119 independent reviews of the Villamarina Club Hotel
Address: Ciutat de Reus, 42, 43840, Salou, Tarragona , Spain
Villamarina Club Hotel
Villamarina Club Hotel Location
Ranked #41 of 75 hotels in Salou


3/5
Villamarina Club Hotel Villamarina Club Hotel is rated 3.3 out of 5 from 119 Reviews
56% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (119 reviews)

Cleanliness 3 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 3 stars
Location 3 stars

Villamarina Club Hotel Reviews

4/5
4
"Good for families and couples"
Simon lawton stayed at Villamarina Club Hotel in August 2013
Although the room was fairly basic, it was functional and cleaned daily. The staff were all pleasant and spoke good English. The pools were supposed to be split one for children and one for adults but this did not seem to be the case. This was not really an issue as the roof terrace, which is strictly adults only is a little oasis. With it's two spa pools and friendly barman, I can recommend the roof for some peace and quiet.

Over all I'd recommend the hotel for both couples and families.

The entertain was OK if a little "Butlins" and the staff friendly and efficient .The location was good for the beach and town center.

Tour Operator: Sun saver.com

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4
"Good time with Elton John"
james and jan had a holiday at Villamarina Club Hotel, Salou in September 2012
We had a great time with the family at the Villamarina. All inclusive and we had what we thought was a great choice of meals daily in the restaurant. Service was good and the kids entertainers were very good.
Usual family stuff to do and the drinks are OK, beer is OK and spirits are what you would expect in an all-inclusive bar. Branded drinks available at reasonable prices as well.

The evening entertainment was enough to keep you in the bar, The Elton John tribute act was so bad he was great, like a traditional pub singer with big glasses and a sparkly jacket.

To be fair I would recommend it to anyone wanting a decent family holiday on the all-inclusive basis, not posh but clean and the kids loved it.

By the way we were getting a much better rate for ...
the exchange in the UK before we left than is offered in Spain.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Mike stayed at Villamarina Club Hotel in May 2010
We returned on the 11th from what was a holiday from hell. I also thought i was in the wrong Hotel, one of the previous reviews said it was better than a 3 star. More like a 2 star. I suffered from diarrhoea and sickness. thought I was going to die.It`s seems I wasn`t alone either, I have since heard several complaints at the same time we were there. Never again. Miles from anywhere. It was like a big cafe with pools. The day before the last we escaped and moved to the Jamie 1 in salou. Heaven.

Tour Operator: Travel Republic
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Gerry and Kate had a holiday at Villamarina Club Hotel in April 2010
We are a mature couple and enjoy our comforts
we have been to Salou on many occasions and have stayed in other 3&4* hotels in Salou we have just returned from a 7 night stay in Villa Marina Club we read the reviews but we like to make up our own minds our flight was late due to the Volcanic ash problem we were picked up at the airport and when we arrived at the hotel we met by friendly reception staff and the manager Lindsey (with whom l had made the direct booking ) were there to greet us (she had phoned our home to enquire if we were able to leave for Salou due to the problems of aircraft not being able to fly)
well we were booked in and got our rooms which were spotless with hairdryer tv and ...
had comfortable beds we were able to have our siesta after lunch!
the bar and restruant staff were very helpful and friendly the food was very good with plenty of variety
and was always hot enough for tastes there was a roast carved on most nights and we had a bottle of wine at every meal there are other drinks available
entetainment was available all day and we were able relax with our drinks and enjoy them
the hotel is in a good location and there is a shuttle bus to bring you to the town centre or the beach or if you wish it is a nice stroll with shops en route
we would like to take this opportunity to thank the manage Lindsey for the great help and assistance she gave us when we were trying to find out about our flight home
and also we would like to thank the rest of the reception /bar/restruant staff in making our stay a happy one we will definitely be back
PS ..this is not an advertisement but a truthful review from satisfied holiday makers
we would like to suggest thant any one reading this review and wanting to book should make the booking direct with the hotel... info@hotel-villamarinaclub.com
we make this suggestion because of the personal service that we got you will slso get free transfers and a bottle of champange in your room !!

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct booking with hotel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

margo visited the Villamarina Club Hotel, Salou in June 2009
when we arrived in the afternoon first thought was the noise of children being very loud from 2 pools but then found adults only roof top bar with waiter service and sun loungers with 2 jacuzzis, hotel is excellent for childen with lots to do with day and evening programes also very good value for money as all alcohol drinks plus cocktails are available also kids cocktails and icecream also, meals are lovely with plenty of choice, mini bar at pool with choice of burgers, hotdogs, chips etc. Entertainment was usual quiz at 8pm then kids time and bingo around 9.15pm, late show consited of various artists that surprisingly wee very good. Rooms are small also balconys but very clean and dont expect great views as hotel is surrounded with palm trees. This hotel is basic and mainly occupied of scots/english/irish

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

margo stayed at Villamarina Club Hotel in June 2009
when we arrived in the afternoon first thought was the noise of children being very loud from 2 pools but then found adults only roof top bar with waiter service and sun loungers with 2 jacuzzis, hotel is excellent for childen with lots to do with day and evening programes also very good value for money as all alcohol drinks plus cocktails are available also kids cocktails and icecream , meals are lovely with plenty of choice, mini bar at pool with choice of burgers, hotdogs, chips etc. Entertainment was usual quiz at 8pm then kids time and bingo around 9.15pm, late show consited of various artists that surprisingly were very good. Rooms are small and balconys but very clean and dont expect great views as hotel is surrounded with palm trees. This hotel is basic and mainly ...
occupied of scots/english/irish, brilliant if on tight budget, supermaket turn left of hotel and straight on supermarket on corner, for beach turn right from s/market and follow road to beach, for all inclusive we thought great value but usual compaints from people couples who wanted more upper class well all I can say pay hundreds more and dont go to a family hotel with loud childen having a ball, we had a geat time and met so many different people with children that we did not need to go to roof top. Hotel staff are excellent and also security who are always on alert at all times with first aid person avaialable at pool times , A big plus from 7pm tight security at hotel entrance and no child will get passed them. regards margo

Read More

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

sarah visited the Villamarina Club Hotel in June 2009
i have just came back from an 11 night stay at the villa marina hotel. my family and i absolutely love it here. i would recommend it to any one and definately come here again. the food is great with a wide range of dishes, plenty of choice and meals suitable for vegetarians/ vegans. the staff are so helpful, hard working, friendly and can\'t do enough for you. the reps and entertainment are good with kids clubs and activities run daily. there is always something to do. we stayed in the apartments with fitted kitchen/wardrobes, washing maschine and large balcony. they are luxurious and well worth upgrading to. going back again october.

Tour Operator: hello holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Andy & Stevie Bain visited the Villamarina Club Hotel, Salou in April 2009
I go on holiday aprox 5 times a year and have done for the last 12 years and this is without doubt one of the best 3 star hotels on the market for the whole pakage. From the moment you enter the hotel you are made to feel very welcome with cheery reception staff at the front desk the rooms are a tad small but have all the facilities required including British tv and are kept spottlessly clean,the bar staff are always on the ball usually after you have been up 2 or 3 times know exactly what you want to drink, there is also an extensive list of cocktails at the right hand side of the bar again the barstaff are game for a laugh,the dinning room has an great choice of foods with a roast being sliced at ...
the end of the dining room most nights,the entertainers are absolutly brilliant taking control of kids from about 11.00 am till 22.00pm and also providing entertainment for adults all day long. I look forward to my next visit when the new rooftop jacuzzies and adult only bar will be open. Lastly I would like to thank Lindsy and her staff for saving my holiday as I was booked into the cambrills playa (SEE EARLIER REPORT)for the first three days and advise all the readers of this page to book the hotel direct online as the hotel arrange free transfers and a free bottle of champagne on arrival P.S. this is not an advertisment it will save about

Read More

Tour Operator: online booking

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

jackie mcdonald stayed at Villamarina Club Hotel in September 2008
just back from a week at the villa marina hotel and cant wait to go back next but this time for 2 weeks. we had a great holiday. the food was great something for everyone, hotel was clean, hotel was abit away from the beach about a 15 minute walk but nice shops on the way down or you can get the free bus from the hotel, hotel staff were fine some better than others but if you are nice to them they will be nice to you, entertainment was great join in the fun and games your on holiday enjoy yourselves, kids club on most of the day and the 2 pools are great for the kids, my kids are 4 6 12 15 and all had a great time and cant wait to go back next year looking ...
to book again as we speak, this hotel is a good 3 star hotel.

Tiny Liz Cheryl and Tasha look out we are coming back next year keep up the good work xxx

Read More

Tour Operator: sunsave

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Dave visited the Villamarina Club Hotel, Salou in August 2008
Reading some of the reviews for this hotel before we left for our holiday had my wife fearing the worst. However the hotel was excellent, you get what you pay for and I have no real complaints.
The food was very good with plenty of choice. A comment earlier about fry ups for breakfast and lunch is misleading as there is an all day breakfast at lunchtime as well as plenty of other choices. The salads were always fresh and clean.
The rooms are small and if you have a party of four you will be cramped but as it is only for sleeping in what is the problem. Live out of your suitcase, you are on hoiday!
The entertainment was mixed although the entertainers tried hard all week we were there. They organise activities all day and most of them are free.
The ...
bar staff were excellent and the queues were very short, at busy times they had 3 service tills going.
I would return to this hotel.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Tom stayed at Villamarina Club Hotel, Salou, Spain in August 2008
After reading other reviews on this site my family and I were fearing the worst, but the hotel was MUCH better than other reviews stated.

The rooms may be small and fit 2-3 people comfortably but I could see 4 people being a squeeze but you only really sleep in the room.

The hotel was very clean and tidy the pool area and sunbeds were cleaned every evening. the food was absolutely fantastic, always plenty to eat and a large variety of different meals too eat. The food was always hot.

The hotel is in a good location just outside the main resort, the beach and town centre is about a 10 minute walk away.

the entertainment was good and kept the children active all day. In the evening if you do not fancy the entertainment in the bar then there is a ...
DVD shown outside, The films shown are always fairly new and good films that you would actually want to watch!

I would definitely visit this hotel again soon.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Tony visited the Villamarina Club Hotel, Salou in July 2008
Arrived at the hotel after midnight a good few hours late as our globespan transfer was over two hours late.

Given keys to a room, we were then led out of a back door (emergency exit), marched a good few hundred yards down the road and placed in a dirty shabby apartment. There were holes in the walls of this apartment and was smelly and dirty. I refused to stay in this room as we had booked a room in the hotel not in this filth. Returned to receptionist and advised him we were not staying in that room and could he give us one in the hotel which we had booked. We were advised all rooms full, and to quote, \"if you had arrived earlier you would have been given a better room\" we were shocked at this attitude as ...
were other guests passing by. We refused to stay in that room so he took our room key off us and my friend and I (two elderly ladies) had to spend all night in reception. I was so upset I phoned my son and he emailed the hotel manager and finally by the time morning had came we were moved rooms.

The new room was still dirty, two inches of dust under the beds bathroom smelt strongly of sewage, didn\'t look nothing like the picture on the website. Manager had left a basket of fruit and a bottle of bubbly though (whoopie doo). There was no other rooms available and due to the stress of it all we decided to stay put and try and enjoy our time in Salou.

Restaurant was full of flys, Food was just ok, nothing special. - Will NOT be returning. Now seeking compensation from Globespan

Read More

Tour Operator: Globespan
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Lawrie stayed at Villamarina Club Hotel in July 2008
We have just returned from a 10 day stay and can honestly say we had a lovely holiday. The rooms are on the small side if you are a family of four but we only ever slept and changed in it as we were out all the time so it was perfect. There is plenty of choice at meal times, full english every morning, with croissoints, fruit and cereals. Lunchtime you could make up your own sandwiches or have a salad or hot meal. Evening meals; carvery every night and plenty of choice, kids loved the ravioli. I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again. It is in the quiet are of Salou which is perfect as we found the main part of salou too busy. Aquapolis water park is a ...
definite visit perfect for kids aged 10 and over. We used the free bus ticket to get there but found it just as cheap to get a taxi back rather than wait for the bus. Portaventura is worth a visit as well. We went in the evening and watched the fireworks at the end try and get to the top end of the lake as you will see the laser show which was really good.

Read More

Tour Operator: Independent

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

S WIGHT had a holiday at Villamarina Club Hotel in July 2008
we are a family that are use to butlins holiday camp. As i always said until my kids were old enuff to swim on there own (7 and 9)and you are not running round after them i would not go abroad.I made the right choice.I hadnt read the reviews on this hotel till i came back . I am shocked by some of them as i found the perfect family holiday for me and my family. I cannot find any fault with all aspects . okay rooms were small, im used to a chalet.As everything else goes it was clean. food was excellant. entertainment was great. The choice of activities was exceptional. My boys didnt want to come home.I have been on these hols before i had children and found them average. This family holiday was the best i loved ...
every minute.At midnight everything went dead as with it being a family hotel children of all ages was able to have a good nights sleep.Through the day there was plenty to keep kids and adults entertained. i would certainly visit this hotel again as everything from entertainment to food and drink were fantastic.My boys want to live there. It as given my children a good view of going abroad again. I would certainly go again. Thankyou to all the staff that made my family holiday magical.xx

Read More

Tour Operator: THOMAS COOK

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

Denise stayed at Villamarina Club Hotel, Salou in May 2008
Thought I would leave my review on this hotel and update it a bit. We paid

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

jane visited the Villamarina Club Hotel, Salou in May 2008
I have just returned from the Villa Marina and had a great holiday. Hotel reception was very clean and maids were always seen around the rooms on our floor.
Check-in was very organised and throughout the week the staff were very helpful and friendly.
We stayed on an all-inclusive basis and found there was plenty of choice within the week. Food was what you would expect of a 3 star hotel, full english breakfasts,toast, bread rolls, croissants, cereals, cold meatsand fruit. Plenty of choice also for lunch and evening meals.Each evening the chef would carve a roast joint.There was also a choice for children each day, the usual fish fingers, chicken nuggets, pasta, boiled rice, jacket potatoes, beans etc. In my opinion if you cant find anything to eat at this hotel you are too fussy!
The rooms are smaller than average, but ...
we managed, although the balconies are small, only big enough for one patio chair on its side.
The hotel is in a quiet location away from the resort centre which suited my family as I have young children.Each evening there was a family film shown on a large screen outside near the play area or there was also a TV inside which showed a family film. I have two daughters aged 3 and 7 and they enjoyed watching the entertainment. Like all hotels it won\'t suit everyone they do play the usual games of bingo. We saw a Abba Tribute group, The Four Tops, Elvis, tribal dancers and the kids enjoyed the usual disco and party dances.The entertainment and bar closes at 12,you are then asked to finish drinks on the terrace by half midnight so the hotel is very quiet and peaceful from then for a good nights sleep-no rowdy behaviour.
The hotel is about a 20 minute walk away from the main areas of Salou which is obviously much busier. The hotel runs a courtesy bus between 10 and 11.30 am to the resort centre and returns between 4 and 5.30 pm. A taxi is really cheap as well approx 5 euros during the day(approx 8 on an evening).
I do think this hotel is more suited for families than older adults. Overall we had a great time and I would visit this hotel again. A holiday to me is what you make of it, good value for money.

Read More

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

g wilson visited the Villamarina Club Hotel, Salou, Spain in October 2007
well,what can i say about this hotel.this place is an eye opener.this is an extremely tired 3* hotel .which taking things into account waas very good value for money .we paid

Tour Operator: globespan
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Colin Withe had a holiday at Villamarina Club Hotel in September 2007
CLEANLINESS - hotel room was small but enough to sleep in as thats all you want to do on holiday. Rooms cleaned everyday, Towels changed every day, Sheets changed 2 x weekly Hotel over all clean bit of wear and tear but as end of season to be expected.

FOOD - Food was very good but very basic. If you like going abroad but eating english foods this is the place for you.

HOTEL LOCATION - this location is really good as it is only 10 min walk from beach 15 min walk from all clubs / pubs and is quite area if you want to relax.

HOTEL STAFF - The staff are really good, Manager Eva is always around to help you and joining in with all the entertainment. Bar staff all work really hard and always smiling ...
from 10am - 12am (14 hrs of work and still a smile. Only bad think is that there was a male front of house person that was not very nice.. he had a bad attatude but he is leaving at the end of the season so will no see him again when we visit.

ENTERTAINMENT - This was really really good always had a great show on each night. Bingo at 9pm.. costs 6 euros but prize money is over 200 Euros each night. they also play the world famous plate game. just like deal or no deal banker will offer you money for your plate. could win loads of money.

WOULD I VISIT AGAIN - I have only been home for 3 days and am already looking to book again for next year. Would recommend this hotel for familys and young couples..

IF YOU DONT LIKE KIDS DONT GO HEAR< GREAT FAMILY HOTEL

Read More

Tour Operator: Ryanair / Travel Republic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Leishman visited the Villamarina Club Hotel in August 2007
After reading the reviews we were a little worried about going here...and we should have listened to them. The food was fantastic and the entertainers were great...doing their best with what they had.

The reception staff were unfriendly and the hotel was filthy. We had booked a double room and were given a room with 2 single beds and 2 camp beds...we were only greatful it was for one week only.

The pool was cleaned once in the time we were there and was only because the holiday makers complained constantly. The security guards at night were very intimidating and actually went around the rooms at nights trying the door handles to make sure they were locked. No telly or talking was allowed.

We actually had a member of the security team let himself into our room at midnight insisting ...
we locked up even though my son had went into town with friends for something to eat.

Im sure if your kids are very small and all you want is for them to be entertained then this could be a great holiday. If you have already booked then just try and make the most of it...we did and still had a good time...if you are thinking about booking...please dont...there is better hotels that are 3 star in salou and much much better quality

Read More

Tour Operator: flyglobespan
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Chris stayed at Villamarina Club Hotel, Salou in August 2007
We stayed for two weeks and had a lovely holiday, the only problems we found was the lack of toilet facilities in the main hall, only two toilets in the ladies and one of them was always out of order and only being able to order two drinks at any one time, having two children with us it meant my husband had to go up the bar twice to get the drinks or both go up and leave the children alone, the food was excellent, the location was fine, it was a nice walk to the beach gave us a bit of exercise, the hotel staff were polite but did not really seam to want to mix with the guests, the entertainment was a bit basic and never started on time, the main problem at this hotel was the fault ...
of the guests, a lot of parents just let their kids run riot and do what ever they wanted, playing in the lifts, 4 and 6 year olds, and running along the corridors screaming it was no fault of the hotel but some parants seamed to forget they had their kids with them

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars
Share