Image of Relaxia Olivina Hotel (Formerly Relaxia Riu Apartments)

Relaxia Olivina Hotel (Formerly Relaxia Riu Apartments)

5 of 9 hotels in Playa de los Pocillos

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
3 stars
Calle Grecia, 35519 Puerto del Carmen, Spain

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Marion Moxey
Disappointed
4 months ago
The food was very poor indeed, my friend even had to complain after she found a caterpillar looking at her on the plate! The lack of toilets in the hotel by the pool was very bad.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Hotel tip: Get more toilets by pool.

Recommended
9 years 10 months ago
Was in Lanzarote for the New Year and flew out on the 27th Dec.

Originally booked the Lanzaplaya but a week before we went Alpharooms emailed to say that the Lanzaplaya was fully booked and they had changed us to the Riu????

The apartments in the Riu are a way out of Carmen (about a 15 min walk) but not too far away. They are set near to the beach (5 min walk) and about 10 mins to the local Spar. The complex itself is set up as a 4* hotel, Oliviana Apartments and the Riu Coral. We were in the 3*

Apartments.
Set in gardens with 3 pools our apartment overlooked the bottom pool and was quite nice!

1 bed apartment with the basic stuff. Clean, large balcony and quiet location (which I had asked for). Fridge, 4 ring electric hob amd basic kitchen stuff. No kettle though one can be hired. Reception staff very friendly but this is a German owned hotel chain and it shows... Didnt hear another English person all week but the Germans were friendly enough and could speak Spanish and English. (My German is poor but Spanish is ok) so could muddle through ok.

We opted for the New Year Gala Dinner @ 100 Euro's each! Very nice indeed it was too. Lobster, Caviar, duck and fresh Salmon to name a few of the dishes. Not to mention the free flowing wine and champagne.

After this went to the main area where Astage was set up with live music and fireworks. Excellent!!

The room was cold at night though so take your slippers if going in the winter months. Big room but not very comfortable settee or chair. Needs a little bit of updating to say the least but if your looking for somewhere to lay your head then this would be fine.
Be warned of the maids though!!!

On New Years day she tried to get into our room from 8:30am then every half hour afterwards till 10 am. Not good when sleeping it off!! Our fault though, should of put the Do Not Disturb sign out on the door.

All in all, Clean, safe and quiet. Would I stay again? Probably not due to the distance...
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: AlphaRooms

Steven Gifford
10 years 8 months ago
We have being going to the coral for a few years now always in february to top up with sunshine.

We have always found the apartments to be of the highest order with cleaniness and attention to detail being foremost.

The staff from reception down to the maid service and maintainence people excellent being very friendly and eager to help.

The location might not be to everybodies taste in that it was a ten to fifteen minute stroll to the main part of poccillos but it is just right for us in as much as it was nice and quiet when you were trying to sleep, finally the hotel entertainment was what one has come to expect when a hotel is trying to cater for a cosmopolitan group of guests sometimes they got it right and sometimes...............
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland direct

Recommended
Kirsten
11 years 3 months ago
Recently returned from a week self catering with my husband. Apartment complex consists of Coral Aprtments on one side of the (quiet) street and Olivina apartments on the other. Check in procedure at reception went smoothly with staff speaking very good english.

Initially was allocated a first floor apartment right at the back of the complex. Looking out of the bedroom window saw me eye level with quite a steep road, near to a junction. Unfortunately this meant a constant stream of cars either breaking or accelerating until around 3am and then starting up again at abot 6am.

The noise could be heard throughout the apartment and made it impossible to relax (after an 11 hour delay at the airport, this was not needed!). Went to reception the next morning to ask to be moved and was impressed to be immediately given keys to another apartment to see if it was suitable for our needs. So after a slight delay and a quick move our holiday began!

The apartments are clean and quite spacious - although they are supposed to be suitable for three people, I think the storage space for clothing would be quite limited. The kitchen equipment was quite basic - no toaster, no microwave, no kettle. None of which presented to much trouble to use, but worth bearing in mind if you intend to cater in the apartment.

Saw the maid 5 times during our stay and she was very thorough with cleaning and would leave little glasses of flowers around the apartment when finished.

Pool area was very quiet and relaxing even though the complex was quite full. A couple of times during our stay the waiters came around the pool giving out glasses of sangria and slices of watermelon - quite a nice touch, and well received!!

Entertainment not tested at this complex, so cannot give a meaningful comment.
To sum up the apartments were nice, and anyone going there would not be dissappointed. However I would have expected more from the RIU chain and would not give them the 3*+ that they are listed as in the brochure.

I have stayed in 2* Canary Island apartments that offer the same or better quality for less money. Having said that I would go back again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
MCCULLOCH
11 years 3 months ago
Rui Olivina, very clean very quiet the first week. No English speaking people all German so if you are looking for company for yourself or children you must speak German.

Pool towels clean every day ask at reception. Toaster, kettle available at reception No charge. Just deposit.

Entertainment only went 1 night all in German.

Staff pleasant.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: PORTLAND

Recommended
Samantha Payne
11 years 10 months ago
These apartments are on the edge of Pocillos and Puerto del Carmen so everything is in easy reach but as they are set slightly back from main rd there is no noise.

Apartments and grounds spotless - could not fault in any way. All staff very helpful and accomodating, nothing is too much trouble. Apartments fairly well equipped and of a good size with lots of storage.

Pool area lovely and quiet, no need to reserve loungers as always loungers and umbrellas what ever time you make it to the pool. Beach a 3 min walk!

All facilities, ie. pool bar, reception and entertainment based at Olivina Apts literally a stones throw away where there is also another larger pool, again with loads of sunbeds and umbrellas.

All in all excellent and would definately return!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Maureen
12 years 4 months ago
We have just come back from these apartments and have nothing but praise for the accommodation, staff, facilities and location.

We went late June early July and there were never more than a dozen sun beds in use around the pool located by our apartment. There are 3 pools, the one by the main reception which as has a pool bar was the busiest but there were always spaces. The 3 pools are salt water but you also have use of the freshwater pool in the sister hotel.

The food at the pool bar was limited to toasted sandwiches & salads, there was a larger menu at the hotel pool bar but found these to be main meals rather than snacks.

Staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the maid service was fantastic, 6 times a week and a different floral arrangement in the room each day. On one occasion we returned to find the towels had been folded on the bed into the shape of swans.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
David, Helen & Saskia
13 years 2 months ago
We booked late and reviewed this site for comments and found 1, which also happened to be was accurate. Thankgod. Apartments are enough of a distance away from puerto del carmen and are situated in the slaightly quieter but amply service resport of los poccilos. You can share the amenities for the other aprtment complex which has a small snackbar/ bar/ terrace & and the superior surroundings found at the main 4 star hotel. I would advise the 5 minute walk to the hotel and that you use their pool which is bigger and fresh water. There are plently of sunbeds although if you are unclucky goto the main hotel where they can be found spare uptil about 11.30 am. Quality run complex - mainly Germans.

The strip is ok for meals with something for most budgets we spent around 45-50 euro for main meal/ coffee and bottle of wine, sparkiling water, cokes for my daughter. Good food try the steak house up the strip on the left handside.

We had a great time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
13 years 6 months ago
Situated well enough out of the main area to be quiet at night with a short walk to the nearest bars.

Lovely apartments but you can use all the facilities of the sister complex over the road.
Never short of sunloungers all the time we were there.

The staff are really pleasant and when we first went we didnt like the location of our room and they swapped us within minutes no problem.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
13 years 7 months ago
This is a Thomson complex. The olivina/coral apts & olivina hotel included.

You can use all the facilities. Pools ,tennis courts, bars etc. The place was spotless with the maids in 6 times a week. The gardens were very well kept and the staff could not do enough for you. They were happy and friendly even the gardeners spoke to us to wish good day.

It is only a short work to the beach and the many bars shops and resturaunts. It is all on the flat so no problems with wheelchairs and baby buggies. The complex has ramps where needed and there is always an helping hand.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.