Image of Sun Beach Aparthotel

Sun Beach Aparthotel

28 of 44 hotels in Playa Blanca

3 out of 5 from 23 reviews
3 stars
Calle Las BreƱas, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Spain

23 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 2 months ago
This was our second stay at the Sun beach apartments in playa blanca, Our room was well equiped with two ring cooker, microwave with grill, toaster, coffee maker, juicer, plenty of wardrobe space, shower over full size bath, hairdryer, the maid cleaned 5 times a week and she did a good job each time, the reception staff are very friendly and helpfull, the pools are very clean with loads of sunbeds, we only used the snack bar once for chips and cheesburger which were ok and did not use the restaraunt at all so cant comment on the food there. The Sun beach is only a short walk to the main beach and loads of good bars and restaraunts, they are installing air conditioning in all the apartments and painting the whole place so all in all I would happily recommend these apartments to anyone and would return again maybe even later this year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
9 years 9 months ago
I thoroughly enjoyed these apartments, they were well equipped for our self catering holiday. We had a microwave oven with grill, a two ringed cooker and ample pots, pans and utensils, unusually we also had a nonstick frying pan! The Apartments were cleaned 5 out of 7 days, they changed the sheets once during our stay. The grounds and pool areas were cleaned everyday and the appearance of the whole complex was very pleasing.

We tried the restaraunt once and I have to say we were not impressed, the food was bland and there wasnt any real choices.

I have one other comment to make about the cleaning staff, one of the older cleaners came round to the apartment just as we were leaving, she was practically begging for money, I was a bit shocked by this and felt embarrassed by the whole thing. I had no change left the smallest note I had was 10 euros and I felt I had no choice but to hand it over. I spoke to another couple who were regulars to Sun Beach and it had happened to them the year before with the same cleaner!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
9 years 10 months ago
Just returned from a very pleasant week staying at the Sun Beach apartments.

We got a ground floor apartment (near the upper pool) which the terrace opening onto the gardens at the rear. This was ideal as we have a 4 year old and it meant we didn't have to worry about balconies or her escaping for an impromptu swim.

The apartment was basic and clean, and every worked. To be honest we never spend a huge amount of time in the apartment so anymore luxury would have been wasted upon us. We had a *very minor* ant issue on the first day which was soon sorted with a quick spray of insect repellent (from the local netto) around the borders. Usual rules apply, don't leave food out etc.

We only used the snack bar once for food (late on arrival) and frankly we didn't find it too good. The beer was fine though! We didn't bother with the restaurant at all (eating out each night) so can't comment on that. The on-site shop was very handy with a small but varied selection of the essentials (beer, wine, spirits etc....oh and some food and water).

Only annoyance about the complex was that despite there being an abundance of loungers, people still insisted on the tiresome practice of reserving them with towels. We were fortunate to always be able to get at a couple of loungers in the afternoon, sometimes managed a parasol as well. The is a 'no reserving' policy but it didn't seem very well enforced.

Location wise, about 1km to start of the restaurants and shops to the east (old part) and about 1.5km to the new marina area. Not a bad walk along the promenade in either direction, very picturesque.

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, not that we needed their help much other than to hire a fan after a very sticky night.

We didn't avail ourselves of the entertainment so no comment on this.

If we were returning to Playa Blanca, we would definitely consider the Sun Beach again. For the price it was ideal.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
K Cameron
9 years 11 months ago
Hotel location not bad, only 5-10 minutes walk to beach and restaurants.
No air conditioning but fans are available to hire from reception - just be quick as they don't have that many!
Quite clean overall but very basic. Staff nice enough and always plenty of sun loungers available around pool.
The food was certainly not up to much. You had to get there early for breakfast and dinner otherwise there was little choice and the food was cold. I'd recommend this as a self catering holiday only.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: MyTravel

Deborah
10 years 2 months ago
Booked into Atlantic Gardens but that was over booked so put into Sun Beach. Definately a good move.

Apartment was clean and staff were excellent and friendly. Used safe so we could leave windows open (we were on the first floor!!) Pools excellent and cleaned daily - rooms cleaned every other day.

Towels changed twice and bedding once in the week we were there. Did not use the bar only the shop which was adequate for our needs.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
Ruth & John Toy
10 years 6 months ago
The Sun Beach Aparthotel is reasonably located for Playa Blanca, approx a 15 minute walk either by the main road or by the scenic promenade walk.

Breakfast and an evening buffet meal were available in the hotel and the latter was varied and at a reasonable cost.

The apartment was meticulously cleaned three times a week. The equipment provided for cooking was more than adequate. There was a Satellite TV in each apartment however it was only tuned to Astra - fine if you were German or Spanish - however TV watching is not for holidays. There was a mini supermarket on site which had a reasonable choice of food available. Plenty of loungers around the two large pools - it is forbidden to reserve these! Entertainment was available certain nights in the bar area.

Whilst we were there we could not say we were disturbed by noise - it was peaceful and could even have been said to be tranquil.

The Dorada beach is about a nine minute walk away - lovely golden sands with no evidence of litter.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Mcneill
11 years ago
Hotel cleanliness spotless.

Ate at hotel. Food very good and good price value for money.

Location of hotel to beach and town, 10 minute walk.

Hotel staff very friendly.

Entertainment not very good when mini disco was on it only lasted 20 minutes.

I did like the hotel only down side was entertainment.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Mr Craig
11 years 8 months ago
We stayed at Sun Beach from 22nd December 05 until 5th Jan 06 and had a fantastic time.The complex is wonderful for children with 2 swimming pools,kids pool,tennis,table tennis,pool table,darts,snack bar,pool bar and lounge bar.It even has it's own supermarket which is reasonably priced
The complex is immaculate and the maid service is the best that we have experienced,towels changed every day and bedding changed 3 times / week.
Thomas Cook rep was wonderful as was all front of house staff and management.
We only ate in the apthotel on our first night and the choice and quality was not very good.
Location was in a quiet area approx 10 mins walk to the beach and centre of town.Taxi to town approx 2.6 Euros
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Waters
11 years 11 months ago
We booked this holiday on the Tuesday to go on Thursday.

Normally read reviews before booking any holiday but as this was last minute and had been to Playa Blanca before (though a few years ago) thought we were safe enough.

After booking read the reviews for these apartments and was a bit concerned. No need to be.

The location was fine near enough to walk but far away enough to be nice and peaceful and if you did not fancy the walk taxis cheap.

No problem with the cleanliness of the complex, pool and pool area clean also pathways to apartments.

Apartment cleaned six days out of seven clean towels every second day. Apartment we were in had a big terrace that was not overlooked and had the sun all day. Apartment could have had done with a quick paint job but as this is 3* not a big problem as it was basically OK.

Entertainment was just not there but as don't usually go to this not a problem for us. Staff were very friendly and helpful,especially the staff in the supermarket who went out of their way to help.

Reading the reviews before we went it seemed this complex had went downhill because of change of manager when we were there we heard it had changed managers 3 or 4 times in as many months so hopefully it is back to what it was before as I would be happy to go back there again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Smith
12 years ago
The apartment we stayed in was very clean and looked nice.

The bedroom was tidy but the safe was broken, which meant that we had to leave valuables out which lead to money being stolen but nothing was done about it.

The children really enjoyed the kids club and enjoyed joining in the activities and enjoyed the rest of the facilities.

The town was really pleasnt and we found a number of hotels that served good meals for good prices.

Overall me and my family enjoyed our holiday and may come back again.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.