Image of Mediterranean Palace Hotel

Mediterranean Palace Hotel

10 of 82 hotels in Playa de las Americas

4 out of 5 from 28 reviews
5 stars
Avenida de las Américas, 38640 Arona, Spain

28 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Suzanne
8 years 7 months ago
We stayed for 7 nights and were checked in promptly at reception and given a welcome drink. Our room was on the 5th floor overlooking the pool which was nice. The room was a little dated and in need of refurbishment, but it was clean, had enought hanging space, etc. The buffet breakfast was very good with lots of choice, although very busy, tables were at times very slow to be cleared. The beach in front of the hotel is lovely and clean. The downside for us was on our last two days the swimming pool and surrounding area was closed off to guests. A conference was being held at the hotel and all holiday guests had to use the pool etc at the sister hotel (Cleopatra), it was extremely busy and the sun loungers were all taken.
Thomas Cook did not inform their guests of this conference, we would certainly have chosen an alternative hotel as this spoilt the end of our holiday. Having the conference at the Mediteranean Hotel put pressure on the staff, we noticed a difference in their attitudes towards guests.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Pebble
8 years 8 months ago
Have stayed on many occasions in recent years. Rooms have become run-down, are clean, but greatly in need of a revamp. Supposed to be 5*, more 3*rooms.
Took this complaint up with management in 2007 & 2008. Assured that they were in process of upgrading. Our visit in 12/2008 showed that nothing had been done.
Pool area and restaurant have been completed, pool area is much improved. Foodhall is as described, like a cafe, dirty plastic chairs, tables plastic and too close together, food barely warm, cold plates and two toasters that take three threads to achieve toast. This is to serve several hundred people at once.
Staff are more than helpful and assist to every whim.
Sorry Med Palace, you need to spend money, otherwise the doorman will not be stopping non-guests coming in, he will be stopping guests leaving.
Will NOT be returning until revamped.
Plus side:
1.Location
2.Pool area
3.Staff
Pebble
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Self made

Recommended
Olivia
8 years 8 months ago
just back from the med palace in las americas. hotel just fab the staff grand and the food great. can.t wait to return. best holiday we have had in a long time
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
9 years 2 months ago
Having stayed here some 9 years ago, the standards have certainly not slipped.

Hotel is in good state of repair. Clean common areas. Bathrooms and bedrooms kept very clean. The staff could not be more helpful. Breakfast was a feast!! The pool area was lovely. For a bit of luxury try the Chill out pool on the 4th floor. 15 eur per person. Pampered by the staff, with towels, dressing robs, slippers. Complimentary papers, drinks, cocktails and snacks. Peace and quiet for adults only. Great views. A lovely pool almost to yourself.
The rooms are a little on the small side, but the hotel makes up for this in all other aspects.

After a disappointing stay at the RIU Adeje Apartments we checked out and booked in somewhere we knew would up to scratch and was not disappointed. Would certainly stay again on our next visit.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
Chris Garvie
9 years 8 months ago
We have just returned from a very enjoyable week at this hotel. The public areas in the hotel were clean and spacious with good decor. The bedroom itself was slightly small but kept very clean with a good sized balcony. We found the staff courtious and helpful and the service in the bars excellent. Breakfast was reasonable with large selection of hot and cold buffet although perhaps the canarians have not quite mastered the english breakfast! The pool area was vast with spacious sun-lounging areas although the water in the pool was quite cool. All in all a great holiday and we will be going to this hotel again next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: onthebeach

Recommended
Pebble
10 years 2 months ago
As already informed, hotel undergoing refurbishment, pool area, work going on all day,drilling,tile cutter, dust and workmen walking amongst sunbeds. Then they closed Cleopatra pool, causing even more havoc.wrecked the enjoyment of the hotel. Rooms are in the process of upgrading, started on sixth floor working down, manager allowed viewing of new room, made the others look like somewhere to store your cases.Leave it 6 months and then use this hotel, it will be back to how it was a few years ago.
We travelled with Thomas Cook, they emailed us the day before departure informing us of work being carried out, offered no alternative. We booked and paid for this holiday November 2006. Work on hotel commenced March 2007. We have complained !!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
JJ
10 years 3 months ago
Mediterranean Palace

Have stayed here on many occasions and have never been disappointed however on this occasion the hotel was undergoing re-tiling of the pool area which meant that sun beds were limited. Disappointed that we were not told of this work prior to arrival at reception. Constant noise from electric cutting tools and dumper trucks - real bliss. Being part of a complex, we were all able to use the accompanying hotels pool area. Hotel staff very apologetic. Hotel rooms need an overhaul, clean but tired looking. Believe it or not, would definitely return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Flightline

Recommended
Janet
10 years 6 months ago
My husband and I have just returned for a week at the Mediterranean Palace. We had had a quick look at it last year and thought that it looked good. Our initial views were confirmed in some areas and not in others.

The room was comfortable and of quite a generous size. The furniture and fittings were a bit dated and tired but perfectly adequate. We loved the position of our room, at the back of the hotel overlooking a busy roundabout and so there was lots to see from the balcony as we had our pre dinner drink.

The room was cleaned every day - a bit perfunctory on occasion but again no real complaint.

Staff were friendly and service was speedy and efficient. We managed to disable the room safe and someone came quickly to sort it out.

One of the reasons we had chosen this hotel was the roof terrace which was advertised as being nude sunbathing. We were very disappointed when we arrived to be told that this had changed. Take note all you naturists! The terrace is now an adult only zone where you pay 15 euros a day to sunbathe. This includes a drink and a fruit salad. There is a small plunge pool which is brilliant for cooling off. It was a lovely relaxing space and numbers are restricted and so should not become too crowded.

In the evening it is open as a bar and again is a great relaxing place to spend time.

The main hotel pool is very large and access to the beach is very convenient.

We were half board and the breakfast was very good - a wide choice and everything well presented and hot.

Unfortunately we did not find the evening meals so good. I don't know if it was the size of the dining room - it is huge - or the presentation - but we did not enjoy any of our meals there.

The food was at best lukewarm and at times cold and the choice seemed to reflect the scale of the catering. It felt like school dinners.

There is a choice of restaurants but for all expect one there is a supplement to pay. The other one included in the half board was much better and we ate there after the second night. We usually go half board. We like the convenience and the fact that you don't have to search around for a restaurant but if we return to the Med Palace we will go B & B.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: booked independnetly

Recommended
10 years 9 months ago
My husband and I stayed for a week in the Med Palace as a anniversary treat (no kids !!)

On arrival our room was not ready but we were given free drinks and lunch in the bar and told to come back in two hours which we did and the room was ready. The rooms themselves were clean, if not a little dated (black furniture era!) but we did get a great pool view and a lovely maid who cleaned every day and did a good job of it with fresh toiletries and towels every day.

The food was fantastic! You could not fault the choice, something for everyone.

The mini bar was too pricy and we did point this out (because if you don't who will?) so we purchased our evening tipple for the balcony from local supermarkets which are plentiful.

The pool towels was a bonus, you get a card at reception and use these to get clean ones every day, and you can use the other pools within the complex if you fancy a change. For anyone who is thinking about indulging in the spa centre then believe me you will not be disapointed. My first massage was fab and very relaxing pure indulgence!.

We didn't use the rooftop terrace but reports were good but I think that it might be nude sunbathing so check it out with reception (to spare your blushes). The hotel had a hairdressers, gym and plenty of places to sit and read with good coffee bars and snacks to be had. The Hotel had excellent security, you simply can't just wander in from the beach the gate has a card system and at night the main doors are secured by staff (if your not on the list your not coming in!!) people just want a nosy but no card, no entrance!.

Overall the staff were helpful, reception can be a free for all though(are the Brits the only nation to queue?) so be prepared to stake your claim at the desk!!

The good news is overall the Hotel is great and we are going back with our kids in Sept this time in a suite with plunge pool because they looked fab!

Some will say not a five star more a 4 but it's the sheer volume of ammenities that push this rating up and not the decor.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Karen & John
10 years 10 months ago
Really nice Hotel in a great location and well priced although probably would rate it as a 4* plus but netherless a really good Hotel with value for money.

Hotel was very clean as were the rooms which were cleaned regularly.

Food, breakfast was very good can't comment on the rest as we ate out for our other meals.

Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly.

Would definitley reccommend this Hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jet2.com & Relaxabroad.com

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.