Image of Angela Hotel

Angela Hotel

5 of 24 hotels in Fuengirola

4 out of 5 from 26 reviews
4 stars
Calle Jaén, 2, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
A popular, well-run hotel, in a quieter part of Fuengirola to the east of the harbour. Service is efficient and the standards are traditional.

26 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    12
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Excellent Adult Only Hotel
7 months ago
This is an Adult only hotel which for us was a major positive. It is located right on the sea front. The rooms are very nice and the food was tremendous. There are two lots of entertainment every evening except Monday when there is only one. The downstairs "Club" has a great atmosphere and the acts differ from average to first class. There is also entertainment in the upstairs lounge. There are happy hours throughout the day and in the evenings at differ bars throughout the hotel.

A reasonable swimming pool and friendly staff. an excellent holiday and thoroughly recommended.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Amazing
7 years 3 months ago
Quite a few got off coach were staying here, young ones, couples and oldies, reception guy recognised me straight away, and honoured our room request, he said we have given you 2 of the best rooms with full sea views pool, and mountains, off we trot to the 8th floor, rooms 820 and 822, and WOW, can’t believe what view we had its was just stunning.

The porter brought our cases up about 15 mins later, had a look around the room, yes there is some modernisation to be done but only a few tweaks, like the TV was too small and old fashioned a few English channels, but to be honest I was sick of seeing heartbeat every single day, and of course we never really want to sit in our room with so much to do outside.

The staff were a lovely bunch of hardworking folk, a BIG thank you, they really do deserve a lot of credit, even the maids.

Drinks prices for a hotel are really reasonable, for example, wine glass of red, 2.00euro, and that’s a large glass, nice sangria also.

Breakfast, an array of choice nice hash browns, English and great cakes and pastries, 2 minors though. Pate was not so good, and the milk was warm, reason why I never had cereal. But my choice every morning I had brown toast, tomatoes, yummy, and omelettes, mushroom, ham or ask for plain made there in front of you. Coffee bland and not so good, but there pineapple juice was nice. Would have liked a better pate to have on my toast though.

The entertainment upstairs was bar singers and different every night, one girl, had a better voice than any x factor singer! Wasted at the hotel, she was amazing, relaxed atmosphere.

We sunbathed on the terraced every other day, and beach every other day, 4.50 euro for bed and umbrella. Thank you to Angela who owns the beds on the beach lovely Spanish lady who remembers us every year.

Los Boliches where we were is still amazing, a lot quieter in the bars, spoke a few people who own them said it’s been hard with the rain, volcanic cloud, and holiday companies going bust.
Walked up to Los Boliches church, took some pictures, wedding going on, wanted tapas at pepes, and it was closed till September, gutted.

Walked to Fuengirola town, to do some clothes/shoe shopping stopped at bar plaza, still amazing packed, and scenic, went for lunch in Adrian’s on fish alley, owner was saying again that it’s been hard and very quiet, and he has not dropped his prices but to be honest it was still reasonable.

Went to Marbella, very long bus journey again stopping at 100 stops, packed to the rafters, wish they would put more buses on for this journey 1 every 30 mins is rubbish, it was a dull day till 11ish when arrived it was boiling hot.
We wandered down to the prom side, had beers a very nice bar on the front, then headed back to the centre and found jimmies of Marbella, in a lovely little square.

For anyone going do enjoy, as much I was did, it’s still amazing, a big place in my heart.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Carole
7 years 4 months ago
Great hotel across the road from the beach, we emailed for a room on the pool side, got one, these rooms have a better view, the other side of the hotel is down a side street and facing an another hotel,the rooms are not very large, but big enough, 2 big wardrobes, free safe, pool towels, kettle with tea and coffee provided each day, free aircon which was much needed and a fridge which you have to pay for, 16 euros for the week.The food at breakfast was excellent and plentiful, food at the evening was quite good and plenty to choose from, you would have to be a really fussy eater to say you didn't like anything. Entertainment each night, which I can't comment on, (went out at night) but it seem to suit the older clientle, who made up the majority of the guests, but it is an adults only hotel, my son who is 18 didn't find it a problem, it was quite nice not to have children running about. I would go back to this hotel anytime, thought it was excellent and really enjoyed our stay there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: diy

Recommended
Natalie & John
8 years ago
i really enjoyed staying at the angela hotel, the staff are really friendly and the food was fantastic!
it made me feel really welcomed.

they had a really nice younge lad working on reception, he was really friendly. hopefully i'll be back out there next year.

the swimming pool was abit to cold but i got used to it in the end, i made my grandad get in there first.
but the hotel is very clean, the maids were really nice to me. and i rate the hotel 10/10 :)

please email back xxxx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Recommended
Derek &ellen Gibson
8 years 2 months ago
we stayed at the Hotel Angela on a couples break for seven nights from the 14th August 2009 to the 21st 2009 august having read some of the reviews about this hotel we were a bit apprehensive but we should have not been what a surprise it was clean and the staff were very friendly the rooms were clean and comfortable the food was plentiful and very good could not fault this hotel at all will certainly be back
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
8 years 2 months ago
very close to the sea BUT very noisy, window is left open at night balcony sliding doors are not good at keeping noise out. very noisy outside, lots of traffic and a LOT of people, staying out until god knows what time in the morning, then if you manage to get to sleep the cleaners wake you up early in the morning making a LOT of noise, me and my girlfriend could only get up for dinner once because we were so tired and could not get to sleep.

i did notice the pool water was murky, and very cold, sure it's hot outside but when you get in it's hardly refreshing it's just really cold,

the entertainment was very boring, like when you go on holiday with your nan when you are young and you end up falling asleep, it almost put me to sleep. it's all aimed at much older people.

there was a few young couples at the hotel, all looking confused and out of place, the old people wanted us to act all mature and one old man had a go at me for not using a napkin when i scratched my nose.

the old people were actually the ones making all the noise, laughing hysterically by the pool keeping everyone awake for about an hour, there is also meant to be a silence after 11pm rule which no one abides to, the corridors are noisy when everyone comes back from their night out, shouting and making noise, and if you like the sound of furniture being moved around on the floor all day and all night this is for you, if you like senile grumpy old people who poke their noses in things which should not concern them then this is for you, also don't expect to get any sleep.

my girlfriend found a stain on the sheet, the hair dryer didn't work it just got hot and we smelt burning so we turned it off, there was a hair on her pillow too when we got there.

the cleaners don't have any respect for people who DON'T want to get up early, they just make a lot of noise, with their mouths and cleaning.

and you also have to pay 16 euro just to hire a very small fridge for a week, the water and other drinks are ridiculously expensive.

when we arrived i had a number for room service, instead the number was for reception. so i rang the other number and ordered something from the menu and they didn't even have it! the cards were out of date and the woman hardly understood me i was asking for steak and she said omlette.

so that's all the bad things i can think of, not bad for the money but not four star, if this review was written on Thomson they wouldn't have allowed it.

the gate on our plane ticket on the way back said gate B and on the departure screen it said C, it was very confusing and there was no thomson rep present to help, all this stuff about we're here to help all the time blah blah, its rubbish.

the good things are good view of sea even in limited sea view hotel, beach is very close and lovely, food in restaurant is great and im quite fusyy but enjoyed a lot of it, quite close to a water park but DONT get the stupid tourist train you will pay 4 euro to go on a train located at a train stop littered in advertisements for the waterpark and it doesnt go there, it just goes around in a circle at 2mph and is a waste of money. and dont bother trying to find the bus stop because it isnt marked with a bus stop sign but the old one is, we had to walk there.

you can walk to the zoo its not too far away but its expensive and they try to sell you a photo of yourself. lots of cool things to see though

the water park is a ripoff, forgotten how much to get in, but you have to pay for a sunbedm pay for a rubber ring, pay A LOT for food, pay for a basket for your clothes, pay to use a locker.

if you like getting ripped off go to spain, and did i mention the amount of black people selling sunglasses and handbags> you can't move at night there are thousands of people, the spanish there are ignorant, don't indicate, very pushy on the road and when serving you in the store, its just take your money and go.

sorry for the long rant i am an 18 year old male i travelled with my 18 year old girlfriend
and the good outweighed the bad we would not return, and you would not find a review on the thomson website which said we would not return they wont allow it.



food good
beach good
zoo good
shopping centre good
water park good
pool good


just find another hotel and another part of spain if you dont want to sleep and want to get ripped off
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Sylvia McNulty
8 years 3 months ago
The comments on this hotel are totally biased, we met many people of all age groups( this is a adult only hotel) from 20 to 70's, everyone we met were very friendly and enjoyed their holiday, not everyone stayed in the hotel at night but ventured out to the many bars and restaurants in the Fuengirola area.

The food choices were excellent ie., paela, sea bass, salmon, steak, chicken, roast beef & yorkshire pud., many starters and sweets and a good variety of fresh fruit and cheeses to choose from.

There is a free safe in the room and a fridge that will cost 15 euros per week should you wish to use it.

The area around the pool is limited to approx., 20 sunbeds, but during my stay people did not stay on them all day, we went out after breakfast for a walk along the seafront to the harbour area and when we returned after lunch there was always a bed that someone gave up, we don't go on holiday to lie on a sunbed allday it's nice to visit the zoo, Gibralta and visit the many shops along the area. Go and judge for yourself and don't be a victim of ageism whether your young or old we enjoyed everyones company.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
S
8 years 3 months ago
I have to agree with the previous review..
When we visted the hotel was occupied by a wide range of Ages from 16 upwards.
This was our first vist and wont be our last we shall be definatly be going again we were very impressed with the service we recieved from all the staff at the Hotel Angela....
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
Mr & Mrs K Faulks
9 years 2 months ago
This Hotel is well situated in Fuengirola and ideal for walking the large prom. The food was very good, although they could have made a few more choices with the salad (tuna, sardines etc)
Cleanliness of the inside of the hotel was very good, however, the pool and pool area was in a disgusting state. Our neighbours had complained about the colour of the water in the pool some 9 days before our arrival, and cleaning had been done within the next 2 days. This was fine for a further 2 days, but the pool was not unlike a watery milk colour. I did not see the pool or pool area cleaned in the week that we stayed there. Sunbeds were at a minimum, and we only managed to get the use of them on a single occasion. Towels were placed on sunbeds as soon as the doors were opened at 09.00. Despite complaints to the Thomson rep, this kept happening on a daily basis. As this was an all British customer basis, the German's couldn't be blamed!
The entertainment was poor, but at 49 and 54 years of age, we would possibly enjoy more in about 15 - 20 years time!
Hotel staff on the whole were polite, especially the room cleaners. The Matradee was a miserable so and so, but the 2 head waiters were very good. All of the female restaurant staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for you.
We have been enjoying 4 star accomodation for about 20 years now and have never criticised the rating. However, because of the outdoor cleanliness, along with the very small bathing area and pool, I don't think this hotel deserves it's rating. We called into the hotel's sister hotel, the Yaramar, some 100 yards away, and this very much deserved it's 4 star rating.
I was also disappointed to see just how crammed in everything was, so my lesson learnt is to book in future worthy hotels of either 4 star or Gold ratings at either the Balearics or Canaries. My first time to mainland Spain was not a memorable one and we will not be returning again. The weather however could not be faulted. At 32c - 36c everyday, it made for a good time.
One other thing I would like to point out is the "free" safety deposit box that the Thomson reps continually mention. That's fine, but what they don't tell you is the fridge cost's you the same as what a safety deposit box would at other hotels.
Our trip to Gibraltar was very enjoyable. Unfortunately the speel that the rep gave us about shopping in Gibraltar wasn't exactly true. With promises of huge savings on tobacco, spirits, jewellery and perfumes, we were very surprised to see that bar tobacco, prices were much the same at many of the popular supermarkets back in the UK and also back at the resort. Although tobacco was cheap, you are only allowed 200 cigarettes or 250 gramms of tobacco, so the savings are at a bare minimum.
I also noticed the this hotel is not really for wheel chair access. The extremely steep ramp to the hotel was virtually impossible for the elderly to push up and assistance was often sought from either staff or friendly guests. The downstairs entertainment area and the small garden area could not be accessed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland/Thomson

Recommended
Pete
9 years 2 months ago
Do not stay in this hotel unless you are 60+, its like a retirement home/morgue.

If someone offered me this hotel for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.