8 independent reviews of the Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Road, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Location
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Karon


4/5
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Katathani Phuket Beach Resort is rated 4.25 out of 5 from 8 Reviews
88% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (8 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Reviews

4/5
4

Justval visited the Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, Karon, Thailand in March 2009
This hotel is located in Kata noi which is right at the bottom end of Phuket. It is lovely and quiet...just what we like..but not too far away from other life..again..just what we like. We arrived there quite late at night after travelling for about 24 hours and so we were completely hot, bothered and knackered. The welcome we got was excellent. I had a garland of flowers placed around my wrist, I was given a cold glass of something like apple juice and we were also presented with cool flannels.

The check in was straight forward and the porter took our bags to our room, we were also given a lift on the back of a cart to the actual block. The other guy accompanied us to our room to show us where it was..and my first thought was \"wow\". ...
Somebody had made a little elephant out of towels and left it on the bed. The room was well furnished, spacious and the air con had been switched on. There were complimentary slippers, dressing gowns and the mini bar was full!!!
The balcony showed a stunning view of a beach at night, which despite being lit, I was unable to appreciate the full beauty of the view until daylight hours. The room had sattelite tv with more than 1 english channel and it even had a note saying that if the mattress was not to our liking we could get it changed for a harder or softer one. I felt like one of the 3 bears!!
The breakfast was served on a buffet basis from 6am until 10.30am and was the usual mix of bacon, sausages (not pork), tomatoes, beans etc and the egg station so you could have srambled, omelette or fried freshly done for you, a mix of cereals, yoghurts, fruits, nuts, waffles,pancakes breads, pastries, salads and one thing which was hard for me to get my head round..noodles, curry and rice etc...but we were in Asia so I guess it was the norm. There were pots of tea and coffee delivered to your table as soon as you sat down and the was the usual assortment of fresh juices. the restaurant was partly indoors, partly outdoors..and the bit i could not get my head round was there was a smoking section. The funny thing was all the Brits still went and stood outside and it was mainly the Asian guests that smoked in the restaurant.
There were other meals provided as there were several other restaurants on the premises and every day there was a different theme but we chose not to eat there other than breakfast as there was so much more to explore and it was quite pricey.Minimum charge

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Ian & Elaine Kirkbride stayed at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, Karon, Thailand in February 2009
The Hotel was excellent as were the staff and breakfast.We did not eat in the Hotel for any other meals.It\'s location at the Thani wing is great.Our room was a junior suite over looking the beach.Everything was more or less what the majority of other posters have said.Not having children with us it is dfficult to comment but from casual observation we did not think it was a childrens type of hotel.

Tour Operator: DIY

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Fiona Smith stayed at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Hotel in January 2007
We have just returned from 12 fantastic nights at the Katathani Resort in Phuket.

We stayed in a Junior Suite in the Kata Noi Wing and found the location (for us) to be ideal. It is quiet but within easy taxi or tuk tuk distance to Kata or Patong. We ventured into Patong one night and that for us I am afraid was enough, Kata (5 mins by taxi/tuk tuk) is quieter but still with plenty of shops and restaurants, Kata is split into two sections Kata which is smaller and Kata Central the larger area, they run into each other but the shops etc seem to die out between the two.

We were on a room and breakfast board basis but did tend to eat in one of the hotel restaurants at night, they were all good but our favourite was the Fisherman

Tour Operator: Kuoni

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

paul & ruth had a holiday at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Hotel in October 2006
This hotel is in a quieter part of Kata beach, but easily within reach of neighbouring towns ie Karon, Patong beach. we stayed b&b, the choice of food was excellent .

Our room was a junior suite with open views of the sea, the staff are very friendly. Rooms are cleaned every day, towels and beach towels changed daily. You can even choose the mattress and pillows hard/soft etc if you wish.

Bottled water and fruit were supplied in the room and replenished daily.

This is a perfect hotel for a relaxing holiday in a fantastic beach front location .

Tour Operator: kuoni

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Sue Pond visited the Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Hotel in April 2006
Visited this hotel during the Easter period. Our room was fantastic, we opened the patio doors and we overlooked the ocean. The people here were very friendly and the service was excellent. Beach towles changed everyday, turn down service every night. Bottles of fresh water every day and tea/coffee left everyday, if not enough the would bring more at a press of a button. Rooms were immaculate!!

Fantastic location ON THE BEACH, rental of sun beds on the beach cost 200 THB per day for 3 beds. The hotel breakfast had everything, restaurants good quality. Should you wish to travel to the next village you can just jump in a taxi or a tuk tuk.

I have travelled to many places around the world and I would defimately go back to this hotel again. There are 2 hotels I preferred the one on the beach.



Tour Operator: Own

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Kate & Paul had a holiday at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Hotel, Karon, Thailand in April 2006
Why are people complaining about this hotel? There is really no please in some people. We are the biggest snobs and have such high expectations when it comes to hotels and resorts and in our opinion it was by far the best we have ever stayed in. This hotel was faultless.

We travelled to Thailand on 21st April until 6th May. The weather was brilliant (35 degrees and sunny) with only 2 days where it rained (we were worried as we were approaching the rainy season).

The hotel is divided into two - the Bhuri Wing which is set in gardens and the Thani Wing which is situated on the beach. We stayed in Thani Wing and I would recommend that you pay extra to be in this wing as it was far superior to the Bhuri wing. Nicer ...
pools, restaurant, position etc.

Our room was a Junior suite. Our beds and towels were changed everyday. Our room was more than adequate and we had free bottled water everyday.
People keep mentioning that their rooms had a mildew smell, but our room was fine.

The hotel pools were fab! Pure luxury. The one had a built in jaccuzi and the water temperature was perfect. We tended to wake at about 7.30am so there was never a problem in getting a sunbed, infact we had the pick at that time. Definately have a massage by one of the ladies that come around. They\'re hired by the hotel and are very cheap. For a 45 minute massage it\'s only about

Read More

Tour Operator: Hayes and Jarvis

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

charlotte boswell visited the Katathani Phuket Beach Resort in January 2006
We went to the Katathani hotel in January the location was good right on the beach we stayed b/b and the breakfast was good lots of choice.

The staff were not very helfull or friendly, and the band that sung were not very good and it would finish at about 10:30 at night so we went out in the evenings.

The room we were in first was very noisey so we did get moved eventually but the second room we stayed in seemed to be a bit smelly like a meldew smell I don\'t think we would go back to this hotel again.

Tour Operator: going places

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Mark & Ali had a holiday at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Hotel, Karon in December 2005
Disappointed! Have visited thailand before and have never been disappointed with the hotels until this time.

Food in the hotel was disappointing, the Thai restaurant not up to scratch, the Italian OKish and the main restaurant poor (buffet style and not enough choice) We ate at the hotel 3 times. Breakfast, poor choice (no skimmed milk, poor choice of fruit and juices).

We stayed in a junior suite which was OK but I\'ve stayed in far better, no turn down service in the evening.
The swimming pools were good as was the Spa (more expensive than outside the hotel but still very good).

We found the hotel staff quite stand offish not as friendly as other Thai hotels we\'ve visited.
The gym was not very good and the air conditioning did not work properly which meant your workout was in about 30 degrees+. Incidentally ...
the gym has no water machine so you have to bring your own or buy it from the gym!

The hotel\'s taxi drivers hang around the front of the hotel and make the place untidy.

Overall the hotel has the feel of apartments rather than a hotel and needs to make some real effort in imrpoving the food.

Read More

Tour Operator: Ebookers
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars
Share