Image of Hesperia Playa Dorada Hotel

Hesperia Playa Dorada Hotel

13 of 44 hotels in Playa Blanca

4 out of 5 from 18 reviews
4 stars
Urb. Costa del Papagayo, 35580 Costa del Papagayo, Spain

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
M Berry
Nice hotel for couples
4 years 2 months ago
Stayed for 10 days from 27 Sept. We were talked into upgrading room. I felt the small room we were allocated was reasonable for a 4* but it cost us an extra 200 euros for the stay. We were already all inclusive. The benefits of the upgrade were; separate sun terrace with waiter service (we managed to get on it twice) not enough beds. We counted 54 in total and there were 200 upgrade rooms!! There was also the separate dining room which we had to queue for nearly every meal. Food was OK staff were excellent if not a little overworked. My point is when they offer an upgrade, make sure it's delivered! Recommended but don't be talked into parting with 200 euros!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunsave

Recommended
Brilliant Hotel
5 years 7 months ago
We stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks. The food was very good, prepared and cooked to perfection and a very good choice.

Always bacon every day and not just every other day as in some hotels. Staff very helpful and cheerful and rooms cleaned every day.
Live entertainment was different duo's each night. Lots of good music and plenty of dancing.

Directly on the sea front and only a good stroll away either side of the hotel to the shops and cafes or the beautiful marina area.

Will definitely stay there again, probably for New Year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jet 2.com

Recommended
KLC
Lovely hotel in a superb location
5 years 10 months ago
Lovely hotel in a superb location. An international hotel with Britain's in the minority. Plenty of sunbeds at any time of day, pool area very clean.

Breakfasts very good, dinner not so good but even the fussiest eater would not go hungry.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 5 months ago
Just returned this week, the hotel food is ok, not wonderful, breakfasts are quite good, plenty of choice, cereal, fruit, yoghurts, eggs, bacon, cheeses, bread, marmalade. Evening meals could be better, we had read previous reviews on food, but still went, there were green beans one morning at breakfast. The hotel was very clean rooms cleaned daily. The location is excellent, right on the prom. Yes we would visit again, if the price was good
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Richard Moss
8 years 6 months ago
This was our third time at this hotel, we found the interior and exterior to be a little tired in appearance for example the woodwork around doors and windows could do with re varnishing, some floor tiles wer cracked and those that had been replaced were of a lighter colour! The image wasn't helped by the poolside restaurant being closed. Our room (sea view, top floor) was excelent, large double bed, ample storage space seperate toilet and bathroom and a balconey that had the sun from about 11.00 am till dusk, we requested this via email prior to departure and paid 70 Euros extra on arrival this we felt was money well spent as we wanted a relaxing holiday with time spent on the balcony the only downside to this (not present on previous visits) was on Saturday night when a local bar held a disco untill 4am!! I feel that rooms to the rear of the hotel would not be affected by this. We always keep an open mind about the food in hotels, however, both my wife and I struggled to come to terms with the lack of imagination towards the menus at the end of our stay, an observation to be aware of is the cooking of meats on the hot plate, the 'chef' places the cooking utensils on the uncooked meat after turning the food also the chicken I had was under cooked (and left) on saying this the pre prepared meat was fine I put this down to too much demand over not enough cooking time. At no time did we go hungrey and always found something to suit. Can't comment on the childrens activites other than all the kids seemed to enjoy themselves. Staff were more than helpful and pleasant at all times, don't be afraid to say hello especially to the maids you will be sure of a cheerful responce.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Mr & Mrs Hindley
8 years 10 months ago
This hotel is in a suberb position, right on sea front close to an excellent beach, the marina and the small town.

We could not fault the cleanliness of the hotel.

The food is very good with plenty of choice but don`t expect it to be cooked like home, it`s Spanish. Sprouts for breakfast one morning, there is no accounting for taste but my wife enjoyed them.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the entertainment is typical for the canaries so if you don`t expect to much you won`t be disappointed.

The weather was cooler than we have experienced before on four previous trips to the Canaries in december.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Broadway travel

Recommended
9 years ago
The hotel is in a great position being only a short walk to the sea front. It is within walking distance of the Rubicon Marina and Playa Blanca town but is far enough away from these to be quiet and peaceful.
Staff are very polite and helpful but do seem a little understaffed in the restaurant. The hotel is very clean, rooms and public areas are spotless.
Our room was a good size and just about had a sea view.They said we could pay another 70 Euros a week if we wanted a good sea view but we didn't bother.
They sent me a bottle of sparkling wine and a card for my Birthday which was a nice touch.
The breakfast was good with plenty of choice, the evening meal though was disappointing. For starters you have a choice of 2 soups or a salad bar with usually cold Pork slices. It would have been good to of have more choice than one cold meat but this seemed to be the norm. The soups were generally good although sometimes very salty. There was more of a choice for the mains but the quality was generally poor. The food wasn't always very hot but there is a microwave available to reheat food. One night we had a Chinese night and it was the strangest Chinese I've ever had! The desserts were very similar every night and were normally bought in cakes and some fruit.
We ate elsewhere a couple of nights as the restaurant food is very repetitive and rotates on a weekly basis.
The entertainment isn't bad but not as good as the Thomson Gold that we've been to. Although they were trying to entertain 5 or 6 nationalities. There is also a 3 par chip and put Golf course in the hotel grounds and it costs 20 Euros each for 18 holes.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Tim & Jen
9 years 5 months ago
Large comfortable hotel with good sized rooms. Superb position right on promenade half way between marina and town. Food good but had better, also hotter, but still put weight on.

The staff uniforms made them look like hospital porters, but they were polite and efficient if a little understaffed.

Having stayed at four other hotels in Playa Blanca, this we considered to be the best.

Will definitely return one day.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jodie
10 years 1 month ago
We (4 adults & 1 child and 1 infant) have just returned from a week at the Hesperia Playa Dorada and had a brilliant time. The hotel is lovely and the staff are very helpful. The rooms (suite for us and twin room for parents) were of a high standard, cleaned and towels changed everyday. The pools were great and kept really well. The kids loved every minute of it. There were some early risers who put towels on sunbeds but there are plenty of sun beds so it wasn't an issue. There was plenty of entertainment in the evenings, a singer in the main foyer/bar area and a show each night in the showroom. There was also activities during the day which you could join in if you wished but never hassled to do so. We stayed on a Bed and Breakfast basis and the breakfast was good, lots of choice. We had our lunch in the restaurant by the pool most days and again the food was very good. We never ate in the hotel restaurant at night as there is so much choice in Playa Blanca but the restaurant was always full. The only complaints I had about the hotel was they wouldn't provide a kettle in the room, we asked several times (we only needed it to heat babies bottles). Also, there was airconditioning in the rooms but not anywhere else in the hotel so it could get very hot. Overall, this is a beautiful well kept hotel, with fabulous views and only a 3 minute walk to the beach. It is 10 minutes either to the Marina or the town of Playa Blanca so location is excellent. Even though it has grown so much, Playa Blanca still holds its charm and we love it and will be returning again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Lewis
10 years 2 months ago
We had two rooms with an adjoining door and a sea view that was so idyllic. Tends to be unusual, but lovely, in the way the rooms are alongside an open area that sports beautiful plants and natural daylight. Cleanliness in room and restaurant is second to none. The hotel food is plentiful and caters for all tastes, but does provide quite a lot of pork. Also, it can sometimes be difficult to know what you are eating, because not everything is marked up. The waiters are friendly and very helpful. 0ne of the best locations in the resort - only 5-10 minutes away from the new Marina Rubicon and 10 minutes to the town. Can also approach the town from the promenade by the sea. Supermarket a few minutes away and near other hotels. Reception staff are very helpful and the waiters try very hard to please. Entertainment staff are fabulous and work really hard. Wonderful variety of entertainment. The shows are in Spanish but there are introductions etc. in other languages. As well as providing a children's club also provides activities for teenagers every day and adults. Besides this there is a very good games room and card tables. 0nly real downside is would be good to have air-conditioning in the whole hotel and not just the bedrooms. If we came to Lanzarote again would definitely stay in this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson Direct

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.