Image of Suite Princess Hotel

Suite Princess Hotel

1 of 6 hotels in Playa Taurito

4 out of 5 from 17 reviews
4 stars
C/ Albaicín, 17 (Urb. de Taurito), 35138 Mogán (Gran Canaria), Spain
The Suite Princess is in an impressive location with views overlooking Playa Taurito Beach and the blue sea of the Atlantic Ocean. If you\'re looking to laze in the sun, with luxurious surroundings, this hotel is a good choice.

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Excellent couples only complex
5 years 6 months ago
Since the last reviews, this superb hotel is now couples only - no children under 16 - and all inclusive. We found this to be excellent as there was an enormous amount & variety of food on offer from early morning to 9pm at night, when the kitchen finally closes. Obviously, this is divided up into breakfast, served from 7.30 - 10.30am, a late light breakfast available on the terrace after that, lunch from 12 in the terrace bistro and dinner at night in the restaurant.

Drinks are included, all day if you want. To be fair, this hotel caters mainly for the over 50's, many were a lot older with Scandinavians, Germans, a few Italians & French also chasing some sun, mostly British guests though.

Staff are extremely friendly and polite and will help with any problem. Rooms were huge with sectioned off bedroom area, separate big bathroom, large living area with sofa and comfy chairs and a balcony with a marvellous view of the sea and the gorgeous sunsets.

Entertainment is also lightly done, a pianist in the Piano Bar where you can have a quick gallop round the floor if you so wish, followed by a cabaret show in the Night club room, again nothing too taxing to watch, could have been better in parts, but not worth getting steamed up about if you didn't like it.

Having sampled all this, we fully intend to make this an annual 'winter week'. It's restful, no screaming children, no discos, just peaceful, nice people, great food and warm, sunny weather. Beats UK in February any day!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Michael Swerdlow
8 years 9 months ago
We wanted a late season good value break in a quiet resort in the sun and this booking with Thompsons satisfied all of this. On arrival the receptionist was charming and helpfull. All staff spoke sufficient English to respond to our needs. Although there were several young people and families with well behaved children, the majority of couples at this time were in their 50s or over but again this suited us. The room was spotless but the two single beds pushed together where slightly uncomfortable but acceptable. The staff were charming and attentive as was the Thompson representative. The buffet style restaurant was excellent with a wide imaginative variety of hot and cold delicious foods with chefs cooking at one of the counters. Each night foods where served to different nationality themes and foods on display were replenished with speed and efficiency. Wines and beers at reasonable prices. A team of charming young girls maintained a programme of activities throughout the day for all ages and had a delightful awards ceremony each night after a childrens disco. The nightly cabarets were of a high professional standard and totally entertaining. However, even though the young singer and pianist entertaining in the piano bar repeated the same repertoire each evening, they too had a charm of their own. The pool area was clean and tidied up promptly each afternoon. The masseur had his table outside under a gazebo but would gladly use his indoor salon or come to your room. The hotel is literally on the beach accessed down a short path within a few metres. The hotel is modestly but tastefully decorated and appointed with an imposing lobby. As with most hotels in the vicinity, the architecture features how it is built on the side of a rock face with internal hanging garden. Wheelchair access to all areas. The hotel was neither crowded nor noisy and we enjoyed the quiet and discreet atmosphere with plenty of comfortable space to relax during our off season November booking. Half board was a wise choice. Thompson's claim that guests at this hotel are usually among the first to be dropped off the transfer coach does not take into consideration circumstances beyond their control. For example due to the duration of the baggage reclaim exercise, you sit on the coach outside the airport for over half an hour waiting for the coach to fill up, followed by the exercise of dropping off others en route also taking time especially if some of them find difficulty locating their luggage in the hold. Eventually we arrived at the hotel well over an hour later. For those who have never ridden a cammel the 'Cammel Capers' excursion is fun as is the 8 hour duration 'Island Delights' trip especially if numbers determine that the group travels in a convoy of comfortable minibuses with the guide giving his running commentary from one vehicle relayed to the two-way radio loudspeakers in the others.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Mrs K Willcocks
9 years 3 months ago
On arrival the hotel looks very inpressive. The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very spacious with amazing views out to sea, but could probably do with a bit of sprucing up as the decor was beginning to look a little shabby. The evening entertainment was poor and there really isn`t much else to do outside of hotel in evening unless you are happy to travel somewhere. However we had a brilliant holiday and would stay here again!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
John
9 years 6 months ago
The food at this hotel leaves a lot to be desired, in fact it was awful. The bacon burnt every morning, the hot food was warm only and the fish in the evening cooked on the bacon griddle, Rice was left standing for over half an hour or more and the cockroaches in the dining room were as big as mice. The staff were friendly but the hotel was definatly not up to 4 or thomsons 5 star value. The air con leaked every 3 days or so and when the maintanance man emptied the overflow by sucking on a pipe well!!. The piano bar singer was somewhat predictable in his songs for the two weeks we were there we could set our watches by the songs he sung. On our first night I ordered a love in the air cocktail and was given a pia colada after taking a big sip the waitress removed the drink from me gave me my love in the air and proceeded to give the pina colada to someone else. We sat near the bar from then on to check that we got the drinks we ordered not someone elses! The pool area was rarely cleaned and coffee cups were left laying around for days. The suites were quite big but the loo seat was broken the day we arrived and was still broken the day we left. The beds were uncomfortable just two singles pushed together, and shouldn't someone have warned us about the building work, jackhammers and concrete mixers at 7 in the morning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

9 years 10 months ago
Hotel Cleanliness - Very good to excellent overall, no major issues, though a small spill on our room floor remained unmopped for 3 days. Would have scored 5/5 otherwise.

Food - Excellent self service buffet. Large range of tasty choices and nearly always quickly replenished. A short queue to enter at the busiest times.

Location - This hotel is yards from the beach and all rooms have fantastic sea views, the spectacular sunsets are superb. Ideal for couples who dont want the hustle and bustle of a busier resort. The location was well suited to us with or rented car available for trips out and about at our whim.

Hotel Staff - All seemed very friendly and helpful, a few minor glitches in the restuarant, on one occasion our table was cleared, including our unfinished drinks, while we were choosing our dessert just yards away.

Entertainment - The daytime Animation staff tried hard to whip up interest in various daytime sports and activities. The evening shows were fairly disappointing, especially considering the nature of the resort.

We were very satisfied with our stay and I would score the hotel 4/5 overall, a typical good 4 star hotel. The only real dissapointment was the evening entertainment. We booked two Thomson excursions, Garbos was a fantastic night out and cannot be recommended highly enough, a highlight of the holiday and well worth the money. The VIP Island Tour was also very good and is also highly recommended.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
10 years ago
great hotel,food was fantastic,not the usual pizza and chips,staff were friendly and helpfull,and the hotel was very clean.eveing entertainment wasnt very good,aqua gym looked great fun very popular.not much to do outside of the hotel very quiet,small resort will def go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant

Recommended
10 years 8 months ago
This hotel lives up to its billing as a Thomsons Platinum hotel.

Just from the staff from reception to the best head waiter we have ever seen(this man will be strict with you if you break the dress code There is a very small table in corner you will have to sit at if you arrive a dinner in shorts or 3/4 length trousers ).

The rooms are a good size if you have 2 adults and 2 small children, its not so good if you have older children.

Pool area is kept very clean and there are plenty of sunbeds for all.

Xmas gala dinner is set menu but of excellent quailty ( if you dont like menu ask and an alternitive will be made for you). Psst wine flows very freely starting with white then red then cava all of good quailty. New Year dinner is just like xmas dinner just different menu (lobster thermidor). Wife and son did not like this and asked for alternative and got it without any fuss. Wife had a salad with white asparagus and son had double burger and chips lmao after I had eaten his lobster.

What daytime activities we did use were well run and the animation team were excellent.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
Pam
11 years 5 months ago
It was a Thomson Platinum holiday and we should have been dropped off 1st or 2nd stop but the driver dropped us off last.

The hotel itself was very nice and the rooms were very large with a large balcony overlooking the pool and sea. The beds were hard but otherwise no complaints with the accomodation.

The food was ok but could have done with a little variation - not much on the vegetarian menu. Plenty of salads though! It was quiet in the hotel as all of the corridors are carpeted.

Pool areas were clean and one pool was acclimatised. The beach is black sand and shingle - not that good really. Entertainment was ok.

Staff were all friendly and helpful. Free bus to Puerto Mogan daily. I would stay in Mogan if I visited again - beautiful beach and a little more to do. Beautiful harbour and things to see.

On the whole it was a good holiday at the Suite Princess and I would go again but not at the price that I paid. Do not think it was up to Platinum standard more like a 3*. I still enjoyed my holiday very much so if you have booked don't worry you wll enjoy it - just giving you an honest opinion.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Katie
11 years 9 months ago
We have just returned from a week at the Suite Princess in Playa Taurito. Being a timeshare fan I was a bit dubious as to what I was going to get but I was not disappointed.

The rooms were large, airy and had fantastic views over the beach, hotel pool, lido and the sea and the sunsets were fabulous every night.

The food was good and presented well although a bit repetitive. There was a themed evening every night, Italian, Spanish nights etc and there was generally something for everyone.

Hotel staff were really friendly, the entertainment was OK and the location was fantastic for a relaxing holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Jen
12 years ago
The hotel was very nice. It was very clean.

As soon as we got to the hotel our bags were taken to our room for us.

The staff were very nice and helpful.

The pool was well looked after.

The only let down was the entertainment.

There was a nice little town that you could vist.

I would go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompsons

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.