32 independent reviews of the Playa Flamingo Apartments
Address: Calle de la Lapa, 0, 35580 Playa Blanca, Spain
Playa Flamingo Apartments
Playa Flamingo Apartments Location
Ranked #3 of 35 hotels in Playa Blanca


5/5
Playa Flamingo Apartments Playa Flamingo Apartments is rated 4.69 out of 5 from 32 Reviews
97% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (32 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 4 stars
Food 5 stars
Service 5 stars
Location 4 stars

Playa Flamingo Apartments Reviews

5/5
5

The Slaters had a holiday at Playa Flamingo Apartments in August 2009
Well I don\'t think I can add anything that hasn\'t already been said before, we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Playa Flamingo. From the moment we arrived all the staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are spacious, even with a family of 4 in. The kitchen is well equipped but we didn\'t use it and there is plenty of wardrobe space, although glad we took some extra hangers.
We upgraded to all inclusive which was very economical with the current exchange rate. The range of drinks covered everything we needed and the food was excellent, especially the lunches, the freshly made omelettes were superb. My only criticism, having a sweet tooth, would be there wasn\'t a great deal of variety with the deserts, the chocolate fountain was exciting the first few nights ...
but the novelty soon wore off.
The morning queue for the sunbeds wasn\'t too much of a chore, the pool gates opened about 8:30 with only the serious queuers arriving before 8. I actually found the system better than in places were there isn\'t any control and people get up at ridiculous times.
The location is good with a couple of supermarkets, restaurants and a beach on the door step and the ferry port and town about a ten to fifteen minute stroll on the promenade, a bit quicker if you don\'t go the scenic way, out of the main entrance and along the road that runs behind the hotels.
The entertainment was great, the thomson team looked like they wanted to be there and have fun. There was no outside venue for the evening entertainment, not sure if this is because it could be quiet windy at times, so all the entertainment was inside the \'blue moon\' bar but wasn\'t a problem as there were plenty of seats and it was interesting watching some of the acrobat acts trying to cope with the low roof.
All in all a great holiday and I would recommend this hotel

Read More

Tour Operator: Independant

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Ashton Family had a holiday at Playa Flamingo Apartments, Playa Blanca in January 2009
Well positioned and friendly complex with easy access to beach and a couple of decent sized pools. Handful of bars/restaurants along the promenade in front of hotel in addition to pool bar and restaurant on complex with a couple of supermarkets too. Clean and well proportioned rooms with good in room facilities such as microwave, toaster, hairdryer, etc.
Rooms cleaned 5 days out of 7 and bed linen changed once during the week.
Staff helpful and friendly. Entertainment mostly geared up to families with big entertainment team and programme active day and night though never pushy for volunteers. Lots of children around the complex so if you want a quiet, child free break this is perhaps not the place for you.
Seafront promenade runs right around the whole resort taking in the port and the new Rubicon Marina across the bay ...
from this complex. Regular ferries leave the port on the short trip over to Fuerteventura.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

tony avis stayed at Playa Flamingo Apartments in August 2008
I must say that after many years of holidaying with various companies in various complexes, this has to be about the best i have stayed in. The appartments were very clean & in good repair. The staff here are among the friendliest i have encountered and nothing was too much trouble.
The complex was also kept very clean including around the pool area.
The bar staff in the Blue Moon clubhouse were very good and we even got a free shot most nights.
The location in resort was good although a little bit of a walk to the main PB area.
The entertainment was great! During the day there were activities in and around the pool but the reps were not pushy if you just wanted to relax.
The kid\'s entertainment was the best i have had from any of the ...
big holiday companies. There were daytime activities and the usual party dances etc in the evening. The big difference i felt was that the reps looked like they actually enjoyed the interactive with the kids (some reps i have previously encountered seem to regard it as a chore).
Also the adult entertainment was good and Rave on Rachael & Dan the man did a fantastic job of making you feel you wanted to take part. Some of the evening acts were a bit \"end of pier\" though.
In summary this is probably the best holiday i have had (as a family) when looking at all-round performance.

Read More

Tour Operator: thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Dave visited the Playa Flamingo Apartments, Playa Blanca in July 2008
We went to the Playa Flamingo apartments for 2 weeks in July and had a brilliant time. We went with our 4 year old daughter who had a great holiday. When we first got there one of the many reps there helped us carry our luggage to the apartment. We stayed in 9C which had a nice view out to sea and Furteventura. When we went to the welcome meeting, the resort manager, Angel Rivero and his team went on stage and personally introduced thereselves which is something we had never seen before and was a nice touch. The apartment was spacious and clean, with the maids coming in regulary. Sarah, the head rep was fantastic along with the rest of her team. The entertainers, Dan and Rachel worked out of their skin day and night and were excellent. The ...
kids clubs was good, again they had a big team of kids reps. Our Daughter went to Tots and enjoyed herself throughout.

The apartments are situated in a lovely quiet surrounding with enough restaurants to keep you going although the main part of Playa Blanca is only a 15 min walk away or 2.75 in a taxi!

The Blue Moon bar had a kids disco every night and some really good acts on later in the night. Some were poor but each to their own. Service could be a bit better in there but no real complaints.

There are loads of activities during the day, including water polo and football, I joined in with both and had a good laugh.

The only real downside is the sunbeds! People were getting down to the pool at 8:30 and taking the best ones. The staff did close the area a couple of times but people queued and the same thing happened, but you get this wherever you go.

Overall, we had a great time and we are booking up to go back again next year. Would recommend this to families anytime.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

The Martins visited the Playa Flamingo Apartments, Playa Blanca, Spain in July 2008
Our third visit and another terrific holiday at the Playa Flamingo.

Beautiful location, extremely clean , staff friendly and food high standard with plenty to choose from.

My husband and I and our 3 boys travelled with my parents who had never been abroad together before. they will definitely go again- they could not get over how friendly and helpful all the staff were. For example I couldn't believe I brought everything except a baby bottle for my 15month old- left it on the plane. so we asked the manager, Angel where would be the best place to get one as it was late in the evening, so he sent a staff member out to get us one from the late night pharmacy the other side of Playa Blanca- and didn't even charge us- now that is what I call ...
service.

The location is great on the beach- although it is becoming a little rocky there, in need of more sand i feel. however the rocks make for great snorkelling- saw many types of tropical fish swimming around the purpose built cove. The fish eat out of your hand if you hold out some bread.

The entertainment was normal stuff you get in holiday resorts- aimed at the kids mainly until 10pm. Then other acts such as tribute bands and African dancers and Beijing acrobats.

Of an evening though we prefer to take a stroll along the beachfront promenade which is lit up at night. Well worth the effort.

Would return here year after year, we may try something different, but will it ever match up to the Flamingo??????

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Marie visited the Playa Flamingo Apartments in June 2008
We have just returned from a two week family holiday to Playa Flamingo apartments, We had two apartments while there they were 45 and 46b which looked directly over the pool which was ideal spot for the children, The pool was great very clean but slightly slippy when wet. In our first week there,found it to be very quiet and plenty of beds at any time but because of certain people taking your towels off andchucking them on the floor the hotel made a rule that no towels until 9am.

Apartments where very spacious and Maria our cleaner was fantastic, clean towels and bedding twice a week!

Dan the man, Rave on Rachel and Princess Kerry were our entertainers and thanks to them kept us laughing through the day and night.

Kids klub were fantastic and my son never wanted to miss a ...
day including the evening club between 7 and 9 thanks girls.

Tried all the restaurnts on site all were fair but the one we enjoyed most was the chinese restaurant great value for money and a wide variety of food also a great advantage was the childrens bouny castle free of charge!

The walk to Playa Blanca was very nice including the Irish bar on the way great food and cheap!

Overall will struggle to find another holiday that we all enjoyed so much would love to come back next year

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

brian tricia paul dannielle visited the Playa Flamingo Apartments Hotel in June 2008
just back from best holiday ever ( honest ). these apts are by far the best ive been to.
Staff were brilliant big shout to Omar, Carlos , hafid thanks guys you were great.
Dan the Man & Rave on Rachel you made our holiday and i hope you are both there next year.
To all the other guest who help make this such a fun holiday ( John, Andy, Titch, David and all your familys i will see you next year about 25th June ( going for 3 weeks ).
If you have any doubts, dont this place is great and the food is brilliant ( BamBam ) the chef is great.
Trips were also good went to Fuerteventura on the ferry 12 mins on boat and 2 min walk from apts.
weather was great, people great Holiday fantastic.

Tour Operator: thomsons

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

paul ellis visited the Playa Flamingo Apartments, Playa Blanca, Spain in May 2008
Just returned from Playa Flamingo 1st June 2008, what can I say a really fantastic holiday place which was cleaned daily.

Staff were very friendly (Omar was brilliant). Food was good as we are fussy eaters there was plenty to choose from.

Reps were great (Dan the man, Rave on Rachael, Princess Kerry )thanks for making our holiday one to remember see you all soon many thanks Paul, Angela, Dave, Ryan, Matt and Dawn.

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

ogden visited the Playa Flamingo Apartments, Playa Blanca, Spain in August 2007
hotel very clean in all areas the staff are all very freindly and helpful at all times. enjoyed some meals in the hotel restaurant reasonable prices if on self catering. magic martin and little legs laura excellent entertainers and worked extreemly hard. kidzone reps especially smilly sam are wonderful my daughter loved them all .only downsides are no airconditioning in rooms and they could do with re-decorating. entertainment varied and on the whole very good . if air conditioned would return.

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Dave Kemp stayed at Playa Flamingo Apartments, Playa Blanca in May 2007
Loved the holiday. The first few days were awful though! The weather was cold and the wind blowing in from the sea made it even colder. However, the remaining 8 days were gloriously hot - maybe even too hot.

The appts are in a great location. Just a couple of minutes from the beach. My two young children loved the beach in the late afternoon - when the sun had gone down and it was quiet. Everyday we took a few pieces of bread into the sea to feed the fish - and in an instant had them swimmming all around us.

The kids loved the Steak House / Chinese restaurant as they loved the outdoor bouncy castle and the sparklers that the staff would always put in the desserts. Generally the food was good - so it was a great place ...
to go.

The Sports Bar opposite the main entrance of the hotel was a hit with the kids too. The bar needed a bit of renovation, but you could see the Arsenal games on Sky Sports, the beer was cheap (two Buds for 5 Euro) and the kids had free trampolines. Excellent!

The appts were good. Fairly spacious and good facilities. The kitchen in the appt probably needed doing up - but it was ok for our purpose. The entertainment staff were great this year. Magic Martin and Little Legs Laura were constantly busy - and the four or five girls who worked in the Kids Club were excellent. Very caring and looked after the kids well.

The Thomson Trips were a bit of a let down. The Volcano Trip was too long for my 8 year old twins. Also, they felt sick in the hot coach. The Yellow Submarine trip was ok - but you spent a lot of time waiting around and not enough time in the sub! The trip to the water park in Fuerterventura was ok. The park wasn\'t the best in the world (not enough rings for the rides) and it was a long way to go.....

However, the kids and the adults loved the holiday. No real complaints.

Read More

Tour Operator: Portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Dave & Catthy Hill stayed at Playa Flamingo Apartments, Playa Blanca in September 2006
This was exactly as described by earlier entries in this web page. Rooms were clean, comfortable and although basic in their layout and furnishings adequate.

The TV service was in a word diabolical, we were not expecting much but!

The lack of any air conditioning meant leaving windows open and mosquitoes had a field day. Bring a bug fryer is my recommendation.

The reception staff were friendly, helpful & went out of their way to assist. I wish the Thomson reps. were just a little bit better at communicating with their clients.

They seemed to be more interested in promoting their excursions etc.

I would recommend the resort to anyone and would consider returning at a future date. On the whole it was good value for the amount we paid.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

The Tompsons had a holiday at Playa Flamingo Apartments Hotel, Playa Blanca in August 2006
(Note: We stayed in a self-catering apartment on this resort, as such it is difficult to separate our experiences into a \"Hotel Review\" and a \"Resort Review\" as both were integral to our enjoyment. So I have posted the same information to each).

Apartment

We asked for a \"quiet\" apartment and were allocated one overlooking the smaller of the two swimming pools at the east end of the complex which was just perfect. The swimming pool closed at 8pm and all we had then in the way of noise was gentle Spanish music from a nearby small bar. I think all the noisier stuff was at the other end, I know some people also headed into town for entertainment at night. Car hire was very cheap but we didn\'t need that. I think it worked out at about

Tour Operator: Thomson's

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Martin family visited the Playa Flamingo Apartments Hotel, Playa Blanca, Spain in July 2006
Fantastic superfamily hotel. Excellent location right on the beach. Staff very friendly and helpful. Especially the Thomson and Blue Village reps, they were brilliant, patient with the children and couldn\'t do more for you! even offering to push my sleepy 18 month old off in his pushchair if I wanted to watch the world cup in the bar (I didnt , but the offer was very kind). They all seemed to remember the kids names if they saw them about during the day and it made my little man feel very special!

Cleanliness was good, no litter or overflowing bins, in fact there always seemed to be some sort of cleaning or maintenance going on. Rooms cleaned 5 days a week and towels when you want them.

The food here was excellent. Always good quality and quantity. Theme nights were great ...
as was the \"show cooking\", omelettes at breakfast and meat or fish for dinner cooked to your liking right in front of you- very impressed! We also got to eat out at the EL Duque grill on the seafront once each week as part of half board deal, lovely menu , staff and seaview, well worth the visit!

Blue Moon bar on site was airconned and non smoking so great for the children, sports bar outside for TV sports and smokers!!!! Entertainment was good, lots for kids and families, good timetable through the day for all. Aqua aerobics, water basketball etc. A short walk along the beach to town and more adult bars if thats more to your liking. Opposite the Flamingo is a bar with free outside mini golf, play area and trampolines for the children too- So much to do, so little time!!!!!!

We can\'t wait to return next year!

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Paul Field stayed at Playa Flamingo Apartments Hotel in May 2006
Just returned from a 2 week holiday. Fantastic! Apartments right on the beach, which is incredibly safe for children.

The two swimming pools were rather cold when first jumping in. Main pool has lots of day time activities. Adult Water Polo very competitive!! Second pool is smaller and quieter.

Lots of different nationalties staying at the apartments.

Evening entertainment by Thomson Reps was excellent particularly Danny & Tweety who had great voices. All reps worked extremely hard. Hotel entertainment also excellent once Thomson the Dog had his turn & went off to bed.

Apartments were cleaned 5 days a week. Ceiling fans adequate for May/June but I would imagine the rooms uncomfortably hot in July - September. Really need aircon. Public areas very clean. Hotel staff very pleasant & helpful.

10 minute walk along the promenade to main resort. Plenty of places to eat but mainly all the same.

Would quite happily return again.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

mrs kelly stayed at Playa Flamingo Apartments, Playa Blanca in February 2006
We have just returned from our 2nd visit to the flamingo, this time after a three week stay. We can honestly say that this trip was just as great, if not better. As we booked the bungalow directly from the owners, our 4yr old daughter felt like it was \' home from home\'.

Everything on the complex was still as clean as we left it last year. Another holiday there in October, we cant wait !!

Our daughter cant wait until she visits the \'Blue Moon \' again, as Danny the Blue Village rep was fantastic with her, and loaded her up with goodies on the day we came home. Her first crush I think !!

Tour Operator: booked our own

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

L Breen visited the Playa Flamingo Apartments Hotel, Playa Blanca in January 2006
No complaints about Flamingo Apartments. Although the beach has been devastated by a tropical storm. Apartment was clean, air con was not needed in January. Excellent views from top floor apartment out to sea and Fuerteventura.

The only restaurant at Flamingo Beach worth any praise was the Asia Chinese, good food and staff very attentive.

Supermarkets fairly well stocked and located nearby.

Would return to Flamingo Apartment off season, although more suited to families than couples.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

The Bedfords had a holiday at Playa Flamingo Apartments in October 2005
WOW, this apartment complex exceeded all expectations.

Our first time abroad with our two young children (4 & 2) could not have been more enjoyable. The apartments were thoroughly clean and perfectly equipped for our needs. Our apartment was situated halfway between the pool area and the beach.

Our biggest dilemma of the holiday was to we turn right for the beach or left for the pool. The pool area was extremely clean, although I must say that at times the blue concrete bordering the pool could be extremely slippy. (This might be a bit of an obvious comment to make) but we did actually see a staff member fall over. SO please take care, but at the same time please do not let this put you off.

Plenty of activities to keep all ...
ranges happy. Or if you prefer head off to the other pool that is a lot more quiet (no entertainment) or just go down to the beautiful beach.

The beach was fantastic (although as someone else mentioned previously there are a lot of cigarette stubs in the sand - to be honest it is more of a cultural thing as everywhere you went outside the hotel there were stubs!!) Plenty of sunbeds although if the weather looks as if it is going to be a scorcher get there early. Cost 7.50 euros for the day for two beds and a parasol. The water is extremely clean and safe for even the youngest children. We were quite happy to sit on our sunbeds and watch our two young boys play on the waters edge.

The evening entertainment was brill so top marks to the Thomson gang and The Blue Village gang as well. BIG UP especially to Danny, Craig, Sarah and Charlotte. If some of the other members had a quarter of Danny and Charlotte's enthusiasm the shows would be blinding!!! Please give Thomson the Dog a big hug from Morgan and Lewis when you see him!!!!!

Situated on the promenade (NO CARS WHATSOEVER) you can walk to the town of Playa Blanca in 10 minutes easy, it took us about twenty minutes with our two young \'uns. Definitely worth a few strolls early evening, have a meal, then get back to the complex for the evening entertainments.

We do have a holiday booked in April for Cyprus, but much to my delight my husband who is usually quite hard to please has already decided we are going back. CAN\'T WAIT.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Jenny stayed at Playa Flamingo Apartments Hotel, Playa Blanca in August 2005
Just returned from a fantastic holiday at the Playa Flamingo. We were located at the far end, near the children\'s playground and smaller pool.

The main pool area covered all the daytime activities, water polo, aerobics etc.

Both Thomson and Blue Village reps worked very hard in making sure you were entertained, both daytime and evening. The kids club was excellent, plenty of activities and games to keep the kids amused.

Location wise, only a minutes walk to the lovely beach, which was ideal for small children, and had lovely views of Fuerteventura.

The apartments themselves had everything you needed, kept very clean and well maintained.

Overall, I would highly recommend these apartments.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

A.Stock visited the Playa Flamingo Apartments Hotel in March 2005
My boyfriend and I stayed at Playa Flamingo March \'05.

We opted for the cheaper rooms (which aren\'t part of the bungalow complex and are only ideal for two people max) and I would only recommend for people passing through or if you are looking for something cheap and cheerful. These rooms were clean but very basic.

The hotel complex was extremely clean and very well maintained. The bungalows looked lovely and we are currently looking to book one for this year. Location was fine - 2 minute stroll to Playa Flamingo beach and 10 mins to the centre.

The restaurants round by the hotel are fine, but for real Spanish/Canarian food the town centre is the place to head.

Entertainment in the hotel was a bit tackey for me (all a bit Agadoo) but was fantastic for kids.

Tour Operator: Independent

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

kelly stayed at Playa Flamingo Apartments Hotel, Playa Blanca in November 2004
Having never visited lanzarote before we didn\'t know what to expect, a good job really as we never left the hotel grounds!!

Our three yr old loved the beach / pool so much that we where never out of our swim gear.

The accommodation was as fantastic as the hotel was clean, with all mod cons included, which is great when you are self catering.

As we loved the playa flamingo so much, we have already booked to go back again for three weeks in march 2006.
A great place, keep up the good work.

Tour Operator: self booked

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share