Image of Gran Oasis Resort Hotel

Gran Oasis Resort Hotel

53 of 82 hotels in Playa de las Americas

3 out of 5 from 43 reviews
3 stars
Gran Oasis Resort C/ Meandro, 3, 38650 Arona (Tenerife), Spain
Set beside the Playa de las Americas Golf course, this attractive property enjoys stunning views over the course to the sea beyond. A great choice for families, this resort offers an excellent range of facilities and enjoys a charming, peaceful setting.

43 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    16
  • Good
    14
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Laine
8 years ago
This complex is not for those who have difficulty walking, or for those with small children. As reported there a too many steps to the appartments.
Now then.. where do i start? on arrival we where greeted by the very pleasant staff. I say this and mean it. I could not fault anyone of the hard working people of this complex.
My main gripes really are there is no air con, and at high 30 is a must. Fans could be rented for 18 euro a week. Two measely channels on tv.. CBNC and euro sport. Okay you dont go on holiday too watch tv, but the whole place closes down at 11.30ish and in the heat it is impossible to sleep. The point i am making is they have the sky dishes there, so why not let people watch the TV for free instead of charging 4 euro per day. Another moan is the sun beds!! 4.30 am and that is nearly too late to get one. Although i saw the area around the pool being cleaned, i did not see the pool itself being cleaned, and it was rather dirty. The sunbeds themselves could have done with a good scrub.
The food was random, i say this meaning fish with pasta etc. Nothing seemed to go together. Kids menu no better, and it was chips or pasta, nuggets or fritters.
Considering the amount of people in the place, one main bar was opened in the night. The entertainment started far to early for those who where on the late sitting for dinner had no chance of waching it.
I would go back to the complex if all of the above where addressed. It is not the worst place on earth. The staff are lovely, and overworked.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Katrina
8 years ago
first of all we came to this hotel 25th august for 2 weeks self catering we were greeted with friendly staff who gave us a map to our appartment it was late at night and there was no were to get food or drinks unless you wanted to pay 2 euros for a small cup appartments were very clean to a high standard the cleaners spent a lot of time cleaning each appartment and i thank them very much as they did a wonderfull job the next 2 days were a struggle having to go and walk to find somewere to eat we then decided to try all inclusive for one day to see what it was like as we have never done all inclusive before and after reading the reviews on the food i was not willing to pay for the rest of the holiday until i tried it well what can i say the food was great i have two children who are very picky and as there were so much on offer they ate more than they ususly do at home we also tried different food we dont normaly eat at home there was a great choice of food all the time if this hotel keeps it up great we have already booked for nexy year and this hotel is going from streangth to streangth as for the steps there are slopes to everywere and it does state in the brochores about the steps but we had no problems even with our youngest who is 5 he managed the steps fine the entertainment could be better but it was still great the pools were clean and there were plenty of sunbeds to go round we had a great time the first choice reps were a godsend our kids loved every minuet of their entertainment giving us chance to relax i hope they are back next year as the reason we have booked again is because the kids loved the reps and we all loved the food what a great hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
8 years 1 month ago
have just returned from my holiday at this hotel . the first week we were there the food was good quality . but the second week was alot more busier and the staff struggled to keep up with making sure there was enough food put out on many occasions we had to wait for food to be cooked or brought out only by us asking for it to be replaced . and the quality of it seemed to get worse as the week went on . the pool area is lovely lots of room not crowded but you do have to get up at 7 to get a sun bed . the most annoying thing about this hotel is the fact there is no air con in the rooms . the rooms are lovely on 2 floors ,the stairs are very dangerous but we managed to not have any accidents with 2 children not suitable for small kids .we hired 2 fans for our rooms which cost 75 euros alot of your holiday money to be spent on keeping cool . also we had to pay 40 euros for the safe in the reception so 115 euros of our money went on that didnt think this was very good for a 3 star hotel .the entertainment was awful they really tried but it was one lady on her own doing her best . the shows they had come into the hotel were good but the reps and staff didnt really have a clue what was going on really . the blonde lady was great really funny but she couldnt manage on her own the hotel really need to put more money into their entertainment . i did feel that the hotel would save money where ever they could . we did enjoy ourselves and had a nice holiday here but there are lots of things that need improving on this hotel . probably wouldnt go back .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel republic

Sutherland
8 years 1 month ago
We were NOT all inclusive. We paid
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

Robin & Sandra Sidebottom
8 years 5 months ago
Oasis Golf Resort is a nice resort with good apartments and three good pools. The apartments are two stories and have a patio and a balcony and are well equipped. The downside is the location and the on-site prices. There is a supermarket with prices in the region of twice to four-times those in local supermarkets but the nearest one is a 20 minute walk down 'cardiac hill' and a 5 euro taxi ride back. It is a 40 minute walk to the bars, shops and restaurants in the centre of Los Cristianos.
The safe in our apartment was 'broken' so we had to pay 20 euros to use one in reception and we would have had to pay 4 euros a day to watch the television. There is limited and very amateurish evening entertainment.
The resort is set on the edge of a golf course but is just by the motorway and can be noisy. The area between the resort and Los Cristianos is undeveloped and resembles a large builders dumping ground and is not a pleasant area to walk through at all, especially at night. If you are prepared to stay within the resort and not move out and are prepared to pay their prices it would make for a reasonable holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Rogers
9 years ago
I have just got back from a weeks stay at oasis golf.
I went with my husband and friends.

Our apartments were very nice cleaned 5 times a week.
We had an upstairs kitchen, lounge and balcony, then downstairs was bedroom and bathroom.

It was decorated to a good standard. My only problem was there were lots of steps to get to the rooms not suitable for anybody with walking problems.

The food seemed to get better as the week went on.
We always found something to eat.

There was a pool bar where entertainment was held.
Something every night, bingo, mini disco, Abba, Elvis.
Hotel in a good location for families.

The staff were keen on getting a good responce, hotel has only been AI this year I think it will improve as time goes on.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: family and friends

Recommended
Richard
9 years 2 months ago
We returned from Oasis Golf last week and we found the following:-

appt wasn't very clean, found lots of ants in the rooms, kitchen and bedrooms, only supplied with ant spray on the last few days.

The food wasn't brilliant, same food every other day. The children's meals were chicken nuggets and pizza, chips everyday!

There is only one bar pool open, we sat with our children next to the baby pool and had to walk over 300 yards to get a drink and bring it back. The selection of snacks in the day were limited. They provided only ham and cheese sandwiches in the day, no other selection.

We found and reported that two of the pools had excrement and were not cleaned immediately by the staff, one of these was the baby pool as well.

The entertainment was basic, same old things for the kids at night, mini disco was just 4 or 5 songs. The bar area at night was small for everyone in the hotel / appt.

Would not go back there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: own travel

Antony Clewer
9 years 6 months ago
Me and my parents stayed in this resort and we have the opinion below:

The room we stayed in was fantasic, lovely beds, shower/bath and kitchen( for morning tea/coffee) and a fully English Television.

The view from our apartment(38) was awful, nothing but roof after roof, no sea view at all :( also to get to our room we had to climb 84 large steps ( or face a STEEP HILL).

Meal times was an Absolute NIGHTMARE! You had to Queue to get a table for morning and evening meals.

The dayime entertainment was non-exsistant! The evening entertainment was very poor aswell.

The beach was a good 40 min walk from hotel or it would cost you 7 Euros there and back.

I WILL NOT BE RECOMMENDING THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

N Harley
9 years 9 months ago
Went to this Hotel in Nov 07 as two couples. Found the apartments to be very clean and well equiped. We were all-inclusive, but the kitchen was equiped well enough if you wanted to eat in.

Found the food to be fine. Nothing fancy but of a better standard than some other all inclusives we have been to. You cannot expect ala carte menu's on all inclusive holidays as they are catering for so many different tastes. They tried to vary the food by having theme nights too e.g. a mexican night and barbeque night.

The location is out of the centre of the Resort, but within easy reach by taxi. We walked in a few times too. Nice peaceful location.

Hotel entertainment was fine for sitting and passing a couple of hours, not professional standard, but if you are just on holiday to relax and go with the flow, it's fun. Plenty of activities throughout the day too by the pool.

I would definately visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Admiral

Recommended
Cath Jarvis
10 years ago
We visited this hotel mid august this year. We went all inclusive so that we could relax fully. The all inclusive was a new feature at this hotel. Breakfast was fine - quite a lot of choice and open for 2 1/2 hours. Lunch was the least good of the three meals - for vegetarians the food was great - lots of salad dishes, fresh parmasan, feta etc but for meat eaters the food was more erratic - the fish dishes were good and there was a great selection of cold meats but they were struggling to mass produce hot meat dishes successfully. Despite the negative reviews before hand saying that food was awful and limited for kids I thought it was okay and in the time we spent there we only saw chicken nuggets once!! One positive was that the hotel was very keen to improve its service and any complaint was dealt with promptly and successfully - for example queuing for drinks was solved by the installation of additional pumps. The evening meals were good - some theme nights and good choice. Overall I would say that the food was improving all the time - it was never undercooked as reported in previous reviews and it was fresh and reasonably varied.
Cleanliness - the hotel was clean with no litter. Rooms were supposed to have been cleaned for 5 days out of 7 - this was not our experience but it was not a major issue for us as we asked when we wanted it to be done and it was done. We had no complaint about the location as it was made very clear to us where the hotel was in relation to the tenerife area. The staff were fine.
The entertainment was good for children. During the day there was water polo and water aerobics and there was also a kids club. In the evening there was a disco for the children and then some adult entertainment. Personally this was not to my taste but nobody forces you to endure it - you can make your own entertainment. Although I didnt think much of it it was certainly no worse than I have had in other hotels.
I would visit this resort again. The accommodation was good - spacious and clean - if you were self-catering it would be great - good facilities - I think that this place has had bad reviews because it needs to decide what sort fo place it is - self catering accommodation or 4 star all -iclusive - once its decided on its identity it should then just go for it because potentially it has a great deal to offer for anyone. The place itself is great but do take the advice of the brochures - it is very hilly and would not be suitable for anyone with physical restrictions. This includes the insides of the apartments - stteep stairs separateing the different areas The sides of the pools are slippy, but no more so than any other pools that I have been to - young children will be perfectly safe if they are supervised properly!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.