37 independent reviews of the Coral Beach Aparthotel
Address: Calle Noelia Afonso Cabrera, 0, 38640 Arona, Spain
Coral Beach Aparthotel
Coral Beach Aparthotel Location
Ranked #18 of 80 hotels in Playa de las Americas


4/5
Coral Beach Aparthotel Coral Beach Aparthotel is rated 4.11 out of 5 from 37 Reviews
81% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (37 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 5 stars

Coral Beach Aparthotel Reviews

4/5
4

Paul and Tina stayed at Coral Beach Aparthotel in August 2010
Ok, well where do i start? After reading some reviews before i left we didn't seem too worried as pre 2009 were mediocre and nothing really that major to worry about but post 2009 seem to be fairly positive due to the renovation of the hotel a year before.

What i am just about to write is the truth, we arrived at the hotel and were pleasantly surprised by the junior suite we had booked it was spacious and modern, infact it looked just like a room that was in an Ikea showroom, we had a massive bathroom with a huge walk in shower with modern design. The Kitchen area was an adequate size and beds were comfortable so that was fine for us as we are only there to sleep, the staff were friendly and polite and would see to ...
anything you asked of them straight away.

In 2009 the hotel was made an over 18s hotel only which is why we were attracted to the hotel in the first place so plenty of peace and quiet especially around the pool area which was cleaned and tested everyday. The pool area itself was immaculate, in fact its probably the cleanest pool i have ever swam in and the spa beside it was fantastic.

Now here comes the negative bit! If you ever stay at this hotel i strongly advise not to go half board as we regretted it. The food was lousy, the breakfast was average at best but the lunch and evening menus were diabolical although the food was hot you had two choices with chips, chips and more chips with a dried up salad bar by 3rd day of our holiday we ate out as there are plenty of places to eat and in Americas you will never go hungry so don't worry if you are a first timer at this hotel or resort.

All in all we had a fab holiday here and are already planning to go back and yeah we will be going back to this hotel cos we loved it, just a shame the food was not up to the standard of there cleanliness but we will definitely not be going even bed and breakfast but simple self catering.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4
"Already planning to go back"
Paul and Tina had a holiday at Coral Beach Aparthotel, Playa de las Americas, Spain in August 2010
Ok, well where do i start? After reading some reviews before i left we didn't seem too worried as pre 2009 was mediocre and nothing really that major to worry about but post 2009 seem to be fairly positive due to the renovation of the hotel a year before.

What i am just about to write is the truth, we arrived at the hotel and were pleasantly surprised by the junior suite we had booked it was spacious and modern, in fact it looked just like a room that was in an Ikea showroom. We had a massive bathroom with a huge walk in shower with modern design. The Kitchen area was an adequate size and beds were comfortable so that was fine for us as we are only there to sleep. The staff were friendly and polite and would see ...
to anything you asked of them straight away.

In 2009 the hotel was made an over 18s hotel only which is why we were attracted to the hotel in the first place so plenty of peace and quiet especially around the pool area which was cleaned and tested everyday, the pool area itself was immaculate, in fact its probably the cleanest pool i have ever swam in and the spa beside it was fantastic.

Now here comes the negative bit! If you ever stay at this hotel i strongly advise not to go half board as we regretted it, the food was lousy the breakfast was average at best but the lunch and evening menus were diabolical although the food was hot you had two choices with chips, chips and more chips with a dried up salad bar by 3rd day of our holiday we ate out as there are plenty of places to eat and in Americas you will never go hungry so don't worry if you are a first timer at this hotel or resort.

All in all we had a fab holiday here and are already planning to go back and yeah we will be going back to this hotel cos we loved it, just a shame the food was not up to the standard of there cleanliness but we will definitely not be going even bed and breakfast but simple self catering.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Mick & Gail had a holiday at Coral Beach Aparthotel in May 2008
We booked this hotel through the internet, as we noticed that it had been renovated in 2006, one site we checked described room facilities with air-con, and hair dryer (the wife\'s thing, honest!!!), so half board for a week break, The pool area was crammed with sun loungers but additional cost for padded cushions for the beds, we found that the hotel played their choice of music over the speaker system and later into the holiday guests were playing their chosen music loud from their rooms, this was a little annoying,
The food faled to meet the hot food standard and what was prepared was either over or under cooked, we also booked for a barbeque night, where the food was prepared earlier in the day, the pork chops were cooked dry, and the chicken was slightly undercooked.
The rooms were ...
spacious, but the beds were too hard for my liking. The patio door had no security and the noise from other guests moving their furiture above us was very intrusive.
This hotel was clean and the rooms were seen to at regular times, the staff to be fair were always courteous and helpful.

Read More

Tour Operator: Booked through internet
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

sue and jim had a holiday at Coral Beach Aparthotel, Playa de las Americas in October 2007
would not stay half board again as food was very poor, most nights you had to guess what food was and was over or under cooked the sweet menu was jelly blamonge or icecream lots of complaints, hotel was loveley clean, rooms were nice, beds not to comfy with thick plstic covers. as self catering dont supose you could get better ,was in great loacation if you dont mind a walk to the beach, about 15minute stroll .hotel staff were nice. resturant staff hard work.there was no entertainment watsoever maybee was to late in the year.i would go back but self catering only. if youve never been to las americas its great a shoppers paradise coral beach was in great location too

Tour Operator: sunset thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Cathy stayed at Coral Beach Aparthotel, Playa de las Americas, Spain in August 2007
The clealiness was really good the hotel was relali good packed with both young people and families aswel as people of different cultures!
A walking distance from Veronicas ! highly recommended
Staff in the hotel were very cooperative! as we decided we wantd a pool view room and asked the very next day we got what we wanted! they were always smiling and keep the key for you! thats good if you love to party!

Tour Operator: not sure

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Sandra Henderson visited the Coral Beach Aparthotel in July 2007
Enjoyed the location of this hotel as quiet but near enough to the beach shops and night-time entertainment.

The pool was very dissapointing as it only was suitable for small children and people who are confident swimmers as you could not reach the bottom of the pool in the other sections.

Did not actually eat any meals here as it did not appeal to us just by what we did have from the poolside bar (tasted awful).

Rooms very basic which is fine but big enough for what you need.Maid service is good and actually gets cleaned more than is stated in brochure.

Staff tend to acknowledge the English people last and very laid back.In the 2 weeks we were there we only seen the scuba diving demonstration 1 fashion show no other entertainment was on even though stated that there would be.

But overall we still had a good holiday.

Tour Operator: Dawson And Sanderson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Roberts stayed at Coral Beach Aparthotel in April 2007
Half-Board food selection limited, sometimes not hot.
Hotel Staff were friendly, the room was basic but clean.

Plenty Sun-Beds But needed to get there early for one though. bit too far from the beach and didn\'t really stay in for the entertainment so can\'t comment.

But we still had a good holiday though!

Tour Operator: Freedom Flights
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

BRIAN & MARY SMITH stayed at Coral Beach Aparthotel, Playa de las Americas, Spain in September 2006
We stayed at this hotel ten years ago and decided to go back again as we liked it the first time. The hotel is lovely and the apartments are the best we have stayed in, they are very spacious and well equipped.

One disappointment was that the hotel is starting to cater for the 18-30 group the hotel has rules around the pool about the playing of radios so now the reps turn their own music up so you don't get any peace and they have a rule that no lilos in the pool but some days you could not swim because there was so many in the pool and this was adults, you can see this is accident waiting to happen.

We would still recommend this hotel for staff friendliness and location, but would suggest it is more for under thirties age group.

Tour Operator: EXPEDIA

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Stacey had a holiday at Coral Beach Aparthotel in August 2006
I stayed at the Coral Beach Aparthotel on a self catering basis.

I found the hotel to be very clean and tidy and the staff extremely friendly and helpful.

The location of the hotel was excellent, situated extremely close to all amenities. No taxis required.

The entertainment programme was spot on for both adults and children and the entertainer was a top bloke.

I would definitely visit the Coral Beach again.

Tour Operator: Thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

ian visited the Coral Beach Aparthotel, Playa de las Americas, Spain in August 2006
We were moved to these apartments 2 days into our holiday as our original apartments were not suitable.

the apartments are spacious and very clean, the staff are helpful, there is entertainment day and night for adults and children.
Max the entertainment staff was great, very lively and energetic.

pool very deep all over but there is a separate childrens pool.

the only down side is the hotel is for families and young groups, and it can get a bit noisy sometimes when the young groups come in, in the early hours of the morning.



Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

laura stayed at Coral Beach Aparthotel, Playa de las Americas, Spain in July 2006
After travelling to Tenerife 3-4 times a year we decided to stay in the Coral Beach.. After arriving we were very impressed at the cleanliness and how friendly the staff were on our arrival.

Our rooms were very clean and spacious with all amenities. Our only concern was the noise of the bin men 3am in the morning which woke you up. But overall our stay was excellent and i would recommend this hotel.

Tour Operator: Thomson's

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

terri hamish sam had a holiday at Coral Beach Aparthotel in July 2006
Hotel location ideal - no taxis required.

Arrived very early morning. Apartment quite spacious,
unfortunately facing the main road lots of traffic noise all the time.

This is not a family hotel their were lots of teenagers staying at this hotel with not much regard
for anybody else staying there. At 5-30 in the morning you can hear them coming in from their night
out shouting swearing and arguing.

The pool is not very big with no shallow end while I
was lying round the pool teenagers started drinking at lunchtime getting louder and louder very intimidating, and my son refused to join us, their is a baby pool should you wish to use it

My stay lasted two nights and then along with other guests we removed ourselves from these apartments.

Tour Operator: lowcostbeds
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Nichola had a holiday at Coral Beach Aparthotel, Playa de las Americas in October 2005
The hotel is in a good location,short walk to the beach and nightlife.

The room was large enough for 2,although if you plan to cook in your apartment there is only 2 small cooking rings.We didnt use the pool area as it got quite busy at times.

We did get a lot of noise at 6am one morning from the apartment below ie shouting and screaming and glasses being smashed. I persume these people were told about their noise levels as we had no other problems from them,apart from other people walking along the corridor and doors being slammed.

We went self catering so cant comment on the food,and we were out every night so we didnt use the hotel entertainment.We did have a couple of drinks from the bar,bar staff very friendly and make great cocktails.

Not the best hotel Ive stayed ...
in,but after talking to a few people in the resort there are far worse out there.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

choc visited the Coral Beach Aparthotel, Playa de las Americas in August 2005
Hotel was clean and tidy.

Room was very spacious and we had a large balcony terace, only two beds on arrival and a sofa bed, which our two children were supposed to sleep on but one being older and very tall when the younger and smaller one got into bed it tipped up, so we asked for another bed and it arrived very quickly, but we was told that they might not have enough.

The food wasn't very good, we decided to eat out nearly every night, as we didnt know what we were eating, which made a considerable dent in our budget. We averaged between 120 euros a day, on top of drinks and pressies, so this holiday cost us a fortune that we didnt have.

Lots of drunken people arriving home and chanting all the way up the hill, ...
then promtly throwing up, then the bin men or delivery people, so not much sleep.

The pool very deep all way round.

We had someone throw a plate at our door at 10.30 we tried to get in contact with reception but after twenty minutes my son run down to report the incident. but told security will not be in until 11, it was dealt with.

Hotel staff very friendly.

Drinks expensive, including soft drinks. crisps pricey too.
You have to hire everything from kettles to electric fans, and thats not cheap either. Two fans costs us 70 euros plus 20 deposit. Be prepared to pay out.

You have to hire the safe too.

I would go back to Tenerife, but not this hotel.


Read More

Tour Operator: thomas cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Jo & Kids stayed at Coral Beach Aparthotel, Playa de las Americas, Spain in August 2005
We stayed at the Coral Beach from 26th Aug - 2nd Sept. We were very pleased with the location - it\'s a short-ish stroll in one direction to Veronicas and Starcos (if that\'s your kind of thing) and an even shorter stroll in the other direction to the beautiful Mare Nostrum/Parque Santiago area, with all the shops and the fountains in the Safari shopping centre, which was where we went most evenings.

The surrounding area has a lot of top-quality hotels, the Coral Beach is NOT one of them; however, we found it clean and comfortable enough for a budget last-minute week.

Our studio had two beds and a big sofa bed, and still seemed reasonably spacious even with the sofa bed in use.
There was a small kitchen area with cooking rings, oven, fridge and all utensils. We were half-board, so ...
we only really used the fridge to store plenty of cheap drinks (pop, wine and beer) and local fruit from the supermarket, I also made sandwiches for our lunch on the days we weren\'t out and about.

The bathroom was lovely, clean, white and spacious, with clean towels on four of the seven days we were there.
Our balcony door didn\'t seem to lock, and on the first night I was very concerned to find my daughter sleepwalking on our 5th Floor balcony, so I put a heavy chair in front of the door every night after that.

The pool was deep (5-6ft) all over (apart from the separate kid\'s section), but this wasn\'t a problem for myself or my teenagers. It was lovely and refreshing in the heat of the day. There were plenty of sunloungers; this hotel tends to attract the 18-30s age group who don\'t wake up until mid-afternoon, so getting a sunbed in the morning isn\'t usually a problem. You can hire a comfy sunbed cushion from the pool bar for 1.5 Euros a day.

Drinks at the pool bar are quite expensive, but a lot of people (including us) just had their own drinks and snacks (crisps, fruit etc) from the supermarket. As long as you\'re reasonably discreet about it, nobody seems to mind. I usually took a selection of cans of pop and a bag of sandwiches down to the pool mid-morning, and it was never a problem. Ice-cream cornets at the pool bar are very reasonably priced and delicious too!

The hotel food was okay, but very limited in variety. I think this was mainly down to the fact that most guests are self-catering, so the chef obviously didn\'t see much point in cooking lots of different things for just a small handful of half-board guests.

We went half-board because it was a late deal and it only cost a tiny bit more than self-catering, but if you have to pay a lot extra then half-board isn\'t really worth it when you can get huge breakfasts down near the beach for just a couple of euros.

The entertainment was extremely \'cheesy\', (bingo, quizzes etc) but the drinks in the hotel are a bit cheaper than if you go out into the town. After the first couple of tedious nights we went out to \'The Strip\' or \'The Patch\'.

Watch out for cockroaches when you\'re out at night! One night I felt a tickle on my arm - thinking it might be a mozzie I looked down to brush it off, and it was HUGE cockroach, the size of a mouse, sat on my arm!!! If you look while you\'re walking around at night you\'ll see them scurrying around the walls and pavements - probably best not to look too hard!!!

I had some spray, so I sprayed our studio\'s doorways before we went out. It\'s a good idea to spray the insides of your suitcases a day or two before you go home, although I never actually saw any creepy crawlies in our 5th Floor studio.

The JMC reps were very helpful and although they obviously wanted to push \'their\' expensive excursions, they were very interested to hear about our day trips which I booked locally and much cheaper.

We went out on three of our seven days there. On the Sunday we went on the Freebird Catamaran (booked with the JMC reps), on Monday we went on a trip over to La Gomera and on Tuesday we did a combined trip to Teide and Loro Parque. The Gomera and Teide/Loro Parque trips were booked with a lovely helpful local agent just over the road, down the side of the Vulcano Hotel, they were very reasonably priced and weren\'t available through JMC anyway.

We had a nice week, would have preferred 10/11 days, but that option wasn\'t available and we couldn\'t do two weeks because the kids had to be back in school! I would certainly recommend the Coral Beach for a cheap and cheerful place to sleep, shower and sunbathe. There\'s not much there for the little\'uns, but that wasn\'t a problem for my teenagers anyway.

If you\'re in Tenerife to enjoy the resort and the island, the Coral Beach is a good comfortable place to stay.

Read More

Tour Operator: JMC (Thomas Cook)

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Sarah had a holiday at Coral Beach Aparthotel in July 2005
Myself and my partner were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the Coral Beach.
We found it to be very clean and very spacious. We did not see one coackroach - thankfully!!

We did not eat at the hotel as we ate out in the many restaurants around the resort.

The location of this hotel is good. It is a short walking distance to the main bars / restaurant, but far enough from the noise. There are lots of supermarkets nearby, which proved to be handy.
There was some works being undertaken opposite the hotel during our stay, so the view from the balcony was not much to be desired, but there was not a lot of noise.

Most of the staff at the hotel were very friendly and extremely helpful. We had a couple of faults in our apartment on arrival and notified the ...
reception immediately and went out for something to eat. When we returned the faults had been repaired.

The entertainment was very sparce and not very organised, however this did not bother us as we did not spend much time in the hotel anyway.
We did attend the barbecue that they hosted at the hotel and I must say that the food and drink was fantastic - very good value as well!!

The swimming pool is very enticing, however it does not have a shallow end, which I thought was very strange!! It was a bit of a problem as you could not stand up in it, but still nice and refreshing.

The only problem that we encountered whilst staying at this hotel was the level of noise in the corridors. I think that the hotel is divided into two sides and it appears that families are on one side and young adults / teenagers on the other.
Being young adults we stayed at the noisy part of the hotel.
There were lots of doors slamming, people arguing during early hours of the morning and loud music, but we just shrugged it off.

Read More

Tour Operator: JMC

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Emma had a holiday at Coral Beach Aparthotel, Playa de las Americas, Spain in July 2005
Our flight was delayed so by the time we got to the hotel we had missed our evening meal.

We explained this to the staff on reception and as they had no way of helping us that night they offered us lunch for free the next day.

The rooms were larger than we expected and even though we didn\'t get a room overlooking the pool the noise from the main road was very minimal.

The pool was quite deep and we were unable to stand up in the main part of it but there were always enough sun loungers around the pool.

The food a breakfast was a bit repetitive and in the evenings was sometimes not labelled so we did not know what somethings were.

For a group of 6 18 year olds we found that the hotel suited most of ...
our needs. It was a 10 minute walk at the most from all the main bars and clubs which meant that we were close enough to walk and save money on taxis.

If we were to visit again we would probablly go self catering as sometimes the food left a lot to be desired.

Read More

Tour Operator: JMC

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Speth and Cam visited the Coral Beach Aparthotel, Playa de las Americas in July 2005
The hotel was in a great location, there were supermarkets near, the beach was really close and so was Veronicas and Starcos complex. For our type of holiday this was perfect.

The swimming pool wasn\'t the cleanest, Cam swam into a patch of what looked like sick?!

Bar food was ok but a bit pricey. The hotel bar was nice, the staff were friendly but drinks were far more expensive than anywhere else.

Watch out for towel thieves though!!!

While we were there the age group was pretty young, we were all there for the clubs so there were plenty of parties going on in the hotel, probably not the best for young families.

The rooms had no air conditioning so at night they got very hot, you could hire a fan but this was out of our limited price range (we needed all our ...
money for alcohol!)
Playas nightlife was pretty good, have to recommend Rags as the place to go, even though you can barely move when its packed its worth it.

If you\'re going have a good time!!!!!

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

karen and mike had a holiday at Coral Beach Aparthotel, Playa de las Americas, Spain in June 2005
Arrived at this hotel late afternoon, hotel was lovely and clean, the rooms very clean too, couldnt fault the staff they were very helpful at all times.

We did hope for a room over looking the pool but i suppose they cant please everyone.
They are still buildng a hotel accross the other side of the road but this didnt bother us any.

Didn't use the hotel entertainment as there was much more going on outside in the clubs.
I have to say the food was fab, choice was different every night.

Our rooms were cleaned throughout except Wednesdays and Sundays for staff days off, you have to remember to place dirty towels in the bath if you want them changed or they will leave them.

Tour Operator: co-op travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Laura stayed at Coral Beach Aparthotel, Playa de las Americas, Spain in June 2005
Me and my cousin went in June. The hotel was very clean. We went self catering but the poolside food was ok.

We found the location of the hotel was just about perfect, it was about a 10 minute walk to veronicas strip where all the night life is going on, so we didnt have to spend money on taxis and could spend more on the booze.

The staff were helpful when we broke our room key and were also very friendly, I didn't think much to the hotel entertainment but I would def go again. But don't forget flip flops for around the pool the tile flooring gets very very very hot and burns your feet.

Its also a good idea to book some trips we booked a bar crawl and a booze cruise. The bar crawl was great ...
because it was our first night we went around nearly all the bars and clubs, we then knew for the rest of the week which were the best ones to go to and where to find them.

The booze cruise which were fun taking part in the drinking games and relaxng on the boat, and also seeing the dolphins.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Other hotels in Playa de las Americas

5 star Hotels
4 star Hotels
3 star Hotels
2 star Hotels
1 star Hotels
Share