Image of Palma Rima Hotel

Palma Rima Hotel

5 of 5 hotels in Kololi

3 out of 5 from 28 reviews
3 stars
Kololi Junction, Gambia

28 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Steve And Patrick
Needs a little updating, but good
6 years 6 months ago
It’s a 2-3 star hotel split into Main building overlooking the pool and Bungalows in the Gardens.

You get what you pay for in life and this hotel is defiantly not higher than a 3 star but its clean and friendly.

The entertainment was always put on late so most of the guest had gone out by the time it commenced to the local bars and restaurants which are all nearby such as Churchill’s barcaruba and an excellent place to eat The Come In.

The strip or Senagambia is worth a visit and is only 20mins walk away

The pool is large and cleaned daily the staff are friendly.

The hotel does need a little updating but the rooms are clean and spacious bigger than most 3 stars.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Alma
8 years 6 months ago
The Palma Rima looks disgusting from the outside and is in very poor condition inside. There appears to have been no maintenance in the past few years. The hotel food was terrible and overpriced as were the drinks. Breakfast was a slight variation off egg every day for a fortnight, scrambled, boiled, fried. If you did not like egg you could have sliced banana or papaya. Only a few members of staff appeared to be doing anything towards making your holiday nice, one in particular was the elderly pool boy (Momadou). Staff gathered around single women in the hope of making a friend, but actually frightened them. Security staff made a nuisance of themselves by disturbing young ladies throughout the night. Entertainment team (A team) no longer there so no entertainment. Would not visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

9 years 5 months ago
I would never recommend this hotel to any one EVER! This was one bad hotel the only thing good about it was the security staff that we spoke to these guys were cool.

Dantu the bar waiter he was well wicked and a nice guy didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Susan Hodge
9 years 8 months ago
This was our first visit to The Gambia so only booked for a week to recce the resort (usually fly to Goa)for our winter holiday. I found the hotel rather dissapointing charges for having the fan on in the room were 100 dalasis from 12 noon to 12 noon the following day, bedlinen was not changed throughout our stay and the towels were changed intermitently.Very loud music was played throughout the whole day so sitting by the pool and reading a book was out of the question. The walk to the beach is very mangagable if you can cope with the constant harrasment from the locals, who although were polite do not leave you in peace even when we ate on the beach shack a couple joined us at the table while we were eating. You cannot stroll down the beach without someone wanting to escort you on your walk trying to sell you something or visit their bar etc, the beach was nice but very windy in the mornings the sea was freezing not for the faint hearted, I would not recommend The Gambia for families with young children as the sea shore has a very steep shelf in most areas if you can overcome the cold that is. The constant supervision by the locals ruined my holiday and they do not go away when you ask them too, one guy used to wait for us to exit the beach and walk back to the hotel with us every day wanting email addresses and uk phone numbers and then the financial assistance ploy. On our last day I had a bad case of food poisening (not from the hotel)and we asked the mangement and paid the cleaning staff to have the room for an hour more, ten minutes later they told me I had to leave the room.. Eventually I was given a room as sitting in reception in my obvious bad condition was alarming the other guests. We will not be returning to The Gambia.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice/Cosmos

A Hoyles
9 years 8 months ago
This was the 2nd time we stayed here, wouldn't do it again though.We felt like we were being watched constantly by the owners (or their children), especially during breakfast.
There were not as many staff as there were last year.
And the beggars were worse than ever, and everything has gone up.
NOT GOING TO GO BACK THERE, going to try Cape Verde instead.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Alison Hoyles
9 years 8 months ago
This was the 2nd time we stayed here, never again . 1st year was brill but this year was like staying in a prison camp. We were watched all the time, tried to stop us taking a roll back for our son coz he wasn't very well and yet they let a woman take a carrier bag full back out of restaurant. The atmosphere was strained, especially when the owners were there, felt like i was 12yrs old again. Staff were brill.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Pat
9 years 10 months ago
Have stayed at this hotel before, having been to the Gambia many times we know not to pay a lot for the hotel as we only sleep there, the pool is lovely staff friendly and it is a good base for your holiday.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Hewett
9 years 10 months ago
Stayed in a bungalow which was cleaned daily to a very high standard. Towels also cleaned whenever we needed. Unlike some other guests we had no problem with our shower - very hot and a constant water supply!

The staff were very friendly, although the on-site security staff could be a bit of a nuisance at times. On-site entertainment was a bit dodgy apart from a Gambian cultural group that came in with drums and dance - excellent!

The breakfast was basic, and from what we heard from others much improved since the start of the season. Evening buffet had a good choice of tasty hot foods but salad bar was understocked. Cakes on dessert stand were tasty, but beware the creme caramel's second day appearance in such a hot climate!

Management were miserable, miserly and mistrustful of their staff. Management did not respond well to complaints and niggles from visitors.

We had no reason to complain ourselves and can only speak as we found. Happy with Palma Rima. Better than basic. With regards the cost of drinks and snacks - every hotel in the world charges more than the surrounding shops and Palma Rima was no exception.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Alan Harding
9 years 10 months ago
This is the 1st time i've ever written a review like this...
I've just returned from a two week stay at the Palma Rima (23/11/07 - 7/12/07) and i have to say i very much doubt i would stay there again.

This was my 16th visit to the Gambia and my 3rd or 4th stay at this hotel. My first visit was in 1994 and a few since... The breakfasts used to be quite good, with bacon, sausages, scrambled and fried eggs along with all the fruit and jams etc. This time however the breakfasts were very poor. If you wanted anything hot other than tea/coffee, sometimes porridge (or toast after the end of my 1st week) you had to pay extra for it. I don't want to eat english breakfasts every day whilst on holiday, but the choice would be nice... There were lots of complaints about the breakfasts and varying opinions of the evening meals, some good some bad. Personally i always eat outside the hotels as there are some great restaurants to choose from.

The costs of extras at this hotel are in my opinion way OTT. D200 per day for a fan, D350 for a Fridge and so on. I was going to order a snack around the pool, a cheese sandwich for D175 (around
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Gambia Experience

10 years 6 months ago
Got back early Hours of this morning. This Hotel was spotlessly clean, we had lovely white fluffy towels and hot water at all times.

The food was alright but nothing to get excited about!!! We ate out most evenings.

The Hotel is situated within easy walking distance of the beach at Palma Rima or just a short stroll to the left is Kololi Beach to your right Kotu Beach.

The hotel staff couldn't of been more friendly and helpful.

The entertainment was terrible on the couple of nights we stayed in. It was all miming and dancing badly!!!

We would definitely use this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Aspro

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Popular hotels in Kololi

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.