Image of Catalonia Punta Del Rey Hotel

Catalonia Punta Del Rey Hotel

3 out of 5 from 21 reviews
4 stars
Avenida MarĂ­tima, 165, 38520 Las Caletillas, Spain
Situated on the seafront in Las Caletillas, 14 kilometres from the capital, Santa Cruz de Tenerife. 3 kilometres from Candelaria.

21 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    5

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mcguigan
Nice hotel but wouldnt return
5 years 5 months ago
Just got back from Punta Del Ray after a weeks stay. We booked allocate on arrival with Low Cost Holidays and after reading reviews we were dreading it.

The hotel itself wasn't that bad, I would have given 3 stars not 4, this was mainly down to the food and location.

The food was always cold no matter what time you ate. The resort consisted of 1 supermarket, McDonalds and 2 small shops where you could buy English newspapers & that was it.

If you want bars and restaurants you had to walk about 20mins from hotel to a place called Candeleria. There was a regular bus service outside hotel to other resorts.

The entertainment was usual Spanish dancers & the hotel guests were mainly Spanish. The hotel had its own section of the beach which was nice & quiet if you dont want a noisy pool area.

The facilities in the hotel were good and the rooms were nice and spacious. We wouldn't go here again though, but everyone has their own tastes. Late checkout rooms cost 20 euros. The reception staff & bar staff don't speak very good English & customer service skills were not good at times.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Only 3*
6 years 6 months ago
The hotel has an official rating of 4 stars but as most reviews say it is worth only 3 stars. Though the staff is friendly and do everything to make your stay pleasant. Only one complaint: I had a room on the shady side and it was frozen cold at night (in February)even though I had two blanket. After lots of protests with the management they changed my room to the sunny side. The difference in temperature between the rooms is very big. The ones on the sunny side are warm and you can sleep without a blanket. They have all sorts of facilities in the hotel but since I like walking and the beach and the sun in a quiet place it was a right choice for me.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mel & Paul
7 years 11 months ago
We stayed all inclusive for a week, we returned yesterday. The all inclusive food and drink was great, lots of choice, no restrictions on drinks, although local makes (they taste the same)were served.
The room was clean and spacious, with en suite bathroom with bath and shower, and maid service every day.
The staff were all very friendly, although some did not speak much English - surely to be expected, as we were not in England!!
The 'Animacion' (entertainment) team made sure that everyone was involved in daily activities if they wanted to be, and didn't hound people that didn't wish to join in.
We wouldn't hesitate to return to this lovely hotel.By far the nicest all inclusive holiday we have been on.
We are writing this review so quickly after returning as some of the reviews we read really scared us - have a happy holiday at Punta Del Rey - We did!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: On Holiday Limited

Recommended
Gary Hickman
8 years 5 months ago
After reading the reviews about this hotel two days before going, I was terrified.

I decided to give this review so that if you have just read one of those reviews you would spend your next few nights in a cold sweat.

If you are looking for a busy resort then this is not a good place to visit,as it is very quiet.however if you have already booked, then do not worry as you will still have a good time as long as you take a positive attitude with you.

We stayed in room 718, on the 7th floor and I can honestly say our room was very clean. The bathrooms have recently been updated and they looked nice.

there are two English speaking channels on the hotel television. Fox and sky news.

Our balcony looked over the see and hotel swimming pool. there was a fan and air conditioning in our room which were both very effective.

The twin beds were as clean and as comfortable as the average travel lodge.

There is also a large screen TV down stairs where they feature an English football game once a week on Saturday.

The pool area was always clean and the poolside snack bar was great for getting your drinks. We did eat the odd burger and chips which were ok, however if you go out of the hotel, turn left and go to the top of the hill you will find a Macdonalds (the hill is very steep) so you will burn off enough calories not to feel too guilty.

The restaurants in the hotel were always clean and the staff in there were always keen to please. The food was varied and if you love salads you will be in heaven.

the main restaurant is a buffet, where we found chicken, beef, lamb and many fish dishes. as they are under heat type lamps sometimes the food could have been hotter, however their is a microwave by the water so you can quickly give it a boost if you like your food pipping hot.

The hotel entertainment was not great, although the staff do try hard, as many residents were from countries other than England we found the many different languages a bit confusing as every thing had to be explained four or five times.

Their is a gym in the hotel where you can get a good workout. there are pool tables and an air hockey game if you get bored.

the swimming pool was good, three areas, including a deeper pool for diving. There is also a nice pool by the see to swim in and the sea crashing against the rocks is relaxing when you are sunbathing.

On Friday and Saturday there is a night club in the hotel, it wasnt busy but we had a good dance and the music was ok.

There are not many shops near the hotel but if you come out of the hotel, turn right and follow the sea front for 20 mins you come to a town called Candalaria which has many bars and shops.

there was car hire there, for about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: uk travel shop

Jill & John Manners
8 years 8 months ago
my husband & i have visited this hotel on many occasion,its not to everyones taste because of it being a very quiet area, the younger generation might want to try los americas, the hotel staff are very friendly & entertainment staff are the best we,ve seen friendly funny & very entertaining,the reason we go back time & time again, the rooms are clean & spacious, the food there is always something that takes yr fancy, if you want a relaxing friendly holiday, then you should enjoy punta del ray,, oh yes & nice walks, entertament team keep the good work up...... HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: internet

Recommended
Miss M
9 years 2 months ago
My mother and myself booked the holiday as a last minute deal and did not know much about the area or hotel itself before we arrived.

Upon arrival ( 10pm) we were politly greeted by reception staff who were polite and efficient. We had not eaten for a number of hours ( no food on the plane)so the hotel manager allowed us to join the last few minutes of dinner before we sorted out our room. And even though it was the end of dinner service we were not rushed through eating and there was plenty of choice still left in the buffet self service style resurant.

the choice to go all inclusive was the right one, as there was no hassle to get drinks ( both alcholic and soft drinks), snacks, coffee/teas whenever needed.

There was a large proportion of spanish guests at the hotel, and they were largely 60+ but were all pleasent and added to the atmosphere as they knew how to have a good time.
Throughout the week groups of children, pre-teens and teenagers arrived on separate organised trips, but we also well-behaved, and were kept in check by hotel staff and the gaurdians alike.
There was a large range of holiday makers, couples,singles,families etc and the hotel provided for all.

Evening entertainment wasnt the greatest, but we still watched two or three shows in our severn night stay, and enjoyed what we saw.

Satff were helpful and friendly, and got to know us throughout the week, even our drinks orders in the restuarant. They were all smiles and service.

We had a wonderful sea-view from our 4th floor room and could also see goings on in the pool and sun-lounge areas.

The weather was hot and sunny most days, and was perfect for lying by the pool, there were adequate numbers of sunbeds, and although were unadjustable and cushionless, still did the job.
The wind picked up throughout the day nad therefore the sun-brollys were removed for health and safety reasons, but staff were happy to hand them back out once the wind had died down ( or it was great just to move to the pool bar for some refreshemnt)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: teletext

Recommended
Maria
9 years 8 months ago
Hotel Catelonia Punta del Rey. 2 star potential.

Hotel food did not cater for any person with dietry needs.. i.e avoid at all costs if you have high cholestrol and diabetes or heart conditions as your medical bills will be high!!

Food was cold and inedible on a daily basis and made you culinary depressed.

Hotel location was a deserted spot!

Hotel staff passable!

Entertainment a laugh..NOT!!
Will not visit again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: imperial travel

Yasmin + Aaron
9 years 9 months ago
The hotel was supposed to be a 4 star but id say it was more a 2 star.
The bedrooms were nice the rest of the hotel was basic.The sun loungers were uncomfortable had no cushions + didn't adjust.
There was not much to do,all the entertainment was set around the spanish pensioners as it was full of them.
The food was inedible,cold and very much the same every day as the week went on the bread rolls got staler.
You could only get 2 drinks at 1 time which made it difficult when with friends.
The sea pool was dirty had no toilets or facilities for a drink,the sunbeds were chained and couldn't be moved a waste of time.
The british holiday makers we met made up for this poor holiday.
Be aware most the spanish guests are very rude
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Imperial Travel

Ian Pattinson
9 years 9 months ago
The weather was great, the four people we met were great the rooms were cleaned each day and now for the not so great:- there was no refridgerator in the room, there was only two power points the food was not very varied and not really of UK taste, OK if you like boiled fish and medium cooked meat(pink in the middle)no cocktails, no matresses on the sun beds and didn't adjust. The animation team only seemed to approach the Spanish only. I would not class this hotel as a four star we have been in better three star hotels in the Canaries.
We would not return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: on the beach

Gordon
9 years 10 months ago
We booked this as a 4* hotel, but on arrival I would have struggled to classify it as 2*. It was dirty, incredibly loud (the corridors were tiled) with adults and kids running up and down corridors shouting until 2am. We were put in room next to the lift, which "pinged" everytime the lift went past the floor we were on. The food was inedible at dinner - the show cookign was a guy taking frozen pizza bases out of the packet and smearing tomatopaste and cheese on them. The pools were small, dirty and over overcrowded and the sea pool which we had looked forward to was dirty and very dangerous for children. You also has to cross a main road to get to it. We lasted a day and a night and then transfered to another hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: med hotels

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.