Image of Hyde Park Lane Apartments

Hyde Park Lane Apartments

37 of 89 hotels in Puerto Del Carmen

4 out of 5 from 34 reviews
3 stars
Calle Hungria, 6, 35510 Puerto del Carmen, Spain
Divided into two blocks and seperated by an access road, each half has its own pool and paddling pool. Hyde Park Lane is a member of the Biosphere Hotels group and has won an award for its environmental efforts.

34 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    17
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Anji Devlin
Best holiday we have ever had!
7 years 3 months ago
This was our 6th time in Puerto Del Carmen, having stayed at various other accommodation on previous visits we found this to be the best. Away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of the resort nearer the Los Picillos end and about 10 mins from the airport, a taxi cost 10-15 euros and will take 4-5 people.

We arrived at 7pm and although having requested a pool view we were given no.28 which is nowhere near the pool and not very private if you want to sit outside your door and have a late night drink as many people walk past your door, fortunately we did ask reception staff to move us nearer the pool area and lo and behold the next morning we were given no.34, absolutely fantastic, facing the pool and we had the sun right up to 5.30pm from about 9am.

The bungalows are lovely and spacious just enough for 3 or 4 at a push. They are very clean with a small hob 2 rings and a microwave, toaster and kettle it did us very well, we did eat in the restaurant once and it was awful, bedroom with 2 single beds good size but beds are hard and 1 pillow but do ask for more, in living room there is another single bed which can be made up for you if you want also the couch is very comfortable to sleep on.
The bathroom is nice but no lock on the door and the shower not very powerful. The maids came 5 times a week and were wonderful very cheery too. There is no air con, so do hire a fan for 16 euros per week, when we were there the temp reached 50 degrees some days.

There is a little shop underneath the complex and reasonably priced for essentials such as milk coffee t bags etc.

The entertainment is 3 times per week but I wouldn’t recommend it, there are 2 pool tables (no chalk) 2 football tables the kids seemed to like this.

The pool area is fab very large pool with baby pool very clean and thankfully not too deep, loads of sunbeds with little tables and bases for sun umbrellas but you have to hire these if you don’t have your own, buy 1 for 7.50 euros at supermarket its cheaper.

I would definitely recommend this complex and don’t have any complaints apart from the entertainment, which really has to be sorted out if the complex wants their guests to avoid boredom. We will most defiantly be returning to this complex next year with another party so we will book 2 bungalows all in all it was the best holiday I’ve ever had.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 10 months ago
These bungalows are located a 5 minute walk from the beach. They are well maintained and set in pretty gardens. The maids came at least 4 times in our week long stay and did a great job.

There is a lounge/kitchen area with sofa beds, separate bedroom and well equipped bathroom. You also have private patio with chairs and table.

The pool area is a fair size, whilst we were it wasn't too busy and we had no problem getting sunbeds (Dan, my son even had the whole pool to himslef at times!)

We where half board, the food was a bit repetative and breakfast was disappointing if you like your fry ups. They seem to cater more for other nationalities in the way of cooked breakfast. We recommend The Place which is where we went to one morning for traditional fry up,3.50 euros, well worth it.

The downstairs supermarket is expensive so use the various Nettos or Spars.

Recommend Rancho Texas, just a short walk from the bungalows and 50 euros for the 4 of us, a great day out and get your photo taken with a seal!

Lovely walks along the beaches, we walked to Arrecife airport and watch the planes come and go. Lots of small shops to walk around during the day or evening.

Weather could of been a bit better, but staying in accomodation makes up for it, would definately go again, all in all a great holiday
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Horsfall
9 years 9 months ago
Bungalows very clean if a bit basic, an oven would have been nice but we made do with 2 ring hob and microwave.A bit chilly on an evening and morning but we had a fan heater which did us nicely. I know you dont go on holiday to watch TV but a few english channels would have been nice ( only sky news and cnn news and euro sport in english)Reception staff very helpful and most spoke english, very little entertainment in evenings but it was january, all in all a good base for a relaxing holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: travel republic

Recommended
Phil
9 years 10 months ago
We went to Hyde Park at Christmas 2007 and we had a wonderful time. The staff were very friendly and the apartments were very clean as the maids were in most days. We were out most nights but when we weren't the entertainment was decent. There were a lot of kids for my kids to make friends with and the pool was very clean and there were no broken tiles on the floor. I would definitely come back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Dawn & Alf
10 years 8 months ago
We stayed at the Hyde Park Lane Bungalows for a week and would definitely recommend them. Lovely little bungalows fully equipped kitchen, including a microwave, toaster & kettle. Our toaster blew up, after reporting this to reception we had a new one delivered within 10 mins..

It was not very busy in February, and was therefore quiet & peaceful. The staff were friendly and helpful. A tip regarding the cleaners...ours threw away items that we had not finished with!! One item in particular was important, and we had to go through a bin to retrieve it!!!

We didn't eat on the site, so can't comment on the food.

The site supermarket was well stocked, and we thought the prices were good.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Carol Roberts
10 years 10 months ago
In a word - brilliant, the apartments are clean.

The location is fantastic, a short walk to the main promonade, yet far enough away to get a decent nights sleep.

The pool area is nice and no broken tiles like I read about.

We had breakfast every morning in the cafe/bar only 3 euro for a full English, you could find cheaper if you wanted a bit of a walk but why bother for the sake of 20 cents.

We were out every evening so I cannot comment on the entertainment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: booked independently

Recommended
ArthurP
11 years 1 month ago
I spent a week in the bungalows in September.

The complex is ideally located in the quiet end of the resort, and is only a 10 minute walk to the beach. It is however really handy if you are here with a car, as it is really easy to find from the expressway, however is far enough away to have no noise intrusion.

The onsite supermarket is over priced, but handy if you are stuck.

The pool was ok - saltwater and a little chilly.

When I was there the kids playpark and second pool were both ripped up while being renovated, so I would assume for 07 both of these will be back running again, however in fairness when I was there the entertainment was non existent, ditto with anything for kids to do. However was kind of expecting that.

Rooms are standard fair - clean and tidy - good maids service, complex in general is very clean and tidy.

Staff are excellent, both reception staff and breakfast staff, be polite and they are really really nice. Though I did see some typical grumpy tourist ranting about something and the receptionist soon rose to the challenge ;)

Anyhow considering the complex is pretty cheap, it cant really be faulted considering its location and facilities. However as with anything you get what you pay for. But if you want a base for a holiday that is near the resort centre then this will do the trick
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Freedom Direct

Recommended
Greenough
11 years 8 months ago
We stayed at these bungalows during the last week of February.

The weather was warm but occasionally windy and rainy. There was damp in the bungalows but I put this down to the time of year and the weather conditions. They could get quite cool in the evenings but there are plenty of blankets to snuggle up with and you can hire a fan heater from reception (along with hairdryers, Video & DVD players including films, highchairs, buggies etc). There was maid service every day except Friday and towels were changed regularly. The bungalows were spotless the patio areas not very private but still enjoyable to sit out in the evening.

The pool looked excellent (although we did not try it) and the play area was great although designed for more slightly older children than our 2 year old as it was quite tall.

5 mins away from the beach and another 5/10 mins into the main bustle of Puerta del Carmen. All in all a lovely relaxing place but close enough to town if required.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson's

Recommended
Bibby
11 years 8 months ago
Property was spotless

Location was nice and peaceful

Staff some helpful others too busy talking or reading the paper

Entertainment didn't exist apart from a bloke playing an organ at night

Pools looked good and rooms had plenty of space for 2 not very private but nice and peaceful

I would rate Thompson 5 out of 5 for helpfulness without being pushy.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
The Gray Family
11 years 8 months ago
We would highly recommend this holiday if you're feeling burnt out and need to charge your batteries. We hope to return with our parents sometime in the next 12 months!

First the positive comments:
We found the accommodation to be very pretty, extremely quiet, beautifully clean and the staff polite and helpful. We used both the swimming pools and the pool bar for lunches but did not venture to the restaurant as we preferred to go for a walk and find somewhere different to eat in the evenings. However we did spend a night in the bar after eating out and our 3 year old daughter had a ball. We bought provisions from the shop which stocks most things and as usual it was overpriced but you come to expect that..... The beach is about five to ten minutes walk away and we did spend quite a few days there, we always hired 2 sunbeds and an umbrella which cost 8 euros per day.

Now the negative:
We did find the bungalow to be damp, we stayed in Number 83 and we were supplied with a fan heater but it didn't seem to help the situation much. Also there are no umbrellas around the pool but apparently you can hire them... Any finally the bar b q that's outside your bungalow - this is a great idea but it would be better if the shop could stock some disposable bar b qs rather than the massive bags of charcoal and firelights that you don't get to use in a week.

All in all a fab holiday - wish we were still there!


Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.