Image of Sol Lanzarote Aparthotel

Sol Lanzarote Aparthotel

4 of 9 hotels in Matagorda

4 out of 5 from 40 reviews
4 stars
Calle Grama, 2, 35510 Tías, Spain

40 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    23
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Kathleen And Alan
8 years ago
This is a 2-3 star hotel for families with young children.The childrens team are brilliant with the kiddies. HOWEVER...Sunsave knew we were a couple in our 50's and NEVER ONCE MENTIONED IT WAS A FLINTSTONES THEMED CHILDREN AND FAMILY HOTEL. They insisted it would be perfect for us! As such will neve book with Sunsave again and amazingly no-one from Sunsave has returned any of my calls or emails?
We paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunsave

Caroline
9 years 1 month ago
Hotel was lovely and perfectly located for the beach. A good choice at the buffet, but boaring after a week. However the quality of the food was really good. All staff helpful and friendly and always someone maintaining the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Deirdre
9 years 2 months ago
Hotel Sol Lanzarotte was ideally located. Cleaned every day and beds changed regularly. Cleaning staff very thorough and friendly. Reception staff had very little English bar 1 gent who unfortunately could not be on all the time.

Supermarket on site stocked necessities although staff customer service left a lot to be desired as did some reception staff who were both unfriendly and at times quite rude. Thankfully we did not need their assistance that often. Grounds maintainance and pool clanliness was excellent and the boys worked early so that by the time guests came down all work was nearly complete.

No shortage of sun beds or parosols. Rooms spacious and well air conditioned. For a 4 star accommodation surprised no kettle for self catering.

Entertainment on site was excellent ranging from reptile nights, Tex Mex, Disney shows and many more. Previews were given during the day also.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Mr & Mrs Norris
9 years 4 months ago
This was our first time in matagorda, and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel,we were a bit worried what to expect, as we had read other ratings on this hotel,all i can say is things must have greatly improved this year.We found on arrival we had been given a free upgrade to a Flintstones themed room which was very large,clean and modern with a large flat screen TV. The staff worked so hard, and we always found them polite, although sometimes they didn't understand some of our English words for things.
we saw no cockroaches until our last day when i must admit i ran a mile.
lots of cats on the complex which hung around the cafe a bit,but being animal lovers this didn't bother us at all.the evening entertainment was we thought excellent,and we had no trouble getting seats and served at the bar.
we ate breakfast in the hotel on our first morning,the eggs were awful and the bacon was raw, cant comment on other food as that was the only time we ate in there.
Always something going on in the pool for the children with the entertainment people, who were brill with the kids.
we cant wait to go back to this hotel.





.


Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Lammie
9 years 7 months ago
Justreturned from Sol Lanzarote,best room we've ever had.

Very modern,spacious and clean. Food was very good,lots of choices,and a lot cooked for you while you waited.

Location could not have been better. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Entertainment room was always busy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
Linzi
10 years 2 months ago
Negatives are:-
* daily visits/slaying of cockroaches
* no kettle or toaster in self catering and only 2 tea cups for 4 people
* certain rude staff (especially the guy in the pool bar)
* fighting for a sun bed, or;
* getting up at 7am in order to secure one
* your backside hitting the floor as the sun beds are that saggy
* sun-bathing whilst breathing in the paint fumes as they repaint the pool - peak season, midday
* poolside entertainers wearing red wigs, straddling a balustrade, inviting Dino the Dinosaur to walk through his legs
* daily blasts of I'm a Barbie Girl, Macharena, etc,
* a pool that you can dive into and get a free layer of sun cream at the same time!
* orphaned adolescents from 10pm onwards
* PLANES! Every 5 minutes. So close you could see how attractive the cabin crew were, nevermind the make/model of the plane.

On the plus side:-
* good sea views if you are lucky
* lovely quiet beach (unless the wind changes and you suddenly hear the poolside entertainment) oh, and (if it's between arrival times from each European airline)
* cleaning staff are lovely and very accommodating - beds made every day and changed when requested, towels changed daily
* spacious rooms
* new tiles in the poolside showers (we had the inconvenience of the work during our holiday)
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Indepedent

Murphy
10 years 3 months ago
Although self catering no kettle or toaster in room these can be hired from reception at a cost of 7.50 euros per week. A lot of the sunbeds need replacing and the few umbrellas which are there are a health and safety issue as they are mostly broken. The hotel itself is certainly well placed as it is so close to the beach. Unfortunately the cleanliness of the hotel left something to be desired there seemed to be a constant smell of sickness in the inside bar. The outside pool was still being cleaned at 11 in the morning when a lot of people were waiting to get into the water, and it wasn't cleaned that well! A lot of problems with safety deposit boxes. Insufficient staffing levels at reception & bar areas. We travelled with 2 children aged 11 & 6 the younger child was happy to go to kids club 1st week but as everything was repeated 2nd week he had no enthusiasm. Unfortunately there was nothing for the older child unless he wanted to go to the club. Evening entertainment was certainly interesting!!!
Very disappointed as this hotel had been recommended to us a lot of the people we spoke to had seen a big change since last year. Hopefully all our constructive criticism will help to bring this hotel back up to a 4 star.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Jim & Cathie
10 years 3 months ago
Sol Lanzarote Matogarda. Travelled to Lanzarote for the first time.

Really enjoyed the resort. First impressions of the hotel were good apart from the wait to register. The reception appeared short staffed most of the time as did the bar.

The hotel was well maintained as regards clean towels,sheets etc and housekeeping with the room cleaned daily. The rooms were spacious and clean.

Our main concern regarding the hotel was related to security of valuables. Each room had a free! safety deposit box that was secured with a four digit code supposedly only known by ourselves. On day 3 of our stay we could not get the safe opened and reception staff eventually ( after a wait of over 24 hours) re-set the code. The next day on returning to our room after a day out to the beach the safe was wide open and all of our money had been stolen! Aparently this had happened to other guests at the hotel. The bathroom windows were unable to be secured and anyone could access the rooms if they so chose. Advice to travellers: use the main hotel safe as this may result in the hotel taking appropriate action as they will need to employ sufficient staff to manage this. Alternatively take travellers cheques which are more secure than cash. We did not allow this to ruin our holiday and were able to use our bank and credit cards.

The management appeared sympathetic however were not able or prepared to do anything apart from advise us to go to the police.

Cannot really comment on the entertainment as we had no children with us, however the children around appeared to be having a good time at the children's club etc.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Globespan

Barry
10 years 4 months ago
The Sol is a nice hotel in a nice area but the one thing that sticks out is the lack of sunbeds.

This is a real problem and we've spent days sitting on the grass area aruond the pool, while 30 sunbeds are occupied only by towels.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Lee Froggatt
10 years 4 months ago
For our first holiday alone, we decided to book a week at the Sol Lanzarote Hotel. The hotel doesnt appear to be that new (photos in the reception clearly show it being constructed in the late 80's), but the rooms are very nicely furnished and are certainly not old. We found the cleanliness in the room and around the hotel to be excellent, which is always a good thing.

The location of the hotel is a good aspect as it is right on the beach, so there are no long walks to the beach. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the end of the runway at Arrecife Airport, so you do see the aircraft arriving and/or departing, and hear them quite clearly, but Matagorda is a quiet resort, and they do give you something to do whilst catching rays by the pool or on the beach.

If you want to go into Puerto Del Carmen you can walk up to the bus stop, where a bus into the resort will only cost a Euro, so it hardly breaks the bank. It was only
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: JMC

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.