Image of Globales Tamaimo Tropical Apartments

Globales Tamaimo Tropical Apartments

7 of 7 hotels in Puerto de Santiago

3 out of 5 from 62 reviews
3 stars
Calle de la Hondura, 38683 Puerto Santiago, Spain

62 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    27
  • Average
    12
  • Poor
    7

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
5 months ago
Booked a week away for my wife and I for a much needed break though after spending a week at this place we really were glad to get the holiday over with.

After booking in we were placed next door to the family entertainment bar and after spending most of the past 12 hours travelling we decided to get some sleep.....not a chance. The bars speaker system was at the most 12 inches away through a thin wall. We new the bar closed at 1 am and as sleep was impossible we sat it out yet be - time the bar had closed and groups of people had left it was 2 am. When we awoke the sight that we saw made my wife run too toilet to be sick, the sheets had excrement on them which was dried into the sheet. I removed them and demanded to see a manager to see what we had found.....90 mins later a cleaner and supervisor turned up and they basic tried to say we had done it completely made me see red then suddenly it changed too...it is an iron burn which was total rubbish. An apology followed and the matter to them was over!! After another few hours sleep we demanded a move but were told that only one room available with no balcony or terrace just a small window so again no sleep that night.

Upon being given a new room my wife decided to make some tea (on hob as no kettles provided) but upon turning hob on it promptly blew which meant no tea no cooking facilities, yet the most worrying thing was even though the trip switch was in the OFF position all electrics were on! After going to complain 3 times the hob was changed late afternoon the NEXT DAY.

Oh just one more thing....FOUR DAYS of road drills working not even 40ft away from pool area in the hotel grounds, which surely should have been made aware to people about to stay at the hotel.

A true holiday from hell.For the disruption caused we were offered ...................£42.00

NOT ACCEPTED !!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Mrs Haddon
Not Disabled Friendly
3 years 3 months ago
This was the first and last time i will ever go here, being disabled and using a small mobility scooter to get around was dreadful, after getting in the lift to go down to the restaurant when then lift stopped for me to exit, it was not level and just outside the lift i had to fight with a table and the people going in to the restaurant for dinner. Ongoing to the pool there was a step to go down whichever way i went ,some higher than others ,then one day in the middle of the afternoon they decided to paint the only access routes to the pools . I myself could not even get to the pool bar nor could i get in the pool as there was nothing for a disabled person to get a hold of. I have to say the room was reasonably clean just a few ants in a cupboard and a few on the work bench. As for my wet room it was awful the tiles on the shower floor were missing 15 in total ,i gave them one of the ones that had come up and they said it would be mended it never was. So my advice to any disabled person thinking of going her DONT.....
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Mr Jones
Had to move room many times
5 years 11 months ago
I stayed here from the 26th June 2011 for 2 weeks; I booked last minute for a nice 2 week get away for my girlfriend and I.

Now I was not expecting luxury as the hotel was advertised by Thomson as a 3 star hotel, on arrival I found out this is not true as it is in fact a 2 key apartment complex. Never the less we checked in where they told us we were in room 203 on the second floor of the back of the hotel, I thought fantastic as I don’t like being on the ground floor due to bugs and other problems that may occur.

On opening the room door I was greeted by hundreds of ants running around the floor of the bathroom and hallway. On closer inspection I found the ants were coming out of a rotting door frame in the hallway. I went straight to reception who said they would send someone to "fumigate" the room. As you will agree this is not acceptable.

My girlfriend and I went to dinner whilst we expected this to be sorted. The food at the Hotel I can only describe as disappointing. Yes there was a selection of food however chicken on the bone was always pink inside which will make you ill, and there is not enough chips as people were queuing for at least 10 minutes to get chips.

On returning to our room we found that the number of ants had decreased and went to bed. On waking up in the morning I was realising that the ant problem had not been solved when my girlfriend screamed from inside the bathroom where there were maggots on the toilet roll and in the bath. Again as I am sure you also appreciate this is not acceptable. I told my girlfriend to grab her suitcase as we were not staying in this room any longer. As I wheeled my suitcase out I heard a crunch as I had just ran over a cock-roach.

I explained to reception that this was not acceptable and they offered us another room on the second floor, which was on the opposite side of the hotel complex. I was "guaranteed" that I would have no cockroaches again.

We moved into the new room and the room seemed ok. So we went about the day’s activities. That evening after dinner we returned to our new room only to open the door and see a cock-roach running around the room which then disappeared into a hole in the door frame. My girlfriend ran to reception to get someone, a night watch person who simply sprayed the hole with a spray. As if that would help. I then thought that I must be expected to solve problems on my own so filled all the holes I could see with wet toilet paper. The following day I spotted something on the curtain which looked like a black mark so I had a closer look and it was yet another cock-roach. Again my girlfriend returned to reception to as for someone to sort the problem, she return to the room to tell me that reception would send someone in "half an hour to an hour". Over an hour and a half later ( I managed to watch an entire women’s world cup football match) I had to go to reception to get someone as no one had arrived. The manager told me he would send someone immediately to "fumigate" the room, now in the UK we must have a different meaning to the word fumigate as a maid arrived smacked the cockroach with a broom, swept it out and then said the room had been "fumigated", not only this but I looked on the work top on the kitchenette to find at least 20 ants walking around and after looking on The head board on the beds we found ants trailing across both beds and the table eating a dead moth on the floor.

After a lot of complaining on Thomsons Holidayline which charges you to ring them they stated that there is a cockroach problem in Tenerife and they would have me moved to another room, moving room will not achieve anything. We finally moved to a third room on the third floor, after 4 days on "holiday" where luckily we only had one more cockroach encounter.

There was always enough space in the pools and they were never over crowded. But when it comes to sunbeds this beats anything I have ever seen before. It is tradition to put towels on sunbeds early in the morning and I can understand people doing that, However, at 3 a.m I feel that is unacceptable, I know it was 3 a.m because I had come back from a bar and went onto my balcony to see only 10 sunbeds free while people placing towels on sunbeds and re arranging parasols.


I managed to find 2 sunbeds at half past 6 in the morning on 2 occasions but apart from that I waited until 5p.m before bothering to try and find some, I spoke to a couple one of which usually wakes up at 5 a.m and could not find any sunbeds on more than one occasion.


All inclusive seems a bit of a joke as when it comes to alcohol it is all inclusive for beer, soft drinks and 5 spirits anything else they would pour the drink and then ask for you to pay for it. Peach snapps and lemonade was considered a long drink.

The actual resort of Puerto Santiago is quiet but has some shops and bars (route 66 on a Sunday -Thursday night had a fun tribute band called old dogs new tricks which we saw every night they played on our holiday) but if you want to stay in Puerto Santiago and can’t afford to go to the Barcelo instead I would stay in the UK and go to Butlins for a better Holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Kirsty John
Loved this hotel
5 years 11 months ago
This hotel was lovely, I would definitely return here. The food was good and the two pools are nice although one was quite deep so we tended to stay by the other one. The apartments here were absolutely lovely. We were surprised to have two rooms and the shutters on the windows opened to reveal a gorgeous view of one of the pools. The entertainment was quite good with a snake show, eagle show, bingo and karaoke. I recommend this hotel although the location wasn't so good as it was very far away from everything.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mark And Jen
A great hotel for an all inclusive stay
6 years 6 months ago
A great hotel for an all inclusive stay. Staff are great and local bars only a stones throw away. Lovely walks along the beach front. Good local shops.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Claire
Never visit same hotel twice!!
6 years 8 months ago
Stayed in Tamaimo Tropical. Hotel clean, towels changed regularly saw maids every day. Very quick at meal times to clear away and re-lay tables. Food satisfactory and edible, no real complaints, puddings of bright colours and every colour!! Food possible washed in water with some sort of sterilising solution as it could be tainted, or this could just be the taste of the water.

A few daytime bar staff by quieter pool miserable but desk staff very helpful and dining staff very cheerful, helpful and friendly, great with the kids. Entertainment, didn’t visit, could be noisy on balcony but once in bed could hear nothing due to bedrooms position. Never visit same hotel twice!!

Lets just say lifeguard was blatantly not trained and only stayed by the busy noisy pool. But after a couple days of being there one 'appeared' at the second quieter pool.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Taylor
Sold as disabled friendly, but is NOT.
6 years 10 months ago
I would like to say how disgusted I am with Thomas Cook reps and their attitude to our complaint. My family and I stayed in the Tamaimo Tropical, we were there for 7 nights on self-catering. The hotel on first appearance appears clean and looks quite inviting, that is where it ends. The rooms are disgusting with pubic hair and blood stains on sheets and bed covers, the kitchen area was filthy with filth in cupboards and sides, there were cockroaches in the food cupboards and light sockets and plug sockets were hanging out.

Let me please explain to you all that intend staying or think it was clean. On booking the holiday I asked specifically for a disabled hotel/apartments as my Father and Auntie are disabled, walking is very difficult for them.

The travel agent in England assured me that the hotel was disabled friendly, however she could not guarantee the location was disabled friendly. With this knowledge we still commenced with the booking as the hotel looked beautiful in the brochure and my Father and Auntie would have been very happy to sit by the pool and just amble about. I asked the travel agent to put my parents and aunt in a disabled room, the room she booked was a ground floor for them as she said there will be no stairs. My husband and children were not bothered where we were put as we have no physical disability. We asked the travel agent if it was a quiet place she said yes it is mostly for families.
How wrong she was there were no facilities for disabled as even the ground floor had stairs up and down the corridor.

The noise from the so called family entertainment was horrific with loud music; the room stank and was filthy. I immediately went to the desk to ask to be moved they did this and once again the rooms were disgusting. All in all they changed us 6 times and the rooms just got worse. We stayed in the last room on the third floor as time was running out none of us had eaten and we were all tired.
The next day we went to the rep and she told us she would contact the UK and get back to us, we waited and waited until we had to find her. At this time there were three reps and they basically said the UK would not do anything as there was no reference to the disabled, of course we continued to argue our case and eventually they found us a room that was just OK it was not as dirty and the bedding was clean. I had bought some cleaning stuff and made it as clean as possible for our stay.
We went down to the lobby one morning and there was a Queue a mile long all complaining about the same things we had, in the end the rep broke down crying.

Speaking to the local restaurants etc they told us that the hotel had a bad name and people were always complaining.
The area itself is a beautiful place with very friendly and cheap restaurants and the beach is welcoming and clean.

We have film of the rooms and film of cockroaches on plates and in drinks bought from the bar.

I understand that cockroaches live in hot countries and I am not stupid to the fact they can be anywhere even if you do clean, however there were no traps laid to catch them and they were not even bothered in the dining room that they were running across plates.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
C-anne
6 years 11 months ago
Upon arrival to the hotel it seemed clean and tidy.. it wasnt until we'd been there a few days my opinion changed, Bathroom in room was a state, plug hole rusty, shower flooded bathroom everytime you used it to rinse the bath out.. i wouldnt risk trying to have a shower in it.. towels changed once in our 11 night stay.. Hall ways not clean, Used sanitary towels found in hall way - was left there for 1-2 days!! Floor in room also wasnt swept once in our stay. Bar staff rude, actually argued with us because we didnt speak spanish. Resturant staff much more pleasent.. Had to wake up at the crack of dawn to ''claim'' a sunbed even though it is stated for towels not to be placed on sunbeds?? Weekends really bad no where to sit in resturant or around pool area because all the locals come. We was all inclusive the food was very must the same at dinner and tea time maybe just a change of meat, Also breakfast got abit repeatative.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Linda Smith
7 years 2 months ago
Just returned and were delighted with the hotel. We were all inclusive and only always found there was something for eveyone to eat.The hotel was just preparing for the start of the season and glasses were being introduced to the Bar instead of plastic cups, in the peak season believe there could be a problem as there are signs advising only 2 drinks per person.This hotel is ideal for couples lookng for a very relaxed holiday or young families.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mark
7 years 10 months ago
my wife and i and our two teenage daughters stayed here in july 2009 . we booked an air con room at our local thomas cook shop prior departure.on arrival at the hotel we were allocated a non air con room.we were offered another room the following day but it was next to the disco bar.it would be noisey and full of cockroaches in the morning staff said,so we declined and hired two fans.hotel was clean with a change of towels and bedding and floors swept and cleaned except sundays.food was good with a change of menu each day.location was poor due to being at a bottom of a hill,having to walk up large hills or up the steps of death.hotel staff were very helpful as well asour rep .entertainment was very poor.there was not enough sunbeds to go around,how ever this was not due to the hotel,but due to rough british people who do not how to behave abroad.new sunbeds were delivererd on our 2nd week,the following day two were thrown in pool overnight along with two parosols.these people should be chained up along with there chavy kids aswell drunk and swimming in pool till 4am.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.