Image of Jardin Caleta Aparthotel

Jardin Caleta Aparthotel

2 of 2 hotels in La Caleta

4 out of 5 from 19 reviews
3 stars
Avenida Las Gaviotas, nÂș32, La Caleta. Costa Adeje, 38660 Adeje, Spain

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Derek Hutchinson
8 years 11 months ago
The pool area was washed down every morning and was nice & clean. Personally, I found the deep pool to be too deep for my liking, I prefer to be able to put a foot down but the other pool was just fine with steps leading into it.
The food was pretty much what you would expect. We have had a lot worse. It was OK. Usual mix of hot/cold dishes.
As for the location, it was bad. You need either a bus or taxi into & out of everywhere. La Caletta is a very quiet fishing bay. Go elsewhere if you need entertainment of a night time. The hotel lager is expensive and awful. We saw a Abba tribute band which were ok. Nothing else attracted us.
The Hotel Staff were excellent and very helpful. A very friendly bunch. A new Kids Club entertainer started while we were there and really worked hard to keep the kids entertained. Top marks for the Staff.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jet2.Com

Alex
8 years 11 months ago
hotel was further out than i thought, however once i found my bearings there was no stopping me. i wanted a quiet holiday and this was it, brilliant.

hotel was great and as were the staff.

local beach was being built up however the walk right along the front was beautiful, taking you all the way to Los Cristiano's if you wanted,with all the different beaches on the way. bus service was so regular at the hotel.

hotel pool area and rooms could not be faulted.

only thing was that the entertainment staff did not speak in English very often so you did not know what they were saying at the entertainment.

i totally chilled and would go back to this hotel tomorrow.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: flyglobespan

Recommended
Diane Eccles
10 years ago
The apartments were good size although small kitchen area which didn't metter to us as we were half board. The only downside was that were overlooked the pizza restaurant at the front which was very noisy late on a couple of nights. We were on same level as pool which was handy as could nip back fro drinks etc.

All the staff were pleasant & helpful - couldn't fault any of them, they all worked hard. The food we found to be exellent - plenty choice every night and good quality. Ate at the pool bar once for lunch - very good & cheap.

The entertainment was a bit hit a miss - there was a mini disco every night which the kids really enjoyed. There was a snake show that was good, couple of OK singers and the usual bingo & quiz. When we were there this was held at the pool bar - the main entertainment bar was closed maybe because the hotel wasn't full. The drinks at the bar are'nt cheap - a little cheaper than UK so we just bought our own drinks across with apartment just being opposite the pool bar and nobody said anything - no signs to say you couldn't and others were doing the same.

First week we were there we couldn't get a sunbed even if we didn't go the the pool until after 4.00pm - the pool would only be a quarter full with people but all sunbeds would have a towel on! One day we managed to get 1 between the 4 of us - there were four next to us that nobody came to for 4 hours and then one person sat on one of them for 10 minutes, then went away. The second week was fine as all the towel brigade must have left and there were no probs although on the last day when we were at the pool all day we noticed loungers with towels on them from 10.00 until 6.00 and nobody came and sat on them in all that time!

We booked trips with Direct Excursions - got leaflet at airport - english run and cheapest we found. Went to Loro Park - exellent whale & dolphin shows. Did a whales/doplhins boat trip which was cheap at 80E for 4 of us with lunch & drinks included. You will see lots of leaflets for these with lovely looking catamarans - however with this trip it was a bit of a captain pugwash boat but don't let this put you off, we still had a great day - the blokes that ran the boat were a hoot, we got very close to whales/dolphins - amazing - then off for a swim near the Los Gigantes cliffs - absolutely stunning. They had life jackets for the kids and you could jump off the boat and swim with the fishes literally. Lunch was good too - our kids said they enjoyed this trip more than Lora Park!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Med Hotels

Recommended
10 years 2 months ago
We arrived at the hotel thinking "Oooo this looks nice" but were greeted with a LOAD of Spanish pensioners smoking in front of the Hotel. Check in was quick by the helpfull receptionist. Our room was on the top floor, right at the back of the hotel, overlooking wasteland and lots of building work.
The noise started at 7.30am prompt, but wasnt too bad, providing we had the patio doors shut. The rooms were cleanish, but we had tiny ants everywhere, and the maid just brushed the hairs and stuff on the floor, to one corner. We dont think our sheets were changed in the 5 nights we where there.
The food was VERY repetative, and not very nice. If you like salad and pasta, you'll be fine. If you like greasy fish, chicken, or pork, you also be fine. Breakfast wasnt much better either. Take some teabags, as you wont get a decent teabag anywhere.
Also, the old spanish duffers that where there where quite rude, no manners if they bumped into you or your chair, which they often did. They jumped food queues, and looked you up and down like you where from MARS!

Entertainment! Ha! Again, all 2nd rate, and only in Spanish. We walked down to Costa Adeje most nights, which was lovely.

The resort of La Caletta is very very quiet. Anyone who thinks this place is a nice area, must be on happy pills. We are not fussy by anymeans, where not up for mad partying, we just like peice and quiet, but with something to do in the evenings.

The small supermarket next to the hotel was a godsend, and had most of our needs within it, and the staff are very friendly too.

All in all, not a great holiday. Remember, this is a Spanish hotel, and in our opinion only really caters for the spanish (unless it was the wrong time of year for us to go....June!!!)

If you've booked this hotel, its not the worst. Take Tea and Coffee with you, a pack of cards, and some nice comfy walking shoes, as you'll need these to walk to Costa Adeje, this is where you'll enjoy most of your evenings.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Fleetway

AMZ
10 years 5 months ago
As we wanted somewhere quiet the location of the hotel was ideal. It is a very quiet resort with a low key night life.

The rooms and pool area were kept very clean. The pools were adequate with both heated and non (brrr)heated plus a shallow kiddies pool. Plenty of loungers but there seemed to be a slight shortage of parasols. The hotel also has a strip of beach across the road with a large patch of imported sand and a snack bar which plays music. You cannot access the sea for swimming from here as it is mainly pebbles and rock other than the man-made section of beach.

Both breakfast and dinner are buffet style with lots of choice to cater for all tastes both hot and cold. Also a barbecue night is held once a week.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Med Hotels

Recommended
Nicola, Tommy And Kids
10 years 7 months ago
Stayed here in Jan 2007 for a week as a family with twin boys aged 2.5yrs.

The hotel is lovely and clean and the rooms are a fair size with two big balconies, although watch out that you don't shut patio door behind you as they automatically lock!

Anyway, the pool area is great with a large adult pool and the baby pool being heated, this proved a live saver as if it was too cold the boys wouldn't have gone in.

The food in the hotel was first class with an excellent assortment of different dishes. There was also fresh pizzas on every night just as you would get from Pizza Hut here! The meats were all good cuts and I can honestly say that I didn't hear anyone complain about the food. At breakfast there was also lots to choose from and there was a microwave available to use so if you need to heat bottles etc thats fine.

The only draw back about the hotel is that it is miles out from the night life as in the hotel is in the middle of no where exciting. We tried walking during the day with the twins and it took over 2 hrs to get to Fanabe beach (the best for small children in my view of course). We felt we were out on a limb and we had to keep getting taxis into Puerto Colon and Torviscas although if the entertainment had been better we would of perhaps stayed in the hotel for a couple of evenings. They mainly catered for German, Swedish, Dutch etc.. holidaymakers and one evening there was Play Your Cards Right in Dutch!

We saw and vacated...
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunmaster

JOHN
11 years 5 months ago
We stayed at the Jardin Caleta from 30/3/06 for 2 weeks on a half board basis and found the food excellent, great salad bar. Chef cooking steaks, fish etc on the griddle every night, also fresh dough pizzas baked every night. There are tables outside for eating also although limited numbers. Could not fault the food at all and drinks with meals were reasonably priced. Bottle of house wine is 8 euros.

There were loads of sun beds with mats around the pool and also some at the jacuzzi on the third floor and some on the fourth floor sunbathing area of which we used mostly as our apartment was situated just at this large terrace. rooms were cleaned 5 days out of 7 maids days off were a Friday and Sunday so could not fault the cleanliness of the apartments. hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

Entertainment was the usual for hotels in Tenerife as I do not think that any of the hotels in Tenerife are great and I have stayed in a few 4* hotels, usual snake shows, parrots show and fashion shows.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again as I could not fault it although it was a little further out than i usually stay, I did not find this a problem as we hired the car for 14 nights anyway. There is a pathway along the beach that takes you into Costa Adeje and Puerto Colon this is a lovely walk although could take about 30 minutes. There is a bus stop outside the hotel although the buses stop at 9pm in the evening but taxis are also outside the hotel and i do not think it would cost much to get you into Costa Adeje.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: EXPEDIA

Recommended
11 years 8 months ago
The Jardin Caleta apartments are ideal for couples and families. Although quite remote, we liked the location, as our closest neighbours were a cluster of 5 star hotels. If we ever returned however, we would most definitely opt for a hire car. The walk into PDLA was a good 45 mins. to 1hr which was fine in the cooler winter weather but would not be much fun in searing heat. Also, as it was holiday time, the bus service was fairly erratic and they do not run after 8:40pm at night. One of the buses also seems to stop at every mountain village, a ten-minute journey that took almost an hour (sorry I cannot remember which number.) Taxi fares into PDLA varied considerably so maybe best to check the fare with the driver before you travel. If you stay in the immediate vicinity of the Jardin Caleta, you will be very restricted with bars and restaurants although the ones we did visit were perfectly fine if not a little more expensive than those in PDLA.

We found our apartment perfectly adequate, are a fairly good size. The maids visit 5 days out of 7 with the exception of Fridays and Sundays. As others have said, deposits required for TV remote, kettle and toaster, none of which we used so were not particularly bothered. The apartments were very quiet in the evenings perhaps due to the high percentage of families but we were never disturbed by noise. The only problem I would have with the apartment (in the summer months) is the fact there is no air-conditioning.

As we were self-catering and did not try the restaurant, I cannot comment on food. There was always a queue for dinner though so the food must
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Foster
11 years 8 months ago
Stayed here over Xmas and New Year.

Had no complaints about the complex itself, the only complaint was the location, plenty of taxis available, but you could walk to the neighbouring resorts along the beach front.

The reception staff were lovely and really helpful.

The evening entertainment was a bit dull and the bar staff were slow.

I would definitely stay here again, but would maybe hire a car to get about.

The pool area was always clean, could perhaps do with a few more mats for the loungers.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: med hotels

Recommended
Cunliffe Family?
11 years 9 months ago
Two week stay half board, food excellent much much better than expected for three star, a little busy in dining room before eight but ok after eight (closes at nine thirty).

This is a very nice very clean hotel on a quiet road ten mins to nearest sandy beach, just a few mins to pebble beach sand to sit on but very very difficult to swim.

Staff great A1 Entertainment not bad day time early evening for kids but very limited after nine pm Go next door to the open-arms bar some bad language but great fun.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: med hotels

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.