Image of Walhalla Apartments

Walhalla Apartments

35 of 60 hotels in Playa Del Ingles

4 out of 5 from 46 reviews
3 stars
Avenida de Alfereces Provisionales, 19, 35100 Playa del Ingl├ęs, Spain
A firm favourite with Airtours customers, the Walhalla apartments enjoy a convenient location and a friendly, relaxed atmosphere.

46 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    22
  • Good
    14
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mr. & Mrs. Sharpe
9 years ago
Arrived for one week on 4th August,2008.

Relatively small hotel with friendly staff who were always willing to chat and answer any questions. Not the same for the Thomas Cook rep who only seemed happy when trying to plug something. We queried the lack of any type of air conditioning in the rooms as we were told fans would be provided. Yes they are available at a weekly cost to hire along with the kettle and the toaster!!!

Hotel location ideal for the beach, shopping and bus routes - recommend a short taxi drive to Maspalomas with the sand dunes. Loads of space on the beach and lovely unspoilt views. The Yumbo Shopping Centre is a definite eye-opener at night, not to be missed!

Shop around for the restaurants - the buffet style ones at a set price are the best - the Sahara that you will pass from the hotel to the beach was one of the tastiest with lots of choice and inexpensive drinks.

Only grumbles with the hotel - not enough sun loungers unless you grabbed them really early in the morning and could be woken up in the small hours by other guests coming back.

We would come back again, perhaps when it's not so hot next time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Whitaker Family
9 years 1 month ago
We stayed at the walhalla for two weeks we were happy with accomodation but we had problems with lager louts in the pool and at night running up and down stairs ringing bells and knocking on doors they were sexually harrassing in front of the children breaking glasses around pool and just leaving it where kids walk jumping from the stairway to the bungalows into pool where people were swimming they were throwing bats at each other which hit a child who actually moved apartments with parents to another hotel and paid themselves when rep did nothing they are putting big complaint in these apartments are good for young singles or single couples not families john and roy were great at bar and we liked the yumbo centre spent alot of time in porto rico nuff said .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Steve Real
9 years 1 month ago
me and a group of 8 male mates went out here in july and after reading some of the reviews thought we were goin to a gay mans paradise (we were dreading it to be honest) how wrong could we be ????? this place is the ultimate place to go for a group of young singles the hotel offered everthing we needed .. a bed and somewhere to get ready ... what more do u need ?? the night life out there was superb . we all had the best week of our life every1 was friendly , john in the snack bar (and juan) were superb 2 us .. couldnt do enough... we cannot wait to go back again

u go out there and u will "live the dream!!"
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
Barry
9 years 2 months ago
I came back from the Walhalla last week after spending a week there with my brother.


Absolutely spot on location! Yes you're near the Yumbo Centre (the gay centre), but as long as you're not homophobic that's not a problem. All of the main nightlife areas (Kasbah & the Irish Quarter) are within a 3 euro taxi ride away.


The beach was a bit too hot for me. The nudist area is about half a mile away from the main entrance onto the beach.


The little Scottish barman John is a top man! Very funny & does a good breakfast! Ask him for some Jagermeister!


The Thomas Cook rep Faye is lovely girl, who'll always be willing to sit with you & have a chat. Yes she'll try to flog you her excursions, but all reps do.


We went at the start of June which was quite quiet, perfect for us. I get the impression that things might get a bit hectic in the high season (July-August).


The rooms were excellent. Very spacious & we had the maid call on us every day but one with fresh linen & towels. We saw 1 cockroach the entire time we were at the hotel & that was in someone elses apartment.


I'd give the holiday experience as a whole 9/10. I'll definately be coming back!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Mich An Lin
9 years 3 months ago
After reading others review on this hotel I was worried about going.

Well lets say the hotel was spotlessly clean the staff were very friendly. Rooms were cleaned every day except Sunday but dont we all need a day off ?

Bar food was lovely a scotch guy friendly and funny. Pool area was cleaned every day. Cleaners even cleaned sun beds could not fault hotel. Had fantastic time!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Mr P Baker
9 years 10 months ago
Noisy. That sums it up really. If you want to relax for a week or 2 - don't go to Walhalla. There are 3 sources of noise:

1. The main road - runs down the side of the 'complex' - boy racers all day and night.
2. The pool bar - the music starts at 9:30am, stops at 6:00pm and if your unlucky the Pheonix Nights style 'entertainment' goes on until 11:45pm. The choice of music is horrendous: Chesney Hawkes, thumping dance 'music', Elvis, stuff from 1960's that you hear on bad commercials... Forget that afternoon kip, the speakers are pointed directly at the apartment block. Deafening.
3. The other in-mates - we went in October because the kids would be at school - wrong! What kind of parents keep their kids off school to go on holiday?? Anyhow, the apartments are for British & Irish only... need I say more?

The pool area
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Adam
9 years 10 months ago
I stayed in these appartments in October 2007!

The review below is kinda true depending how you look at it.

I didnt find it noisy at all, because there was no TV's in the room the pool music was a bit of background noise, and it really wasnt that loud.
The music was shocking, it was like going back in time. But there was the odd bits of upto date stuff (Not the odd bits).
There were loads of kids though! And I mean loads! Which really surprised me!
The pool was really nice, apart from the sunbeds. If you dont get up early you'll struggle to get on, most of them are took up by towels even if they dont come down all day. Though we managed to most days. 2 Sides of the pool are in shade mid/late afternoon but there are 2 other sides.

Our cleaner was really good. Cleaned nearly every day, plenty of towels and toilet roll. When we got there it was spotless. The appartments are really spacious. The only bad thing was No kettles/Toaster etc. We managed by boiling water in a pan and cooking toast in the electeric rings!

The pool bar was great. Food was really nice (Prices were really good) The soft drinks were quite expensive though.
They have a happy hour between 4 and 5! Vodka and everything 241!
Our bath & toilet was fine, the only bad thing was the hot water. Hardly enough for 2 of us. You will really struggle if there's any more. Or you'd have to wait for it to re-heat up!
It does say in the brochure there is no air-con!
The pool area was cleaned every night too!

Location was great. Right in the middle of the beach and the Yumbo. It is mainly gay, not so much during the day but afet about 12 thats when it all happens. Its really good though and loads of people from the appts went to the drag bars as the rep reccommended it.

The rep was ok! Tried to sell loads of trips as they do, there was a suncare advisor too which was good. Dont buy it from her though. Listen and go to a shop! She gives good advise "for that perfect tan you've always wanted" lol

I would go back to the Walhalla. But for us 1 Week was long enough!

The water park is defo worth a visit. If you want to do it on your own its only 5 Euros each way in a taxi about 3 on the bus. Probably works out cheaper doing the trip with the rep though. But you get to go and come back when you want if do it on your own!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Liam O Connell
9 years 10 months ago
This place was sold as a 4* apartment family friendly complex. That it is not! It could have done with renovation about 10 years ago. The fact that you have to hire a kettle is terrible and you have to pay for safe as well. It is next to a main road which is very noisy,and the pool bar/resturant has loud music blaring out all day and night, so no rest for the kids late afternoon. Lot of young singles staying there as well so late night loud drunkenness does not help. The menu in the pub bar is a joke as they only served chip and pizza. None of the food on the 4 page menu is available. Pool is poor as you can only sit by two sides due to bar and a large wall, and hence is very cramped. Oh they always collect the loungers at midnight with no real concern for guests (very noisly). There is only 1 member of staff around at any one time.
The beach is great though and if you are staying in these apartments you will probably spend most of your time there. Very poor value for money and definitely not family friendly. I would not recommend it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Airtours

Ron Ficking
10 years ago
we booked the holiday last minute for a very good price. It was allocation on arrival so we did not know what to expect. When we arrived we were pleasently supprised with the size and cleanliness of the appartment although some what dissapointed at the dated furnishings The location of the Walhalla is great for all aspects of a family holiday the beach is five minutes in one direction and the yumbo centre is two miutes in the other direction with the main entertainment centre for clubs and disco's is only a 2
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

Recommended
C O Connell
10 years 1 month ago
We read alot of reviews about Walhalla and overall they are good apart from the odd one lol.

We were very pleased with it and we were there for two weeks at the busiest time of year July/Aug it has a very comfortable atmosphere there.

Kids ages were 8 and 13.there was a good mix of adults and children.

No toaster(not a big deal do)cheap to buy. Very clean and all the staff friendly and helpfull.

Bar food was fine for snacks. If you want a 3 course meal theres many resturants close by.

Kids really enjoyed it, so too did I and my husband and 18yr old adult. We will be back there again.

Two bed apartments are good size and clean. Can't say anything bad about this place.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.