32 independent reviews of the Santa Clara Bungalows
Address: Avenida Sargentos Provisionales, 22, 35100 Playa del Inglés, Spain
Santa Clara Bungalows
Santa Clara Bungalows Location
Ranked #41 of 49 hotels in Playa Del Ingles


3/5
Santa Clara Bungalows Santa Clara Bungalows is rated 2.94 out of 5 from 32 Reviews
69% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (32 reviews)

Cleanliness 3 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 0 stars
Service 3 stars
Location 4 stars

Santa Clara Bungalows Reviews

4/5
4
"For the price, they are great"
Jacqui Wilson stayed at Santa Clara Bungalows, Playa Del Ingles, Spain in November 2010
These bungalows are great, we had two between seven adults and they were both different in the way they were set out.

My daughter and friends had a larger bungalow with more modern appliances. They had two bed rooms the same as we did but our bungalow was next to the two pools and a bit smaller with more dated appliances.

The apartments are within walking distance of the yumbo and kasbah centres and the chapareal is at the back of the apartments. They are far enough away to be able to sleep at night though.

The two pools are cleaned daily and are spacious. The complex is very nice and the cleaners do try to keep things nice. There is a metal fence surrounding the complex and its locked at night so you are given a key to the ...
gates for access. The place is covered by cctv also.

They do need a little updating but for the price they are great. I would not hesitate to go back here with my grand kids.

There is a small play area for the kids and there is also a pool bar selling drinks drinks and snacks.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

1/5
1
"Great for kids"
C Bonter stayed at Santa Clara Bungalows in October 2010
We where both a little apprehensive when booking with Santa Clara, but what a surprise when we got here, lovely individual bungalows, clean but basic some are being renovated so a little building noise.

The grounds and staff where great, for the price you get what you pay for, a ten minute walk to local stores for supplies, even an English newspaper if you want one.

The actual Santa Clara is ideal for those who are looking for a quite relaxing holiday and with children, there is no way a child could run off into the road as it is fenced in with security around the clock a small children’s pool is available, along with a separate play area.


Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

2/5
2

Paul & Wendy had a holiday at Santa Clara Bungalows Hotel in October 2008
Santa Carla Bungalows
We were very disappointed with these bungalows. They were very basic and only just clean. Loads of ants through out the bungalow. On our last day our light fitting in our bungalow 108a fell off and smashed on our bed. They cleaned it up quickly enough but then left the fitting dangling by its wires over our bed. Continuing problems with towels left all day on sun loungers. I would dearly like just to fold tem up and leave theme on the edge of the pool to get wet. My wife would not allow me saying it would only cause conflict. One of the disappointing issues with the bungalows was the fact we could not use the back gates which opened on to the main street. This meant to use the Commercial Centre you have to walk round ...
the block rather than 20 yards.
We went with Thomas Cook, scruffiest bunch of reps I have ever seen. Could do with a shower and cleaned ironed uniform. Do not be conned with the Reps Cabaret. We booked to go with our 13 year old granddaughter. We were told it was in aid of the Variety Club and the money would be going to the children. This was the reason I was told I could not use my debit card to pay for the tickets. We were also told it was a discounted bar, in fact we found it to be the most expensive on our holiday at 4 Euro

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

heulwen visited the Santa Clara Bungalows, Playa Del Ingles in August 2008
we stayed in bungalow 230 which was just by the pool, our friends were in 206 which was about 5 away which was great. room was cleaned everyday by a really happy cleaner.
ryan our rep was great ,so helpful and always so happy and interested in how we were and what we were doing and giving plenty of advice.
we didn\'t eat at the pool bar but food we saw looked ok.we did drink there but only at happy hour which is between 4:30 and 5:30 where you have 2 for the price of 1. we took our drinks to our room and went back to get more a few times.
there were lots of nationalaties at this complex which was nice and everyone freindly.
the kasbah and the yumbo both 10 mins walk away in each direction.The gran chaparel was 5 mins away at the back of the bungalows.

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Gail had a holiday at Santa Clara Bungalows Hotel, Playa Del Ingles in December 2007
Bungalows were clean apart from the odd ant but reception soon sorted them out with spray. We has double ring, microwave, kettle, toaster and all the pots pans and crockery we needed. Maids came in every day. Shower had lots of hot water Rep (Josey) could not speak Spanish and was only interested in you if you bought trips from her.Get trips independantly for half of what rep charges.

The pool was very cold and it was only cleaned once during the 14 days we were there,the edges of the pool were quite dangerous with plastic tracking that lifted when you stood on it, and sunbeds had seen better days. the bar was only open till 5.30 in the afternoon and was very expensive

Bungalows are located between Yumbo centre (which we found to be expensive)but worth a look at the ...
show bars. Kasbah centre (very tatty 3 centre next to each other) and Gran Chaparal quieter and we spent most evenings here)


Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

1/5
1

Sam De Lessups visited the Santa Clara Bungalows in December 2007
Tiny bungalows full of ants and everything about them very unfriendly.

Cold dirty pool, dangerous area around the pool sunbeads broken.

Staff unfriendly everything too much effort.

Tour Operator: Independent
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

5/5
5

Alysia sealy visited the Santa Clara Bungalows, Playa Del Ingles in March 2007
The hotel we stayed in was number 88a, right opposite the reception

It was cleaned 3 days in a row not on the Sunday then again on the Monday (because many tourists have different backgrounds/cultures and as Sunday is primarily known as the day of rest, it is thought to be rude to come in on a Sunday)

The food.....self catering but we ate at Padaban in the Kasbah centre, food is delicious(mmmmmmmmmmmm) from pizzas to lasange and when you pay they offer you lolly pops and a shot of their honey rum, lovely

The staff at Santa Clara are lovely, there is a muscularly guy who was our favourite he was very friendly and spoke very good English.

We all loved it! every room has a private garden. You are given garden chairs and table. Kitchen utensil including toaster, glasses, plates, bowls ...
etc...

We often sun bathed during the day by the pool in the complex, the water was freezing!!!!

It is a 10 minute walk southern to the kasbah centre (best one) and northern to the yumba centre (ok, high tourist spot, can tell in the prices)

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

andrew had a holiday at Santa Clara Bungalows Hotel, Playa Del Ingles, Spain in September 2005
We visited the Santa Clara last September and all I can say is its well worth the visit. We arrived mid afternoon, we stayed in bungalow 252 in front of the main pool area, (excellent location).

The bungalow was nice and clean the beds were comfy and you could tell the maids did there jobs well. The bungalow was fenced off so the children couldn't escape we only encountered 1 cockroach all of our stay.

The only problem was a few cats but nothing major.

Tour Operator: airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

John & Pat visited the Santa Clara Bungalows, Playa Del Ingles, Spain in June 2005
The Bungalow\' were clean we had 2 bungalow\'s they were basic but were better than some of the report\'s we had seen on this site.
They were all we needed for a good holiday the location was good not far from the shop\'s and you could get a taxi from just outside the site to go anywhere on the island and they are cheap.

The staff were very good, my wife was in a wheelchair and they helped where they could the door\'s in the bungalow were not wide enough for the wheelchair to go though but the rep from (Mytravel-Airtour\'s) was very good and sorted it out for us and got us a narrow wheelchair her name is (Nicky).

If you are with Mytravel or Airtour\'s see her she is very good. If you want entertainment there is plenty also go ...
to the (Yumbo centre) plenty of shopping and entrainment.

Yes we would go back there. The Pool\'s were clean and the site very clean. A very good holiday.

Read More

Tour Operator: Air tours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

carl stayed at Santa Clara Bungalows, Playa Del Ingles, Spain in March 2005
Stayed at the Santa Clara 2nd week in March. Hotel not too bad - remember it is only 2 star though. Our bungalow No 256 was clean enough for us lads.

Cockroaches. We only saw 2 in our room, both on the last day as it happened.

Both pools are fantastic, enough space to lounge around and catch the sun.

Good points, it\'s cheap, location excellent, good pool areas and rooms tidy enough for us lot.

Bad points, hot water tends to run out quickly, rooms cleaned only 3 times per week (advise you to take extra towels), odd cockroach but it\'s a warm climate and all rooms are at ground level, so what do you expect.



Tour Operator: airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

myers had a holiday at Santa Clara Bungalows Hotel, Playa Del Ingles in February 2005
We have been to the Santa Clara twice now and would go back anytime.

Ok the rooms are basic but clean but the location is excellent. The staff are really good and I never saw a cockroach in our room both times we were there.

You must go to the Wembley bar in the Gran Chaparral, entertainment is fantastic and our 2 teenage sons loved it there too.

For the price this package is excellent value.

Tour Operator: airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

fiona togher had a holiday at Santa Clara Bungalows, Playa Del Ingles in November 2004
We had read some bad reviews of these bungalows and were a bit anxious as to what we would find. However we thought they were great! The bungalows were clean and well maintained, the kitchen had everything you needed in the way of utensils etc.

The cleaners were in every other day and did a good job and the staff were all helpful. The pools were clean and there were plenty of free sunbeds around them. O.K. so they were chained together but at least that meant they stayed by the pool and weren\'t spirited away to peoples gardens! Maybe it was because it was the first week in Nov. but we didnt see any cockroaches or ants.

The location was good with the supermarket just round the corner, 5 mins walk to the ...
English Centre and 10mins walk in opposite directions to the Kasbah and the Yumbo Centre, We had a great time and would definately use these bungalows again.

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

gill had a holiday at Santa Clara Bungalows Hotel in October 2004
I stayed in bungalow 282 I found it really well located near all pubs and shops. Maids came in 4 times bungalow was clean didnt have a prob with anything and would love to go back again. It has two pools which are clean only saw one cockroach but there was alot of ants outside.

Tour Operator: airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

2/5
2

not supplied visited the Santa Clara Bungalows, Playa Del Ingles in August 2004
we stayed at the santa clara bungalows in august and found the bungalows to be very basic (in need of modernisation). the pools were not bad, sun beds were chained together in rows around the pools during the day. the pool bar was very slow in serving
food / drink (sometimes they even ran out of food).


Tour Operator: airtours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

James had a holiday at Santa Clara Bungalows Hotel, Playa Del Ingles in July 2004
I went out there having read previous reviews expecting not much at all. on arriving i was pleasantly surprised. The room was tidy and clean and maids came every other day. The pool area was clean and well maintained. it was close to all the main centres (within 10 minute walk or 2euro taxi) and was only a short taxi ride to the beach. The staff weren\'t overly helpful but no real complaints. The only downside to this place was the poolside bar, it closed early (about 6) and food wasn\'t the best. All in all i think its been seriously under rated by some of the previouse comments!

Tour Operator: My Travel/Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Anna had a holiday at Santa Clara Bungalows, Playa Del Ingles, Spain in July 2004
The location of this place was excellent.few minutes walk away.supermarket right next door.2 really big clean pools. however the maids aren\'t the nicest people and there cleaning methods leave something to be desired.the pool bar staff weren\'t the friendliest either.but over all i thought it was excellent/but i didn\'t spend alot of to=ime in the bungalows.what time i did spend there was perfectly nice and i\'d deffinately go back again.

Tour Operator: Airtours/my travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

SCOTT visited the Santa Clara Bungalows, Playa Del Ingles in July 2004
Having read the mixed reports on this site about Santa Clara, I didn\'t really know what to expect. Basically our accomodation was excellent. We had a 2 bedroom bungalow (number 288), with plenty of space in the bedrooms and living room areas. The rear of the bungalow had a grassed area which was ideal for the kids as it was completely enclosed and secure. On that subject, the complex is secure with reception staffed on a 24 hour basis and the perimeter is totally fenced off.

I found the bungalow to be clean, in all respects. In contrast to some of the other reports the maid was very helpful and friendly and she appeared 5 times a week, so there were no problems there.

There were a few ants in the garden area but not enough to be a ...
problem. I saw 3 cockroaches during my stay - 2 dead and one on it\'s last legs. I think the staff at the complex must have put in pest control measures.

I didn\'t have to have much contact with the staff at the complex, but when I did they were polite and helpful.

There didn\'t appear to be much in the way of entertainment at the complex but I was only interested in the pool areas which were clean. As there are 2 large pool areas I never found a time that I couldn\'t get a sunbed.

That\'s about it for the complex. Before I go I have to mention one of the restaurants at the nearby Gran Chapparal centre - La Rosa Amarilla (The Yellow Rose). It\'s by far the best place to eat in the area, although the Brittania makes a good breakfast. Last but not least, give the Highlander Bar at the back of the Gran Chapparal Centre a look. It\'s brilliant!!!!

Would I go back to the Santa Clara Bungalows again? The answer has to be yes.


Read More

Tour Operator: MY TRAVEL

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

sian visited the Santa Clara Bungalows, Playa Del Ingles, Spain in July 2004
i have recently stayed at the santa clara bungalows and enjoyed my holiday there. the staff at reception were very helpful and any problems we had was sorted out quickly. the bungalow was cleaned every other day and was spotless. the location was perfect as it was near the beach and all the pubs and clubs and there were a lot of restaurants near. i would visit the bungalows again as i had a great holiday.

Tour Operator: airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Kathy Glover visited the Santa Clara Bungalows, Playa Del Ingles, Spain in May 2004
Santa Clara Apartments. Thought they were fantastic. I

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Beryl visited the Santa Clara Bungalows Hotel in April 2004
I didn\'t believe Lisadele when I read her report, now I realise she understated the filth and lack of maintenance of the Santa Clara Bungalows.
We stayed in 233, mattresses were smelly, sheets were grey/cream in colour(meant to be white),bed clothes had musty smell and were dirty, towels were hard and musty but nothing could compare with the state of the bathroom. Tiles cracked and falling off walls,stuffy smell, shower head not working and generally in need of major repair.

Shared kitchen with two families of ants - no cockroaches - they had too much self respect to slum it in such conditions. TV (14inch screen , poor picture quality) was on a meter with limited number of channels. Complained bitterly to rep.

Mark who could not see anything wrong with bungalow but replaced one mattress and had ...
bed clothing changed. tried to change accom. but told none available. Other holiday makers dissatisfied with state of bungalows too. On a more positive side area around pool good and pool clean but had to force ourselvesto return to accom. each night. Close to shops, restaurants and beach. We paid

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars
Share