Image of El Tope Hotel

El Tope Hotel

8 of 22 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz

4 out of 5 from 13 reviews
4 stars
Calzada de Martiánez 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
The hotel is located just 300m from the centre of Puerto de la Cruz with its many restaurants, cafés and bars and wealth of attractions such as the large artificial lake, Lido Martianez and the nature paradise, Loro Parque. There is a beach just 500m from the hotel.

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Pete Mayer
8 years 5 months ago
We stayed in March 2009 and booked a twin with Balcony. We were shocked to be taken down four flights of stairs (two staircases) no lift having to carry our own luggage to a Basement room. The room smelt damp and stale the ceiling was damp and the balony windows were stained and filthy from water pouring over a vegitated guttering when the lawn terrace above our Basement room was watered. We complained but to be told the hotel was full. The room furniture was tired and I would not give the room more than a 2* maximum. General hotel no more than a 3* compared to all other hotels in area. Would we book again with Thomson No will we go back to Puerto de la Cruz yes, and we have located a few quality places to stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

9 years 7 months ago
The El Tope used to be a Thomson Gold hotel - how the mighty have fallen!

Now it is a pale shadow of its old self, catering mainly for German guests and looking distinctly "tired".

There was plenty of choice in the dining room but meals were often cold and unappetising. The few waiters were over-worked, having to serve drinks and prepare tables and at dinner used plates were not cleared away.

The "superior" rooms were excellent, with spotless bathrooms and those at the back of the hotel, overlooking the pool area, had fabulous views of Mount Teide which, at the time of our visit, was snow covered. But beware the basic rooms below ground level - they do not have lift access.

No problems with towels on sunbeds - an irritating blight on holidays at the superb Thomson Gold Los Gigantes Hotel - as a young, enthusiastic pool attendant earns his modest tips as he promply delivers mattresses and parasols. There are, however, only about 80 beds for a hotel which can accommodate over 400 guests and even on a sunny January day there were none left by mid afternoon.

The steps down from the hotel (118) will prove a problem for the less mobile and the path on the roadway is also very steep.

Plenty to do in Puerto de la Cruz - a lively town which retains a lovely Spanish atmosphere in its attractive, tree-lined streets. A great selection of shops and, when we were there, the sales - with reductions of up to 50 percent - were in full swing in the covered shopping precinct.

Sadly, however, the El Tope Hotel was a great disappointment - we were expecting much better things after reading earlier reviews.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Tony
11 years ago
This is our second stay at a thomson gold the food is not bad the staff are good but hotel is on the side of a cliff(well it felt like it everynight).

This hotel is quite frankly not up to Thompson Gold standard entertainment is rubbish and to cap it all it takes bookings from people with kids.

All in all a poor hotel dressed up in gold colours but unable to deliver bronze standards.

If you want a hotel without kids stay away.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Louise
11 years ago
Enjoyed our stay at the hotel, There were only a couple of children staying in the hotel but they were well behaved. The food in the resturant was fine. I would visit the hotel again my husband and I had a relaxing week. The hotel is on a hill but its pretty good exercise walking it every night but would not recommend to people with disabilities. Overal a pleasant week.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
Liam Skoski
11 years 1 month ago
Good Hotel Overall, situated on a cliff sort of, with around 119 steps I think I counted with a few bars on the way down to the actual resort, not too well lit, but probably wont get mugged due to vast amount of bars and people about there.

Hotel was clean when we went, staff were extremely helpful, as soon as we arrived we received swipe cards (not keys) and the staff took suitcases up to the rooms for us.

Plenty of daytime entertainment going on with competitions and waterpolo, and awards evenings at night and average-good entertainment.

Restaurant served various types of food daily and it was very nice and well cooked.

A would be 5 star hotel only with its location making it a 4 star, I would return here and may be doing so this year!

Not for groups of teenagers wanting to go to bustling tenerife, but for families or people wanting a slightly quieter holiday with a few different nationalities there.

And the stories about cockroaches in Tenerife was a lie I didn't see ONE!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Phillips
11 years 11 months ago
Hotel very impressive, very clean, food very good but desserts very boring (six types of mousse every night, six types of ice cream, other choices very bland).

Brochure is correct about the steps -very steep, fine walking down but a killer walking back up, also the steps are not well lit at night so had taxis back every night, approx 3-4 euros. All hotel area is very steep.

Booked Superior room with wine, tea/coffee, bathrobes,etc - excellent as room also had large balconies (on first floor)with sun loungers. Sea view had sun on balcony all morning.

Entertainment was very limited, reps worked really hard but very few outside shows (2 a week).

Make sure you take the lift to the seventh floor, go on to the roof and the view is fantastic - they should really have sunbeds etc up there as the area is wasted at the moment.

Note there were children in the hotel - not many, but there were Spanish children/babies.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

12 years 9 months ago
Just back from the El Tope and it was gorgeous!! Had to trek up lots of steps at night and during the day to get to it, but it didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Bett And John
12 years 11 months ago
This is one of many Thomson Gold hotels we have stayed in and found everything the brochure says is true.

Cleanliness you cannot fault, everywhere you went was so clean.

Food was good but thought the veg could have been more interesting.

Location on a hillside but then one knows that before they go.

Hotel staff very good and helpful.

Must say though that the entertainment was of the worst we have ever had in a Thomson Gold Hotel. The best night of all was when we left the hotel and went out for the night.

The only thing wrong with the Hotel El Tope is the swimming pool, it is far too deep for weak swimmers, and they do not allow any swimming aids in the pool.

So yes we may visit this hotel again but when it is not so hot and we don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons gold

Recommended
Kevin And Claire
13 years 3 months ago
The Hotel EL Tope in Puerto de la Cruz was a very good hotel, even the steps down to the beach were not a problem. Very good for a walk in the morning.

The hotel was very clean and staff very friendly.

There was loads of room round the pool, you did not have to go down at 5 in the morning to reserve a sunbed, there was plenty for all.

The food was of a very good standard. Although it said that dinner was served til 9.30pm you really had to get there at the latest 8.30pm or they would start to clear up around you. We met a very Helpful waiter (Jose)who always made sure we had a good table for dinner.

Only saw the entertainment on a couple of occasions,I think that this was enough. The couple singing in the lounge bar upstairs fared much better, but the sound of the same song on an evening did get a bit much. Hence we did venture out on a couple of occasions and had a good time in some local bars.

Overall I can say that we had a very enjoyable peaceful holiday, with no children, which is what we especially wanted, and would definitely go back here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Fred
13 years 10 months ago
i really loved the hotel from the hotel staff to the restaurant staff. (salvador was fantastic) to the thomson reps who put so much time and effort in to their jobs. the entertainment was great and watch out for the rep show i cannot believe how much talent the reps and the entertainers have. the food suprised me as it was not rated highly in the brochure but was really nice, great variety and gala night was truly superb. this is a definite must for couples but if you have walking difficulties there is a lot of steps for you to climb. 5stars from me
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson gold

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.