Image of Monopol Hotel

Monopol Hotel

6 of 22 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
3 stars
Calle Quintana, 15, 38400 Puerto, Spain

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Resort great for all people
5 years 4 months ago
There is plenty of history about the place as well, keep a lookout for the "living Statues" they are fascinating. Loro Parque is only a little way away; there is a free train that takes you there. It goes all through the streets, it is a lovely way to go to Loro Parque, the park itself is a total delight, there are shows with the Dolphins, Whales, sea lions, absolutely stunning to see. The park itself is the best I have ever seen, it is spotlessly clean with plenty of places to eat or have a snack if you should so wish
At the other end of the island is Mount Teide, you can go on a coach trip, it is a bit of a distance, but well worth it the scenery is breath-taking.
Puerto De La Cruz was one of the best holidays we have had, and we will definitely be going back there!
If you go when we did in May you will see "Canary Day" where the whole town dresses in traditional Costume, there are floats etc, lovely tradition, the people are lovely.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sonya Ritchie
New year trip was fantastic
5 years 7 months ago
Stayed at this hotel over the New Year period, it was fabulous, the staff are friendly and welcoming, we had a gorgeous room with a balcony looking out onto the square for a gorgeous coffee and cake in the afternoon. The food was varied and tasty, there was even bubbly for a champagne breakfast if you wanted it. The hotel bar had a good atmosphere but the small touches such as the flowers decorating the hotel for the New Year period where simply beautiful, a great family business perfect for those without children and who like quality and good staff.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Hyde
8 years 8 months ago
Hotel was in an excellent location,central for everything. Our room had a small balcony,decor a little dated but very clean. Food was excellent, a different meat dish every night and numerous fish dishes and plenty of other things to choose from. Breakfast was fine aswell with plenty of choice in fact the food overall was excellent. Really nice staff ready to help at any time. Would definately go back to this hotel on future holidays to tenerife.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Ken And Helen Jones
11 years 7 months ago
The Hotel Monopol is idealy situated for town life withouth the need to walk into town.

With that comes the noise associated with town life. On the left hand side of the hotel is an alleyway with a bar at the end and another hotel.

If dark rooms and noise till 2am is what we wanted it would have been ideal.

We did complain about the room, because it was dark and noisy and were subsequently moved, but in honesty it was only a couple of floors up and on the same side, so the noise factor was not realy improved.

The room also had wallpaper and paint coming away from the walls. There are very few rooms with balconies, these apparently have to be booked as an extra.

The hotel was very clean and the maid service excellent. Food was of limited choice but good quality, occasionally items were not very warm.

The staff were friendly and helpfull.

We would not go to this hotel again unless we were guaranteed a room away from the alley and with a balcony.

Overall quite an expensive hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Pearldixon
11 years 11 months ago
We have stayed in the Monopol twice now and we will be going back to stay there over Xmas if we can get booked in which we are making enquiries now.

Bedding and towels were lovely and clean rooms were also very clean.

The location is perfect right close to all the amenities we find the staff very pleasant and very helpful at all times.

Breakfast was very good there is everything there you could wish for cereal, bacon, eggs, fruit yogurt, all kinds of bread, croissants what more can some one want.

It cost us 59 eur per night per couple I say that is very good value for money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: own transport

Recommended
Sue & John
12 years 2 months ago
This was my second visit to Puerto de la Cruz and I saw this hotel on my last visit. This is a small family run three star hotel and in my opinion far outweighs its 3 stars. Compared to the 3 star accomodation I had stayed in previously. We were on a bed and breakfast basis so I can only comment on this service but there was a vast selection of good quality options on offer, continental, fruit, cereals, yoghurts, pastries and a cooked breakfast too, even boiled eggs!.

The staff were pleasant on all occasions all the areas I saw were spotless, roof terraces included. Linen and towels changed every day, pool towels also provided.

Superbly located in the centre of the old town, some guests were on their 15th visit so it can't be that bad can it!

I also found flowers and a gift on my bed on the day of my birthday, this is one guest who will be going back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
Daniel
12 years 3 months ago
It was a clean ,nice hotel that has been rn by the galaxier family for over 75 years , the beach was a short walk away .

Shops were near, scenery was great.Mini train in the centre to take you to the populour loro parque (parr park).Hribo sweet shop close, along with souveneir, pizza,cake and lots more.

it may be a *** but feels like a ***** hotel.

definetly 100% reccomended.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Daniel M
12 years 3 months ago
The hotel was great! the staff was helpfull, great buffet food (which was great coz they had a italian theme buffet food),the rooms were cleaned by the maids everyday which was nice and no signs of any insects. Near the hotel is the train that takes you to lorro parque which was great (a bit pricey but worth the money).

Lots of souveneir shops and duty free shops , shops usually close about 9 o'clock (a couple a bit close earlier) , also there is a great view near by of one of the black-sand beaches and a cliff. You can also buy lunch nearby in the dessert shops or the burger king just a small walk away (which was quite cheap).

I would definetely reccomend this hotel to anybody!
- ***** -
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Clark
12 years 11 months ago
Very clean. A traditional simple unfussy hotel. Room was very large like a small suite, overlooking the Plaza Europa and the sea. Flowers everywhere, even in the toilet! Staff were friendly and helpful and the Manager superb. How often do you get to meet the Manager in person to thank them for an execllent holiday? Location right in the middle of town, walk out of the door any you are in the centre of Puerto de la Cruz. Breakfast was adequate with no real complaints. Pool area was small but ok, but how many hotels do you get the free use of a sauna and whirlpool bath. Main public area was very attractive and a sight not to be missed even if you are not staying at the hotel. Would definitely go here again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Grain
13 years 5 months ago
The hotel was very basic. The rooms were small and the wallpaper was peeling off the walls. The choice of food was very limited and often cold to get warm chips we played the 'waiting for fresh chips' game.
There were green rubish bins outside the hotel and they smelt terrible especially when they were emptied while we were having breakfast!
There were flying cochroaches we found 2-3 a day, I think they were attracted by the bins and flew in because the cleaners left the window open.
And don't expect early morning breakfast for early flights home, they made on they didn't know what we were talking about.
The final insult the early morning call when we were coming home was 90mins early about 2.30 and we couldn't even have a warm drink!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.