Image of Taurito Princess Hotel

Taurito Princess Hotel

2 of 6 hotels in Playa Taurito

4 out of 5 from 44 reviews
4 stars
Calle Alhambra, 35138 Mogán, Spain
The Hotel Taurito Princess stands in the most tranquil of settings, overlooking the privately operated lido, and is only a short walk to the secluded, sand and shingle beach.

44 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    26
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
John Hardcastle
Great for just relaxing and chillng out
5 years 5 months ago
My wife and I have returned to this hotel each March for the past nine years now. It makes a lovely relaxing 10 day break after Christmas and before the rigours of summer. There is not a great deal to do here, but the service is 1st class. Yes I do prefer to go to the bar myself and serve myself to wine beer any soft drinks etc and any hot drink too, even the tea is 'passable' (for a Yorkshire guy to say that takes some doing).

The pianist is excellent (takes 1 to know 1) but the 'so-called' entertainment in the upstairs family room is abysmal. At first when we began coming here it was passable, but you think that Cameron & Osborne were running this place cut cut cut-- every year. Still so long as they leave the excellent food alone no one will bother too much I suspect. I mean where else do you get your bacon done to light , moderate, or crispy? Also I don't know another overseas hotel that serves fried bread at breakfast. Yummy!

I’m ready for going back now but I got 3 months to wait yet. We had one half day rain in 9 x 10 day 'sorties' to princess, so 90 days total and half a day spoilt not a bad record. Just the job for the luxurious heated outdoor pool (temperature akin to a bathtub) in there then venture over to the 'other side' bracing is an understatement but coming back is oh so nice & warm.

Find a better place at this price I challenge you!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gordon Roden
Overall excellent hotel
5 years 6 months ago
First time at this hotel, we arrived late but the staff could not be more helpful.

We had a lovely room with a sea view food to suit everyone and we met some nice people, It was my daughters twenty first birthday and hotel and staff did everything to make it a great day for her.

Overall excellent hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Tracey
7 years 1 month ago
I have never stayed in an all inclusive like this. The food was okay nothing to write home about. You could always find something to eat.

The location was very dull, you could not go out for a walk as there was nowhere to go and no bars etc. The staff were a little on the slow side you had to go to the bar yourself- no waiter service.

The entertainment was poor, the piano bar was the same thing every night. He could play the piano and he could not sing he mumbled the words he did not know. The salon bar you got 1 hour turn then the prizes of the day, then another 1 hour turn. They were very poor.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
John Hardcastle
8 years 5 months ago
Our fourth visit to this paricular hotel should say enough, but, unlike so many other hotels which seem to be cutting back, The Princess seems to get better, with the exception of the Entertainment in the Showbar. With the exection of Thursday evenings, when "The Tramps" and "The Impressions 1" perform alternate weeks, the rest is shamefully bad, from a duo who do not play a note of music, but mime everything (except the atrocious singing) to poor taste animal shows, where the obvious 'trade' is to get the punters to have their pictures taken with birds, snakes, reptiles etc,. etc. Follow me?
ANSWER.- Go to the Piano bar, where the pianist,who is a VERY FINE MUSICIAN incidentally, (takes one to know and appreciate one) will play your request,and people dance to their hearts content, or like me just sit and enjoy the music and watch the many expert dancers.

HOWEVER, the food just seems to get better here. I mean bacon for breakfast cooked three different degrees (soft medium or crispy) eggs done about 6 different ways (to the individual taste too) Lunch and Dinner there is always a carvery at each and AT LEAST SIX or SEVEN hot dishes to choose from, before one gets to the cold cuts, salads (and of course desserts) nobody can say they could not find anything to their taste.

THE STAFF. All very friendly as usual, nothing is too much trouble. THE ROOMS, clean with bedding etc. changed every day

POOL AREA. Yes, their IS the stipulation that if you wish to leave towels, you MUST stay with them before 10.00 a.m. or they will be removed by the attendant. Seems rather harsh, but it stops people froom reserving "banks" of beds. Ohe than that, it is great and safe for all Three pools kiddies, then heated , then the cold one for the brave (her I have to say how stimulating it is to go in the warm pool, then over the partition to the cold pool, grim at first, but coming back to the heated pool is sheer Heaven, like jumping into a giant hot-tub.

IF I seem to have gone "over the top" a little, that is because this Hotel deserves all it gets, with a beautiful location, every room looks out to sea, and being a true Yorkshireman born and bred I like to get value for money. Here I do, unlike many of the other Hotels I have visited on this particualr Island (and other islands in the Canaries too).
Already booked for next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Miss A Hannan
8 years 10 months ago
Taurito is pretty isolated. Ideal for holidays as you have no choice but to relax & make the most of your surroundings & the beautiful beach. Reaching the hotel is ideal for thril seakers, as the narrow cliff top roads provide a 'white knuckle' experience. The food was varied, although lacked vegetables, however the pool side snack bar was perfect for feeding children.Room cleanliness was good, but poolside wc's hygiene could be improved. The hotel staff were friendly, polite, efficient & couldn't be more helpful if they tried. The evening entertainment was fantastic for families, with 3 generations of the family, including 3 children under 4yrs, there was something for everyone. Local weekly market in Mogan, very good, if like me you love to shop.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
STEVE AND SARA LAKE
9 years 2 months ago
We stayed at the hotel for the first time on a all inclusive basis (the only way to go), there was plenty of choice food wise and all was very nice. The dining room was run very well and there was never no waiting for any of the food. most of the food was cooked fresh in front of you with at least two stations cooking the same thing.

The hotel was very clean and there was allways maids around if there was any problems. We had a problem with our TV and on reporting it we had it fixed in about ten minutes.

The hotel is located in a quiet bay with not many things around, however who needs it when your all inclusive. This hotel is ideal for any party really, there is quite lively areas around the pool to sun bathe or you can move to a secluded area where you could just laye in peace.

The Hotel staff were excellent from arrival to leaving. On arrival at 1am we had food and drink waiting for us which was a nice touch. On getting to the hotel we took part in nearly every activity put on by the animation team, there is a wide range of things to do and this could keep you happy all day. All the team were fantastic and made your stay a time to remember.

The hotel evening entertainement was ok but nothing to write home about, we had seven nights to review this and in my opinion only two shows were worth watching(the 4 tops and the russian girls).Apparently all the shows were supposed to be professional, lets just say they wont be getting through to the second round on Gran canaria has got tallent.

The piano bar was a nice place to sit and have a quiet drink and a dance if you like the slow stuff.

At the end of my stay i was disappointed to be leaving and will definately visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMSON

Recommended
Charles Hemingway
9 years 3 months ago
This is our second visit to taurito princess and it did not let us down, when we arrived about 10-30 pm on monday 12th may the reception guy noticed from my passport that it was my birthday on the 14th when he said that, I told him it was also our 37th anniversary the day after.
he told us that they may be a present for us in our room.
there was a small meal laid out for us which was very nice.
The next day we had a bottle of red wine and a plate of fruit delivered to our room for my birthday compliments of the manager and the day after that we had a large bottle of champaign in ice for our anniversary we thought this was a very nice gesture form the hotel management.
Our room had maid service every day, the hotel is kept spotlessly clean throughout.
The dining room is laid out well and there is a great selection of food, not all to our taste but we ate well all the time.
the pool bar has lots of drinks and snacks to keep you going through the day
The entertainment is not up to much but it is there every night mostly dancing girls.
the hotel is situated in a cove and not much going on around it but there are bus and taxis to nearby resorts.

we shall go again to this hotel no doubt
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: tomson

Recommended
Martin
9 years 4 months ago
we have just returned and were very impresses we liked the plentiful choices of food ,the wines were lovely.the snack bar pizzas etc great,the service+ friendliness of staff really good,the entertainment great one night(tramps,lady acrobat show,gaucho)not so great the next(parrot show photo opportunity)+ lack of kids entertainment after mini disco ended. felt a little trapped in the evening as we like walking but no pavements into mogan the lovely port next to taurito but used free buses + local bus+ taxi to explore.kids club good but kids can come+go without signing i dont feel this is correct +no lifeguards at pools.lovely little beach to sit + enjoy or paddle but strong undercurrent.good value for money 4 star family hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Chris Sargeant
9 years 5 months ago
First impressions were excellent. The hotel is spotless clean and the reception staff all spoke very good English. The rooms are a bit on the small side for a family but as this was our first holiday without our daughter was more than adequate. Rooms cleaned everyday and the balcony we had was huge. Lack of electrical sockets (only 1 available) so if we needed to charge ipods, camera's etc we had to either unplug the TV or use the shaver socket in bathroom. Hotel complex very well cared for, gardens etc and pool again was spotless clean. Taurito is in the middle of Puerto Rico and Mogan so very quiet and relaxing. Fine for us but could be a bit of a problem for families and especially families with teenage kids (like us)Animation team really did try their hardest but with a lot of older generation people there due to off season not many of them could play water polo etc. It was fun watching the ones that did play though, I never thought you could play polo with a zimmer frame and a few walking stick floated away. There is a mini club for the really young ones but again as off season was very quiet. Evening entertainment was somewhat lacking (Except the tribute band who were fantastic)and you get the usual Flemenco dancers, acrobats, parrot shows etc but very few people joined in the entertainment. On the whole though these acts still need to make a living and tried their best with the limited resourses they had. The Piano Bar is very relaxed and again it's good fun watching the pianist play a few songs then slowly get drunk, few more songs, more beer, few beers, more songs great stuff. All in all a very nice hotel and grounds but with one massive problem if you are all inclusive. The food there we found absolutely vile. We are not usually fussy but all meats, fish etc are cooked on the same griddle so everything tastes of fish, there are very few vegetables (on occations none whatsoever) and you had to queue for everything unless you were German of course in which case you just pushed in wherever you wanted. Meal times were a bit of a trauma in most cases as the main severy had only one tiny aisle and the tables are all really close to each other so you had to do an assault course just to get served. The food really was our only bad thing, there are salads etc but everything seemed the same temperature. Hot or cold didn't matter it was all just about warm. Im sure some people would disagree and say that the food was great so this is only my opinion of it. Bars etc good but again you have to queue for everything but not really a problem as you were still served quite quickly. Would I go back there???? Not too sure, If the food improved then probably yes as everything else is just fine.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

9 years 5 months ago
The hotel in general was kept very clean and the staff worked extremely hard to maintain such a good standard.
The food was average, the only problem I felt was that there was not much vegetables on offer and only one area to obtain freshly cooked meat etc so you always had to queue for it. If there had been 2 stations it would have been much easier as I could imagine this being quite problematic in high season.
The location of the hotel is idyllic and as long as you are aware of the location then there should be no problems at all. Taurito has a lovely private beach which is shared with the sister hotel the Princess Suites, and the views are beautiful with the sea and such a vast range of mountains it is breathtaking.
The entertainment very much catered for the kiddies early evening and then about 22.00hrs the entertainment would start for the adults. The shows were quite good but if you sat at the back of the room it was very hard to hear properly the sound quality.
We would definatly return to this hotel for a weeks break again in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.