Image of Sol Don Pedro Hotel

Sol Don Pedro Hotel

13 of 37 hotels in Torremolinos

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
3 stars
Avenida del Lido, 0, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Built in typical Andalucian style, the Sol Don Pedro Hotel stands in attractive gardens beside the promenade. This hotel has bars, shops and restaurants close by and the bus stop is just 100m away.

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Gordon
9 years 11 months ago
Great hotel, reception staff very helpful. We had a superior room which was very modern and had a great outlook towards the sea. The room had a free fridge and a safe which required a deposit and payment. Could have done with tea making facilities. Only observation was that there are no carpets in passageways and you hear every footstep and rumbling trolley case
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
Karen
10 years 5 months ago
Only booked this one week before travelling. Didn't do my usual research. Deco is typical Spanish style. My husband and myself are in our late 40's we found ourselves the youngest there at the time. Don't let this put you off it was so peaceful and quiet absolute bliss. No fighting for sunbeds in the morning.

Staff really friendly and helpful.

All places very clean. Rooms cleaned very day along with fresh towels etc.

Location two mins from beach. You can also use facilities from other hotels e.g Don Marco and Don Pablo.

The food was great something for everyone night after night no complains. Hotel great if you have any difficulties in walking.

Didn't try any of the hotel entertainment
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Paddy And Stella Pickard
10 years 5 months ago
This was our first visit to Don Pedro. We emailed in advance requesting a high floor with a sunny view and that
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sky bargains

Recommended
Stewart Fox
10 years 7 months ago
In early January we booked a two week late deal via "First Choice" which turned out to be a Thomas Cook Holiday in Torremolinos at the Sol Don Pedro. Arriving at the Hotel around 8pm we were stil in time for dinner after a smooth and very efficient booking in procedure. Our room was superb, clean and faced out onto the back of the three hotel complex and landscaped garden area. First impressions of the Hotel were pleasure and after getting fully orientated 'orientated'the next day-highly impressed with layout and cleanliness. As far as my wife and I were concerned the food and choice of same was excellent, as I am slightly diabetic I had absolutely no problems at all in selecting suitable meals. I truly cannot fault the staff be they cleaners to management and feelsomewhat ashamed at my lack of Spanish against their grasp of English, the latter very good with perhaps the maids being the only ones with limited command of the language-but come on, who am I to complain as I am the visitor not them! The infamous entertainment report, again being out of season on is hardly expecting it to be on par with Las Vegas for gods sake! Frankly, after a day of exploring the resort and suronding areas we were more than happy to sit in the bar/entertainment area and enjoy the visiting acts and staff entertinment-all of it very good, especially the young Welsh lad with an excellent vocal range and more talent than anything seen on X-Factor, this lad was talented. Not only would I visit again I am going to visit again, one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in during many years of visiting Spain. However, if you are a diehard Brit who does not want to mix with either Spanish, French or Germans either stay in the UK or go elsewhere, that way you cannot moan about other guests in the hotel-fair enough?
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
10 years 10 months ago
6th visit to this hotel for a one night stay. Again - no complaints - quick checkin and allocated a nice room with double bed for single occupancy. Decided on this occasion to try the buffet dinner again (included in price of just 45 pounds all in) and while its been a while since i last did this at the hotel the standard of food was very good with a great choice from starters, mains, deserts, cheece, lots of differents breads and salads. Just seemed a little noisy for me in the dining area but maybe that was because did not have anyone with me attracting all my attention!!!

My only complaint really is that I wish they would put down carpets in the corridors. While the tiles look good and are in traditional style, it is noisy when suitcases are run along them - sometimes early in the morning.

Breakfast - including the home made pancakes are a must and the easy car parking wonderful for a quick getaway.

I do like his hotel for value (off season) and i did note that the flamingo show was very very very well attended. Lounge areas are very good and an easy place to sit down with a book or simply people watch.


Nivsy
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: none

Recommended
Gill & Phil
11 years ago
Just back from a weeks half board at this hotel, which was allocated on arrival.

The food is quite good, plenty of choice. The public areas are nice and clean.

However was really disappointed in the room, the dust under and around the bed was appalling, I don't know when it was last cleaned. The bathroom still had the previous occupants hairs in. There was also a musty smell. Asked reception 4 times and the rep (when you actually tracked him down - NEVER at desk when supposed to be) for room to be moved or at least cleaned properly, and it never was. I cleaned bathroom myself. The balcony was covered in ash from the ignorants above, this wasn't cleaned either.

Entertainment starts at 11.30 at night - too late for children.

Won't return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Joan Hawkins
11 years 1 month ago
Had a brill short break with grandsons.(aged 10 + 9 )Hotel staff excellent with kids and encouraging when you attempted to speak Spanish.

Food was very varied with everything from local dishes to chips. Prices from poolside bar not as expensive as we expected.

Room a bit small for 4 of us but very clean.

4 Pools and a jacuzzi to choose from and beach right opposite hotel with private access gate and security.

Great location for shops etc.

Evening entertainment in Spanish (repeated in English) as lots of guests were from Spain. Great family atmosphere with plenty of daytime activities for all. Boys disappointed that you had to be 13 years old to play football activity.

Will definitely return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Globespan

Recommended
Mr S Taylor
11 years 7 months ago
As we booked this holiday on a late deal, we didnt know what hotel we were staying in. On arriving at malaga airport, we were told that we were staying in the Don Pedro, on arrival to the hotel the coach cannot pull up outside, but your dropped a little walk awy on the opposite side of the street.

Once inside the hotel, it is a typical spanish hotel with great facilities and class.

We checked in, and we were given a family room, which we did not need as there was only 2 of us. We asked at reception and they moved us without any problem at all.

The restaurant is great, but you would think it was awful, if you listened to some of the older guests, who expected Pukka pie and chips everynight!

The food is excellent, you will never starve, plenty of bread, fruit and an excellent choice everynight. Fresh fish is cooked in front of you. The restaurant staff are friendly, but dont understand alot of english.

Visiting this hotel this time of the year is mainly older people, but the entertainment is aimed at them, but we only had bingo once in a week. Some of the evening acts were a bit rubbish, but your on holiday and you expect a bit of tack!

Throughout the day you can use the pablo's facilities, and this also includes the evening entertainment, but be warned the drinks are cheaper in the pedro. (Happy Hour 5.30-6.30 2x1)

All in all we had a great holday, and made some great friends. We were the youngest in the hotel, with us both being 26, but we were made to feel so welcome-i would go back tomorrow.

If you were looking for information from the Thomson rep, dont look here-she was awful, we had no information about the resort, all she was intrested in was booking trips (Which are alot cheaper just outside in the resort)

The location of the hotel is great, most of the holiday we used the local trains 55 and 25mins past every hour till midnight, excellent service which goes from malaga to fuengirola.

Excellent holiday, and great value for money.


Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
Geoff Tucker
11 years 10 months ago
Why does the baggage handling system at Manchester airport always breakdown when we arrive to check in. All the luggage in terminal 2 being shoehorned through a single check in desk causing queues, delays and frayed tempers,

The Don Pedro is on a complex with the Don Marco and Don Pablo with the beach just across the road.. There are shops, bars and restaurants along the sea front but only two Irish bars with entertainment.

The room we were allocated was a corner room with no balcony but a after word with reception this was changed, without fuss, to a much better one. The rooms were comfortable , clean and well equipped.

There was a good choice of food but buffet meals become a bit repetitive after a time. An influx of Spanish holidaymakers at weekends resulted in congestion at mealtimes.

The hotels entertainment team were poor in the evening, incapable of miming songs but occasional outside artists were much better.

Most of the guests in the complex were "elderly" and went to bed by eleven, I am 60 myself but this was to sedate.

A good hotel in a good location but early October is just to quiet.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: orchid

Recommended
Mooch
11 years 10 months ago
The Don Pedro was a little quite for our liking, but what do you expect at the end of October.

The food was good and plentiful with a fair choice.

Room was spacious & clean.

The staff were great even better if you spoke a little Spanish, all in all a great inexpensive winter break.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.