30 independent reviews of the Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol
Address: Avinguda del Doctor Severo Ochoa, 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol
Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol Location
Ranked #54 of 130 hotels in Benidorm


4/5
Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol is rated 3.53 out of 5 from 30 Reviews
73% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (30 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol Reviews

5/5
5
"Media hotel"
Janice.smart stayed at Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol in September 2013
Very good accommodation. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was absolutely immaculate and just what I was looking for, a quiet relaxing holiday!

Location was good not too far from Main Street and entertainment on every night would stay again. Busy resort not for people looking for picturesque chic more lively crowd. However I would recommend this hotel as I have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels in this area and this is the best so far.

Tour Operator: Sunsave

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2
"So bad we all went to use hotel next door"
Pat visited the Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol in April 2011
This hotel is not geared to the holiday tourist. It is in the main suited to local Spanish and commercial business parties. This is in complete contrast to its next door neighbour the Hotel Flamingo Oasis.

The Melia showed no evidence of an animation team and little evidence of the usual on site entertainment. Next door was buzzing with entertainment.

Hotel was clean in all public areas however the room cleaning left a lot to be desired. The beds were made however I am unsure if the bed linen was changed during my 10 day stay, the floors were not mopped and glass surfaces were not wiped down, this was obvious as the rings left by wet glasses were still there after the cleaner had been. The public area in the main were well tended to and the pool garden ...
area is as described very nice indeed. It rained twice whilst we were there and it was quite evident that the roof of the premises leaks as towels were placed on the floor in the lobby reception areas to catch the water and prevent guests from slipping. Not a 4 star hotel.

The food here I have to say was the worst I have encountered in an all-inclusive hotel anywhere and I am not a stranger to travel I have been to Tenerife, Lanzorote, Los Angeles, Las Vagas and Mexico since Christmas, I travel a lot. Some of the guests in the Melia actually went to the Flamingo Oasis next door and purchased there all inclusive package, effectively paying twice once at the Melia and then paying the Oasis.

The location of this hotel is good a short walk from the Laventi beach (some people have moaned about this distance, I am mildly disabled and I did it so donít worry about it, itís not that far) Turn left out of the hotel and itís a short walk to the Benidorm Palace. This is one of those places that you go to because youíre in Benidorm.

Would I recommend it or return, the answer is no. It was a waste of good money and an evening that could have been better spent. I found the staff in the main good however there were several that were rude and ignorant preferring to serve the Spanish or Catalonian guest despite the fact that you were first in line and despite the fact that you tipped in euros and they tipped in cents.

The entertainment in this hotel on a rating of 1 - 10 is 2. It was on twicein our 10day stay and one of those sessions was Bingo! We were one of those that went to the Flamingo Oasis next door. The entertainment there was full on day and night. Ok some of the entertainment was not the best but some was very good. Lets remember A.I. entertainment is what it is. All in all this hotel is geared to the Spanish business industry. Several conferences and groups of students attended during our 10 day stay and as I say these were attended to by staff in front of you.

Would I visit this hotel again No. Recommend it to a friend No.

Read More

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4
"Very clean hotel"
Smalloy visited the Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol in December 2010
Hotel very clean.

Rooms lovely and warm. Room decor very modern.

Reception area very classy and modern.

Breakfast - lots of choice, good food. Could not fault this hotel.

Location - about a 10-15 walk down to the beach.

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Steve visited the Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol, Benidorm, Spain in January 2009
The hotel was a clean and well run hotel.The Lobby area is large and very grand .Check in was quick and went with no problems.The food was ok .There was always something to eat from the vast choice of food .The rooms where nice and clean and where equipped with Sat TV,Hairdryer etc.Bathroom was good with Toilet,Washbasin and Combined Bath and Shower. Rooms where cleaned every day.We used the safes at reception so cant comment on the room safes.The pools (indoor and outdoor)where superb with lovely gardens and sundeck areas.The gym was ok with 2 spa pools and a sauna.All in all a very nice hotel

Tour Operator: Independent

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Henderson had a holiday at Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol, Benidorm in August 2008
This was our first, and probably last, time in Benidorm. From conversations in the hotel, regular patrons of Benidorm think this is one of the better hotels. It certainly has a nice garden/swimming pool area. This is below street level and traffic noise is subdued. Rooms are in two towers that are connected only by the huge ground floor atrium. We were on the 16th floor and I was surprised by the amount of noise from the street and pool that got up there. The rooms themselves are fine but all balconies above the 4th floor have a solid wall so you can\'t see anything below if you are sitting down. The balcony walls are reassuringly high, though.

The food was only fair. Nothing to complain about at breakfast, except that there was always a queue at the two (slow) toasting ...
machines. You also had to queue while a chef prepared your own omelette but this is no different to ordering one in a restaurant. For the main meals they had a choice of two hot soups or gazpacho and a good range of salads, sometimes a bit tired looking. There were usually four or five different fish dishes, but the ones done in sauces were invariably overcooked. The reverse applied to the meat dishes. The stews and roasts were fine but the various steaks were a bit dry and leathery. The cooked vegetables were unappetising but the rice dishes were pretty good.

The location of the hotel is not ideal. The road outside is busy and runs down to the far end of Levante beach. You would be doing very well to get to the start of the beach in 10 mins, given that the pavements are full and you have three major lights-controlled crossings to negotiate. There are plenty of British bars and clubs within easy walking distance in the evening, if that is your scene.

Read More

Tour Operator: Globespan
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

t mccutcheon visited the Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol in May 2008
Stayed at this hotel for the second time this year. My other visit being in march. Rooms exceptionally clean, stayed on the 18th floor, wonderful views looking over Benidorm.

Food at the hotel was buffet style plenty of choice, and could always find something nice too eat.on our second visit in may, we took our daughter with us who is 19, she loved it and at night it was a ten minute walk into the centre were the entertainment was great.

Cannot comment on the entertaiment at the hotel as we never went.

Tour Operator: globespan

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Colin and Mary stayed at Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol, Benidorm, Spain in December 2007
Having just returned from this hotel two weeks earlier than anticipated. This was due to the fact that we had been robbed from our safety deposit box in the room. We were not alone. Approximately twenty six other complaints. Beware do not put money in the safety deposit box. The management were not helpful at all.Will never return to this hotel.

Tour Operator: Sunseekers
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Darren Glasper had a holiday at Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol in September 2007
Just returned from the Melia hotel and had a thoroughly enjoyable time there.
We had read some worrying comments about the hotel staff but we found them very polite and courteous - in the face of what seemed like quite genuine rudeness from some of the guests.
The room was was very good - we have stayed at other Benidorm hotels, but we were genuinely impressed. The bathroom was well appointed, there was a generously sized balcony, a FREE safety deposit box and mini bar with two bottles of water waiting for us.
The room was also cleaned daily with fresh towels.
The hotel\'s facilities were very good, the pool is fantastic, a lagoon style area with lots of plants and trees - there was also an indoor pool, gym, saunas and a beauty treatment centre.
We had only two main drawbacks with the Melia.
The ...
first was the food - it was certainly plentiful and services lasted three hours - however it was at best lukewarm and if you dont like a lot of fish you were sometimes left with a limited selection. The dining area is akwardly laid out - you would have to cover the whole area to get all the things you might need - ie: toast was in one corner, teabags in another, hot water in another etc.
However with that said we only missed a couple of meals at the hotel so it wasnt that bad!
The second drawback is the hotel\'s location. If you could pick it up and move it towards the central part of the resort it would be perfect. It would take roughly half an hour to walk to most of the nightlife in the centre of town - although with that said there are some nice places around the Melia - especially the Rock and Roll House which we warmly recommend.

So book with confidence if your considering the Melia, we really enjoyed our stay there.

ps: If you havent seen him before, go and see the comedian Mike Curtis at the Zodiac club - he\'s from the Bernard Manning/Mike Read school but he\'s very funny without being too offensive.

Read More

Tour Operator: My Travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

eileen&nicky visited the Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol, Benidorm in September 2007
my partner and i had never been to benidorm before and we were so glad to have booked here when we seen the resort. yes so people say you either love it or hate it and with it was neither. the hotel was spotless and facilities were good. staff were very attentive and the hotel may not have been in the centre but was a walk to it. would go tot the hotel again if it wasnt in benidorm.

Tour Operator: booked of the computer

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Helen had a holiday at Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol, Benidorm, Spain in August 2007
We were recommended this hotel by friends who had been twice. Having been to Benidorm 3 times before and stayed in various hotels this I must admit was the best. Unfortunately I do not think it deserves a 4 star rating, maybe a 3 and a half.

The rooms were quite spacious which was nice when there are 3 of you in a room. My son was given a camp style bed which was sufficient for his size. The towels were changed daily and the sheets were lovely and soft. The only real complaint I had was that the floor was never swept and I dont think the surfaces had ever seen a duster!!!

Reception staff lovely people but so so slow!!!

The food was nice and lots of choice for breakfast and evening meal.

The pool is beautiful ...
and plenty of beds for everyone.

A nice walk down to the beach about 15 minutes max. We took a trip on the road train one evening which was lovely a definate must if you get the opportunity.

Overall a fantastic holiday missing it already.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Laura stayed at Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol, Benidorm, Spain in July 2007
Just got back from a weeks stay at this hotel. One word: FABULOUS!!

The hotel was spotlessly clean, the cleaners were up extremely early every single morning and cleaned every possible surface.

The food was fabulous! Had read a few reports to the contrary but the hotel seem to have responded to this. Food was hot, plentiful and delicious.

The pool at the hotel is the best I have ever seen, and looked after well. The sunloungers were fabulous! (Either a choice of the blue ones you find on beaches or the white plastic ones with what can only be described as a mattress!!- very thick and comfortable!!)

The hotel is in a superb location. Only 5 minutes walk to the beach and not far from the main street. There is a bus stop outside and you can go anywhere for just one euro! ...
We caught it to the old town one night and then walked back (this only took us about 15 minutes, even after stopping in plenty of shops)

The hotel staff here were amongst the friendliest I have ever met. They could not do enough for you and made our holiday! Thank yous especially made to the bar staff and the lifeguard.

Was worried about the entertainment as is not a solely British hotel, but it was excellent! The best yet. Disney night and the circus are not to be missed!! The entertainers were friendly and worked very hard. Especially Emilio... he never stopped!

Just one word of advice: GO. The hotel was amazing, I can not speak highly enough. Would go tomorrow if I could and never come home!

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

peter had a holiday at Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol, Benidorm, Spain in November 2006
The facilities at this hotel are ok we liked the indoor pool and sauna. The rooms are a bit dated some of the furniture is falling to pieces and could do with being a bit cleaner.

Our main problem is the food in the dining room that can only be described as awful definitely not 4* more like 2* . None of the food is served hot enough only warm we complained to the thomas cook rep about this and she explained that it is served this way so that the guests dont burn themselves what a joke.

Couldn't wait to come home never come here again we have stayed in the levante club the hotel next door much better.

Tour Operator: thomas cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Mrs Kelly stayed at Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol, Benidorm in June 2006
This is the third time I have stayed at this hotel in Benidorm and every time we have had a very enjoyable holiday and will return again. The hotel is a bit far out of town, but the bus stop is just outside the hotel and for 1 euro you can go anywhere you wish. The hotel does lack entertainment but being Benidorm you have plenty on your doorstep. Hotel supplies a room safe and fridge which is great for keeping your drinks cool.

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Anthony Troup visited the Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol in May 2006
In our opinion this must be the best hotel in Benidorm!!!

Food excellent, with plenty of choice for all tastes.

Huge pool area with plenty of sunbeds and parasols and no fighting for position on a morning, unlike the establishment next door.(we\'ve experienced it!!)

All the hotel staff were very friendly/helpful and even though the entertainment was the usual in-house stuff, the entertainers always tried to get people involved, especially the children.

Even though the hotel is located away from all the hustle and bustle of Benidorm, there are now plenty of shops and bars nearby and it is only a 10 minute walk from the beach and main nightlife.

The only down side to our holiday was the 2 days of British weather - just as well we had an indoor pool.

we will definitely be returning to this hotel, as this is the first ...
time i\'ve returned from Benidorm feeling relaxed (although i am getting older!!!).

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Martin had a holiday at Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol, Benidorm in March 2006
We found the hotel to be worthy of its 4 star rating unlike some other so called 4 star hotels in Benidorm that we have stayed in.

The lobby is very impressive and the reception staff were friendly and helpful.

The rooms are spacious with 2 large beds which are incredibly comfortable, there is also a chair in the room that can convert in to a sofa bed. The room did not feel cramped at all.

All rooms look out on to the large pool and garden but only rooms on the higher floors will have a sea view. My only complaint about the room was there was a small amount of dust under the TV shelf but nothing really to get upset about

The bathroom was large with all the usual fittings and the bath towels that they replace daily are absolutely huge.
The ...
cleaning staff are friendly and efficient and come every morning. They even changed the sheets on the cot we had for our daughter which was never done in other hotels we have stayed in.

If you have young children or like an early night ask for a room on the 5th floor or above as the first 4 floors over look the lobby and at night you can hear the pianist. We were on the 2nd floor and it sounded as though the pianist was playing in our wardrobe. He plays until 11.30 pm. We asked for a change of room and was immediately offered one on the 5th floor.

We stayed bed and breakfast and the choice of food at breakfast was fantastic, cereal, fruit, full English the fried eggs were cooked to order, ham and cheese, 2 efficient toasting machines, several varieties of cakes and pastries. The doughnuts are the best I have ever had.

The indoor pool was large and clean although it was not very warm. We did not use the jacuzzi\'s, gym or sauna.
It was not warm enough to use the outside pool but we did sit by it on the comfortable loungers of which there are plenty all around the large pool.

There are 4 lifts that service each tower and a glass lift that only goes up to the 4th floor. The lifts are fast and quiet, the only time they got really busy was on the Saturday during breakfast time when there were a lot more guests than had been there during the week. I would imagine in the height of summer that they would be very busy during meal times.

I would most definitely stay in the hotel again and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Read More

Tour Operator: Independent

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

Danny had a holiday at Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol in December 2005
My wife and I have just returned from a one week stay at the 4* rated Melia Benidorm. \"Very disappointed\" is my only way of summing up this establishent as a whole.

Throughout previous reviews, both good and bad, the truth about this place has been pointed out. As an experienced world-wide traveller I tend to believe some people are too picky and over critical and others are easily pleased and overwhelmed with hotel experiences and often I just wish to try the product for myself.

The Melia Benidorm is aesthetically pleasing, has fantastic facilities, a wonderful pool area and is in a nice location. However the condition of the hotel is another story.

On arrival we were given a room on the 11th floor (23/24 floors). (We had asked for a very high floor and double bedded room in two ...
previous emails which were both read but not replied to.) The room was filthy and every surface, including the floor and balcony, was covered with thick dust. The \"twin\" beds were made up but crumpled. The large 6ft mirror had fallen off the wall on one side and the television aerial had been yanked out of the tv socket leaving bare copper wires. I counted four english speaking channels. The beds however were comfortable.

The bathroom, which in itself is an utter shambles in design layout, had a toilet seat with a mere 3in gap to the radiator and toilet roll holders located out of reach and the throne\'s rear. Our toilet seat had a sanitation sticker between seat and porcelain yet there were waste remnants on the seat itself from the previous user, absoultely disgusting. The shower leaked through into the bedroom so a towel was laid their the whole week of our stay and never changed, lifted or cleaned around by the maid. The silicon seal around the bath and shower looked like it was applied blindfolded. We did however have clean towels.

The furnishing were pretty but crudely put together and the drawers would not close properly. The balcony door had been prised open at some point in the past and had never been fixed, hence it never locked and never allowed the air con to work in the room as the door sensor was busted. The balcony recliner seats however were great.

The pool are sunbeds were plentiful but thick with dirt. The pool itself looked inviting, even in December, but it too was utterly filthy.

The restaurant was nice enough but the seats are spaced too close together therefore making it near impossible to return to your table with food without brushing past other diners. Food was Ok and despite a large choice was very bland. Breakfasts were great but monotonous. Restaurant staff were all pretty dour with the exception of waiter Patrick and waitress Eva. Maitre\'d (spelling) service was OK but chaotic at the busiest of times, A little spanish was appreciated. Too little staff.

The hotel reception is gorgeous and is the only part of the hotel that I can truly say was up to the part. Nice pianist, if you like lounge music, and very comfortable furnishings. Reception staff were pretty dour and slow but reacted quickly when our safety deposit box (free) acted up and required maintenance.

Location is pretty good for Benidorm although a bit far from the beach at 800 yards or so. Lots of low key bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinty with very cheap prices for food and drink. My favourite was the Beer\'s Friends Bar, just left across the road. The staff were happy to arrange any football match and sport you required and there was no loud music which is often associated with bars in this resort. Ask barman Gary to make you one of his Cheeseburgers, very simple and brilliantly tasty. You may need one if you stay at the Melia due to the often bland food.

My wife and I have twice stayed at the excellent Levante Club (two hotels behind the Melia) and believe that it is a much better hotel in every respect. We won\'t be back to the 4* looks and 2* service of the filthy Melia Benidorm. A major disappointment.

Read More

Tour Operator: flyglobespan.com
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

fran&anna stayed at Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol in October 2005
We had a brill time at this hotel the food not to great, but everything else good. Wee patrick a wee gem.


Tour Operator: flyglobespan

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

pat&terry stayed at Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol, Benidorm in September 2005
This hotel was lovely we had a great time we didnt spend any nights in the hotel so cant comment on entertainment.

Room spotless,food not bad. We will certainly be back there is a great wee bar across the road - a fifties bar.

A special thanks to Patrick & his wee Columbian pal for a laugh.

Tour Operator: globespan

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

John had a holiday at Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol, Benidorm in September 2005
Travlled as two couples, this hotel is magnificent and its show\'s the minute you walk in.

All rooms face the pool and get a good deal of sun for most of the day. The pool area is set in laggon style and spotlessly clean, with plenty of loungers with mattresses. It is very quiet and relaxing.

Rooms are massive and were cleaned and maintained to a very high standard, you have a fridge and a safe provided free of charge. Per some of the previous reports there are small que\'s to be seated by head waiters but nothing excessive.

At breakfastr you have a wide selection with the option to either take linch or dinner, I will say quite a varied choice but please bear in mind you are in Spain and some dishes reflect the range of international guests. ...


We enjoyed the pub Algar longe bar pre & post dinner, ask for Fernando he is a star with the Jamican coffee\'s and drinks. You will find that after the first night the staff will know you and bring drinks to your atble along with dishes of snacks.

Bear in mind this hotel is on a slight incline and approx. 10-15 mins stroll to start of the show bars(however on several evenings we took a taxi home from as far as Wheeltappers at no more than 4 Euro\'s for 4 people).

We ate out two evenings at the China Garden (across) road, its very popular and you check in are shown to tables (be wary of other chinnese reatuants near by, typical meal for 4 & wine beer\'s circa 55 Euro\'s.

Great holiday and one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Paul stayed at Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol in May 2005
We booked a triple room so our family could stay together. On arrival we found it was a double room with a convertable armchair bed. No bed linen to be found.

We were handed some sheets by a security guard and my wife had to make the bed up ! Not a good start. The room itself was of a good size, had a free safe, free fridge and excellent air-con system. The maid service wasn\'t brilliant, ran out of tissues and toilet roll and they didn\'t replace them. The beds where very comfortable.

The hotel is in a good location, away from any noise but within 30 seconds of bars and shops. Many more bars and facilities within minutes walk.

Pool area and gardens where very nice, the pool bar however was severly understaffed and I saw people waiting 30 mins ...
for a drink and this was in May.

The pool clean but cold, but the indoor pool was a nice temperature and with 2 large whirlpool baths in the same area we spent more time in the indoor pool than the outdoor.

There where changing rooms and a steam room. If you wanted you could pay for a massage or beauty treatment at the leisure club.

We where shocked to see a queue for breakfast on the first morning, this queue was present every morning and evening and was due to each couple or family being shown to a table individually. This was the source of several complaints from other guests. To be honest the most we queued for was less than 5 minutes and the food was worth waiting for. The food was plentiful and changed daily. A breakfast chef was on hand to cook fresh ommlettes or fried eggs and he was there again in the evening cooking fresh meat/fish etc. Champagne was available free at breakfast time !

All of the staff where helpful.

I would return to this hotel again without doubt.

Read More

Tour Operator: Flyglobespan

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars
Other hotels in Benidorm

5 star Hotels
4 star Hotels
3 star Hotels
2 star Hotels
1 star Hotels
Share