Image of Luz y Mar Apartments

Luz y Mar Apartments

66 of 89 hotels in Puerto Del Carmen

3 out of 5 from 18 reviews
2 stars
Calle Juan Carlos I, 18, 35510 Tías, Spain

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Clean and quiet.
5 years 3 months ago
Found apartment very clean and well equipped. Microwave, toaster, two hotplates, room serviced twice and fresh nice towels.

Pool is lovely but cold.

First 5 days strong winds but sunny and apartments and resort very, very empty.

Found The Flying Dutchman on front - nice food. Try their Sunday Day roasts - Fab.

First time to Lanzarote, its not got a buzz. Won't revisit as much too quiet in resort in evenings.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
4 Lads
7 years 3 months ago
We arrived at the Luz Y Mar by taxi from the airport which cost 12euros and took 10 minutes so we were glad we didn't pay for transfers! Reception was closed and our keys were simply put in an envelope and stuck to the window of the office,no dramas there really as we just wanted to get changed and head straight out for some beers. The rooms were on the ground floor right by the pool so you literally walk out of your door,off the step to your patio and you're at the sun loungers,brilliant,was like a private pool too as there was only really us 4 there,it's a nice looking place,all low rise with nice balconies,very quiet day and night,palm trees by the pool.
Rooms were pretty standard for spanish resorts and on arrival were very clean and well maintained,if a little old,decent sized kitchen with microwave,double hob,electric kettle,toaster and more than enough pans,cutlery,crockery and utensils(we stocked up at the spar and cooked breakfast and lunch every day so saved a packet),the lounge has a sofa that doubles as a bed and was big enough for my mate to sleep on,i had the bedroom which has 2 really small beds,a big mirror,decent sized wardrobe with hangers etc.
The bathroom was pretty could,not that big but it's only a holiday apartment so who cars,full sized bath,really good shower with curtain etc,decent sized mirror over the basin,bedet for washing your trainers in.
Security at the luz y mar is non existent,there's various ungated entrances into the hotel and there's no staff present at night,no lights on by the pool or anything so definitely get a safe,that said it is in a nice area and the rooms are virtually impossible to get into without the keys,the front doors lock themselves when closed,all windows have locks,shutters and subtle bars on them so unless you're careless i really can't see a problem,as with anywhere in the world,even at home,we didn't see anyone loitering,we spoke to others at the bar and none had a problem at all.
Reception opens daily from 9:30am until whenever she can be bothered to stay til,anytime from 13:30 to 16:30 really,she will change money and cheques and is really polite and friendly,as are the people that run the pool bar where you can get a breakfast,snacks,burgers etc. also in reception is a shower room and somewhere to leave your luggage on the last day,she stayed open until 4pm for us and after that the irish lady at the bar let us put our cases somewhere safe,let us use their private toilet/changing room and even offered to put a film on for us if we wanted.

We booked with thomson as a package but we didn't see a rep once,no welcome information or anything so don't expect much from them,there were other people there who'd booked privately,we didn't really care as we're all seasoned but if you had kids and needed help you'd get a bit annoyed i imagine.

The pool isn't really suitable for little kids as the shallowest end is 1.40 metres but it was very clean and looked after,there's plenty of loungers but they do need new ones as most of them were cracked from years of use.

One gripe is the cleaner,she came in to our rooms twice over the week,said a cheerful 'ola',handed us some loo roll and trotted off again,we found this hilarious ourselves but i can see a family getting the 'ump,but then i don't think many families would stay here due to there being no entertainment or kids club etc.

All in all a nice little place to stay in a decent location,the strip is a 5-10 minute walk if you go down the steps at the back past the tennis courts,or the biosfera,old town and harbour is about the same distance if you walk down the hill past the spar shop,personally i would stay here again if we ever decided to return to puerto del carmen but we like to get around to other places every time we go away so doubt we will do so yet.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Dawn James
7 years 3 months ago
Stayed for 1 week at no time was our apt cleaned and the towels were never changed.
The apts have no security what so ever and in the glossaries when bookin does it state that these apts are part residential so no one knows who is who.
Our apt was broke into whilst we was in, but this was not suprising really as when you arrive reception is never open so your keys are in a envelope sellotaped to reception door with your name and apt no and a map of where your apt is,Not good when there is a shop 500yds away that cuts keys (next to spar). there is 4 entrances to the apt's all ungated they also fail to tell you that the pool is open to the public so at weekends gangs of locals sat round pool smoking drugs have never felt so unsafe in my life.!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: monarch

Claire
8 years 10 months ago
Myself and partner got this really cheap and were a bit dubious about it before arrival but it was great! we stayed in October 08 and they were three other appartments occupied, it was like having your personal pool all week! The staff are friendly (although don't work at the weekends) and the Pool Bar was run by an English fella that was great fun with tasty food. Clean, very tidy. A lot more spacious than some 3 stars I've stayed in before. Friends of ours arrived the next day and were able to stay in the appartment next door without issues. Good sized pool and clean. Has a ground floor. No issue with noise etc but it was off season but over all a really nice place to stay for the money and would definatley go back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: On the beach.com

Recommended
Sarah
9 years 1 month ago
The Luz Y Mar was everything we expected! We had a ground floor room and it was right at the pool side. It a basic resort but by far the best one i have been to in years. Our neighbours were great which made our week away amazing! The pool is very clean and when its a hot day its the best thing in the world to jump into! Its about a 5min walk from the old town and new town.
Sarah, 22
Edinburgh
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: 18-30

Recommended
Dominic And Jenni
11 years 10 months ago
We stayed in a first floor apartment overlooking the pool area, it was adaquately furnished with a kettle, microwave, toaster, fridge and cooking utensils. There was enough cutlery and crockery for 3 people, which was the maximum sleeping capacity.

We found the staff helpful and efficient, when we reported a safety problem it was fixed immediately. Maid service was good (came in 3 times in the week) although they left the door to the terrace open on one visit when I had locked and checked it.

The complex can be noisey as the doors seem to stick and close with a bang, but this seems to be normal for a holiday complex. There are 2 supermarcados near to the complex, and the usual rubbish bins outside. Clearing rubbish daily means that we had no troubles with bugs etc.

We used it as a base for diving and chill out time, MA Diving is just up the road and we found an excellent Spa in Playa Blanca check out www.lanzarotehealth.com to see what I mean.

Had a really great time, would recommend to anyone as it is very good value for money - bear in mind its rating is 2 keys, so it is not 5 star. Also it is very close to the main town so you can walk there, and it only costs 2 euros to have a taxi home.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Young
12 years 1 month ago
We stayed at the Luz y Mar and after reading previous reports was wondering were we were going.What rubbish the Luz Y Mar was brilliant we all had a great time, The apartments were great,

Staff very friendly , The pool was on your doorstep,Great location to old town and new town, Shops and Bars.

We enjoyed it so much we have booked to go back again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Flight

Recommended
Thomas
12 years 10 months ago
Stayed here for 1 week, generally kept tidy rooms cleaned twice a week, never saw anybody cleaning outside areas.

Location is good 2 supermarkets right outside, 10 minites walk to both old town and commercial areas, with a few good bars/restatuant just out side appartments.

Beware of thieves in the week we stayed a group of lads were stolen from and someone tried to enter our room, no one patrols the complex at night.

Two good pools to use and good sun traps to get your tan, would return to stay if nothing else was available, but would be on gaurd for thieves.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first chice

Recommended
Bailey
12 years 10 months ago
These apartments are the lowest of the low in my eyes,they are dirty,unequipped for two people never mind a family,there was never any staff around ,no entertainment,and I will never visit them again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Nicola
12 years 11 months ago
I must admit after reading some of these comments before going on holiday I was a little worried as to what to expect however I have to say I had a fantastic time!

My partner and I stayed in the Mar annex and my friend and her partner were in the Luz. Both apartments were basic but very clean, however my friend did have a little problem with ants on the first couple of days (probably due to the vast amount of greenery around the Luz apartments). Both pools were cleaned every night and were great little sun traps!

The apartments are in quite a good location being very close to the old town and quite close to the main resort. There is a netto right next door, a local supermarket across the road and a spar just down the road. There are also a couple of nice little restaurants right at the front of the Luz apartments.

To get to the main resort make sure you find out where the steps are at the back of the apartments. They cut the walking distance in half but are not suitable for people in wheelchairs or with buggies.

I would definatly recommened these apartments to anyone. If nothing else they kept me fit walking up the steps everyday! ha ha
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.