56 independent reviews of the Yaramar Hotel
Address: Paseo Marítimo Rey de España, 64, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel Location
Ranked #4 of 25 hotels in Fuengirola


4/5
Yaramar Hotel Yaramar Hotel is rated 4.36 out of 5 from 56 Reviews
84% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (56 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 4 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 5 stars
Location 4 stars

Yaramar Hotel Reviews

4/5
4
"Great Hotel"
Maureen stayed at Yaramar Hotel, Fuengirola in March 2012
We stayed in this hotel for 1 week from 18th to 25th March 2012.

We couldnt find fault with the food, staff, or anything about the hotel except the entertainment which was diabolical. Two of the singers were very good but the remaining two were poor although they were all very hard working. However there were 2 professional acts on in the week and these can only be described as average.


On several nights we went to the sister hotel to watch their entertainment (Hotel Angela) and the acts there were very good.

Would we use this hotel again? Yes, but hopefully by then the entertainment will have improved.


Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5
"Bit Dissapointing"
Knight visited the Yaramar Hotel, Fuengirola, Spain in October 2011
The Yaramar Hotel is an excellent hotel and staff brilliant and friendly. Great for either a relaxing holiday or you can join in the day or evening entertainment. The outside pool and Jacuzzi were very clean and a nice place to laze around for the day.

Our room did look a little tired but clean nonetheless, the window pelmet fell down during the night, a bit frightening for me as it was in the middle of the night and it fell with a loud bang.

The only disappointment was that we felt that it petty to ask your guests to pay for the hire for the use of the fridge, shame, a bit of a let-down really. This should be free to enhance your stay at the hotel, not much to ask really.


Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3
"Never again"
senga and ray stayed at Yaramar Hotel, Fuengirola, Spain in October 2011
We have just come back from staying here a week hotel was very clean. The food was terrible from bacon that was very burned to eggs that were still slimey on top, and as for the evening meal I have had better in a truck stop.

The meat wasnt sliced it was cut into chunks and it was still tough as for desserts the little cakes with the cream in the centre my partner tried to cut it and it was solid in the inside he even had trouble using a knife and fork it was so hard.

As for entertainment it was far better in the Angela hotel, the sister hotel, this I would not rate as a 4 star it would be lucky if I rated it a 2or 3.


Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4
"A very good holiday."
Jane visited the Yaramar Hotel in August 2010
We stayed at this lovely clean hotel at the end of August for 2 weeks. On arrival we were shown to our standard 3rd floor room which was overlooking the pool and beach. We thought it was a good size with twin beds, TV showing English channels, safe, tea and coffee making facilities and fridge (16 euros a week to hire) pool towels already in room. Powerful shower over bath with a shower mat.

Loved the lifts, very posh. Large enough to take a wheelchair comfortably and they even had air conditioning; They struggled to cope at mealtimes though. Quicker to take the stairs although if you were on the top floor this would not be an option really.

Food at this hotel was very good. Always hot and plentiful, the plates were very hot! Good toasters! Porridge and the usual ...
full English breakfast every day as well as cereal, fruit, eggs cooked in front of you if you wanted omelets etc. Dinner was also good lots of choice. Never had a problem finding something we liked. The puddings became a bit samey after a while but still OK. We tried to get down to dinner early each evening as left until later you had to queue for a table.

Drink prices were not too bad especially in happy hour. Pint of Lager was 3.20 coffee 2 Euros. All served to your table with a smile and little bowls of crisps and nuts. The staffs were superb. Very helpful and friendly especially at reception and in the restaurant areas.

The thing we felt that let this hotel down was the evening entertainment. Unless you like old time dancing then this could be for you, Downstairs in the basement is where the main acts were and over our 2 week stay we saw maybe just 3 good shows, the rest were the typical reps and awful. You couldn't see the stage in the smoking area but you could watch the shows as they had a video link to a large screen.

For smokers there is a bar called the Churchill although it is not staffed and very little used, people either didn't know about it or preferred to go outside for their ciggies.

The hotel has a good swimming pool and bar area but for some reason they close it around 6pm or so. Didn't use the pool sunbeds often as we preferred the beach but looked OK. Noticed there was the usual rush when the doors opened at around 9am.

Opposite the hotel is the Rivera beach club and as guests of the Yaramar you can have two beds and a sunshade with a sangria each for 5 Euros. They had thick mattress on them too! It was easy to just pop back to the hotel from your sun bed to have a drink, go to your room or use the toilets in reception if you don't fancy using the ones on the beach.

To sum up we enjoyed our stay and would return. A very good holiday.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5
"Sadly we did't like the resort of Fuengirola"
Kay stayed at Yaramar Hotel, Fuengirola, Spain in August 2010
Myself, husband and two sons (17yrs and 20yrs) stayed at the Hotel Yaramar in August 2010 for two weeks and had a lovely time. The only complaint we have about this hotel was the air conditioning could have been turned up higher, as it was very hot.

The Thompson Gold reps (Harry, Dolly, Emily and Colin) are very good and work very hard to at helping the guests have a lovely holiday.

The food, staff, cleanliness, etc, in the hotel is very good. One night I dropped my fork in the restaurant, and the waitress brought me a clean a clean one before the fork I'd dropped had hit the floor!

The rooms are lovely and clean, and the chambermaid was very friendly and chatty, and kept our bedroom very clean.

The hotel has Happy Hour in the bars, which is great!

Unfortunately my two ...
sons had their wallets and mobile phones stolen on the beach. Partly their fault though, as they were skinny dipping in the sea one night with two girls and left their items unattended. When they came out the sea, their shorts pockets were empty. More alarming, both my boys got beaten up on the second week by four foreign boys/men about 25yrs in an unprovoked attack. The doctor in the hotel Yaramar came to see the boys in their room and sent them to the hospital in Benalmadena for stitches and x-rays. We were told nothing was broken, but after x-rays in Cheltenham hospital, it shows my sons cheek bone is actually broken and needs an operation tomorrow to fix it. A bit baffling why this wasn't picked up in the Benalmadena hospital. My sons had to spend the rest of the holiday with two black eyes each and swollen faces, but staff and guests were always asking after them.

We went on some lovely day trips from Fuengirola. The Fuengirola Bioparc (Zoo) is very good, although a little expensive. The cable cars in Benalmadena are excellent (catch a bus to Benalmadena, then another bus to the cable cars), well worth a trip. We had a lovely day in Ronda, which is a beautiful place to visit. We also had a lovely day in Gibraltar seeing the apes on the Rock, and the WW2 tunnels are very interesting. Mijas is a quaint place to visit.

I have to agree with previous comments about most guests in this hotel are older (50yrs+), but what's wrong with that?!

The pool area is very clean, as is the pool and jacuzzi. People do queue for a sun bed, but we never had a problem getting one.

Would we return to this hotel? Yes if it was else where, but sadly we didn't like the resort of Fuengirola and that's the reason why we wouldn't return to the hotel Yaramar.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3
"Should be adults only, but plenty of kids there"
Mrand Mrs visited the Yaramar Hotel, Fuengirola in July 2010
This Hotel is nice; the service is first class, the people who work there are friendly. But as the Brits aren't filling the place the hotel will fill the rooms with Spaniards who take children with them.

We were sprayed with water pistols bumped with floats by children running about. People who keep going back year after year have never seen children there before.

A complaint to the girl rep was; she opened the drawer of her desk and pulled out the brochure with the relevant page opened and the small print highlighted which makes the whole brochure about exclusively for adults pointless. She said you must have signed or ticked that you agree with the terms and conditions.

Would I go back, maybe when the recessions over till then give it a miss. This is not as advertised and its adult only.


Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Roger stayed at Yaramar Hotel, Fuengirola, Spain in October 2009
Stayed at the Yarama Hotel Fangirola (gods waiting room)Pleasant enough place, with a central auditorium, which meant that the entertainmant in the bar could be heard as if it was being played in your room up until 23:59 every night. Come Dancing every night, but probably could be compared more with the worst of Britain\'s got Tallent. Only go if you have a medical history to relate.

Pool area always full, but generally very clean.

Understaffed in the restaurant, always a queue to be seated, food abundant, but tended to be dried out as it was left under the heat lamps for too long. This was a general view from the people who had been there for mosty of their holidays.

Entertainment was singing of old songs, only spent two nights there as the room did not lend itself to entertainment being an \"L\" shape and open to smokers.

Tour Operator: Thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

finney had a holiday at Yaramar Hotel, Fuengirola in August 2009
Food was plentyful,lots of choice chef\'s always topping the food counters up.

All parts of the hotel were very clean,towels changed daily pool towels also supplied,sheets changed twice.

Hotel in a flat area beach over the road,train station2streets from the hotel very easy to get around even for the less mobile.

All members of staff were very nice nothing was to much trouble for them we were given a room on the 15th floor to high for me but within 5minutes we were given a room on the 5th floor.

The entertainment was run by the Thomson gold team they were very good and they work hard,they do the daytime plus evening.

They are down stairs some reviews say it gets smokey there but it was\'nt when we were there,smokers had a big screen to watch the show as some parts of the area were ...
off angle but if you dont smoke then you are round the corner facing the stage plenty of places to sit.
We would visit again no problems at all,but we did hear that someone had money stolen when they were on the beach and another lady had 200euro pinched from her bag at the local market.

With hotel over the road from the beach really there was no need to take money with you as its easy just to pop back to your room for it,that\'s what we did we also used hotel towels which are supplied for you so we had nothing to worry about if they did go missing,these things can happen anywhere,we done the market we never had or seen anything bad.

There was a mix of age\'s when we were at the hotel we are in our 40\'s but there were younger ones some being in there 20\'s.

Read More

Tour Operator: thomson/firstchoice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Shell had a holiday at Yaramar Hotel, Fuengirola in July 2009
Wonderful hotel, absolutely faultless. Hotel clean, everyone friendly, food varied, plentiful and tasty! If I were to pick one fault it would be the evening entertainment as the room is situated under the hotel, which seems a little strange as it smelt a little stale. However, there is so much to do in and around the hotel that in our 2 week stay, we only watched the Thomson entertainment two or three nights. We were so pleased with our first stay, we are going again this year (infact, my parents both went in April for a short stay too)! Would definately recommend the Yaramar!

P.s - I thought I had left a review before, but obviously not!

Tour Operator: Portland / Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Mrs Fletcher visited the Yaramar Hotel, Fuengirola in June 2009
Hi, We have just returned from this hotel, lovely and clean, staff very friendly. Right on the sea front with easy walking in either direction. Excellent for anyone with a disability as very flat and pavements have been specially made with dips in for wheel chairs.

The pool area was very clean and the snack bar had a nice menu and very clean. It would have been helpful to have a pool attendant as a number of the guests were elderly and the brollies were hard to put up and the sunbed mattresses were quite heavy especially if you were elderly. Mind you, most of the men pitched in and helped different couples.

I would recommend this hotel, however it is on a busy main road which makes it a bit noisy when you are sitting on your ...
balcony, but it was nice to watch the world going by when you are relaxing and not having to bother about the traffic below.

All in all a lovely holiday, although we wont visit again as we like to see different areas, I would recommend this hotel.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Jill and Dave Richardson had a holiday at Yaramar Hotel, Fuengirola in May 2009
What can I say that hasnt already been said ?? This hotel is in a fabulous location , right on the sea front, you can walk for miles in either direction. plenty of bars and cafe to stop at on the way !!

We had booked a corner room as it was our birthday whilst on hols and wow!!!! what a view, never got tired of looking at it!! We arrvived late at night, checking took two mins and a cold meal was in our room when we got there. consisting of tuna salad,, bread rolls, fruit juice, fresh fruit, cake and water,, what more could you ask for ??

The restaurant is well laid out,,, plenty of choice , no matter what you ...
fancy,, hot or cold , couldnt fault it,

Theres the usual rush for sun bad bagging in the morning,,,, why do people do this and then not use the beds til very late on in the day ??

The evening entertainment is in the ex disco underground,, cant comment on the entertainment cos it was so smokey down there and red hot we walked out after a couple of mins , never to return

The room as kept spotless by our maid... what a treasure,, we always make a point of tipping the maids on hols as to us they make our hols perfect,

We did got to the welcome meeting but that was a waste of time.... all they wanted to tell us a bout was the marvelous Thomson entertainment ?? Not the useful stuff like where s the chemist, the bus stops, post boxes ??

we did book the Gibralta trip out,, not for the shopping but the chance to do the World War 2 tunnels , long day , but well worth it,, just dont try buying more than your limit on duty free cos you will be found out,,, you have to literally carry your shopping thru customs on the way back ??

All in all , an excellant holiday,, perfect hotel and we wouldnt hesitate to book again in couple of years or so ??



Read More

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

JB stayed at Yaramar Hotel in February 2009
We stayed at the Yaramar in February for 3 weeks, and enjoyed it very much. We booked with Portland this time, because it was substantially less than Thompsons, even though they are both part of the Tui Group.

The hotel is situated right on the sea front, with a long flat promenade in front. All areas of the hotel we found to be immaculate.

Most rooms either face straight onto the beach and get morning sun, or have a side sea view with afternoon sun. The only exception to this are the corner rooms, one on each of the 14 floors, which are classed as

Tour Operator: Portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Ghislaine & John stayed at Yaramar Hotel, Fuengirola, Spain in November 2008
We stayed for one week in November,Hotel cleaniness and staff excellent,location right on sea front with stunning views,the only down side was the food,a good choice but never piping hot,something that I feel needs some attention

Tour Operator: Thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Susan and dave visited the Yaramar Hotel, Fuengirola in August 2008
stayed in this hotel august 08 had a really good holiday. food lovely had a good choice for breakfasts and evening meals. hotel was spotless staff were excellent always willing to help. hotel location ideal train station 2 mins from hotel trains so easy to use.

entertianment not bad they try there best these reps give them there due but there is plenty of pubs if the shows are not you your thing.
would most likley visit in the future but to be honest not to keen on main land spain thats nothing to do with the hotel just to say there were kids there spanish families use this hotel and some of them had kids with them

Tour Operator: portland direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Tommy stayed at Yaramar Hotel, Fuengirola, Spain in August 2008
Just got back from staying a week at the Yaramar Hotel nice and clean and plenty of choice of food but lots of queing entertainment was mostly done by the reps if you want any sunbeds get down early some mornings the queing started at 07 30am and beds gone in 15 minutes across the road they have beds on the beach also need to be early.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Joolz had a holiday at Yaramar Hotel, Fuengirola, Spain in August 2008
Just returned from 2wks at this wonderful hotel. We emailed in advance and requested top floor which we were delighted with, 15 floors. Amazing views of beach and harbour (all rooms sea view some pool view aswell), we were facing front.

On arrival our cases were taken from us and promptly delivered to our room. Safe in room \'free\' 30 euros for fridge hire for 2wks.

Food lovely wide variety. Lots of fish dishes king prawns, mussells, smoked salmon (Yum!!) At breakfast eggs were made fresh - boiled, poached or fried also french toast pancakes and omlettes. You are entitled to an a la carte, silver service meal during stay.

Pool area small and getting a sunbed could be a problem (long queues). Across road at the Rivera club you got 2 sunbeds parosol and glass of ...
sangria for 5 euro.

We booked for Gibraltar trip independently and it was much cheaper thatn with Thomson.

Poolside entertainment such as aqua aerobics, quoits, daily quiz during day. Of an evening we went to the Spanish style cafe bars along the back streets.

Would definitely return.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

John visited the Yaramar Hotel, Fuengirola, Spain in August 2008
Just back from 2 weeks at the Yaramar, hotel itself is lovely, clean and well appointed. Good selection of food, always hot and fresh.
Downsides are the pool area is too small, the only way to get a sunbed is to be down there at dawn and queue till 08:30 when they open the doors.
The location of the hotel itself might not suit some people, its right on the promenade, and road, plenty of activity/noise till late at night, its OK when your doors are shut, but noisy if not.
The Entertainment team try hard, but the venue is terrible, its in the cellar in what was previously a dsico, the room shape means that half of the audience have to watch on a large projection screen, it gets very hot and smokey as well.
I dont think we will return to this resort or hotel.


Tour Operator: Thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Mary Morley had a holiday at Yaramar Hotel in December 2007
Stayed over the new year. Had a fantastic time. What was particularly noticeable was the very friendly and courteous staff. Rooms lovely Hotel was spotless the brochure doesn\'t do the hotel justice. Excellent choices in the buffet restaurant The food always seemed very fresh. Most guests seemed to be on their 5th or 6th visit. Older clientle for the winter season but all fun loving. Dancing in the evening with some couples in practise for stricly come dancing! Can\'t wait for next year.

Tour Operator: Portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Linda & John had a holiday at Yaramar Hotel in May 2007
We stayed at the Yaramar from 8th-22nd May, and we could not fault it in any way.

The hotel was spotlessly clean throughout. We booked a superior room, and the view was amazing, it looked as if you were right in the sea! The room was huge, with a double bed, bathrobes and slippers, wine, fruit and flowers, and turn back service on a night.


The bathrooms in all rooms are supplied with soap, shampoo, bubble bath, combs, toothbrushes and toothpaste, shower caps, shoe cleaning pad and face tissues.
The food is excellent, for breakfast and evening meal, and we could find no fault with any of the meals.

The swimming pool also has a jaccuzi and there are plenty of loungers and umbrellas. Pool towels are provided, they are in your room, just ask the maid if you want them changing.There\'s also ...
a pool bar serving snacks as well as drinks, happy hour is from 12-1pm, 2 for the price of one.

I can\'t comment on the entertainment as we don\'t bother, we like to get out and about on a night.

We had a fantastic holiday at the Yaramar, and would not hesitate to go back, and it\'s not often I would say that.

The age range of the clientel while we were there was from about 40\'s to 60, maybe 70. Everyone we met was friendly.

Read More

Tour Operator: D.I.Y

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

John & Phyl Harvey visited the Yaramar Hotel, Fuengirola in April 2007
This hotel is well-situated across the road from the beach in Fuengirola.

The hotel is immaculately presented, and the rooms superbly maintained. Each room has an excellent sea view.
But, and it is a big BUT, at this time of year it caters almost exclusively for very old people, most of whom are there courtesy of a cheap monthly rate. Now of course it is good that elderly people have somewhere nice to go and enjoy themselves, but the entertainment and the food seem to be aimed at them, and for someone younger it does take the edge off the atmosphere. The Thomson gold holidays aren\'t cheap, and to find ourselves in a place that closely resembled an old folks home was extremely disappointing, and we felt that Thomson's should have been more forthcoming with information about our likely experience at ...
the time we booked. Do not go here if you are under 70.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson's
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars
Share