Image of Liberty Apartments

Liberty Apartments

10 of 60 hotels in Playa Del Ingles

4 out of 5 from 12 reviews
1 star
Avda. Tirajana, 32, 35100, San Bartolomé de la Tirajana, Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Islas Canarias, Spain

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Gary Nicolson
Will be back!
6 years 10 months ago
Stayed at the hotel about 6 times now and will be booking again for next time!

The staff are so friendly. Location is great.

The food at the pool bar is great. They have new sun loungers too, very comfy!

I give the Liberty Apartments and team 100% and Thomson 100%.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
7 years 5 months ago


The Liberty Apartments are value for money apartments in a great location with friendly staff. Would stay again.
Good points:
Friendly and helpful staff
Great location - close to shops/restaurants etc - close to commercial centres including Yumbo Centre and Gran Chapparal Centre
Gay friendly
Towels changed every day (meant to be 3 times a week)
Great facilities in room including fridge with small freezer, kettle, coffee maker, toaster, microwave

Bad points:
Some bugs in bathroom
Not most spacious of apartments - great for us two - would be bit cramped with more than 2
Noisy if you get an apartment on the road side of apartments - ask for a pool view so you are on other side of block
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Alpharooms/YouTravel

Recommended
Sean
8 years 1 month ago
Just got back from a fantastic week in the Liberty Apartments.

Out room was spotless and I liked the fact that we had celling fans in both rooms which are enough to keep you cool this time of the year.

We did not pay very much so were expecting basic but the room had kettle, toaster, coffee maker, microwave as well as the expected two rings and fridge. Sky news was free on the TV which is unusual for the Canaries. The rooms were bright and well decorated, the only downside was the linen, it was clean but a couple of the sheets were ripped as were a couple of the towels.

Nice pool area could have done with more umberellas but plenty of sun loungers. The bar prices were reasonable as was the cost of the safe for the room!

Friendly and helpfull staff in both reception and the pool bar.

This was five mins walk from the Yumbo centre so perfect for us as 3 gay men traveling together and the appartments were about 60% gay.

I would deffinatly book here again without a shadow of a doubt!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: On The beach

Recommended
10 years ago
First time that we have been to the Canaries so was unsure only booking a week just incase, when we pulled up at the front of these apartments we thought oh no! the place didn't look like an hotel at all, we had arrived at 11pm. When entering there was one man behind the desk he quickly sorted us out and give us the keys to room 223 which overlooked the main road at the front, it was an end room so we could see more than the other rooms, the room itself was great no problems at all, everything was at hand and was in great condition. When we shut the patio doors this stopped all the road traffic noise so much so with the blackout curtains we didn't wake up till 11.30 the next morning! Don't be put off if overlooking the road has you will see some very interesting characters strolling along. When we ventured over to the back off the apartments it was great, a good pool, showers, bar etc with a lot of sunbeds. Over the week we found out that a lot of other guests were gay and the immediate area of the hotel is full of them, we were not worried about this as they were all friendly and polite keeping themselves to themselves. If you are totally against these relationships I would not go to this hotel. We thought the pool bar staff were great never mithering and keeping the volume of the music low (after going to Turkey, it was so nice to be left alone) Can't fault the apartments for what we had paid it was great, a bit of a walk to the beach but well worth it. Plenty of places to eat close to with supermarkets very close to fill the fridge. Went to a couple of drag shows at the Yumbo centre (5minutes away) and had a whale of a time. Fantastic weather better tan than what we got after 2 weeks in Turkey
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: independant

Recommended
Kay & Tony
10 years 1 month ago
We found this accomadation to be clean, the staff were helpful and friendly, we liked the walk in shower, there was plenty of room in the apartment, we were road facing and there was no road noise when the windows were shut, the air con worked well in our room and there were clean pots and pans if you are inclined to cook, we had breakfast a few times but eat out in the evening, the pool area was nice and there were enough sun beds to go round, the pool area was clean and the beds cleared away for the area to be washed each day, the snacks at the pool bar were OK, we tryed to book for May but could not get in
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: freedom.com

Recommended
REBECCA
10 years 2 months ago
This hotel does not look like much from the front,but once inside we found it very modern and clean. The room had enough space, with a fridge microwave,hob and plenty of cooking utensils.

However our appartment was overlooking the main road which was very noisey all the time. The hotel is in a good location close to all amenities. The hotel staff were all very helpful and the reception staff were very polite.

There was not much entertainment at this hotel but they often had something on. There is a large pool which is kept really clean and also a small pool for kids. There is also a pool bar which is handy but i would not recomend eating from there.

All in all it is a good hotel and we would visit again. All taxis are very cheap, this is a very gay friendly place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: THOMSON

Recommended
TYLER
10 years 4 months ago
Excellent apartments,very clean and modern.

We had free sky movie channel all week as well as bbc1 and itv in our room. Balcony was sun trap late afternoon even though it overlooked a busy road. 3 mins walk to Yumbo centre where you can have english breakfast with orange juice and coffee for 4 euros.

Very close to bus stops that take you to Puerto Rico,and Palmitos Park. Also we bought Sioux City(western world) tickets from receptionist and got a taxi there for just 5 euros.

New microwave and plenty cooking utensils and cheap supermarkets close by. Internet available in reception for charge.

Would go again. Gay friendly hotel and resort.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: ASPRO

Recommended
10 years 5 months ago
Anyone who has booked the Liberty Apartments need not worry. Although listed as one sun they are superior to this. Way superior. I have stayed in four star hotels that don't meet these standards.

First the niggles. The TV didn't work terribly well. No remote control and to change the channel you had to adjust the volume first - weird I know but if you've stayed in room 208 you'll know what I mean. Also the box for the pay TV didn't accept coins, so you could only get the free channels (Though that included Sky News if you wanted to keep up to date with things back home)

Power lead was missing from kettle. No plug for kitchen sink.

Other than that it was lovely. Spotless. The walk in shower is a highlight, and the whole apartment is decorated to a very high standard. There was an air conditioning unit in the room, which I guess in centrally controlled as you have no operational unit in your apartment. However this wasnt needed in May
(even though it was very hot all week, evenings were fine)

I got the main road view, I would have preferred a pool view, but there was no problem with the road view, and you certainly couldnt hear the traffic.

The location is super for the Yumbo and Gran Chapparel, both within 5 minutes walk. Walking down Avenida de Tirajana you get to the beach, and the edge of the dunes, which have to be seen to be believed.

The only problem is that its a trek to the sea. OK to get to the edge of the beach, but the actual sea is a trek over the dunes.

But that's not the apartment's fault.

If you're going to the Liberty this year, you're going to have a great time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Holiday Nights

Recommended
Lee Tagg
11 years ago
These apartments have recently been renovated and you can certainly tell. The apartments are very spacious, tastefully decorated and the best I have stayed in whilst abroad.

The location is on a main road but don't let that bother you. The entrance is via a small shop front size doorway into a tiny reception. It has 6 floors, levels 1 to 4 for apartments, ground floor on street level with reception and a lower floor where you access the pool.

We were on he 4th floor in room 418, easily accessed by two lifts or the stairs if you felt fit. The whole complex was spotless.

The apartment had a large open plan living room with settee, cabinets, tv and decent kitchenette which had fridge, microwave, hob, toaster, kettle, cutlery, pots and pans. The bedroom was seperate with twin beds pushed together and a wardrobe with electronic safe inside which you pay
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunmaster

Recommended
Sue Salmon
11 years 1 month ago
We booked the Liberty Apartments in Playa Del Ingles on a last minute deal at a really cheap price in September. We then decided to have a look at Holiday Truths and were a bit shocked when we read some of the reports.

We need not have worried though cos the Liberty was fantastic. They really are the best apartments we have ever stayed in abroad. They were spotless, and really modern with nice furniture, and a brand new microwave, kettle and toaster. There was a separate bedroom with very large mirrored wardrobes (with a safe inside), a large living area with a TV (and you could get all the soaps - for a Corrie fan this was great). We had a large balcony with really nice (expensive) furniture (not the usual cheap plastic stuff) it was chrome and and sort of basket weave).

There is a really large shower cubicle with a power shower with hot water day and night (unlike some places we have stayed in before). There is a ceiling fan in both rooms which was fantastic cos I couldn't have slept without them on as it was really hot a night.

The location was also great, a few mins from the Yumbo Centre and about 20 min walk to the beach (we used to get a taxi to the beach for about 2 euros).

And you must try Harry's Bar which is right next door to the Liberty (we spent a lot of time there). It's only 1 euro for a pint of beer and 2 euros for 3 bottles of beer. His food is cheap and is really good too - he serves English, Chinese and Indian food (the Indian food was especially nice as Harry is Indian).

I am already looking to book again for next year. We have been to Playa Del Ingles 3 times now but this was the best holiday we have ever had there.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.