Image of Beatriz Playa Hotel

Beatriz Playa Hotel

5 of 9 hotels in Matagorda

4 out of 5 from 17 reviews
4 stars
Calle Mato, Matagorda, 35509 Tias (Lanzarote), Spain
With its bright and refreshing atmosphere and excellent range of facilities for children, this is a very popular choice for families. It is well situated directly on the beach and promenade and just a short walk from the centre of Matagorda.

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Brenda & Elizabeth Walker
Relaxing swimming pool area
5 years 5 months ago
We had a lovely big room with complimentary toiletries in the large bathroom, also had a bath as well as shower, tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen TV, fridge.

There was a lovely swimming pool with towels provided and gardens.

There are 2 categories of room, we upgraded and it was worth it. We had a nice seating area outside our room with balcony.

The food on the first nice was buffet style but we chose from the menu on our second night. Breakfast was eggs, toast, fruit juice, tea/coffee. The restaurant was basic but the food was good. We did eat lunch outside at tables on the lawn.

The hotel is not located near anything but other hotels however most hotels seem to be in this area. There were local musicians playing on one of the nights in the garden area.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Andy
We have been to better 3* hotels
6 years 5 months ago
All inclusive at this Hotel was a little difficult and confusing, when we went for lunch we were told to sit down where we liked and when we did and started eating, a waitress came up to us and told us we were sitting in the paying guest part, we had to move and take our dinners with us there and then. We booked an Italian meal at a themed restaurant and when we got there they had no record of us so we had to leave. The breakfast food was the best; lunch and dinner were often meat and one veg or salad. The choice not great for a four star.

We found the evenings the worst, dreary Hotel entertainment, we stuck it for a couple of nights and then went out in the evenings and found the local bars much better.

The room was good and the maid service was very good. This is a large Hotel complex and a map could have been nice as finding things was very difficult. It is fair to say that we have stayed at 3 star Hotels that were better.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Jean And Malcolm
7 years 1 month ago
We're not quite sure what to say about this hotel as despite several negative points that made us consider it to be less than a 4star we still managed to enjoy our break after a bad start.
We had to refuse our first room as the air-con had leaked dirty brown water into the wardrobe making it unusable,something that other people had experienced as well.The design of the hotel(two blocks each with rooms around a central "open" courtyard)meant it was like a giant echo chamber,so any late-night noise(and there was plenty whilst we were there)is amplified.
There was only one(noisy) bar open in the evening which meant long queues at busy times,and until a proper queueing system was introduced(probably after complaints)the bar staff gave preference to the many Spanish guests.There was a quiet bar but it wasn't part of the all inclusive and so was virtually empty all the time.
The central courtyard areas were used by smokers,although it was debatable wether it could be considered to be outside and smoke did hang around a bit in the evening.These areas were also a bit grubby and in need of a deep-clean as was the pool area.
Not everyone agreed with us but we thought the food was good,well cooked and well presented,although not the biggest buffet we've seen.Neither of us had a bad meal during our fortnight's break.The Italian Restaurant was very good,as was the Burger Bar,although we were told the Chinese Restaurant was poor.
We won't be going back,although with a little more attention to detail this hotel could be so much better.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

8 years 7 months ago
This is our second visit to the hotel. We came here in 2006 and returned as we love the location and the hotel. The hotel itself is very friendly and we found all the staff spoke good engish and were most pleasant. Especially with the children. The entertainment programme acters for both adults and children with various activities running throughout the day. We never joined in as had the chuildren but many adults did. There was a minni club for the children between 10.30 and 1 then 3-5. I can say Im not a fan of going on holiday as a family and then shipping off the kids to the equivalent of a creche but my 3.5 yr old insisted on going 2 mornings as many of the children staying at the hotel went and they all like to be together. They did painting, cloluring, football, playground, hide and seek and watched some film. there was a mini disco on an evening 8.30 to 9 and the children played on the dancefloor before and after this time with balloons they'd been given.The hotel was really clean and lots of different areas to relax in. We really enjoyed the food as we did 2 years ago. Theres loads to choose from and the restuarant really make an effort on theme nights and with their presentation. In the main restuarant there is usually a roast joint of some description, freshly cooked steaks and fish, a paella and various spaghetti and foreign dishes every evening. the starters comprise of fresh salads, cold meats, eggs, dressings etc and the desserts are varied too with selection of cakes yoghurts, fruit, ice creams etc. There is so much choice but you have to remember you are in a foreign country and they sometimes have things slightly different. I heard one or two complain about he food but honestly, i think they thought they were in the uk!! I have a 3.5 year old and a 8 month old and all of us ate like kings every night and day. There is also a pizzeria, asian resturant and burger bar as part of the all inclusive package.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Sharon
9 years 1 month ago
stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks but wouldnt do so again.this hotel is purely for spanish holiday makers and not british.we booked half board but could not eat any of the meals,every night it was the samething fish,fish,fish.there was nothing to suit children therfore we had to eat out everynight the food is disguistng.this hotel is also an all inclusive hotel therfore dont try and get served at bar as it was imposible.staff are very rude as they are only interested in looking after their own.all entertainment is in spanish therefore couldnt understand a thing.its a pity as hotel is very clean and it had lovely pools also no problem getting sunbeds.only downside is dont expect to meet anyone as we didnt in the 14 days we were there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Robertson
9 years 2 months ago
This was without a doubt the best hotel we have stayed in for the price we paid. Hotel room was bigger than usual and the view from our balcony was perfect.

Cleanliness could not be faulted. The food and drink was the best we have had on an all-inclusive. The location was great away from all the hustle and bustle but a short walk away if you wanted some nightlife.

The staff were very helpful and always smiling. The entertainment was the usual fare for hotels in Spain. The inside of the hotel is very nice with waterfalls and glass elevators.

Loved this hotel and would definately go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airborn direct

Recommended
Crawford
10 years 1 month ago
We booked this hotel thinking it would be a relaxing holiday with friendly service and a nice holiday atmosphere.

We really were shocked to find that the hotel was listed as 4 star and in our opinion the service and everything that went along with the hotel was only 2/3 star at the most.

The hotel should not be advertised in English Holiday Brochures as during the time we were there they only cater for Spanish all inclusive holiday makers. The majority of the staff could not speak English, the entertainment was all in Spanish, and the staff were so overworked they did not know who to serve next, and the holiday makers like ourselves who went on either a bed and breakfast basis or half board were left and it was quite normal to have to wait at least 20-30 minutes to be able to get a drink at the pool bar.

We would not visit this hotel ever again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Eclipse

10 years 7 months ago
What en excellent hotel.

We have just returned from a week at the BP Hotel and can only offer praise. We have a 19 month old son so were careful to book what we thought would be appropriate hotel and it was.

The rooms were very spacious and had a double bed (two singles pushed together), spacious wardrobes, a safe (payable at reception) and then two steps down (which we taught our son to go down on, on his bottom!) into a living area with a bed settee, desk, coffee table, TV and mini bar.

The balcony was safe too with a solid block wall (no unsafe railings) and cacti planted on the rim so anybody wanting to climb over it would be a very brave person! We were supplied with a cot which we requested at booking which was very, very, clean and spacious and in excellent condition. The cot had appropriate bedding even though I always take my own.

The room and bathroom were very clean - okay, so you read the other reviews as I did and some say the hotel is dated - well - it has been up a few years so you are going to see bits of wear and tear here and there but nothing to write home about - I thought it was of a very good standard.

The hotel was very large and the reception staff were excellent and all spoke very good English and were very helpful - they did anything they could to help you.

We booked All inclusive purely because it was only
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Paul Benstead
11 years 1 month ago
Just returned after 2 weeks holiday and we really enjoyed ourselves.

The hotel was next to the airport but this was no problem and the noise did not bother us at all, watching the planes come in was interesting.

The rooms were very clean and tidy but on the small side with not much storage space for your clothes, also getting your towels changed daily was never a problem.

The location was fine quiet if you want it but just a short taxi ride from all the fun of Puerto Del Carmen, and a few local bars and restaurants just a short walk along the prom. We spent a lot of time at the New Inn and dreamers both very good.

Now for the bad points the hotel staff (reception,bar staff ) I found very rude and unhelpful on many occasions and rarely with a smile on there faces this cannot be said about the entertainment staff who are fantastic especially stretch (the tall one 6ft 8).

The food in morning we all found very good with a very wide choice but we found the evening meals poor with much the same thing every night and not much in the way of choice for younger people, I wish that one night they could of done hot dogs or burgers finally don't forget to take your kite with you its very windy but its still dam hot.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Dave
11 years 2 months ago
Our room was on the airport side of the hotel so the view of the planes landing was quite superb - the noise of the planes was OK by the pool but deafening on our balcony. I am not complaining as i almost became a paid up plane spotter. This hotel is only a few hundred metres from the end of the runway, needless to say the transfer time was only 2 minutes.

If we go back we will get a taxi from the airport to avoid the usual waiting on the coach half an hour before it moves. 8 Euros each way.

The food was fine in the restaurant - had breakfast most mornings and evening meal a few times (prefer to eat out).

The hotel is very big and it takes a few days to get your bearings.

Guests were mainly Spanish (which was nice)

We would definitely go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.