Image of Playa Flamingo Apartments

Playa Flamingo Apartments

3 of 43 hotels in Playa Blanca

5 out of 5 from 32 reviews
2 stars
Calle de la Lapa, 0, 35580 Playa Blanca, Spain
The Playa Flamingo Apartments are in a fantastic location with access directly to a man made beach.

32 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    24
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
The Slaters
7 years ago
Well I don't think I can add anything that hasn't already been said before, we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Playa Flamingo. From the moment we arrived all the staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are spacious, even with a family of 4 in. The kitchen is well equipped but we didn't use it and there is plenty of wardrobe space, although glad we took some extra hangers.
We upgraded to all inclusive which was very economical with the current exchange rate. The range of drinks covered everything we needed and the food was excellent, especially the lunches, the freshly made omelettes were superb. My only criticism, having a sweet tooth, would be there wasn't a great deal of variety with the deserts, the chocolate fountain was exciting the first few nights but the novelty soon wore off.
The morning queue for the sunbeds wasn't too much of a chore, the pool gates opened about 8:30 with only the serious queuers arriving before 8. I actually found the system better than in places were there isn't any control and people get up at ridiculous times.
The location is good with a couple of supermarkets, restaurants and a beach on the door step and the ferry port and town about a ten to fifteen minute stroll on the promenade, a bit quicker if you don't go the scenic way, out of the main entrance and along the road that runs behind the hotels.
The entertainment was great, the thomson team looked like they wanted to be there and have fun. There was no outside venue for the evening entertainment, not sure if this is because it could be quiet windy at times, so all the entertainment was inside the 'blue moon' bar but wasn't a problem as there were plenty of seats and it was interesting watching some of the acrobat acts trying to cope with the low roof.
All in all a great holiday and I would recommend this hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ashton Family
7 years 7 months ago
Well positioned and friendly complex with easy access to beach and a couple of decent sized pools. Handful of bars/restaurants along the promenade in front of hotel in addition to pool bar and restaurant on complex with a couple of supermarkets too. Clean and well proportioned rooms with good in room facilities such as microwave, toaster, hairdryer, etc.
Rooms cleaned 5 days out of 7 and bed linen changed once during the week.
Staff helpful and friendly. Entertainment mostly geared up to families with big entertainment team and programme active day and night though never pushy for volunteers. Lots of children around the complex so if you want a quiet, child free break this is perhaps not the place for you.
Seafront promenade runs right around the whole resort taking in the port and the new Rubicon Marina across the bay from this complex. Regular ferries leave the port on the short trip over to Fuerteventura.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Tony Avis
8 years ago
I must say that after many years of holidaying with various companies in various complexes, this has to be about the best i have stayed in. The appartments were very clean & in good repair. The staff here are among the friendliest i have encountered and nothing was too much trouble.
The complex was also kept very clean including around the pool area.
The bar staff in the Blue Moon clubhouse were very good and we even got a free shot most nights.
The location in resort was good although a little bit of a walk to the main PB area.
The entertainment was great! During the day there were activities in and around the pool but the reps were not pushy if you just wanted to relax.
The kid's entertainment was the best i have had from any of the big holiday companies. There were daytime activities and the usual party dances etc in the evening. The big difference i felt was that the reps looked like they actually enjoyed the interactive with the kids (some reps i have previously encountered seem to regard it as a chore).
Also the adult entertainment was good and Rave on Rachael & Dan the man did a fantastic job of making you feel you wanted to take part. Some of the evening acts were a bit "end of pier" though.
In summary this is probably the best holiday i have had (as a family) when looking at all-round performance.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Dave
8 years 1 month ago
We went to the Playa Flamingo apartments for 2 weeks in July and had a brilliant time. We went with our 4 year old daughter who had a great holiday. When we first got there one of the many reps there helped us carry our luggage to the apartment. We stayed in 9C which had a nice view out to sea and Furteventura. When we went to the welcome meeting, the resort manager, Angel Rivero and his team went on stage and personally introduced thereselves which is something we had never seen before and was a nice touch. The apartment was spacious and clean, with the maids coming in regulary. Sarah, the head rep was fantastic along with the rest of her team. The entertainers, Dan and Rachel worked out of their skin day and night and were excellent. The kids clubs was good, again they had a big team of kids reps. Our Daughter went to Tots and enjoyed herself throughout.

The apartments are situated in a lovely quiet surrounding with enough restaurants to keep you going although the main part of Playa Blanca is only a 15 min walk away or 2.75 in a taxi!

The Blue Moon bar had a kids disco every night and some really good acts on later in the night. Some were poor but each to their own. Service could be a bit better in there but no real complaints.

There are loads of activities during the day, including water polo and football, I joined in with both and had a good laugh.

The only real downside is the sunbeds! People were getting down to the pool at 8:30 and taking the best ones. The staff did close the area a couple of times but people queued and the same thing happened, but you get this wherever you go.

Overall, we had a great time and we are booking up to go back again next year. Would recommend this to families anytime.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
The Martins
8 years 1 month ago
Our third visit and another terrific holiday at the Playa Flamingo.

Beautiful location, extremely clean , staff friendly and food high standard with plenty to choose from.

My husband and I and our 3 boys travelled with my parents who had never been abroad together before. they will definitely go again- they could not get over how friendly and helpful all the staff were. For example I couldn't believe I brought everything except a baby bottle for my 15month old- left it on the plane. so we asked the manager, Angel where would be the best place to get one as it was late in the evening, so he sent a staff member out to get us one from the late night pharmacy the other side of Playa Blanca- and didn't even charge us- now that is what I call service.

The location is great on the beach- although it is becoming a little rocky there, in need of more sand i feel. however the rocks make for great snorkelling- saw many types of tropical fish swimming around the purpose built cove. The fish eat out of your hand if you hold out some bread.

The entertainment was normal stuff you get in holiday resorts- aimed at the kids mainly until 10pm. Then other acts such as tribute bands and African dancers and Beijing acrobats.

Of an evening though we prefer to take a stroll along the beachfront promenade which is lit up at night. Well worth the effort.

Would return here year after year, we may try something different, but will it ever match up to the Flamingo??????
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Marie
8 years 2 months ago
We have just returned from a two week family holiday to Playa Flamingo apartments, We had two apartments while there they were 45 and 46b which looked directly over the pool which was ideal spot for the children, The pool was great very clean but slightly slippy when wet. In our first week there,found it to be very quiet and plenty of beds at any time but because of certain people taking your towels off andchucking them on the floor the hotel made a rule that no towels until 9am.

Apartments where very spacious and Maria our cleaner was fantastic, clean towels and bedding twice a week!

Dan the man, Rave on Rachel and Princess Kerry were our entertainers and thanks to them kept us laughing through the day and night.

Kids klub were fantastic and my son never wanted to miss a day including the evening club between 7 and 9 thanks girls.

Tried all the restaurnts on site all were fair but the one we enjoyed most was the chinese restaurant great value for money and a wide variety of food also a great advantage was the childrens bouny castle free of charge!

The walk to Playa Blanca was very nice including the Irish bar on the way great food and cheap!

Overall will struggle to find another holiday that we all enjoyed so much would love to come back next year
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Brian Tricia Paul Dannielle
8 years 2 months ago
just back from best holiday ever ( honest ). these apts are by far the best ive been to.
Staff were brilliant big shout to Omar, Carlos , hafid thanks guys you were great.
Dan the Man & Rave on Rachel you made our holiday and i hope you are both there next year.
To all the other guest who help make this such a fun holiday ( John, Andy, Titch, David and all your familys i will see you next year about 25th June ( going for 3 weeks ).
If you have any doubts, dont this place is great and the food is brilliant ( BamBam ) the chef is great.
Trips were also good went to Fuerteventura on the ferry 12 mins on boat and 2 min walk from apts.
weather was great, people great Holiday fantastic.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Paul Ellis
8 years 3 months ago
Just returned from Playa Flamingo 1st June 2008, what can I say a really fantastic holiday place which was cleaned daily.

Staff were very friendly (Omar was brilliant). Food was good as we are fussy eaters there was plenty to choose from.

Reps were great (Dan the man, Rave on Rachael, Princess Kerry )thanks for making our holiday one to remember see you all soon many thanks Paul, Angela, Dave, Ryan, Matt and Dawn.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ogden
9 years ago
hotel very clean in all areas the staff are all very freindly and helpful at all times. enjoyed some meals in the hotel restaurant reasonable prices if on self catering. magic martin and little legs laura excellent entertainers and worked extreemly hard. kidzone reps especially smilly sam are wonderful my daughter loved them all .only downsides are no airconditioning in rooms and they could do with re-decorating. entertainment varied and on the whole very good . if air conditioned would return.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Dave Kemp
9 years 3 months ago
Loved the holiday. The first few days were awful though! The weather was cold and the wind blowing in from the sea made it even colder. However, the remaining 8 days were gloriously hot - maybe even too hot.

The appts are in a great location. Just a couple of minutes from the beach. My two young children loved the beach in the late afternoon - when the sun had gone down and it was quiet. Everyday we took a few pieces of bread into the sea to feed the fish - and in an instant had them swimmming all around us.

The kids loved the Steak House / Chinese restaurant as they loved the outdoor bouncy castle and the sparklers that the staff would always put in the desserts. Generally the food was good - so it was a great place to go.

The Sports Bar opposite the main entrance of the hotel was a hit with the kids too. The bar needed a bit of renovation, but you could see the Arsenal games on Sky Sports, the beer was cheap (two Buds for 5 Euro) and the kids had free trampolines. Excellent!

The appts were good. Fairly spacious and good facilities. The kitchen in the appt probably needed doing up - but it was ok for our purpose. The entertainment staff were great this year. Magic Martin and Little Legs Laura were constantly busy - and the four or five girls who worked in the Kids Club were excellent. Very caring and looked after the kids well.

The Thomson Trips were a bit of a let down. The Volcano Trip was too long for my 8 year old twins. Also, they felt sick in the hot coach. The Yellow Submarine trip was ok - but you spent a lot of time waiting around and not enough time in the sub! The trip to the water park in Fuerterventura was ok. The park wasn't the best in the world (not enough rings for the rides) and it was a long way to go.....

However, the kids and the adults loved the holiday. No real complaints.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: