Image of Vik Hotel San Antonio

Vik Hotel San Antonio

16 of 89 hotels in Puerto Del Carmen

4 out of 5 from 26 reviews
4 stars
Av de las Playas, 84 35510 Puerto del Carmen, Spain
Surrounded by a large tropical garden with palms leading to the sea there are 2 swimming pools, one sea water and the other with fresh water and free sun lounges. There is a separate children pool with fresh water and a playgroud. The hotel offers live music and entertainment shows every night.

26 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    12
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Holly
Good value for money
7 years 1 month ago
I was in a group of three (my husband and sister) and had a wonderful time at the hotel. Having e-mailed beforehand to request rooms next to each other, the hotel responded the day I e-mailed to say they would do all they could and when we arrived the request had been met.

The rooms are clean and I was very impressed by the pool area, as there were plenty of sun beds with parasols. This hotel does not have problems with people reserving sun beds so it was nice to stroll leisurely after breakfast to the pool instead of having to get up at 5:00am to join the masses!

The food was wonderful and the specialty cooking was different each night with Indian, Chinese and paella being just a sample of the dishes on offer at the station on various nights. All the staff were very polite and friendly.

We watched a couple of the entertainment acts which were fine though it is always difficult to provide for a multi-national audience. Similarly, we only visited the beach once but if you walk along the beachfront (rather than going directly outside the hotel as the rocks make it hard to access the sea) there is a large beach area.

I would definitely return to this hotel and thought it was good value for money for my two weeks.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mrs Wilson
8 years 9 months ago
this hotel is lovely, staff very nice food brilliant they do themed nights ie indian food etc plenty of choice if you are hungry is your own fault there is that much choice,flat screen tv in room no bbc or itv got ch5 eurosport news channels.no kettle in room so bring your own ,rooms cleaned daily with fresh towels.spar supermarket is cheaper than the netto just to left of hotel about 5 min walk the rep julie is lovely friendly and helpful definatley go back again and again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Unkown
9 years 1 month ago
I have just come back from San Antonio Hotel and it was lovely.
The good points -

Food was nice, i am a very fussy eater so i was worried i wouldnt like the food but when i got there i loved it, theres lots of choice but the only bad thing is if you go for tea late then the food can be cold.

The hotel was clean and the room was cleaned everyday.
The room was simple, with 3 beds, average bathroom and fridge which you have to buy (11euro). The view i had wasnt very good as my balcony was on the roof so you could only see a bit of the sea but most rooms you either have the sea or landscape.

The staff were all happy and chatty and made friends with quite a few of them. They all spoke very good English which was good.

The entertainment was excellent. There was singers, dancers, acrobats and magicians on. However if you are staying for 2 weeks then some of the acts you would have to see twice.

The activites they had in the day were good. There was waterpolo, darts, minigolf, frech bowls (everyday), aquagym, beach trecking, tenis, pingpong, volleyball, rifle shooting, archary, dancing. I may have missed one or two out but they were all good and you won free drinks if you won.

The location was good. It was by two supermarkets and the 'strip' had lots of nice retaurants and shops and going to your right was the main beach.

The beach is right outside the hotel. It is very quiet but if you walk about 2minutes away then you can get to the sea and where everyone usually goes.

Bad points -

The room could of been a little bit bigger with perhaps a kettle for tea and coffee.

The drinks could be a bit cheaper.

Overall the hotel was great and i reccommend it to all ages. I think i will come back to this hotel in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Richard Forbes
9 years 1 month ago
This was our second visit to the hotel (see earlier entry April 2006), previously I was critical of some of the more senior hotel restaurant staff being quite rude at times, to be clear this is no longer an issue, I cannot commend the politeness of all the staff enough.

Quite simply this hotel is fantastic, worth the little bit extra that you pay, we did take in some of the shows and they were excellent (particularly the riverdance Irish type dancing).

Our daughter who is 4 years old attended the mini disco every evening, the lady that runs this (Judith) is quite simply a natural with kids.

Food is outstanding.

This hotel is excellent we will be going bak next year.

The food is outstanding
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Christine
9 years 3 months ago
This hotel is in a quiet area and is just round the corner from the main street.

The food is very varied and we found the restaurant staff were very helpful.
The hotel is very spacious and is very clean and very comfortable.
The entertainment was well presented , perhaps geared to the more mature client! I'm not good at ballroom dancing. There were a variety of acts who were very good.

The hotel is only 4 floors high which was great.
We had a really good holiday.

The manager is usually around overseeing, and making sure that everything runs smoothly. We spoke to a number of older guests who come to this hotel more than once year. It is very popular.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Keith Bailey
10 years 1 month ago
We stayed at the Hotel San Antonio for one week from the 5th to 12th July. (Wall to wall sunshine all week). This was our first visit to Lanzarote and I chose this hotel after reading the reviews on this and other review sites. Our party consisted of myself, my wife and 4 children (16-19 years).
Generally we had a very good holiday at this hotel. For what we paid it represented very good value for money.

Good points.
The reception staff were great, the food was plentiful, varied and of a high standard....something for everyone, no matter how fussy you might be.
Restaurant staff were brill.
Hotel was spotless and the 'chambermaids' were faultless.
There are 2 main pools, both of which were very clean. We used the 'upper' pool most days as it was less salty than the other. There are plenty of sunbeds although if you want some shade, (and you will!),you will have to get up early to 'reserve' those beds......the sun 'umbrellas' are in a fixed position.
Great beach location, stunning views and direct access to a brilliant beach of 'Los Pocillos'.
Daytime events...boules, waterpolo, water aerobics, pistol and rifle shooting, archery etc. Great fun with prizes.
A comprehensive kids club.......the younger ones were occupied all day finishing off with a 8pm disco.
Taxi rank and bus stop immediately outside of the hotel...taxis very cheap, bus to Teguise market on a Sunday is 2.80 Euros one way.
Quietish location but only 5 min walk to the nightlife on the 'strip'.
2 cheap supermarkets close by (make sure you hire a room fridge @ 11 Euros !!!).
If your into an early morning jog, leave the hotel, turn right and run along the new promenade towards Matagorda..fantastic.

Bad points.
Well there aren't any really.
If you want to be picky then the bedrooms are a bit on the small side, in particular the bathrooms.
The drinks at the hotel are a bit pricey and the service was sometimes slow.
Extra charge for a fridge (a must).
The evening entertainment is what you expect in the Canaries......average (alcohol does help!!)

Keith


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
CHRISTOPHER WILLIAM DAVIS
10 years 2 months ago
Hotel very clean and around the pool-three pools in total, one of those a childrens pool where adults have sunbeds around.

The food was brilliant, catering for all european's.

The location is direct onto the beach. entertainment watch-full.

Please note for dinner trouser's and shirt(I got away with t-shirt and jeans)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
Claire
10 years 2 months ago
Have just arrive back from Lanzarote after a 2 week stay full board at the San Antonio Hotel.

I was a little concerned about previous reports about grumpy, unfriendly staff, but found the opposite when we arrived. Very friendly and made a fuss of the children and always polite and helpful. They even offered us breakfast at 3am so we could have something before our flight home !!

Food was excellent, the themed area offered, Chinese, Indian, Japanese, Italian, Spanish food as well as the main selection - you could not go hungry.

The childrens pool and playgroung were perfectly positioned so the children could have freedom but couldn't get to the main deep pool with out being seen.

Mainly older couples and a few families with young children like ours when we went. Everyone so friendly, it was like having 20 sets of grandparents with you with them making a fuss over the children. Other families, though not many were very friendly and the children were never short of anyone to play with.

The evening entertainment was varied - Abba, Bee Gees, Beatles tribute bands, Acrobatics, Dancers, Magicians. All very good and kept a 2 and 4 year old entertained till past 11pm.

The hotel position was a the start of the road of shops leading down into old town of Puerto Del Carmen. Away from the noiser bars but close enough to have a lovely walk in an evening. Taxis just outside the hotel for the 2 or 3 euros ride directly down to the old town if you didn't want to walk.

Excellent holiday will go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: On The Beach

Recommended
Sandra
10 years 7 months ago
We found the hotel to be in a good location. A pleasant walk to either Matagorda or the lively part of Puerto Del Carmen.

If you stay on the side of the sea whilst walking at night you don't get pestered by the touts trying to get you into the bars.

The hotel was very clean and the food was second to none. There was a superb range of different dishes on offer each night. The staff were friendly and helpful enough, and the entertainment was very good.

The pool area was very acceptable with a choice of the beach as well, next to it.

We will definitely be visiting the hotel again and again and again.

Lanzarote is my favourite holiday destination.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Claire & Ben
11 years 1 month ago
We went to the San Antonio for our Honeymoon as we thought it looked really nice in the brochure.

The first night we arived there was a power cut, this was about 11.30 at night, when we checked in we were just left to find our room in the dark with no explanation what was going on!

The hotel was clean and had a lovely poolside area overlooking the beach. This got very busy though and if you didnt have your towel down by mid morning you didnt have a chance all day!

The food wasnt up to much it was mostly cold and it got very samey. Needless to say we were eating out every night by the 4th night.

Can really comment on entertainment, we stayed in the hotel one night and were bored so most nights we were in all the main bars along the front

Staff werent the most friendliest.

Location was quite but still close enough to be near everything in Puerto Del Carmen.

Lanzarote however is excellent and we would definitely go back!

Have stayed in better 3 star hotels! We were dissapointed
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.