all the centre's. However tons of taxi's around and cost is 2 euro's as meter never seems to change. Trip to waterpark is also a must great fun for all the family.
I usually never return to the same place twice but would come back here.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Nickie
11 years ago
Having had to rebook our hotel 2 days prior to take off, I wasn't expecting too much for the
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Vicki
11 years ago
Me my boyfriend and his nephew stayed at the Jardin del sol in august this year and we was pleasantly impressed.

When we arrived at 2.00am we was a bit worried about the look of it as it was behind a restaurant and next door to a mens only bar but once we had checked in and walked into the beautiful gardens we were very happy.

The rooms are very clean and the maids did well to keep it that way all week, you might find in the rooms some very small ants but if you have lots of them you can go to the reception and ask for some ant killer spray and they give you a free bottle.

They were a nice size for us and a 15 year old, but trying to get ready in the evening did become a funny task.

The pool area was fantastic you had the children's area for small kids and then a little deeper one for the older kids and when you swim under the bridge leading into the pool bar it is a large pool for all ages but be warned it is deep and at 5'6 I couldn't touch the floor. There are plenty of sunbeds for all but they are locked up until 9.00am so if you think you will be able to get one before then you won't. There is a sign saying you are not allowed to place you towel onto the sunbed and then go out for the day but all week people were doing that so it gets a little frustrating as I'm not a early riser and when I went to the pool there was no free sunbeds.

When you arrive I would recommend going to the welcome meeting as you will be told about all the lovely excursions they have on offer, we went on the dolphin watch and also a 5* VIP cruise and they were both a fantastic day out also a great way to top up your tan.

The pool bar was a nice and friendly place to go and sit to have a light snack or if you wanted something more but it does get a little wet on the floors so be careful when walking around in there.

All in all the complex was very nice and quiet and I would go back there again in the future.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson's

Recommended
Jill Carter
11 years ago
The Hotel was very clean. The Apartments are very small and the superior rooms are not worth the extra money as they back on to a busy main road are noisy and the only extras are patio furniture and microwave. The Hotel staff are very helpful and the maid service is second to none. However no entertainment. Do not hire the fans in the Uk through your tour operator as half the price in the Hotel. It is advisable not to take many clothes as wardrobe space is limited. Ask for a low number room as these are quieter rooms. Apartments are not suitable for less agile people as located on two levels and sprial staircase.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
Zoie
11 years ago
Hotel rooms very small. It is advisable to hire a fan if no air con however hire from reception and not tour operator.

At welcome meeting trip to beach for free is offered however this is time share (no mention).
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
11 years 1 month ago
Superb Flight with Thompson's, so far so good. Looking forward to getting my head down for a few hours with some relaxation by the pool.

Pool looked nice and big at 04:00 AM so couldn't wait to get in position for the days rays, but what's this, all loungers are locked together!!!!!! absolutely devastating, what is the point in such a childish stunt, this only serves to create the problem that at 09:00 AM when the lackeys come around and unlock them. There is a queue which creates a worse problem than if they'd left the loungers free all night, people rushing to get there for the same time is far worse than people arriving in dribs and drabs from 06:00 AM onwards, I or one am an early riser and having to wait for some dude to unlock the loungers proved a complete irritant for the whole fortnight. I spent the whole of the second week at the beach, at least there the fascism was not evident...

Back to the apartments themselves, do not, under any circumstances pay the extra for the superior room, what a complete ripoff. For the cosmetics of a different sofa bed, a downstairs mirror and a microwave the extra
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Laura
13 years 2 months ago
I stayed here in June 2004 and had a great time. The complex is lovely set in gardens. There is even a pond with terapins in it for the kids to enjoy.

The pool area is lovely but can get busy so get down there early to get a good spec! The staff at the pool bar were friendly and chatty as were the staff on reception. The food at the pool bar was excellent and good value for money.

We found the rooms to be clean and have everything you could need from an apartment.

It is a hike to the beach but there are plenty of taxis about.

Don't worry about being there during the world cup, we were there during euro 2004 and there were no louts about. The complex mainly attracted young families and couples - no groups while we were there. We enjoyed watching the matches at the Windmill centre down the road where people from all nationalities went to watch the matches. there was a good atmosphere.

All in all it is a great place to visit and I would recommend staying at the Jardin del Sol to everyone.

the Thomson rep was good and came to visit us in our room after a couple of days to check we had settled in ok.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.