Image of Belair Hotel

Belair Hotel

15 of 37 hotels in Hammamet

4 out of 5 from 58 reviews
3 stars

58 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    18
  • Very Good
    20
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Megabrill
Damp and dirty
7 years 1 month ago
To start with I was apprehensive about this holiday after reading the reviews. First impressions I thought, it's passable. Then we saw the rooms, it reminded me of a dingy b&b and smelt damp .We asked to move to pool view which they did the next day.

To be honest it was the food and location that really let it down, it's right what everyone is saying about the flies, they are all over the food especially the cakes. The hotel is in the middle of what looks like a shanty town, there is absolutely nothing to do.

We moved to another hotel Marina Palace in Yasmine, I felt like I died n gone to heaven. I was surprised how easy it was to move plus it didn't cost us anything Thomas Cook paid the difference, so glad we moved.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Waring
The left overs from dinner was served for breakfast
7 years 2 months ago
The food was cold and was always waiting for it to come out from the kitchen. It was the same food every day there were no taste to the food, and the left overs from dinner was served for breakfast as well as boiled egg every day.
The toaster has been in that hotel for over 10 years and not been changed takes a long time so don't bother.there were flies on the salad bar.

Always waiting for forks and plates the tables were dirty not cleaned the table clothes since we were there for 2 weeks. The prices in the hotel bar are more expensive than the cheers bar in the hotel. No entertainment whatsoever apart from one nite when they charge you 10 dinars to watch a drag show when its free to watch in shakespears next door they also have happy hour all day and nite. No bowling nothing like it said in brochure. The rooms are dirty, Needs painting, sheets dirty and the bathroom in our room smelt like the sewers you had to put towel on floor next to the toilet as the water came up from the tiles on the floor very smelly. Down stairs they have 3 toilets for women and men and only one works in both of them but that even leaks.

Beach 10 minutes walk and they charge you for beds we went went onto african queens beds no charge. The hotel across the road as night club and goes on till 4am very very loud and another nite club very loud to. Nowhere to go at night and if you are girls on your own don't go out at night, not safe you get harassed by the Tunisians. Very expensive as well nothing to do at all for kids of any age. Yasmin is a nice town only 5 dinars in taxi. the shops try to rip you off if you are English. They say as well I'm the waiter from your hotel then take you in a shop don't go only after your money. If you don't buy the get very aggressive. We walked out. Very hard to get beer- not sold in any shop.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Dave
7 years 3 months ago
Hotel Belair is at best functional, but only just!. My father and I had single rooms. Both were clean and presentable but had obviously seen better days. My fathers TV had no aerial, My TV arrived after two days of asking. The pool area is really nice as is the reception. The dining room is very crowded and noisy. The food is very basic and just about adequate. It is not the place to go if you fussy or have kids. Tunisia's currency is state regulated, You should get the same rate of exchange everywhere, The Belair does not go along with this and offers 3% less than anywhere else. I have visited Tunisia many times and this is the only hotel I have encountered that does not give you receipts as a matter of course. Be sure to ask for a receipt when paying deposit for safety box use!. Hotel is noisy at night so take earplugs!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: travel republic

Thomson
7 years 4 months ago
This hotel should come with a Government health warning. The noise levels from a PA system that would be adequate for Glastonbury and the refusal of "entertainment" staff to turn it down led to some serious sleep deprivation. There was, quite simply, no escape from it. It started in early afternoon and continued unabated until 4 am. I could tolerate the dirty dining room serving second-rate food, or the fact that there was only access to a badly sign-posted beach via a rubbish dump - (where, incidentally, the hotel's beach bar had burned down)
We have never been so glad to get away from a hotel in our lives, and we would not go back there for any amount of money. Believe me, it was that bad.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

KAY
8 years 1 month ago
We have enjoyed a 2 week holiday at Belair. The hotel has recently been taken over by "Happy days" hotel group. When we arrived at the hotel we asked for a pool view and were promptly allocated a room with a pool view. The room was very clean and comfortable. My daughter was keen on the day entertainment (aqua aerobics, ping pong) and the reps kept her amused. There was no charge for sunbeds in th hotel premises. breakfast was basic but it kept us going, evening meals were fine, lovely salads and soup and choice of main meals. Very courteous staff. Our daughter turned 14 during the holiday and the staff adorned the table in flowers and all came out with the cake and sang happy birthday much to her mortification! The Reps were a good laugh especially with their irish dancing skills! All in all we have enjoyed our time at Belair and would go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIRECT HOLIDAYS

Recommended
Layla
9 years ago
we have just returned from a very very disappointing holiday to celebrate our first wedding anniversery. we arrived in the wee small hours and did not really take a careful note of the room until after we had caught up on our sleep. we were appalled at the state of our room to be honest. the bathroom was very smelly, there was suspect brown marks on the tiling, the shower curtain, which used to be white was a filthy mess of soap scum and black marks three quarters of the way up. there was blood on the bedspread. under the sink there as a mass of black fungus growing and the tiles on the floor were in a very bad state of repair. we complained and to give ondine, the thomas cook rep, she worked her magic and witin an hour we had a completely different room, albeit basic. we can do basic but we refuse to accept dirty rooms. the food was basic and very repetitive with beef one night and the next night it was beef again but in a different sauce, same thing happened on the third night, beed again but in a different sauce. i found it difficult to find something of interest to eat. service in the dining room was terrible with tables missing cutlery and no cutlery being available, service by the waiters serving drinks was slow and they most definetely upped the price and charge you for amounts of drinks that you seriously did not have. unfortunatley the bar staff were the same, rip off, rip off. the air conditioning wasnt working and this was reported three times to reception but not once did anyone come to repair it. dont get me wrong the staff were very nice, the maids so happy and thorough. this is never a luxurious hotel as described on some websites, this is a very tired 2/3 star hotel with so so decor, nothing fancy at all, with run of the mill food that lacked imagination. there was no "festival" night in the dining room as expected, all in all we were disappointed because the brochure lists this hotel as "highly recommended" but being honest, i am not sure what it is "highly recommended" for. entertainment staff excellent, very happy people and hard working. we went on the welcome tour. irene was our rep there and we found her rude and aggressive not to mention boring. when we all got on the bus ofcourse we will chat, but she stood up and announced if we were going to talk there was no point in her being there and she might as well go home. we were shocked, that tour with irene is boring, not informative as claimed unless. we went out on the reps caberet night, excellent, bravo, bravo, well worth themoney.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Kimmy
9 years 1 month ago
My boyfriend and I came back from Tunisia and the Bel Air last Wednesday, after a fantastic and totally relaxing week.

I was rather apprehensive on the way to the hotel, as I had read some negative reviews of the Bel Air. When we arrived, I realised I need not have worried at all. The staff who greeted us were very friendly, and we were brought a lovely cold drink while we filled out our passport details.

We were taken up to our room, on the third floor, and I was pleasently surprised by the size of our room. It had a good sized bed, wardrobes, dressing table, air con, seperate bathroom with everything you would need. All very basic, but I was very impressed. We also had a small balcony with a mini-table and two chairs that overlooked the pool and the seating areas. My only criticism about the room was that the bed was very very squeaky and a little bit hard.

After unpacking and taking in our surroundings we went down to the restaurant for dinner. It's a self service place, with good choices of soup, salads, always at least 5 different choices of meats and fish, and two choices of pasta. They didn't seem to serve much vegetables, but overall the food was good, always hot and well-cooked. Best of all were the desserts. The health-concious always had a good choice of melon, pears and apples, but it's very hard to resist the mini cakes and tarts on display as well! Definately something to go for if you have a sweet tooth. The staff in the restaurant were really lovely, and on the last night they dressed our table with fresh flowers and rose petals.

The entertainment team really seem to enjoy their jobs, they are very approachable and good with the kids. As well as the evening Mini-disco and Bingo, they organised some excursions and did things like aqua aerobics, arabic lessons and water polo too. Speaking of the pool, my man and I spent a lot of time in the pool in the end (mainly to escape the heat!) and found it to be a good size, nice temperature, always clean and well maintained.

The only real let-down for me was the location of the hotel. The hotel is between Hammamet and Yasmine Hammamet, and it is only a short taxi ride to either (cost about 5 dinars either way, very cheap) But around the hotel itself, there is very little to do. On the first night we walked around and didn't really find much apart from a few bars and shops. The beach is only 5 minutes walk away, but when we went it was very crowded and the sand was so hot we couldn't walk on it. These were just minor things though in an overall excellent holiday experience.

As a final note, I'd like to recommend the 2-day Sahara Trip. We did it on the last two days of our holiday and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, would definately do it again.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Amy
9 years 1 month ago
loved the holiday the best part was the entertainment people Aldo, Kaka , Max , miko loved them all defo go again hopfully the same staff and entertainment staff will still be there <3 x
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: gatwick

Recommended
Emma Cousins
9 years 1 month ago
I have visited this hotel twice now with my family and I can honestly say I have had my best holiday ever here. I immensly enjoyed myself here and the entertainment was of a high quality, however if you visit this hotel more than once you will find you have already viewed the same entertainment. The workers were friendly and helpful and I was very pleased with their work. The food however was not the best as I am a 16 year old girl and was 14 at the time I didn't find this food to my taste as there was mostly pasta and salad to choose from and not alot of choice. I found this hotel to be very clean and the cleanliness was maintained regularly. THe hotel is located beside a large club which plays music throughout the night so if you have young children or find it hard to get to sleep this hotel is not for you. On the flip side, the hotel is located near and beach and many shops and places to eat so it is very handy, however you may not even want to leave as there are many activities going on in and throughout the day. You can visit the spa or pla a wee bit of waterpolo or just relax by the pool. I wish those entertainers would leave you in peace during the day though, but maybe it's part of the fun. Watch out for Belfast ones as they will through yo uin the pool for a laugh. This hotel is class and I am returning this year, but I hear it's all changed so I could be writing a very bad review here soon so watch this space chums!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: family

Recommended
9 years 3 months ago
We have just returned from the Belair Hotel.
Found the staff very nice and helpful, (espcially Meesha and Abdul who are porters)

Entertainment staff left a lot to be desired, felt they were only interested in being tipped. Entertainment was quite boring

Food was not too bad but was quite repetitive bedrooms and bathroom cleaned daily, maids were lovely, be warned though beds are very very hard, not comfortable.

Location is in a street with British bar and Shakespheres resturant
Not sure if I would return to this hotel though I can say we did have a good holiday
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.