Image of Pueblo Torviscas Apartments

Pueblo Torviscas Apartments

15 of 82 hotels in Playa de las Americas

4 out of 5 from 25 reviews
3 stars
Calle Valencia, 3, 38670 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
The attractive, simply furnished Spanish-style Pueblo Torviscas Apartments stand close to the seafront. There's a free-form pool with terrace and plenty of bars, restaurants and shops nearby.

25 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
John Williams
7 years 10 months ago
Pueblo Torviscas Room clean,cleaners very polite(I speak a little Spanish)A complaint-The light switch outside the door did not work,took 14 days to still not work.After 11 days we were told there was another switch under the fire box which worked.If you were about 2ft6inch you could see it.But if you are of normal height you would be in hospital with a cut head trying to find the switch.

The location is perfect for everything.44 Regent Street,great on site for food and entertainment.A tip for anybody going here,donot stay on the old market side as late disco with bottles,chairs and trees broken and unfortunately sex acts being carried out on the grass verge.Not very nice,especially if you have children with you.But we would go back here with reservations about the room location.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
8 years 4 months ago
Just returned from our 4th visit to this complex. As usual the place is spotlessly clean and very well looked after. It is excellently situated for the beach/bars/restaurants etc.

Do try the restaurant onsite - 44 Regent Street - one of the best around and have a drink with Manolo at his poolside bar! The breakfasts in Polly's pool bar are also very good value for money.

Slightly different range of ages this time than when we have been before - more families and a few groups of single sex younsters, but still very peaceful around the pool during the day. At times you could be the only one in the well kept swimming pools.

The quality of the apartments (booked through the management agency "Pueblo Torviscas") has gone down quite considerably. Ours was very poorly equipped if you wanted to cook yourselves (the only thing we do is make coffee!). No oven, just 2 rings & a microwave, no toaster, no fan, no iron. You have to pay for the safe and the TV was coin-operated. All these things have been included on our previous visits. I think if you went as a family this may add considerably to the cost of your holiday. Maybe the apartment should be rented on a "room only" basis and not "self-catering".

Also if you book on the complex do not have an apartment in Block A as this overlooks the local Faro nightclub which goes on till 6-7 am in the mornings. We did not have a complete night's sleep during our second week! Other blocks would not have this problem.

Overall still a lovely complex and we would return, but we would certainly be more choosy about location of apartment and will try to rent direct from an owner next time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
8 years 9 months ago
We stayed at the Pueblo Torviscas for the second time, we had stayed last summer with the family. On both occasions we had no problems whatsoever. The apartments were plenty big enough and were cleaned most days, with clean towells supplied. We found the reception staff very friendly and helpful. We had a problem withdrawing cash from the hole in the wall one day and the receptionist, without being asked, phoned our bank and passed the phone to us so that we could sort the problem out, for which we were most grateful. The apartments are in a great location, with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants catering for all tastes. We have booked again for a family holiday this summer and would not hesitate to recommend these apartments, which live up to their 3 star rating.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
Boschat
8 years 11 months ago
publo torviscas tenerife with thompsons big mistake.
just returned today this was our forth and last time there, the manageress was totaly unhelpful,we arrived on tues 11th november 2008 for 7 nights,i had asked for top floor pref over looking pool if possable, we were sent to our block f 1st floor to find that the lift was in pieces on the floor and did not work, and we were above regent 44 pub that was in middle of refit with building going on. i went back and asked manageress if we could move rooms as we were concerned about noise from building she told me building was finishing next day, i said this would be even worse because of the live music every night as we go to bed earlyish, she told me there was no live music this was a lie,she told me to come back next fri if we still wanted to change room.i then asked here how we were ment to get our suit cases upstairs, she replied carry them and walked off.
the rooms have gone down and are dirty i wrote clean me & dirty in the top of our mirror glass in bathroom when we first arrived it was there for three days before the cleaner wiped it off, our towels were changed once in 7 days and our beds were not changed at all.
this is a shame as we have had some really good holidays here and liked the place but the new manageress is horrible and a liar as ther was live music every night till midnight,she also told us our room had a see view this was not true we had a concrete wall and a tree and also had bars on our belcony we felt like we were in prison for a week, this is not how we like to spend our holidays, but they don't care once they have your money.
once i had carried our suit cases up stairs i pulled a mussle in my neck and sholder whitch spoilet it for me as we had booked siam park and all i could do was sit and watch the rest of the family.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

BEV AND ROBBIE
9 years 1 month ago
we stayed in these apartments on 26th september 2008 and can honestly say we had a fantastic week. the room was spotlessly clean, towels changed most days, lovely clean kitchen and well equipped too.the room was very big with a lovely terrace and great views. the staff were very friendly and polite and couldnt do enough to help in any way.we couldnt fault the restaurant, we arrived late in the evening and didnt get out to eat until 5 minutes before the restaurant closed but the staff still cooked us a lovel meal. we had a full cooked breakfast every day at the pool bar and it was lovely, proper bacon, lovely fresh cooked food all round. cannot fault it.there was an issue with sunbeds as there often is at hotels/apartments. whatever anyone says that people arent allowed to save sunbeds, they still get away with it. on a couple of mornings the sunbeds were chained together so that people couldnt reserve them, but even that didnt really work. The area around the swimming pool was abit in need of repair however we would definately come back to these apartments, we had a great time, even the time share touts didnt seem to be a problem this time round!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: AIRTOURS

Recommended
Sheila
9 years 3 months ago
We have just returned from having spent yet another holiday at Pueblo Torviscas,(4th time)it's a superb complex, spotless clean,excellent food on sight and well situated for the beach,Porto Colon, where there are plenty of places to eat and drink and the nearby harbour.There are 2 pools with plenty of beds and this year if the beds were left for too long with towels on and no one on them, the lifeguard came and took towels away, it stopped people grabbing beds all day and not using them,brilliant. We would recommend anyone to holiday there and guarantee they would go back again,we will be there again next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
10 years 2 months ago
Also known as Sunset Harbour (timeshare). Third visit to this complex in last 10 yrs.

Note the complex is shared, but you will find the aprtaments are one of the following
1. Privately owned
2. Resort managed
3. Thomson group
4 . Timeshare ( Sunterra)

They are mostly 1 bed or studio

I stayed in a one bed timeshare , and I would rate the fixtures as excellent, lcd tv (lounge), DVD, dishwasher. A washing machine and a Tv in bedroom would have been icing on cake.

Did rent a "resort manged" room for 1 day ( as late flight) these are very different, but acceptable (just)... although of course the resort and location are the same regardless.

On site entertainment a bit lacking for my tastes , pool cafe/ bar had acceptable lunch food, but always when out for dinner.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Private

Recommended
Christine Bentley
10 years 9 months ago
My husband and I had a third floor one bedroom apartment overlooking what used to be the place where the market was held, with views of the coast as well. The lounge/kitchen was very spacious with two settees, coffee table and chest of drawers with coin-operated TV that received foreign as well as English channels. Unfortunately BBC1 wasn't available although it was listed but we managed to see the soaps on ITV. There was a breakfast bar with four stools and a microwave, electric kettle and two electric rings. The bedroom had two single beds and a chest of drawers but there was lots of wardrobe space in the corridor between the lounge and the bedroom and we were able to have a wardrobe each and still have another cupboard left over. There was an electronic safe in one of the wardrobes which, of course, is always very useful.

The day after we arrived at the apartment the knob on the top of the toilet flush box came unscrewed but as soon as we mentioned it at reception it was logged on the computer and was fixed by the time we came back from our walk. Unfortunately the lift to our apartment on the third floor wasn't working when we first got there so we had to lug our cases up six flights of stairs but thankfully it was repaired after about the third day. The whole complex was very clean and well kept with the maid coming in every day except for a bank holiday when she didn't come one day.

We ate frequently at 44 Regent Street, one of the restaurants on the complex and found the food enjoyable. The bagettes and plough person's platter were especially delicious! The staff were very friendly, we attended one quiz and bingo session and a full house won me a free breakfast. The reception staff were very good, especially when it came to trying to contact the Thomson rep by telephone as that seemed the only way you can contact them now. I'm afraid 50c doesn't last long on the payphone but they let me use the phone on the desk. I only needed to contact the rep to find out what mode of transport we could expect for our transfers back to the airport as we were dropped off in a taxi on the way. Although there were people around the pool, the complex certainly didn't seem to be very full.

The market used to be over the road from the complex but has been moved further up the hill and is now behind the Hotel Fanabe. There is some work going on alongside the Pueblo Torviscas, to do with drainage I believe but shouldn't be going on for much longer. The complex is very close to two beaches, one accessed by steps over the top of the market site and the other off to the left and down a short hill to the beach by the port. I would definitely go to this complex again and possibly book with a private owner as our apartment was a Thomson one which was adequate but fairly basic and was needing a bit of redecoration and a private one would have more amenities.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
10 years 9 months ago
We booked a ground floor studio direct with the owners (although it was managed by Torviscas Management Services)which was ideal for two of us. It was a nice size and well equipped (toaster, kettle, microwave, tv, video, radio etc). It had a nice size patio and fairly private grassed garden.

The complex was mainly being used by the older generation which meant that it was lovely and peaceful (no kids!).

There is a pool bar, snack bar, restaurant and another bar. There was entertainment nightly although we rarely saw it. We ate in the restaurant on one evening and the food was excellent.

The pools were absolutely freezing but would be lovely had the weather been a little warmer

We would definately recommend this complex and are already looking to book our next holiday there.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
11 years ago
This is the 3rd time me, my daughter and grandson have stayed at the Pueblo Torviscas Apartments, the last 2 times booking independently. This year we actually had 2 separate apartments, as my daughter's boyfriend came along after the original booking! I stayed with my grandson in the originally booked apartment, my daughter and boyfriend in another, both studios. My apartment especially absolutely lovely, refurbished to a high standard, with everything we could want, including a washing machine, very important with a 6 year old!

We love this complex, it is always clean, everyone is very friendly, especially at Polly's restaurant, and the Colonial Bar, with David, 'entertainer extraordinaire'.

Pool area tended to be crowded, and towels WERE endlessly put on sunbeds to save them, which is so annoying!

All in all, a great complex, very close to a couple of beaches, and we will be booking again for October 2007.

Why risk somewhere else when you have found the ideal place!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Private booking

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.