Image of Colon II Apartments

Colon II Apartments

5 of 82 hotels in Playa de las Americas

4 out of 5 from 41 reviews
4 stars
Av Rafael Puig, 13, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Suits mainly couples and families. A convenient base for an independent holiday. The Colon II Apartments will appeal if you are looking for modern‚ attractive self catering accommodation in the middle of Playa de las Americas.

41 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    19
  • Very Good
    21
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
7 years 3 months ago
We only stayed at the Colon 2 apartments for one night as our preferred accommodation had no vacancies for the first day of our holiday. We had booked a studio as it was just for one night and we ended up in room 123 on the ground floor on the non-pool side. The studio was compact but very clean with a separate kitchen area. Being at the end of the row and set back further than the rest, our studio had a much bigger garden area than the others but as all the ground and first floor apartments on that side of the block face a high fence, it still felt a little claustrophobic. Being in one of the other studios in the row would have been much worse though as you would definitely feel penned-in due to the close proximity of the fence. A higher floor apartment would probably be fine.

The pool area was pleasant enough and the complex location is also very good as you are only one block back from the promenade. Parking near the complex can be difficult especially in the mornings. There are a few parking spaces right outside the complex but you are not allowed to park there from 9am - 1pm as they are reserved for deliverys only.

I would be happy to stay here again but not in a studio again and then only if I could guaranteee a higher floor apartment next time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
Pam Alan Etherington
8 years 3 months ago
lost count of the number of times we have been to collon 11 . as always its clean tidy up to a very high standard staff can not do enough for you . will carry on going back
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Frances
8 years 3 months ago
the best kept apartments we have visited. spotless all over what a great team of workers this apartment has. warm friendly and very central. everything that you would require with self catering apartments supplied for you.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
8 years 9 months ago
The Colon II was spotlessly clean, and we were self catering. The location was very good, in quite a lively area but quiet at night. The hotel staff were a bit aloof - not very helpful and there was no entertainment. We were put in a room on the ground floor facing a huge fence. The room was incredibly depressing and we stayed out as much as possible, it was lovely and clean and well furnished but it was always dark. We asked to be moved but the receptionist was really unhelpful eventhough we saw loads of guests leaving the second day we were there. Even in the day there was no sun on the "patio" and at night because of the location we could hear everyone returning to their rooms and every conversation. So if you stay at the Colon II make sure you don't get a ground floor room, get a room overlooking the pool.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

8 years 11 months ago
this was my second visit to to colon, and there was no diffrence to my last review in reguards to how well kept this complex is kept,

the rooms are very well kept clean, very roomy, we stayed in a two bedroomed apartment on the sunny side (none pool)we had a very large patio with a large wooden table 5 chairs, and four sun loungers, and room to play 5 a side football,

now i'm sorry but for some of the rules has changed or been ignored by the hotel staff since my last visit reguarding putting towels on sun beds and leaving them on for hours on end and not returning till mid afternoon, i did ask the reception but they was inclined not to do anything about it, then i approached the so called thompson rep, she was as much use as a ashtray on a motorbike at best of times, her reply was its not my job,

but apart from some noise issuse from some younger groups, i enjoyed most of my stay
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Nikki Robinson
9 years ago
The accomodation at Colon 11 is exceptional.

We had a 1 bedroom apartment, with our 2 teenage daughters staying in an adjacent studio. the rooms are big, and ours had 2 huge balconies, which had the sun from lunch time till 8pm. the cleanliness in our rooms and throughout the complex was excellent.

Possibly the only thing to improve would have been to have air conditioning, which would allow a better nights sleep. We tried sleeping with the balcony doors open, but would have heard a few revellers on their way home!

Location is absolutely perfect! you are in the perfect spot for either hectic nightlife or more family orientated entertainment.

Staff were very friendly, with nothing too much trouble.

'The pub' at the complex was closed whilst we were there which was a pity.

We would definately have no hesitation in booking this complex, and our daughters said that they would even stay there with a group og their friends.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: independent

Recommended
BAKER
9 years 3 months ago
This was the first time we had self catered it was absolutely fabulous. Apartment was beautiful, lovely sea view enormous balconies. Well equipped kitchen. Staff absolutely spot on - reception was most helpful at all times.
We really felt that we had had a holiday, time did not matter.
Pool area was spotlessly clean and well maintained.
Pool bar staff most friendly and always helpful and polite.
Library was most useful read the books I took and exchanged them for a couple more. I would recommend these apartments to anyone.
It anybody chose to complain then they must be born complainers. It was absolutely brilliant.
Hope to go next year. Wish we had not booked a hotel in October but too late to cancel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: THOMPSONS

Recommended
Maya Blair
9 years 5 months ago
Colon II was immaculately clean, in a good position, near to shops and nightlife, but quiet enough to get a good nights sleep. Staff were friendly and welcoming, we could not fault anything.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Dave Batley
9 years 9 months ago
This place is a credit to the owners and staff.From the first impression outside the building the cafe bar and reception.

The reception staff are very welcoming.Good basic menu at the pool bar reasonable prices for food and drinks.The rooms and the whole complex are spotless.

At this time of year the pool area does not get the sun.Apart from up the left hand side looking from the pool bar.This made for a mad dash to reserve sunbeds up that side.In the list of rules and regs you are given on check in ,reserving sunbeds is not allowed.This was cured the second morning of our stay,the girl on reception whipped all the towels off the unoccupied sunbeds and piled them up in a corner.This occurred a few times during our 2 week stay.Very funny .

The resort is very good with something for everyone .If you want loud music and nightclubs,turn right.The family bars are to the left.The lucky men and other sellers are not allowed in the bars.Though if you are sat outside they do approach you.Though they are not as bad as in some places,and move if you tell them no.

All in all a great holiday a great place to stay,and the thomson rep Gemma was very friendly though being a rep at colon 2 must be easy,with the lack of complaints.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
9 years 10 months ago
we have just come back from staying at colon 2 apartments,we would like to say that they are excellent,they are very clean and well maintained apartments ,they staff are very friendly and helpful,the location is exellent,the food bar at the side of the pool is excellent and very well priced,we would definitely go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.