Image of Kololi Holiday Beach Club Hotel

Kololi Holiday Beach Club Hotel

4 of 5 hotels in Kololi

4 out of 5 from 12 reviews
Kololi, The Gambia

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
SueMalloy
Nice little hotel
5 years 9 months ago
The hotel is in the best position in Kololi. It is not far from the strip. Hotel room fairly basic but maid came in every day and changed towels. No hot water one night and the girls in their room had no plug point because it was broken. Once reported these were fixed (although not the same day).

Nice little hotel for a 2 star. Pool area very nice.

The meals in the hotel restaurant were very nice, but the breakfast was very, very, basic.

Would definitely go back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 8 months ago
absolutely great hotel for a 2 star , beautiful grounds , immaculate rooms although basic, fab staff and the monkeys are to die for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
9 years 8 months ago
Holiday Beach Hotel
Kololi
The Gambia
Alan Thomas
January 2008


On 10th January, we flew from Gatwick to Banjul, The Gambia.
After a six hour flight we were in Gambia International Airport. NB NO ambilift, so leaving the plane, is down the steps (walking or carried, in the wheelchair).
We made our way to the coach that was taking us to our apartment/hotel, Holiday Beach in Kololi.
The Hotel is at the end of a, 100mtr, slightly sloping, drive made of Oyster Shell-which is very dusty (the drive is dimly lit, at night).
Our two bed roomed, ground floor, apartment was a very short walk, from the main reception area and even shorter walk, to the beach, (day time temperatures 28-32 degrees- HOT!!!).
There are steps into the complex, but with (steep) ramps, the paths are concrete, with a, fairly smooth surface.
There are small steps into the rooms, (my room, 317, had 3 shallow, steps), a small terrace, through (sliding) patio doors, with two double beds, dressing table, wardrobe, two single 13 amp plugs (in corner of room), NB Power cuts are the norm (you are advised NOT to use, high demand appliances), shower room with toilet and basin (all floor tiles can be slippery when damp). No view to the rear, front view of the pool area, which is cleaned daily, (has a ledge all around the edge) entered via a ladder. Pool bar, restaurant (with a ramp over the step).
Short path (and step) to the Beach bar,(serves drinks and snacks, for those,, who, cant manage the sand) plus, steps down to beach, soft white-ish sand (the "Bumsters" (the local`s will hassle you, but a polite NO THANK YOU, will help, as will the fruit sellers (the juice and fruit salad is wonderful).
There were plenty of places to eat on the Serragambia
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Chioce

Recommended
Jill
9 years 8 months ago
This was our 6th visit to the Gambia and our 5th to the Holiday Beach - that should say something. So what can I say, it is a lovely little hotel! It is not big and brash, there is no loud music (well there is music, sometimes, but not loud and that is if the music system is working!) It is perfect, a little haven. The staff are the friendliest I have ever come across, always having time for a chat.

The rooms are clean, large albeit a bit dated. But clean towels daily and sheets changed every 3rd day. Some of the bathrooms are abit quirky, but it adds to the character of the hotel! 5* it is not - but saying that I think it deserves 5* for the peaceful setting and the wonderful staff!

Location is perfect, central for restaurants and close to the beach, don't be put off by any comments about "bumsters", the people are the friendliest I have known, but they are poor, and will of course try make money any way they can - just a simple "No thank you" does the trick, we have never in our six visits had a problem!

Entertainment - the BBQ night is the best value for money night out you could have, as much food as you can eat! And what can I say the crab races are a must!

All in all a fantastic place, that I would rather keep to myself, but for the sake of the hotel and their staff I have to tell you about it and hope you visit them soon! Just remember it is basic but perfect because it is what it is!!!!! Enjoy
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Tony And April Asherwwod
9 years 8 months ago
We have to say from the start this was our 4th time we have been to Holiday Beach Club and it will be our last, the first 3 occasions were perfect, very clean, new towels and bed linen everyday and also the romm cleaned out daily..but this last time we were there as soon as we arrived our room was broken into and our passports and cash were removed from the room while we were having a much wanted dip in the pool after a very long flight..i will add passports etc were returned as the person who took them hadnt gone very far...
The security was basically a laugh as soon as you tried to walk back to your room at night and i might add it was dimly lit the security staff seemed to be over friendly with the female holiday makers, many occasions my wife was grabbed but a word with the manager soon sorted it all out..watch out when you buy a drink at the bar, if a female is serving you will not have a problem and she is a sweetie and cant do enough for you as 99% of the staff will, but if a guy is serving watch out as he will always say he hasnt got any change and u will have to pay him later, a week later he gives you a bill that comes to nearly the price of the holiday..we were lucky as we knew this from the time b4 we were there...
As far as entertainment goes well what can we say as its not really up to scratch, the odd crab race, the odd african dancers and thats about it..
The food at the hotel was well over priced and very basic so being very close to all the resturants is very handy...
one very good tip if you need any clothes washing the cleaning ladies will do it for you and its very cheap but this time we found a place nearly at the top of the private drive on the right..nip in there and its half the price and they iron it for you as well, so the day b4 we left we took all our holiday washing and it was all done and ironed for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Huw Roberts
9 years 10 months ago
This hotel is 200m down its private walkway just off the Senegambia Strip with its selection of restaraunt, shops and banks. It has direct access to the lovely beach with private sunbeds. It has security guards on all entrances 24 hours. The rooms and bathrooms are basic but small and the quoted 3 star probably equates to 1 star back home. Dont expect The Ritz and you wont be dissapointed.
Sometimes the water or electricity is switched off but never for a long time. Rooms are thoroughly cleaned daily.
The gardens are well maintained with birds, butterflies, insects and monkeys frequent visitors. The pool is central and well maintained.
Breakfast from 07.00 is basic but repetative with cereal, bread , cheese, ham, jam, fruit, fruit juice and tea/coffee. You will pay extra for cooked items.
You also pay extra for a safe in reception or a fan or fridge in you room. Some rooms have air conditioning at a supplement. It was 35 degrees in mid November so many people hired a fan.
The pool and beach bars were reasonably priced with in-house entertainment on several nights.
Staff were excellent and approachable. If you don't like your room ask for an alternative - we did and it was no problem.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Sue
10 years 6 months ago
This is a very basic hotel but value for money. I've stayed there 4 times in the last 18 months and wouldn't stay anywhere else now. The staff are so friendly and welcoming and couldn't do more to help. The hotel grounds are relaxing. Relaxing atmosphere all round. The food isn't really up to much especially breakfast but there are plenty of good food places out on the main strip. The location of the hotel is great - far enough away from the hub of the main resort but 5 mins walk away if thats what you want. I run a charity in The Gambia which is why I visit so often - I found this hotel to be an excellent hassle free base.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Marc Davies
10 years 9 months ago
At first at arriving at the holiday beach club I was a bit unsure what I had let myself in for but within an hour of being there I realised from thinking I was going to have a bad holiday to realising how awesome my experience in the Gambia was going to be.

Don't expect to much from the rooms they are very basic and I strongly recommend hiring a fan from the reception which was about 7 pound for the week. To be fair though why someone would want to stay in there room when in this location I don't know.

The pool is very much used as a central point of the hotel with the restaurant next to it and the bar. Food and drink more expensive than what I expected. Pretty much the same price as Britain but every thing else was dirt cheap.

The beach is amazing but you are pestered by the locals a lot on the beach so I chose the pool area as the locals aren't allowed in the complex.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

Recommended
Debbie Hailes
10 years 10 months ago
Very dissapointed with room the bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in.

The draws were falling out,doors did not fit properly. The linen was changed regularly and the cleaning ladies were very nice.

The food was over priced and not particularly appetizing,the extras fridge,fans,safety deposit box hire was very expensive.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

N Hornsey
12 years 6 months ago
Just returned from my hols. The hotel we stayed in was excellent, its clean, the location was superb. The staff were polite and coundnt do enough to help. Its a very laid back holiday so the entertainment was quite slow but the African night and bbq are a must see!!!! I WILL DEFINATLY VISIT AGAIN.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Popular hotels in Kololi

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.