Image of Be Live Playa La Arena Hotel

Be Live Playa La Arena Hotel

3 of 7 hotels in Puerto de Santiago

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Calle del Lajial, 4, 38683 Puerto Santiago, Spain

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Couser
Hotel good, but bad experience
5 years 7 months ago
We carefully researched this hotel and until the penultimate day of our holiday it more or less lived up to its reviews.

On the last day of our holiday was our daughter’s birthday and we had brought cards and presents from home. The cards I had left in a pocket of my suitcase which turned out to be a big mistake. I retrieved the cards the night before her birthday only to find that they had all been ripped open and the money inside them had been stolen. Our daughter was devastated and I felt sick that someone could steal from what were obviously a child's birthday cards.

When confronted with what had happened the management made a token effort to find out what had happened. They interviewed the only two people besides ourselves who had access to our room, i.e. the maids, but then said we couldn't prove anything because the maids weren't the only ones with key cards i.e. we also could have taken the money. Although the managers made a token effort to make things up to our daughter, they had a cake made for her and a table decorated at breakfast. They refused to replace the lost money saying it should have been in a safe. We did have a safe but it never occurred to me someone could sink so low as to steal from a child. The holiday was spoilt by this incident and also by the way it was handled. The first choice rep sat on the fence throughout the whole thing.

Hotel is most of the things mentioned in previous reviews but it also does not want to know if things go wrong so be prepared. At the least buy a safe and don't trust anything to chance.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
J Holding
Would recommend
6 years 2 months ago
The hotel was great. It was clean rooms were spotless. The pools were clean with plenty of sunbeds. Food was good. The only fault was some of the staff, its costs nothing to smile and there was a few who didn’t know how to and were quite rude.

Apart from that it was great and would recommend this hotel to anyone
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Clegg
Stay at this hotel out of season you will be 100% satisfied
7 years 3 months ago
This was our third time to this hotel as it has always been a superb place to stay with excellent standards. It has now changed to all inclusive which usually means a drop in standard, however this hotel has kept up to its reputation and provided fantastic food throughout.

Our only disappointment was the number of guests staying at the hotel, there simply wasn't enough space to accommodate everyone and the pools were overcrowded, needless to stay no free sunbeds available after 8am! The queues for dinner were somewhat ridiculous and a suggestion would be to have two sittings.

We think if you stay at this hotel out of season you would be 100% satisfied.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Cox Family
8 years 3 months ago
Reading other reviews on this site before travelling still left us completely unprepared for the staggering quality of this hotel. Nothing can prepare you for the minute when you walk through the doors, past the courteous security officer (complete with luggage trolley as you step out of the taxi) for the breathtaking reception area with tropical plants trailing down from 6 floors above. The sheer scale of this place is jaw-dropping. All of the staff are smiling and friendly and every surface in every area is sparkling clean at every hour of the day. Our superior room on the 6th floor had stunning views of the pool area and over the sea to La Gomera. Maid service was daily with towel change and linen changed every other day. Note that the fridge only works whilst a card is inserted in the power slot - this took us 2 days to discover until the reception staff told us to leave our spare key in the slot (be careful as the maid will sometimes take it out again). Cannot fault the rooms at all but bring your own kettle if you like your daily cuppa!! Fantastic selection of British TV channels (including ITV1 and BBC1).

Food at all meals is the best we have encountered in 15 years of European travel. We found the menus were consistently varied over our 2 week stay, although they are a bit obsessed with Duck a l'orange!! Big plus - breakfast served 'til 10.30am so no early starts. Our 2 fussy children were never short of options. Drinks prices in restaurant very reasonable for this quality of hotel but do apply for a 'Spring Card' via the hotel website before you go - arrives by post in under a week and gives you 15% off all extras during your stay (including drinks and pool snacks).

Pool area kept immaculate. There was never a need to set the alarm to reserve sunbeds and there were plenty of umbrellas. Don't skimp on shade and sunscreen. Poolside thermometer gives air and pool temperatures - the latter never dropped below 30 degrees during our stay. The waterslide was a great hit with the kids.

Private hotel gate opens onto resort seafront. Resort has all the basics and we saw the cleaners out at all hours although party goers will find it too quiet.

The Hotel runs a courtesy bus to its sister hotel in Las Americas which makes quite a good day out.

You can walk the coastal path from resort to Los Gigantes (about 35 mins) - plenty of photo opportunities and Los Gigantes harbour has plenty of welcoming bars and restaurants. We went back and back to 'The Friendly Dolphin' and were always assured of a brilliant welcome from Sonia and Arthur. If you are there of an evening Sonia will be happy to ring for a taxi back to the hotel - great value at about 3 euros.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
David Henderson
8 years 10 months ago
The food in this hotel we found to be excellent. The staff were helpful, pleasant, and professional at all times. The hotel is very well maintained, and really well cared for. Has a luxurious "feel" in all areas. Found the quantity of sunbeds/ umbrellas to be more than sufficient. Easy to find a good spot. As mentioned in previous reviews Playa La Arena is a quiet area, not suited to anyone who likes plenty of life/clubs at nights. Not a lot of entertainment in the hotel at nights, more suitable for those wanting a quiet drink. Will visit again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Kerry Dedman'Brown
9 years 1 month ago
Well we were transfered here from the Ocean Resort at our request. This Hotel is perfect if you want a nice quite relaxing holiday, My husband and I wanted a nice rest without the children, and this met all our needs. Very peaceful food was excellent fillet steaks salmon fresh sea food lots of good food. The hotel staff were great and very helpful. The hotel manager Carolyn was a lovely lady who did her upmost to ensure we had a perfect holiday. They have just opened the sister hotel behind it and this is for familys and is all inclusive. I would not recommend this hotel if you have teenage children there is nothing for them to do.
The rooms are very clean and if you get a pool and sea view its fab!!what a view!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
Jackie
10 years 3 months ago
the hotel was spotlessly clean. there was a great variety of food each nght which would suit everyone. the location let the hotel down as the area around the hotel looked tired and needs updating. there is not enough shops or restaurants. most staff were helpful and friendly including the cleaners. entertainment not up to much and our children ended up providing there own entertainment ie cards, boardgames. fantastic pool area with plenty of sunbeds and parosols. very peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. would be tempted to try it again. would recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday.
only downside are the cockroaches plenty on the island but hotel do try there best to fumigate them. we did see 3 in our room in 10 days we stayed there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Tracy Thompson
10 years 5 months ago
Just returned from our first trip to this hotel and had to immediately write to say how fantastic the hotel is.

Rooms are very spacious. Food quality and choice is fantastic. Staff are top class and attentive.

Location is good, but be aware it can be a struggle with pushchairs as there are quite a lot of steep hills in the locality, but taxis are dirt cheap.

We have stayed in some amazing hotels throughout the world, but this really is the best.

Also note there is a mini club for the kids which is not stated in the first choice brochure. Available every day for 3 -12 year olds. You have to stay with the little ones though. It is run by a lovely italian girl called louanna and she does a great job with the kids.

If you like a hotel which is refined, friendly, and still has something for the yound kids, then this is the place to go.

Loro parque is a must. We hired a private taxi to drive us the 1 1/2 hours there, wait 5 hours, and then return journey for 100 euros. Entry to loro parque is 30 euro for adults, kids under 6 are free.

Will be going back next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
10 years 8 months ago
Just back from a really good week at Hotel Playa La Arena. Our side sea view standard room was massive and well furnished. As well as a shower over the bath there was a second shower in the bathroom. BBC1 and BBC World as well as ITV1 and usual news and sports channels available on the bedroom TV.

The food was excellent with the meat consistently of the highest quality all week. No frozen meat is used as the Hotel has its own in-house butchers. Buffet choice always included vegetarian, fish and seafood as well as meats. Drinks moderately priced for a 4 star with 1 litre carafe of good local wine 8 euros (1/2 litre 4 euros). Staff speak good English and were always pleasant and helpful.

Both the Hotel and grounds were spotless. Ample sunbeds and shades at this time of year.

Take your own cards /games for post dinner amusement.

There is building work in the resort
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Stephen
10 years 10 months ago
We stayed for Xmas and New year this hotel is a 5 star top hotel.

The only thing that let it down was the enterainment a bit flat.

They even supplied transport from the airport which was good at least
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: booked hotel direct

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.