Image of Sun Tropical Hotel

Sun Tropical Hotel

14 of 44 hotels in Playa Blanca

4 out of 5 from 89 reviews
3 stars
C/ Bonilla, 1, 35580 Playa Blanca - Yaiza (Lanzarote), Spain
Picture one of the largest entertainment and pool areas on the island combined with fantastic accommodation and you are a guest at the Holiday Village. Providing great service, all your home comforts and a variety of restaurants, bars, sports and activities.

89 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    14
  • Very Good
    59
  • Good
    13
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mirko
7 years 9 months ago
This place is really amazing. We booked this last minute and did not know what to expect but were well impressed overall. Cannot explain how happy we were to have stayed in this place.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Falcon

Recommended
Keith Rose
8 years ago
We have just returned from The Sun Tropical and have to say we had a fantastic time. We have already been to another Holiday Village at Easter this year (Coral Sea in Sharm-El-Sheikh), so our expactations were high, and we were not disappointed. This is one of First Choice's oldest Holiday Villages apparently and, to be totally honest, it showed as some of the rooms are looking a bit jaded and in need of refurb/modernisation. Nevertheless, they were very clean and tidy and adequate for our requirements as we only spent time in our apartment to sleep, which goes to show how good the overall venue was. There was not as much choice at lunch time to eat as Egypt, but once you got the hang of what was where, there was sufficient choice to accomodate adults and children alike.
Food in the buffet restaurant was satisfactory and we always managed to find something different every night that we all liked. If you're a fussy eater, then this large style catering for the masses might disappoint, but I can honestly say we were pleasently surprised. Breakfast was always good with plenty of choice and in the evening there were things like fresh fish and paella, and even roast beef and yorkshire pudding on Sunday evening - I personally didn't have this but everyone I spoke to that did said it was excellent!
We hardly saw our kids during the day (aged 11 & 9) as they were off with friends they'd made doing some of the many activities offered by the entertainment staff there. These young people work extremely hard and are all fantastic with the kids.
There is a real feeling of safety here as the "Village" is enclosed with only two ways in or out of the complex.Evening entertainment for the kids is also very good in "The Dome", although the acoustics in this arena were poor.
It's a shame First Choice are leaving this hotel in January 2010 as, with a bit of "TLC" over the winter, it could be a great place to take the kids.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
8 years 3 months ago
I have to admit I love the Sun Tropical as I was there the first week it opened and to me its still as good as ever(although it could probably do with closing for a month for an overhaul).I love the fact that it has so many pools and there is always one close to your apt.The kids clubs are the best I've ever come across my 6 and 10 year old had a ball and the staff are super.I never go all-inclusive because Playa Blanca has fantastic resteraunts.If you have kids over 15 this is not the place for you as the complex goes to sleep at midnight.I was sad to hear that Thompson/FC were moving out of the ST in october and going to the Playa Flamingo does anyone know whats happening to the ST?
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: falcon

Recommended
8 years 7 months ago
This was our second visit in two years and we're already looking forward to our third.Our children were 11 and 9 and Holiday village was the perfect choice as they were thoroughly entertained by the wavelength crew!
The entire complex is exceptionally clean and well maintained and nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff or First choice reps.
There was lots of hot water,a shower,bath,and the Kitchen had kettle, toaster and coffee maker.
The Holiday soccer school was not running as there were too few children on site but this was not too disappointing.
We paid an extra
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Falcon

Recommended
Cez
8 years 7 months ago
Arrived around mid day. First impressions were quite good. A few arriving guests were ahead of us at the reception desk to get keys and we heard them being told their rooms were not ready yet. I was concerned this wouldn't be a good start as we had 2 youngish children with us who had been up since 4am! I needn't have worried - they changed the room we were supposed to have to one that was already prepared!
An added bonus was that even though we were self catering the children were given a wirst band which entitled them to free ice cream, crisps and soft drinks - I wasn't aware of this from anything i had read and it was a great bonus.
Our apartment was perfectly adequate although there was a very unsightly damp and 'bubbling' area on the bedroom ceiling! Also there was a rather large puddle coming from the fridge! We soon discovered that this was because the ice compartment was completely solid with a mass of ice and the door would not shut. Rather than wait to have this sorted or worse have to pack again and move rooms we painstakingly hacked away the ice - problem solved! One word of warning though - the sofa beds are really not very comfortable at all!
The children's entertainment was really very good - the team worked very hard and seemed to enjoy what they were doing. We didn't stay for any of the adult entertainment and so I can't comment!
The pizza restaurant in the hotel was nice but we didn't eat anywhere else in the hotel so again I cannot comment.
There is plenty going on at this Holiday Village if you are prepared to get involved.
Pool was freezing but I have encountered that before in Lanzarote. There are a number of pools, a splash park area and some small slides in the main pool.
All in all it was quite a good hotel - as is often the case it could do with a bit of decorating to smarten things up.
We tended to catch the free hotel bus down to the beach. The last bus goes into Playa Blanca at 5pm - which was fine for us when we were going out for dinner but might be a little early for others. The walk back from Playa Blanca took about 20 mins but is a fairly flat stroll. Plenty of restaurants on the front but the nicest we found was in one of the streets behind. The Marina Rubison has some more upmarket type restaurants but we found they lacked the atmosphere of the other places and the prices are higher.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Liz Macintyre
9 years 3 months ago
having visited Holiday Village Benalmadena for the last 4 years, my friends and I chose Lanzarote for a change this time. Arriving late evening, I was dismayed to discover that there was virtually nothing for my 16 year old son to do. the whole village closes at 12 o'clock, great for families with young kids and older holidaymakers, but not what 16 - 19 year old holidaymakers want! When I say 12, most of the guests disappear at 11 when the entertainment ends. On the first night there was only one other family apart from us 7 people,in the dome for the disco after 11. Turning this into a positive, we all got up to dance and through this unusual activety, ended up befriending the entertainment staff and bar staff. Can I say that these people do an excellent job, given the lack of a half decent sound system and the apathy of some of the guests. Well done to Tom, Steve,Liz and Naffie (the barman)in particular, who certainly made this holiday a bit more bearable. Indeed we found most of the staff very nice and friendly.

To sum up.
POSITIVES Entertainers, activety staff and bar staff all first class. Great child friendly village for young families.Not a sound heard after lights out (12 o'clock) Smaller and more personal than other Holiday Villages. Apartments clean and reasonable facilites. Free tv in room includes CH4 and BBC, though extra channels are avail at a cost of 3 euros per day
NEGATIVES Village closes at 12 midnight. No games room or meeting area for over 15 year olds. One pool table in Village is outside at main pool, subject to the elements and generally broken. Internet code available for lap top expensive at 6 euros an hour (10 euros a week in benelmadena)Football pitch is only available when supervised by First Choice staff. During these twice weekly sessions, you pay 6 euros for a 1 1/2 hours five a side football tournament. My son doesn't even pay that at home.

All in all, we had a great time because we participated. We met some wonderful and colourful people, mainly due to this. I cannot imagine what this holiday would have been like, with a 16 year old who would otherwise have been bored to tears if he too hadn't got involved. This said, we would not return to this village because of the lack of facilities for over 15 year olds. First Choice should emphasise this in the brochure and the fact that all these Holiday Villages are independantly owned and managed by First Choice. Don't expect a similar experience from one village to another as we have discovered this year!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

9 years 3 months ago
Transfer to Sun Tropical is 40 min. We found reception staff and reps to be friendly.

The rooms hotel and pools very clean. We went all inclusive the food was excellent and lots of differant choices. You can also have snacks like burger chips pizza chips or hot dog from the bar. Drinks are served one per person quite restricted when a large group. My barman ran after me to ask who my second drink was for as was on my own, my husband following in a bit.

The evening entertainment in the dome was not as Iexpected,best thing was the evening bingo which we won twice 2 euro per ticket line about 140 euro, full 260 euro depending on how many play.

Two songs with actions for kids then a gameshow most nights which was not really entertaining for our large group. We expected shows and professional acts even the disco at eleven was non existant as most people have probably left of boredom. No one seems to dance, the dance floor was deserted.

The resort was 15 min walk and had lovely restaurants.

We would not go back again as the evening entertainment spoiled it for us and that was one of the main things we wanted.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

9 years 4 months ago
Just returned from a weeks break at Sun Tropical and we wished we'd booked for 2 weeks but it was mainly because we weren't sure how it would be going away with a 5 month old that we only booked a week. As it was she was brilliant so we really wanted to stay the extra week!

The whole complex was spotless, pools were cleaned every morning, maids cleaned every day, new bedding and towels whenever we wanted them, nothing was ever too much trouble. There was loads there for the kids to do, and they didn't care about the cold water in the pools, although the grown ups weren't so keen! The kids clubs are excellent although ours never needed to use them, they kept themselves occupied enough. My son did the Soccer School and loved it, although they tended to do the sessions when its really hot.

We hired a baby pack for the week and it had everything we needed for a 5 month old, it saved us so much luggage.

The all inclusive is the only thing to let it down. We expected all inclusive to mean just that, but here it seemed to mean all inclusive to suit the hotel. They were very restrictive to where and when you could get food and drinks, and after 9.30pm you couldn't have anything to eat without paying for it. kids ice cream was only available from one small hut which the kids had to walk a fair way to get to, and when they say unlimited crisps, they should say limited to one box per night for the whole complex, as once the box was empty, no more was available!

Having said that I enjoyed most of the food from the restaurant, it was perfectly adequate and we went away from every sitting full. Don't expect a gastronomic experience though....

Evening entertainment was a mixture of professional acts and reps shows which were pretty good fun, the kids spent more time running around than watching the shows though, but it kept us adults entertained!

Overall the place was excellent but we wouldn't go again as the all inclusives are much better elsewhere.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Julie Mckinty
9 years 4 months ago
Just returned from a 2 week holiday at sun tropical, and after the initial disappointment of the lack of facilities for teenagers, we had a brilliant time!! This is a perfect holiday for families with young children, but anybody over the age of 13 looking for evening entertainment (other than the dome) will be disappointed. There is no games room with pool tables (which would be a welcome addition) or any other suitable meeting place or activities for teenagers. The reason we had such a good time was that we really got involved with the entertainment in the dome, along with the friends we travelled with (the other half of the "Big Mac's"), and didn't just sit back and wait to be entertained!! The team of entertainers are fantastic, in particular Tom, Liz and Steve who made us all feel like part of the family!! Thanks guys - we are going to miss you, you really do a fantastic job - keep up the great work!! Overall - a great holiday but won't be returning, simply because of the things previously mentioned.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: fist choice

Recommended
Joanne
9 years 6 months ago
Wow had a great time went all inclusive and thought the food was great, fresh bread cooked at the hotel daily, still warm, great choice of food everyday.

Hotel was spotless our room was cleaned daily . The staff in this hotel were fantastic especially the entertainment team.

The entertainment at night was great for both adults and children.

Overall could not fault the holiday village at all and I would definitely go back.

We have just booked to go to the Turkey on in October !
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.