Image of Best Cambrils Hotel

Best Cambrils Hotel

5 of 6 hotels in Cambrils

4 out of 5 from 35 reviews
4 stars
Avinguda de la Diputació, 141, 43850 Cambrils, Spain

35 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Susan Di Fonzo
7 years ago
We stayed in Best Hotel Cambrils. I would consider this to be a 3 star hotel not a 4 star. The bedroom was on the first floor and rather cramped. We had to keep moving the bed to get into the wardrobe. The bed was average UK size double with extra large pillows meant for larger beds. It was extremely warm at night even though the air conditioning was on. I found it difficult to sleep. Outside balcony area led onto a flat roof and was not partitioned very well from people next door. We were very careful to make sure balcony door was securely locked when leaving the room but twice when we returned found that balcony door was unlocked. When I told a receptionist she made out that I was making a fuss about nothing and was very rude. Bar staff were all very nice especially one called Angel. Food was good. The room was cleaned every day thoroughly. Shame about the lack of concern over security. For this reason I would not return.The entertainment was very poor. There were a couple of good shows but most nights consisted of old time dancing. This is definately a hotel suitable for older couples. The hotel was located near to bus stop to most local towns and also to Barcelona. The beach was over the road. A restaurant called Popeyes, owned by Irish couple was very good and very reasonable.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
7 years 1 month ago
I would rate this hotel as a 3 star +, rather than a 4 *. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is located half way between Salou and Cambrils - public transport to either town is easy - bus around every 10 mins just outside hotel. Taxi rank nearby, which we needed for Mum in wheelchair.

Food choice was good,served as buffet style with wide range of hot dishes, grill, salads, fresh fruit, breads etc. and larger tables available for bigger groups - we were a family, ages between 21 and 82. The only difficiculty we had was that my Mum and I cannot eat peppers or garlic, so this limited our choice somewhat. We would have enjoyed more pasta dishes to be available.

I had emailed the hotel to ask for our 4 double rooms to have pool view and be adjacent. We got the 4th floor overlooking the pool, and rooms close together - they were all "family" rooms ie. had 2 king size beds. Wonderful. Kept very clean, have own hairdryer and fridge, complimentary toiletries, inc toothbrush and razor replaced daily.

Overall, we enjoyed this hotel - entertainment was of a reasonable standard, although we didn't really watch it, preferring to go out. A few bars nearby - we enjoyed Popeye's on the front in the evening.

Ony negative for this hotel for us were that maintenance issues were not addressed, despite frequent requests (nothing desperate though) and the key cards kept failing.

We would visit again thoigh, at the right price.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 5 months ago
We stayed for 2 weeks while my in-laws stayed for 1, and we could find little to fault this hotel on !

The ffod was TOP CLASS, with the largest choice available for evening dinner I'd ever seen, and some foods (beef, Fish lamb, etc.) were also cooked to oder in front of you if you wished.

Only slight downside is the poor night entertainment, but we went out most nights so warn't too concerned.

great hotel, clean with friendly and helpful staff and a great location if you want a touch of the best of Salou and Cambrils, but want a little privacy as well.

If possible get a Sea View Room on the 1st. floor with the extra large balcony especially if travelling with kids.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sharon
Not a 4*
7 years 7 months ago
This hotel should not be a 4 star more like a 2 star. Our room was very smelly and we asked to be moved and were shown a room which was just as smelly. The staff were rude and unhelpful. We only stayed for 4 nights and that was enough.

The location was good and the bus stopped right outside the hotel for a short trip into salou or cambrils. The food was not very good and very little variety each day. The queue for the coffee machine was too long.The pool area was packed and too many sunbeds crammed in.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
8 years 1 month ago
Hotel was better than expected,could not find much to fault. Public areas could do with a face lift, furnishings looking a bit dated, but kept clean and tidy.Room acceptable with air-conditioning, hair dryer and small fridge. The food was very good, lots of choice, probably the best buffet selection I have ever had in a hotel. The dining room was very busy and sometimes had to queue, but not for long, the staff seem to keep things running smoothly. Breakfast until 10.30am. Pool area busy but loads of sunbeds so no need to get up too early. Never stayed in for the entertainment so cant comment. Over all, not bad, certainly not 4star but a good 3star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Deborah
8 years 2 months ago
Just returned from a 1 week stay at Best Cambrills Hotel (formerly Cambrills Princess). We had a great time the hotel was clean and the food was good with lots of choice for everyone, (you will always get someone that moans though). Around the pool there was plenty of beds (but not many areas with any shade) although if you paid 2 Euro refundable deposit you could hire a parasol for the day. All in all we had a good time and would return to this hotel again. If there was anything that I would have to moan about it would be that the air conditioning in our room was all but none existent and that many of the staff leave the Brits waiting and prefer to serve other Europeans!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Paul
9 years ago
We had a great time here.Our first holiday without the kids.Glad to say only a few kids were at the hotel.No school?The transfer was quick and we were allocated a pool view from our room.The rooms at the back would have got a good view of the railway.The half hour walk to Cambrils or Salou (the other way) is done via the flat prom with the beach right next to it.Taragona is worth a visit(half hour on the bus).Salou has bars galore and musical fountains.Cambrils is smarter,with a nice harbour.Food in the hotel was good,but you always get people moaning.I wind them up and agree that its bad,but they never complain.We have a laugh at the old uns as they ponder,one cake or two?!But we will catch them up soon,cant wait to slow them young uns down!No flight delays.Good holiday
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mhairi
9 years 3 months ago
We stayed in this hotel for a fortnight. We had stayed here previously the year before and thought everything was fantastic.

There had been a good choice of food, entertainment, the staff were helpful, we could not have asked for a better hotel to stay in and in my opinion it fully deserved its 4**** rating.

This year however was a different story. The hotel has recently been bought over and the new owners are cutting everything from staff to food back to the bare minimum and its noticeable...very.

You could tell that the staff were not happy with all the changes, they work long hours and very hard. A lot of the staff I had remembered from the previous year and they were all very good at their job and dedicated.

But its not a good sign when the customers pick up on the unrest, and believe me they did. The Thomsons reps in the hotel were getting inundated with complaints.

I dont know that I would stay in this hotel again, as I dont believe you will get the same level of service that you would have in 2006, and I would be very surprised to see it retaining its 4**** rating. They have alot of improving to do.

Which is a shame as it was an excellent hotel.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sam Goulding
9 years 4 months ago
This hotel is what can only be described as excellent, our room was spacious well maintained nicely furnished and very very clean.

The hotel food is again excellent we had breakfast and evening meal, both provided a very good selection of high quality food, everything from salad to steak and all in between. It's self service buffet style, all laid out well and more than enough to eat.

The location of the hotel is ideal for all tastes, the beach is just across the road, the bus stops are outside the hotel where you can get a bus to Barcelona, Tarragona, Reus, Salou and the water park. The buses run frequently and tickets can be obtained in the hotel reception, Barcelona was 18.90 (euro) rtn p/adult, be sure if you visit Tarragona to buy your return ticket in the bus station before you get bus back. It's a nice place to visit as is Barcelona.

There was entertainment every night in the bar/lounge area, mostly for those who like to dance but none the less enjoyable, the beer and other drinks are a good price also 2.50 for a pint, 8.20 for 1 litre of sangria..

The hotel has a very nice pool area with lots of sunbed space, the staff were all pleasant and helpful, all in all a great hotel and a very nice holiday experience, the only very minor complaint was that we were at back of hotel near rail line but the trains are not that bad and it didn't spoil our holiday at all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Carol
9 years 5 months ago
Hotel should be 2 star not 4. The rooms were cleaned daily 5 days out of 14 we were left with no towels or loo rolls.

The hot food (what a laugh) was cold no matter what time you went to eat. Many times I found lipstick on the glasses and refused to use them.

I found the staff helpful. We had paid for a late checkout, but they asked us to leave the room at 10 o'clock so it could be cleaned, we refused I went to see the rep who told the staff we would not leave until 4 o'clock. So they put a stop on the key to the room so if we went out we could not get back in.

Would we go back? I don't think so, even if was free. We have stayed in better.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Popular hotels in Cambrils