Image of Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol

Melia Benidorm Hotel Sol

63 of 131 hotels in Benidorm

4 out of 5 from 30 reviews
4 stars
Avinguda del Doctor Severo Ochoa, 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain

30 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    16
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Janice.smart
Media hotel
3 years 2 months ago
Very good accommodation. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was absolutely immaculate and just what I was looking for, a quiet relaxing holiday!

Location was good not too far from Main Street and entertainment on every night would stay again. Busy resort not for people looking for picturesque chic more lively crowd. However I would recommend this hotel as I have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels in this area and this is the best so far.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Pat
So bad we all went to use hotel next door
5 years 7 months ago
This hotel is not geared to the holiday tourist. It is in the main suited to local Spanish and commercial business parties. This is in complete contrast to its next door neighbour the Hotel Flamingo Oasis.

The Melia showed no evidence of an animation team and little evidence of the usual on site entertainment. Next door was buzzing with entertainment.

Hotel was clean in all public areas however the room cleaning left a lot to be desired. The beds were made however I am unsure if the bed linen was changed during my 10 day stay, the floors were not mopped and glass surfaces were not wiped down, this was obvious as the rings left by wet glasses were still there after the cleaner had been. The public area in the main were well tended to and the pool garden area is as described very nice indeed. It rained twice whilst we were there and it was quite evident that the roof of the premises leaks as towels were placed on the floor in the lobby reception areas to catch the water and prevent guests from slipping. Not a 4 star hotel.

The food here I have to say was the worst I have encountered in an all-inclusive hotel anywhere and I am not a stranger to travel I have been to Tenerife, Lanzorote, Los Angeles, Las Vagas and Mexico since Christmas, I travel a lot. Some of the guests in the Melia actually went to the Flamingo Oasis next door and purchased there all inclusive package, effectively paying twice once at the Melia and then paying the Oasis.

The location of this hotel is good a short walk from the Laventi beach (some people have moaned about this distance, I am mildly disabled and I did it so don’t worry about it, it’s not that far) Turn left out of the hotel and it’s a short walk to the Benidorm Palace. This is one of those places that you go to because you’re in Benidorm.

Would I recommend it or return, the answer is no. It was a waste of good money and an evening that could have been better spent. I found the staff in the main good however there were several that were rude and ignorant preferring to serve the Spanish or Catalonian guest despite the fact that you were first in line and despite the fact that you tipped in euros and they tipped in cents.

The entertainment in this hotel on a rating of 1 - 10 is 2. It was on twicein our 10day stay and one of those sessions was Bingo! We were one of those that went to the Flamingo Oasis next door. The entertainment there was full on day and night. Ok some of the entertainment was not the best but some was very good. Lets remember A.I. entertainment is what it is. All in all this hotel is geared to the Spanish business industry. Several conferences and groups of students attended during our 10 day stay and as I say these were attended to by staff in front of you.

Would I visit this hotel again No. Recommend it to a friend No.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Smalloy
Very clean hotel
5 years 10 months ago
Hotel very clean.

Rooms lovely and warm. Room decor very modern.

Reception area very classy and modern.

Breakfast - lots of choice, good food. Could not fault this hotel.

Location - about a 10-15 walk down to the beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
7 years 9 months ago
The hotel was a clean and well run hotel.The Lobby area is large and very grand .Check in was quick and went with no problems.The food was ok .There was always something to eat from the vast choice of food .The rooms where nice and clean and where equipped with Sat TV,Hairdryer etc.Bathroom was good with Toilet,Washbasin and Combined Bath and Shower. Rooms where cleaned every day.We used the safes at reception so cant comment on the room safes.The pools (indoor and outdoor)where superb with lovely gardens and sundeck areas.The gym was ok with 2 spa pools and a sauna.All in all a very nice hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Henderson
8 years 2 months ago
This was our first, and probably last, time in Benidorm. From conversations in the hotel, regular patrons of Benidorm think this is one of the better hotels. It certainly has a nice garden/swimming pool area. This is below street level and traffic noise is subdued. Rooms are in two towers that are connected only by the huge ground floor atrium. We were on the 16th floor and I was surprised by the amount of noise from the street and pool that got up there. The rooms themselves are fine but all balconies above the 4th floor have a solid wall so you can't see anything below if you are sitting down. The balcony walls are reassuringly high, though.

The food was only fair. Nothing to complain about at breakfast, except that there was always a queue at the two (slow) toasting machines. You also had to queue while a chef prepared your own omelette but this is no different to ordering one in a restaurant. For the main meals they had a choice of two hot soups or gazpacho and a good range of salads, sometimes a bit tired looking. There were usually four or five different fish dishes, but the ones done in sauces were invariably overcooked. The reverse applied to the meat dishes. The stews and roasts were fine but the various steaks were a bit dry and leathery. The cooked vegetables were unappetising but the rice dishes were pretty good.

The location of the hotel is not ideal. The road outside is busy and runs down to the far end of Levante beach. You would be doing very well to get to the start of the beach in 10 mins, given that the pavements are full and you have three major lights-controlled crossings to negotiate. There are plenty of British bars and clubs within easy walking distance in the evening, if that is your scene.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
T Mccutcheon
8 years 5 months ago
Stayed at this hotel for the second time this year. My other visit being in march. Rooms exceptionally clean, stayed on the 18th floor, wonderful views looking over Benidorm.

Food at the hotel was buffet style plenty of choice, and could always find something nice too eat.on our second visit in may, we took our daughter with us who is 19, she loved it and at night it was a ten minute walk into the centre were the entertainment was great.

Cannot comment on the entertaiment at the hotel as we never went.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Colin And Mary
8 years 10 months ago
Having just returned from this hotel two weeks earlier than anticipated. This was due to the fact that we had been robbed from our safety deposit box in the room. We were not alone. Approximately twenty six other complaints. Beware do not put money in the safety deposit box. The management were not helpful at all.Will never return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Darren Glasper
9 years 1 month ago
Just returned from the Melia hotel and had a thoroughly enjoyable time there.
We had read some worrying comments about the hotel staff but we found them very polite and courteous - in the face of what seemed like quite genuine rudeness from some of the guests.
The room was was very good - we have stayed at other Benidorm hotels, but we were genuinely impressed. The bathroom was well appointed, there was a generously sized balcony, a FREE safety deposit box and mini bar with two bottles of water waiting for us.
The room was also cleaned daily with fresh towels.
The hotel's facilities were very good, the pool is fantastic, a lagoon style area with lots of plants and trees - there was also an indoor pool, gym, saunas and a beauty treatment centre.
We had only two main drawbacks with the Melia.
The first was the food - it was certainly plentiful and services lasted three hours - however it was at best lukewarm and if you dont like a lot of fish you were sometimes left with a limited selection. The dining area is akwardly laid out - you would have to cover the whole area to get all the things you might need - ie: toast was in one corner, teabags in another, hot water in another etc.
However with that said we only missed a couple of meals at the hotel so it wasnt that bad!
The second drawback is the hotel's location. If you could pick it up and move it towards the central part of the resort it would be perfect. It would take roughly half an hour to walk to most of the nightlife in the centre of town - although with that said there are some nice places around the Melia - especially the Rock and Roll House which we warmly recommend.

So book with confidence if your considering the Melia, we really enjoyed our stay there.

ps: If you havent seen him before, go and see the comedian Mike Curtis at the Zodiac club - he's from the Bernard Manning/Mike Read school but he's very funny without being too offensive.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Eileen&nicky
9 years 1 month ago
my partner and i had never been to benidorm before and we were so glad to have booked here when we seen the resort. yes so people say you either love it or hate it and with it was neither. the hotel was spotless and facilities were good. staff were very attentive and the hotel may not have been in the centre but was a walk to it. would go tot the hotel again if it wasnt in benidorm.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Helen
9 years 2 months ago
We were recommended this hotel by friends who had been twice. Having been to Benidorm 3 times before and stayed in various hotels this I must admit was the best. Unfortunately I do not think it deserves a 4 star rating, maybe a 3 and a half.

The rooms were quite spacious which was nice when there are 3 of you in a room. My son was given a camp style bed which was sufficient for his size. The towels were changed daily and the sheets were lovely and soft. The only real complaint I had was that the floor was never swept and I dont think the surfaces had ever seen a duster!!!

Reception staff lovely people but so so slow!!!

The food was nice and lots of choice for breakfast and evening meal.

The pool is beautiful and plenty of beds for everyone.

A nice walk down to the beach about 15 minutes max. We took a trip on the road train one evening which was lovely a definate must if you get the opportunity.

Overall a fantastic holiday missing it already.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices