Image of Bel Azur Hotel

Bel Azur Hotel

23 of 37 hotels in Hammamet

3 out of 5 from 23 reviews
3 stars

23 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Roo
7 years 2 months ago
Not long returned from the Bel Azur, and can honestly say, it was a lot better than expected. Different types of food on at all times, queing for omeletes was a bit of a pain, at times, but if you time it when breaky is less packed, you won't have a problem, the hotel was constantly being cleaned, around the pool area, bar and inside reception, clean towels every day, and also a basket of fresh fruit when we arrived. The hotel staff, were also brill, always accomodating and again polite, along with the animation team, who work there socks off, but always had a smile on their faces, Sabbri, and Issa, were always on hand and stopped to have a chat, Thanks Guys, :) the other animation, were also polite, but we spoke a lot more to Sabbri and Issa.
Me and son aged 17, would visit the hotel again.
If you are after a relaxing hoiday, then this is the place for you,they do have entertainment on during the day, you are asked if you want to join in, but not pressured, entertainment included, darts, water polo, keep fit in the pool, arabic lessons, salsa lessons, which were a scream hahaha. The entertainment of a night, was also good, with a limited buget, the guys done brillant.
The Bel Azur, had a lovely friendly atmostphere, (at the Bel, I found the atmostphere was the nicest, out of the 3 hotels) quite a large pool area, with a decent sized pool and pool guys, brought you your beds and brolly every morning, waiter service at hotel pool, at all times throughout the day.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
S D'hibi
7 years 5 months ago
Having read some of the reviews ,I have to say I have never read such a load of bull***t. The hotel and people are the best I`ve ever met. The animation team work exceedingly hard for a pittance to support their families. I have never encountered any prostitutes in any of the bars and you can only allow yourself to be conned or harrassed if you want to. I have been visiting the Bel Azur for 8 years now, 3-4 times a year, ok it may not be the poshest of the hotels in Hammamet but it surely is the friendliest. I would recommend it to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: private

Recommended
Shakira
8 years 11 months ago
My first visit back after a 3yr break to The Bel Azur Hotel,in Hammamet,and I was delighted that all the staff had remembered me,and nothing had changed dramatically.they all knew my friend as she has continued going with other friends,our accomodation was excellent,the rooms are all on a par,and are comfortable,beds changed regularly and towels changed daily.The food has a very good selection,you certainly won't starve! Although you do tend to get a little bored with the food when you stay for 2weeks, but there are some excellent restaurants in Hammamet.The beach is wonderful,and as you walk into the sea,the small fish swim around your feet.The entertainment is the usual folklorn,snake charmer,belly dancers etc.But the 'Animation team', which consists of Joseph(animation boss),Anis 2nd in command,and a fantastic dancer,you need to see him'river dance'you just can't take your eyes off him!also Kias,Helmi,Adel,Issa Slim,& Mohammed who does a terrific 'Michael Jackson',they are all great fun,they work hard all day,doing Aqua aerobics,darts,volleyball,strech and tone,dancing lessons, such as Salsa,Hotel dance,Mambo,to name just a few,they even give arabic lessos if you require them,and entertain and dance all night!!! It was a fantastic holiday and we will certainly be returning very soon.I have read some reviews,and I am amazed,you go on holiday to relax,unwind,and have fun.Some people are just miserable,complain about everything,and quite frankly are rude.Your Holiday is what you make it,Thank you to all the staff,& The Animation team for making our holiday absolutely terrific,I may also add we are not teenagers.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
James
9 years 6 months ago
the bel azur is filthy and the rooms are as basic as can be,this hotel desperately needs refurbishing asap.the food was ok but not very tunisian,catering more or less solely for the german visitors.
the waiters and bar staff were brilliant though all receptionists were absolutely awful and couldn't or maybe wouldn't speak english.
the entertainment in the evening consisted of the dreadful and very sleazy "animations team" jumping around the bar singing the birdy song and then later in the evening offering to arrange a prostitute for you!!. the open touting for business by prostitutes in the hotel bar disgusted us and made going in the bar almost impossible, however the royal next door is deserted and the bar doesn't tolerate such shady business so is a good retreat for non peverts.
the only saving grace for this hotel is its position sitting amongst glorious gardens above two great beaches.however great the setting though we did not feel safe staying at this hotel especially at night as we were constantly being pestered for money and sex by very strange and menacing characters every time we set foot outside the hotel room.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

9 years 6 months ago
The hotel is disgustingly dirty from the reception the restaurant. the rooms were really bad and is no-way a 3 star I would not give 1.
Food was ok but over cooked and cold and not very Tunisian.
Entertainment was a joke as they did nothing more than harrass you for money, one couple had thier bag stolen by one of them and she seen it and nothing was done. The guys were nothing more than gigalos but then the hotel was full of prostitutes.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Terry
9 years 8 months ago
This has to be the worst hotel we have ever stayed had the misfortune to stay in.

The hotel is no way a 3 star, I would not rate it at all.

The reception area, restaurant and pool are in dire need of a good clean, it really was disgusting.

The rooms were truly awful, our bedding was covered in blood stains, the bathroom was shocking, the bath was covered in horrible dirty marks and there was mould all over the tiles and tiles falling off, the air con did not work.

We complained but got no where as the staff simply could not be bothered helping you in anyway, they just slagged us off in French which I happen to speak french very well so I knew what they were saying and they were calling us stupid westerners.

They were quite happy to take our money though! The food was awful and was always cold so we stuck to salads and even then a few of us landed up sick, obviously their hygiene is not what it should be.

The entertainment was really bad. You were constant annoyed by the "animation team" for money and drinks and they were always trying to come out with you at night, for a free ride.

We also had a number of things stolen, do not leave your phone or camera on the table or it will disappear and keep hold of your hand bag at all times.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Carl Davids
9 years 9 months ago
Hotel is very dated and is in desperate need of repair. The Reception area is dirty and you stick to the carpets.

The Rooms were disgusting and there was mould all over the bathrooms. This hotel should be more on a 1 star than 3. The photo's you see in the brochure must have been taken at least 15 years ago. I
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

9 years 11 months ago
The hotel itself is very tired and dated. The decor is something of a 70's feel. The hotel is not very clean at all on arriving at reception we were sticking to the floor, never a good sign. We had to wait over 2 hours to get our room and were very dissapointed when we did, as the romo had cleary not been cleaned after the last guest. We complained but we did not get very far. The food was very basic and was pretty much the same each night and was responsable for giving us all a dodgy tum.
The entertainment was a farce and consisted of young men chatting up the ladies and not much else. We had to ask the bar staff to tell the guys to leave us alone as they were constantly pestering us, either for money or asking us if we wanted them to take us out, fat chance after reading many reviews and forums they are just after a free ride. We did have a great time in Hammamet and will certainly return for more shoes ! But we would not stay in this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Joanna Miller
10 years 2 months ago
The hotel is nice and clean though a little dated.The pillows are terrible, really hard and we had a few disturbed nights and bad backs! The food was fantastic, plenty of choice and lots of local dishes, though sometime you did have to wait around for bowls and cutlery. Breakfasts were a little strange no bacon, mushrooms or sausages but the omlettes made up for that because they were to die for.
The hotel staff I found a little rude, off handed and unhelpful, however the maids were all lovely and very friendly. Evening entertainment was basic but ok and there isn't much to do on a night outside the hotel. My mother and I felt a little out of place on a nightime to go out as all the cafe's and bars are mainly filled with men.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Henry Forster
10 years 4 months ago
My wife and myself stayed the BELL AZUR for one week we are both over the hill a bit. This hotel suited us down to the ground.

The only thing we complained about was the pillows as my wife is a poor sleeper the room maid as if by magic produced a topper soft one for her.

The food was super the orange juice i could have lived on, pancakes and omelette's made before your very eyes delicious.

The indoor pool five star + the sea view from it. Unfortunately the med was still cold until the last day. Beach service superb a lounger + cushion was virtually put beneath you when you got there then the drink waiter arrived.

The beach only 70 metres from hotel was clean at all times. The five star hotels each side of the Bel were for us not as friendly and to up market but enjoyed to permission to use them if we wished.

My only big problem was we only had one week

Regards Henry & Jilly
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travelcare

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.