Image of Plaza Azul Apartments

Plaza Azul Apartments

47 of 89 hotels in Puerto Del Carmen

4 out of 5 from 12 reviews
2 stars
Calle Anzuelo, 19, 35510 Puerto del Carmen, Spain

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Collins
8 years 10 months ago
My wife & I stayed in the Plaza Azul complex for 2 weeks over December 2008 / January 2009 and it was not a pleasant experience.
These apartments,though staffed by willing, helpful and professional people, set themselves very low standards which they regularly fail to achieve.
The entire place seems not to have been redecorated for years & the Bar/Lounge area is stuck in a 70's time-warp with some of the most uncomfortable furniture that I have ever had the displeasure of sitting on.
The evening entertainment is rarely that which is advertised & is repetitive, dull and sometimes cancelled if few people are present. The Bar is sparsely stocked, though this is not the fault of the splendidly helpful Bar Steward.
The apartments are kept as clean and tidy as is possible and linen is changed often, but, it is impossible to make a silk purse out of a sow's ear.The decor, furnishings and fittings are very jaded.
The buildings are of thin construction,so,the worst factor ruining our holiday was the late-night/early morning noise from a few other residents who appeared to have little or no consideration for their fellow holiday makers despite several complaints being registered by ourselves and others.
To sum up, if you are a "night person" who has no consideration for others and can put up with low quality accommodation and surroundings, then The Plaza Azul might just be the place to go.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

8 years 11 months ago
Visited here 5 years ago, and not much has changed.Rooms cleaned 5 times a week with bedding changed mid week , we were on the gound floor and did find that we had to put up with those tiny ants but this is to be expected on a tropical island. The bar area could have done with a clean it looks to me as if they only clean this once a week. Had breakfast here most days and it was excellent, large english and medium english breakfast plus 2 hot drinks only 7 euros. Location was very good only 5mins to the main drag, although walking back up the hill is a bit steep but I managed and I do have mobility problems, just hung on to husbands arm!! The staff are very laid back and seem friendly enough.
Entertainment was advertised on the notice boards every day although I didn't see anyone arrive and no guests seemed to be in the bar anytime that I'm aware of. We would visit again if the price was right.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Joanne & Andy Drury
9 years 1 month ago
This was our first holiday abroad so did not know what to expect. when we arrived at our room there where a few ants in the entrance way inside the appartment. Ant killer sorted this straight away never so anymore all week. the room however did smell so fresh and was clean and tidy.

The food andrew prepares and serves is excellent and value for money. Andrew did all the restaurant food/ pool side drinks and food and the bar on a night time. The entertainment was on nightly but few people went into the bar so it was always quite.

We arrived thursday night and our rooms where cleaned and bedding and towels changed on saturday/sunday/monday/wednesday.

The appartments are located up a hill which does get tiring after walking up them 3 - 4 times daily.

we will stay at plaza azul again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Charlene
9 years 10 months ago
We stayed in this complex over the New Year 2007-2008. When we arrived and entered the reception I was put of rite away by the smell.

The out side of complex was quite nice if only they kept their rooms up to the same standard. The dirt in the room was despicable and also smelled like ashtrays. We ended up cleaning room by ourselves as cleaners did not do much better.

Our room was full of bugs which did not help as we had a 7mnth and 8 years old with us. We woke one morning to find them crawling all over babies bottles and all over sink. When we asked to be moved rooms he looked stunned as if that was best room they had.

As it was up and down stairs which I did not find appropriate with kids.

Hotel staff were not very helpful. The entertainment was rubbish.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Dudes
10 years 10 months ago
The apartment was clean apart from the pile of dirt in the middle of each room where there cannot be bothered to sweep it all and the staff friendly especially Miguel who was a rather weird man maid/maintenance man.

You cannot beat Andreos fry ups!

Entertainment was average and Tom Jones was hilarious!

A good place to stay but i have to say one thing what is the hill everyone keeps going on about. the walk up to the appartments didnt even leave me out of breath. I think people who visit here are rather unfit!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Jenn
11 years 1 month ago
We stayed in this complex at the beginning of September 2006 when we arrived we were impressed by how the complex looked. The swimming pool was huge and very clean and it also had a pool bar. Our room was also quite a good size and also clean. The location is quite good but the hill would not suit anyobe with walking difficulties.

Our great impression of the complex however was somewhat short lived when on the second night of our stay we discovered several cockroaches. We had been to Lanzarote several times before and had never had cockroaches in our accommodation before. We complained to the staff about the bugs and did not receive much satisfaction they sent a guy with an aersol can to spray the room which meant on the third night that the bugs were worse!!

We were then moved to another complex ( after much debating with tour reps )

I would not stay in this complex again however other people who were on our flight and stayed in the same place had no problems which we had.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

11 years 2 months ago
We had a fantastic time at the Plaza Azul Apartments - special thanks to Jaime who ran the pool bar - such a friendly guy and made us all feel like part of a family.

Spotless apartments, pool, restaurant. A good selection of parrot shows and quizzes, karoake and Neil Diamond/Tom Jones copies to suit all tastes - and the Brazilian dancers were brill - even got us up to join in!

Whoever goes to these apartments will not be disappointed. Even movie channel on the tv in the apartments.

Apartments in really good location to shops/bars/restaurants and yes, there is a slight walk up hill but nothing to hurt the average person. Our 12 year old made lots of friends both English & Irish and there were ad-hoc water polo games in the pool which were a lot of fun.

Would definitely go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Coop Travel

Recommended
Helen Short
11 years 10 months ago
This hotel is lovely and clean and the location is great. The staff are really friendly.

The only downside is that the time of year we went the pool was freezing but have been told it is lovely in the summer. The pool bar served nice snacks and didn't find the prices to expensive.

Didn't find the hill down to the beach too steep, even the kids didn't complain.

Would definitely recommend anyone to stay here.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: own arrangements

Recommended
Plaza Azul
12 years 5 months ago
The rooms where very clean and comfortable, the bar snacks where very good value and nice. The location wasn't great as there is a large hill with broken pavements but this is the only fault, and a taxi to the bottom of the hill is only 2 euro. The staff were very friendly they couldn't do enough for you. The entertainment was excellant, Elvis show is a must.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: falcon

Recommended
12 years 7 months ago
The Plaza Azul is a very nice, clean, complex not far from the centre Atlantico of PDC. The apartments are all set on ground and first floor with one or two balconies/patios. Each apartment has a living room area with a sofa that can be used as a bed, an open plan small kitchen (no microwave or oven) with 2 ring cooker, kettle and toaster supplied along with plenty of utensils. A decent sized bathroom with a good shower and a full size bath.

The separate bedroom has 2 single beds, plenty of wardrobe space with shelves. There is no dressing table as such however there is a wall size mirror in each bedroom. There is only one tiny draw too on each of the bedside cabinets but no others.

Patio furniture included seats and table and there was plenty of room for a sun lounger or 2 on the patio if you didn't want to sit around the pool area.

There is a pool snack bar that does surprisingly good sandwiches and snacks. Although it seems pointless buying drinks when you can buy yourself and store in your own fridge.

There is a very small supermarket on site and to be honest it was poorly stocked and looked rather dated and dusty.....this could be that only 1 minute walk away is a very large Netto supermarket with a huge choice and great prices.

Don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.